Anyone Getting Their DOOM On?

Discussion in '[H]ard|OCP Front Page News' started by Kyle_Bennett, May 13, 2016.

  1. crispyb

    crispyb Magical Crispyness

    Messages:
    1,525
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    The game is fucking great. I havn't had this much in SP FPS games in while. Definitely worth picking up. I actually got grossed out a little and taking a break now.

    Ninja edit: Using 4690k w/ EVGA GTX970 and running smooth as butter on High@1080
     
    Armenius, Flexion and Pulsar like this.
  2. Azrak

    Azrak Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    496
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Even with Nvidia driver 365.19 disabling SLI on my GTX 690, it still plays amazingly well on single GPU at 2560x1600 and automatic settings. Looks good too.
    Which setting is recommended to enable SLI? AFR1 or AFR2?
     
  3. Unoid

    Unoid Gawd

    Messages:
    975
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    SP is fun as heck. Well polished. Runs very smooth 90FPS constant at 1440po 90hz. I'm actually surprised for once by a AAA game.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  4. Squall_Rinoa89

    Squall_Rinoa89 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    332
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    So far, I haven't had the time but my Alienware 17 R3 with the 970M Runs most of the game on Ultra @ 1920x1080 flawless in the 50-60FPS range. Haven't had to much time to play with it yet.

    Desktop runs at 100+ with 2 970's @ 2560x1440P using Alternate Frame rendering 2.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2016
  5. pothb

    pothb [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,004
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Do you have trouble with multiplayer? Someone else earlier said they did when they used the key they got from there.
     
  6. N1GHTRA1N

    N1GHTRA1N Gawd

    Messages:
    776
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    DOOM!!!! You have got to get this game if you like awesome, high action, fps games. The music and graphics are top notch (some of the best ever) and the 3 hours I've played so far have been incredible. Here are a couple screen shots from early in the game. So far it is everything I hoped it would be and it is running super smooth, which is nice since the last couple of id games have had a bumpy start for sure.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Armenius, AlexisRO and Pulsar like this.
  7. DF-1

    DF-1 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,011
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    checked just for you.

    played a match to completion, teams were really uneven though lol. seems to work fine
     
  8. pothb

    pothb [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,004
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    I was just wondering, I don't plan on playing online when I get it, and I'm in no hurry to get it. Really, it's more of me wanting to see if cdkeys can get really messed up or not.

    That said, thanks for testing it.
     
  9. jyi786

    jyi786 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,831
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Game runs awesome on my rig. Feels like the good Doom of old.

    I've noticed some quirks/bugs, though.

    1. Key bindings are sort of awkward; they don't show you all the keys that are mapped, so if you accidentally unmap one, you can't go back and remap it. You have to reset it and start all over from scratch.
    2. 5.1 surround sound is broken; when I switch to 7.1, surround sound works.
     
  10. Squall_Rinoa89

    Squall_Rinoa89 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    332
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Dont think on playing DOOM on a 4K Screen with a 970M... talking about 20FPS on Ultra..

    my Alienware however games @ 64'C
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2016
  11. JosiahBradley

    JosiahBradley [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,399
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    That was me. For some reason I couldn't play multiplayer until I got home. Maybe work was blocking it for me. But it would crash to the desktop every time there. Works perfectly now.
     
  12. Daroller

    Daroller [H]Lite

    Messages:
    121
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    I picked it up on CDKeys for $46.99 CAD using DOOM666 as my coupon code.
     
  13. ChronoDetector

    ChronoDetector 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,538
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Just bought it, the SP campaign is quite nice, though a lack of quick save is annoying, as I expected one because ID games usually have this feature.

    However, having a low ammo count limit is annoying, not sure if this can be raised when you progress further into the game.

    MP still sucks, I don't see a mode where you can pick up weapons, the stupid loadout system is still present and doesn't seem to work well with this game.

    However, the game seems to run well with a GTX 980Ti at Ultra settings at 3840x2160, getting an average between 40-50 FPS which I'm happy about. At least this engine is a huge improvement over IDTech 5.
     
  14. DF-1

    DF-1 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,011
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    yeah, i just died like 95% into a mission and it sent me back 15 minutes, near the beginning, stopped for the day.
     
  15. MavericK

    MavericK Zero Cool

    Messages:
    29,140
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    It annoys me too. I did see a stream where the person had the shotgun with 30 rounds max and the starting value is 20 rounds, so I guess it can go up later. By how much, though, I don't know.
     
  16. deaedius

    deaedius Gawd

    Messages:
    560
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    I have to agree with others on how fluid the game play is even if the FPS drops. The visuals are great and totally has the classic doom feel with multi level touch to it. It can definitely be hectic and very fast paced and melee kills are a sweet add, saving ammo to melee kill the possessed and imps, while shot gunning everything else makes for a great experience. I was a bit worried the gameplay was going to be too fast, after dying a few times and getting used to it, it is a great experience! I'm pleased!
     
  17. Pulsar

    Pulsar Gawd

    Messages:
    763
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    It increases. You need to put more points into your ammo capacity. I'm can have up to 50 shot shell currently.
     
  18. ghostwich

    ghostwich [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    It's weird, I changed my resolution (was messing with DSR) and I got stuck at 60fps when I went back to 1080p.

    I had to restart the game to get back to 144-land.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  19. Quartz-1

    Quartz-1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,331
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Kyle_Bennett you noted the multi-threading - can you possibly investigate that by testing with a high-core Xeon CPU?
     
  20. Quartz-1

    Quartz-1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,331
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    I've just tried running it for the first time and, of course, it's gone wrong. I have three screens and despite selecting Screen 3, my 4k screen, in Doom itself the game appears on screen 1, one of my 1200p portrait displays. I do have the latest Nvidia driver installed.
     
  21. morningreis

    morningreis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,145
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    The graphics in this game are incredible, and it runs great too. Totally playable on a 970 at 4K.

    I love the fact that you can actually go outside in this one. They really nailed the martian landscape. Oh and aside from all the awesome visuals, the music in the game is spot on also.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2016
    Armenius and Flexion like this.
  22. morningreis

    morningreis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,145
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    I'm running a 6 core/12 thread Xeon and my CPU usage was maybe maximum 20-25%. In fact, I was playing well into the morning which is when I have scheduled Plex to do its transcoding. So I was at 100% CPU usage, and it didn't slow down gameplay. I just let Plex do its thing and kept on playing Doom.
     
    Armenius, Red Falcon and Quartz-1 like this.
  23. Quartz-1

    Quartz-1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,331
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    I restarted Doom and it then worked properly on my 4K screen. I've enabled SLI in the Nvidia control panel, but I don't see it working in Doom. How do I check?
     
  24. Quartz-1

    Quartz-1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,331
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    What are people using to take screenshots?
     
  25. jh24

    jh24 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    420
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Really enjoying the game so far, although I'm playing it in small steps. I only have a 760 GTX so I had to make some sacrifices. I'm impressed how efficient and smooth the engine is even with lower framerates.

    After some testing I was able to keep lighting on Ultra and the rest on High/Medium. There seems to be a subtle difference between High and Ultra lighting in the sense the latter feels more vivid and has more contrast.

    Turning down/Disabling Depth of Field (Anti-aliasing) and reducing motion blur really gave a boost to my FPS.
     
  26. sk3tch

    sk3tch [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,291
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    MSI Afterburner set to F12 and PNG which also takes a screenshot in Steam for upload to the Community (optionally).
     
  27. Flexion

    Flexion [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,400
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Really it is. Been watching youtubes of it running on both consoles. They did really great work with this game engine. Finally some real next gen stuff.
     
  28. Flexion

    Flexion [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,400
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    If you can get your hands on it, perhaps try running 365.10, while it's not optimized for the game, it's running SLI with Doom. I was playing yesterday and saw both GPUs with similar activity/load and I did see improvements when switching SLI on vs off in the global profile.
     
    Armenius and Azrak like this.
  29. MacLeod

    MacLeod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,435
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Guess they're trying to throwback to the original games which had no save points or checkpoints so you make it to the final level boss or fight and die, you start the whole thing over. It used to piss me off to the point of madness but I always kept coming back because the game was so good. I'm sure I'll be bitching and raising hell in this game too but it looks like it'll be so good I keep coming back.
     
  30. ghostwich

    ghostwich [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Just an FYI, Ultra sets most things to the max but there are two Nightmare settings - shadows and textures.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  31. trudude

    trudude [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,599
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    I'm running every single thing maxed out with adaptive vsync 8x AA @ 3440x1440 and the fps just basically sits at 60 all the time. Perfect for the screen I have. I would probably be okay @ 4k, but having a silky smooth 60fps constant is great.
     
  32. Daroller

    Daroller [H]Lite

    Messages:
    121
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    What wizardry is this? 90fps+ @ 3440x1440 on a single TITAN X, I expected this game to be a lot more demanding!

    20160513230719_1.jpg


    I *love* the performance overlay. Well done, id.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  33. MrSteel74

    MrSteel74 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,545
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2000
    This game is fast and beautiful running max everything at 1440P, GSYNC on a Titan X and I have yet to see my fps drop below 100 simply amazing!
     
    Armenius likes this.
  34. Youn

    Youn [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,651
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    You can save/load anywhere in the original Doom games... F6/F9 normally
     
    Armenius likes this.
  35. Taco

    Taco [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    F6 and F9 are ingrained in me to this day. I always remap quick save and load to those keys.
     
  36. Damar

    Damar [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,129
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    I set my 970's to AFR1 and they are running 65%/70% utilization with the settings I picked at 1440 resolution.

    Didn't try AFR2 yet, though I might.
     
    Armenius and Azrak like this.
  37. MacLeod

    MacLeod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,435
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Ah. Well I played the PS1 version of Doom and Final Doom. Way way better sound effects and music. In the PS1 version, if you died before you completed a level, you restarted at the beginning of that level.
     
    Youn likes this.
  38. rezerekted

    rezerekted 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,917
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    You're sure that site is legit? How can they sell it for so much cheaper if it is?
     
  39. rezerekted

    rezerekted 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,917
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Turn off vsync?
     
  40. ep0x73

    ep0x73 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,384
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Game looks really slick, great graphics. I don't remember when I last played the original but I never finished it.
    It was like playing a horror movie, some scenes really scared the piss out of you [surprise wise]