Post Your Connection Speed

Discussion in 'Networking Gallery' started by RoBo, Dec 16, 2007.

  1. DieTa

    DieTa [H]Lite

    Messages:
    114
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Until yesterday:
    [​IMG]


    Switched to Telekom Hybrid (Combination of ADSL2+ & LTE) today:
    [​IMG]

    There's more possible - up to 100 down & 40 up, but seems like I need some external antennas.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2015
  2. trick0502

    trick0502 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,134
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
  3. RiDDLeRThC

    RiDDLeRThC 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,885
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Verizon FiOS Saint Petersburg, FL

    [​IMG]
     
  4. bds1904

    bds1904 Gawd

    Messages:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    3 of my dedicated servers and my home connection

    Wholesale internet Dedi (Advertised 100/100):
    [​IMG]

    Kimsufi RBX4 Dedi (Advertised 100/100):
    [​IMG]

    OVH BHS1 Dedi (Advertised 100/100):
    [​IMG]

    HOME AT&T (Advertised 45/6):
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Bland_JamesBland

    Bland_JamesBland [H]Lite

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
  6. caddys83

    caddys83 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,325
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
  7. mutti_wilson

    mutti_wilson [H]Lite

    Messages:
    78
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
  8. munkle

    munkle [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,191
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
  9. KORI

    KORI Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    244
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
  10. Xipher

    Xipher 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,621
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Managed to beat my last one.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. caddys83

    caddys83 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,325
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    my ping :cool:

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,211
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    I can't get flash to work in Firefox right now, I need to troubleshoot that later, but my speed is always 50/30ish and is rock solid and I posted before.

    But here's a different kind of speed test: :D Local file transfer from my NAS.

    [​IMG]

    Nothing really that impressive, I was actually pushing about 110MB/sec for a short while but the Mint screenshot tool sucks donkey balls and by the time it actually decide to show up and take the screenshot the speed had reduced.
     
  13. iGamer

    iGamer [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    My connection is 107/5 and am getting this atm :D not complaining!

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Adam

    Adam [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,592
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
  15. munkle

    munkle [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,191
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    This is my work internet, though I have a feeling it is more limited by the fact that the computer only uses a 100mb connection.

    [​IMG]
     
  16. PffxUzer

    PffxUzer Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    329
    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
  17. iGamer

    iGamer [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    new upgraded and cheaper connection via Suddenlink! On 150/7.5 plan

    [​IMG]
     
  18. bds1904

    bds1904 Gawd

    Messages:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    [​IMG]

    New AT&T U-Verse 75/8

    VDSL2 17MHz bonded pair
     
  19. pwrusr

    pwrusr 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,116
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Fios rocks! (no one else matches upload speeds with download speeds in my area)
    This is their "mid-teir" plan :D
    [​IMG]
     
  20. JayteeBates

    JayteeBates [H]ard|Poof

    Messages:
    4,659
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Oh yes from 10Mbit cable in Mississippi which is blazing fast for there to this on Tampa Bay Florida Verizon FIOS today:

    [​IMG] to New York City

    [​IMG] to Miami
     
  21. Private_Ops

    Private_Ops [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,835
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    [​IMG]


    Upgraded to the 30/5 package and my own SB6121 (scored for 10 bucks!) last week. I'm pleased.
     
  22. +Eric

    +Eric Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    128
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    [​IMG]

    It's supposed to be a Gig down/250up, but pfSense on ESXI on my current server can't handle it I guess. Will soon run pfSense on bare metal to get the speed up.
     
  23. parityboy

    parityboy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    389
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    I agree. For some reason VMs (or at least ESXi and Xen) aren't very good at routing packet data.
     
  24. renovoCS

    renovoCS [H]Lite

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
  25. drklu

    drklu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,172
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
  26. Eshelmen

    Eshelmen [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,195
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    [​IMG]

    my business speed. horrible


    Just asked for the 50 meg tier, hopefully it helps.
     
  27. Eshelmen

    Eshelmen [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,195
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004

    Are all of your hardware specs fully capable of reaching such speeds?

    I wonder if there is a bottleneck somewhere internally?
     
  28. trick0502

    trick0502 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,134
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    105/10 comcast over unifi ap. limited by 100mbps nic on it.

    [​IMG]
     
  29. BigBadAl

    BigBadAl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    349
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    [​IMG]

    'Up to' 152 Mb service from Virgin Media, supposed to be 12Mb up.... close enough for me, certainly an improvement over the 2.87 Mb up I used to get with their 60Mb service
     
  30. /usr/home

    /usr/home [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,164
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    No, you're not limited by the 10/100 port on the AP. You are limited by the radio itself. The 10/100 port is enough for the regular UAPs. A gigabit port wouldn't improve speeds at all.
     
  31. trick0502

    trick0502 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,134
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    why do you say that? the laptop connects at 300mbps. if i do a file transfer from my server the the laptop, i can see the laptop max out at around 100mbps.
     
  32. wizdum

    wizdum [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,940
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Wireless is half-duplex + overhead, wired is full duplex. 300mbps half = 150mbps full.
    http://www.speedguide.net/faq/what-is-the-actual-real-life-speed-of-wireless-374

    80ish Mbps is generally considered pretty good for 802.11n. I get about 100mbps on my dedicated PTP links with very specific hardware. With some consumer routers you can completely trash the 5ghz range for everyone around you and bond multiple channels.
     
  33. trick0502

    trick0502 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,134
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    so it would max out at 150mpbs right? i can only get 100mbps doing local network transfers (1gb to 802.11n).
     
  34. Eshelmen

    Eshelmen [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,195
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    [​IMG]


    Just got my comcast installed, this is wireless speed at about 20 feet from the router.
    I'm happy.
     
  35. wizdum

    wizdum [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,940
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Read that link. That is 150mbps minus overhead. Theres a lot of overhead.

    150mbps is the theoretical maximum, and is only possible if you are operating inside a vacuum, with physically perfect components in your AP and client (physically impossible), using a protocol with zero overhead (which SMB is far from...), you only have one client, the spectrum is entirely devoid of any interference (including humidity, stray beams of light, etc.), your client is 0.0um from the AP, and you have discharged any residual static electricity from your body.
     
  36. +Eric

    +Eric Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    128
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    My PC should be able to do gig for sure, i5-4760k with intel pci-e nic, not using onboard realtek. I didn't do much testing directly connected to the ONT though so I'm not sure. Haven't been too concerned with it for right now, the main thing is I get GB to my house. I'll get around to trying to make it faster eventually.
     
  37. Eshelmen

    Eshelmen [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,195
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    I'm uber jealous of gigabit connection.

    Comcast is to roll out 2 gigabit here in San Jose by the end of this month or July.
    They just boosted my 105 meg package to around 200 down for free.... which is quite nice.

    But, theoretically, ten times faster than this?
    Bad ass....

    [​IMG]
     
  38. +Eric

    +Eric Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    128
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Yeah, upload is quite awesome for backing up to the cloud. And I use BTSync to get some shows I download for my friend to her laptop. I max out her 20mb connection no problem when transferring. And the next thing I want is plex running so I can access my media anywhere, haven't yet got around to setting that up.

    Download is cool, but not super useful ATM. But when I'm downloading something at 400+ Mbps that's fun. And I have a vpn from work to home that runs 24/7 for VOIP, remote desktop into my home PC is like being on my LAN.
     
  39. Eshelmen

    Eshelmen [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,195
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Yeah that upload is sweeeet.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2015
  40. Blk

    Blk Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    153
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015