Post your "Ghetto Mod" pics

Discussion in 'Case Mod Gallery' started by wolfofsin, Apr 25, 2005.

  1. Mohonri

    Mohonri [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,735
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Probably just uses a GSM phone...
     
  2. pwrusr

    pwrusr 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,116
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    What OS/Program are you using for DVR duty?
     
  3. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,445
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    I have a MythTV backend running in a VM (well, actually a container) on my Proxmox VM server. I have three frontends, all running Kodi ontop of Ubuntu 16.04, with a mythtv plugin handling playback from the backend.
     
  4. cyclone3d

    cyclone3d [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,067
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Back in the day, we had problems with that as well. Was always the same station on specific brands/models of speakers.

    We were at least 20-30+ miles from the radio antennas.

    Just depends where you live, the strength of the signals, the way the antennas are pointed, and the crappiness of the shielding, if any, of the speakers.

    Where I live now, during a certain time of day, on a specific stretch of the road.. for about 1/4 of a mile, ALL signals on both AM and FM are drowned out by a sort of high pitch static. The static can be heard for about a 1 mile stretch of the road.
     
  5. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,893
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    I disassembled this old Mpac machine and used the triple fan setup from the bottom of the chassis in my main rig.
    I was thinking about that machine the other day and I should have tried to repair that Mpac since it was a neat looking portable machine.
    megapac1.jpg

    internet_machine.jpg
     
    jigglydoom and michalrz like this.
  6. wra18th

    wra18th [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,775
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    That's too nice to be ghetto. No duct tape, no loose ty-raps, no scotch tape = no food stamps.
     
  7. rigurat

    rigurat Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    262
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    I'm certain I don't. I live in the 12th floor of an apartment building.
     
  8. Jorona

    Jorona 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,325
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    12th floor means high rise apartment building. Which generally means relatively dense population. Which means likely in a city of some sort.

    Most cities have high power radio and TV broadcast antennas on the tops of the skyscrapers.

    I'd say you probably ARE close to a broadcast antenna.
     
    rive22 likes this.
  9. Seluryar

    Seluryar Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    167
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Trying to clean up my desk top area, needed a place to store a wireless keyboard for my second computer that doesnt get used much for now, screwed a cardboard box into the VESA holes behind the monitor for that computer and it seems to be holding good so far
    SQE33oU.jpg

    A quick google search seems to show no market for boxes or baskets that sit behind a monitor.
     
  10. liiroy

    liiroy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    221
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    how do you like the hd homerun?
     
  11. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,445
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    It's a good device, but it is not without its issues.

    DRM is an issue. Most channels on most providers are broadcast with the “copy freely” tag, which means they work with any software. If – however – a channel is broadcast with the “Copy once” flag, that channel will only work in software with licensed DRM, which right now is for all practical terms limited to Windows Media Center only, and as we all know WMC is going away after Windows 8.1 is retired, as it was dropped from Windows 10.

    I use MythTV to handle my live TV watching and DVR recordings, which means I can’t watch or record any channel tagged as “copy once”. For the longest time that was only HBO, so it didn’t matter much to me, as I’ve never subscribed to a premium channel in my life anyway, but more recently Fox demanded that cable companies broadcast all of their channels (except the open air ones) as “copy once” which has meant I’ve lost more channels.

    Even if you have WMC, the “copy once” flag prohibits playing back recorded streams on any other computer than it was recorded on, which means you can’t have a single DVR server and play back on multiple screens in the house, at least for channels with that flag. Many people have had problems with their WMC box being hosed and rebuilding it, only to find that it is not detected as a different computer, and can no longer play back any of its recordings.

    It’s really frustrating and means that once again DRM is only hurting legitimate paying users, while pirates are easily circumventing the DRM.

    This isn’t really the fault of the device though. The same thing will happen with any cable card device. The only two cable card devices I am aware of that currently have the required DRM license are WMC and Tivo.

    Other issues include a poor management interface that is not very tweakable.

    For instance, you can’t manually configure network settings. They use DHCP and DHCP only. They also “announce” themselves to everything on the local network, which is great if you are just using them to watch live TV over the network, but if you have them assigned to a DVR-type backend which expects to be the sole user of each of the tuners, random users can accidentally “steal” tuners from the backend, causing their recordings to be interrupted.

    I solved this by putting them on a separate network from my main home network, and directly connecting them to my MythTV backend server using a dedicated NIC. I also run a dedicated DHCP server on my MythTV backend server that assigns static IP’s to the devices based on their mac addresses.

    All that being said, don’t let me sound too negative. I love my setup. It means I don’t pay for any rental fees from my cable company (except the two cable cards), and unlike the stock DVR I used to have from FiOS, I have nearly unlimited space for recordings (I record to my 48TB NAS), and play back to any one of my three HTPC’s in the house, or any computer, tablet or phone on my network (at least those that have supported apps).

    And one of the best features (at least with MythTV) is that it automatically searches the recordings for commercial breaks and skips them automatically on playback, so you never have to see any ads. I went this entire election season without seeing a single political ad :p (except for that one time I watched something live, and it reminded me how annoying ad breaks are)

    I wouldn’t have it any other way. It’s just that they do have some small issues any potential buyer should be aware of.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2016
  12. H-street

    H-street [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,538
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    you should check out the WMC for Windows 10 - I currently have it running great with my Windows 10 + HDHomeRun HDHR3 - a group of great modders has modified and released WMC as a windows 10 store app (and it works great for me so far)
     
    jkw likes this.
  13. Aaron_ATX

    Aaron_ATX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,801
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    780ti + zip ties + old xbox 360 heatsink mount + lots of filing + donated aio + beer x time = water cooling 20160516_141622.jpg
     
    Angry, psy81, revenant and 5 others like this.
  14. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,957
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    dude thank you for the xbox brackoot idea! i have a few, should see if that will work with my redmod 280x. eliminate some zip-ties...
     
  15. Aaron_ATX

    Aaron_ATX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,801
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    oh and I need some +irony props for the aio that is from an AMD processor :D

    Couldn't keep a fx 9590 cool (not that anything really can) but great for the 780ti
     
    wra18th and pendragon1 like this.
  16. rtangwai

    rtangwai [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,369
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Ever thought of going with a Hauppauge HD-PVR2? My cable box has component-out so none of my recordings are affected by DRM.

    Mind you the HD-PVR2 greatly prefers Windows - I have it running on an ESXi VM using Win7 and NextPVR backend w/Emby acting as a streaming server, plus Kodi as the 10ft interface on my HTPC.

    I'm lucky that I live in a city (Toronto) where you can buy cable boxes so no monthly rental fee, just pay for the channel packages.
     
  17. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,559
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Must post temps! 8 Food stamps, would've gotten 10 but appears you know what you're doing. :LOL:
     
  18. DIYmaster

    DIYmaster n00b

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
  19. Omegas

    Omegas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,753
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    You stained the wood and didn't use a hatchet to cut them, plus screws? really?? Oh ya ZER0 FOOD STAMPS FOR YOU!!!


    BTW, looks good though
     
  20. lilfiend

    lilfiend [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,446
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    cybereality likes this.
  21. Logan321

    Logan321 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,900
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    I dunno, the chance of indoor bonfire says ghetto to me. ;)
     
  22. DIYmaster

    DIYmaster n00b

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Somebody gave me a bunch of free stainless steel so I thought ok, that will be my new PC switch panel. I cut it, shaped it, bend it, and was just about to apply the final touches like drilling the holes and that's when shit hit the fan. I spend 50min drilling a pilot hole, tried carbide, hss, regular drills and it just won't go through (and there was like 8-9 holes to drill. Threw it all in the trash realizing why it was free and why I never use stainless steel or aluminium for anything. Here is the new ghetto switch after I got fired up and did a speedrun. Build it under 20min

    http://i.imgur.com/LzTvLAH.jpg
     
    cybereality likes this.
  23. wra18th

    wra18th [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,775
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    I'll give to tree fiddy food stamps for the jagged edges. But you used nice screws to hold it together. Perhaps, if you had used some bent nails or push pins, I would've awarded you 5 food stamps.
     
  24. SticKx911

    SticKx911 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,204
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    DF17BA19-1676-4B93-BC5A-4D5E596BC6CE.jpeg Not an original idea, but wired into the usb port. Too lazy to take my whole network down to solder it into the main. 20° temp drop. Only 5v so its super quiet.

    Alao, I hadn’t seen this thread getting enough love lately so I thought I’d give it a bump. :)
     
    SonDa5, Emission and pendragon1 like this.
  25. Spaceninja

    Spaceninja [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,718
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    I'm going to call shenanigans on that mod. Heat shrink tubing... come on, pro level work there. Nice fan, should be some POS you dug out of a free case on the sidwalk. No duct tape, no jagged hole sticking out from under the fan, who are you trying to fool here? :)
     
    hazexban, Emission, SticKx911 and 2 others like this.
  26. SticKx911

    SticKx911 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,204
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    mis matched dolphin connectors?

    haha. Nah. not too ghetto, but I'm getting better at my electrical plans. Plus I have a larger junk pile to pull from than I used to. :)
    Cut up usb cord with reasonable gauge DC supply wires.
    Connect a 3pin adapter to be able to test various fans to see which had the best throughput at 5v
    find short screws that will go into the vent holes in the router
    ...all in, from idea to execution, 10 minutes tops and $0.00 invested. (all from misc junk laying around)
     
  27. SticKx911

    SticKx911 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,204
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    51ED6CCC-0D33-4FD1-BD19-8DB676CC3734.jpeg
    After about a week my powerline adapters we’re getting super hot and locking up. Added some headsinks to the “cpu” and a 5v fan for active cooling.

    Electrical tape holding the cat 6 cable in because the little click tab broke off. I’ll remake the end later...

    This little 40mm fan was my first noctua, and now I totally understand the hype. An awesome little 5v fan that’s perfect for this particular project. I had some other 40mm fans, but none would spin at 5v.
     
    revenant, Cerulean, velusip and 7 others like this.
  28. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,559
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Creative,

    +4 Food Stamps
    -1 Food Stamps for not using Duct Tape

    :D
     
    Cerulean and wra18th like this.
  29. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,445
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    When they don't publish heatsink widths and the GT 1030 has a much bigger heatsink than the GT 630 it replaces, and wont fit in the small ass Streacom fanless case, so you decide to do something about it.


    01.jpg 02.jpg 03.jpg 04.jpg

    Fits perfectly now, and doesn't look ghetto at all with the lid back on (bottom right) :p

    34938886116_490a238e49_b.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2018
    SonDa5, Krenum, SticKx911 and 5 others like this.
  30. velusip

    velusip [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,577
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Haha! Nothing wrong with that. I had to do something similar with an older radial cooler just to fit it into an htpc case.
     
  31. jojo69

    jojo69 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,397
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 1, 2018
  32. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,559
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    +3 foodstamps for doing crappy saw job. +1 Foodstamps for not resorting to a dremel.
     
  33. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,445
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    I actually tried the dremel first.

    Maybe I was using a brand new diamond cutting wheel off of Amazon, and it was having a terrible time getting through the heatsink.

    It wasn't clear from the store page, but when I got them they weren't Dremel brand. They were probably really shitty.
     
  34. rtangwai

    rtangwai [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,369
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Reminds me of the time I had to take a hacksaw to my HD6990 - it was the Dell OEM version with a big rail at the end, wouldn't fit in my case until I chopped it off.
     
  35. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,559
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Thats odd. In any event, I would have been too afraid to put that card in a vice! lol.
     
  36. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,445
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    I tightened the vice around the heatsink only, as to avoid damaging the PCB.
     
    Krenum likes this.
  37. mnewxcv

    mnewxcv [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,470
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    You need to shut up with all this proper technique shit before we kick your ass out of the ghetto.
     
    Zarathustra[H] likes this.
  38. noclevername

    noclevername Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    489
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    An oldie but a goody
    potato_pc.jpg
     
    SonDa5 likes this.
  39. trick0502

    trick0502 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,154
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    noclevername likes this.
  40. M76

    M76 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,480
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    I think this could fit in here, altough the first iteration wasn't that getto:
    jTG5toDV_t.jpg vze5MDi9_t.jpg 5ooMMcjB_t.jpg b4hFwRJY_t.jpg UYvWKqxN_t.jpg Um0EvGAC_t.jpg
    But it just overheated like hell,, and the outside surface of the case got up to 60C°

    So I took drastic measures:
    IxUZve2z_t.jpg kdBCQs9H_t.jpg

    And then abandoned the whole small gaming PC project. Now it's just a home server / HTPC with a GT1030. And a Xeon E5-2670 at stock. Without any protruding parts.

    You can find the story here.