NCASE M1: a crowdfunded Mini-ITX case (updates in first post)

Boil

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
1,432
Not sure if there's somewhere better to ask this.

I'm in the process of replacing the fans / shroud of my GPU with 120mm fans at the bottom of my ncase:

View attachment 176864

One minor snag is the GPU heatsink has some small clips that stick out and get in the way on one of support arms on a fan, so it doesn't quite fit in fully:

View attachment 176865

View attachment 176866

My thoughts are either bending the metal part of the heatsink away or cutting though the support arm on the fan to get it to fit.

I don't think the fans can be repositioned here and the clip isn't big enough to interfere with the fan blades so bending isn't essential.

I would rather make any change to the fan rather than the GPU but wondered this might fundamentally compromise it?

Any advice welcome.
Should be okay cutting just one, but will the blades spin with that inside the fan? Or, if it will spin, why do you need to cut anything — can't get the side cover on?
The GPU is being stopped about 50mm short of the PCIE slot, being blocked by this metal bit hitting the fan support.

The metal bit is not tall enough to interfere with the fans when as intake, but does stop them being used for exhaust unfortunately.
I would bend a non-supporting tab on the gpu before cutting a supporting member on the fan...
 

wenrro

n00b
Joined
Jan 13, 2018
Messages
30
good morning to you all :)

is there anywhere a sheet where to check the compatibility of differents RTX cards with the ncase?

My 1070Ti is dying (85º with undervolting done... and i'm going to return it)

I dont want to mod the rtx card, so i need a model that stays silent in idle and could maintain good temps (70-75º) under heavy gaming.

Im playing with a 1440p 144hz freesync monitor.

Any model that you could recommend? What do you think about a msi 2070 Super ventus for 550?

https://www.amazon.de/GEFORCE-RTX-2070-SUPER-OC/dp/B07TTSVC7K


Regards.
 

ranix

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
154
Hi,

can someone confirm me that the asus rtx 2080 rog strix a8g gaming fit inside the ncase?

with the super out, there is a tempting price on this card...

Many thanks if anyone can confirm me.
 

Grendell

n00b
Joined
Aug 20, 2015
Messages
34
Hello

Maybe this was already answered somewhere but could I use the v3 top panel with the odd part on the v6 so that i still can mount my odd

Greetings Chris
 

wenrro

n00b
Joined
Jan 13, 2018
Messages
30
Hi!

Has the google spreadsheet changed? Where are the graphic cards and heatsinks compatibilities list?

thank you.
 

teo

n00b
Joined
Sep 21, 2018
Messages
35
Here is what a 2080 ti strix with the fan shroud and bracket ripped off looks like. Also hacked up the gigantic support bracket that said RTX on it.

View attachment 177689
I saw the remnants of that fan bracket on reddit but I’m not sure I’ve seen performance results. How does it fare compared to your 1080ti/accelero setup?
 

M1AF

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 7, 2015
Messages
258
I saw the remnants of that fan bracket on reddit but I’m not sure I’ve seen performance results. How does it fare compared to your 1080ti/accelero setup?
With the stock silent fan profile I can't get it to go past 64C @ 2040mhz. But I would hardly call it silent. With a much more conservative fan profile I am doing 70C @ 2025mhz. I imagine I'll end up tuning it more and settling in around 75C @ 2000.

The stock strix sink is doing just as well as an Accelero considering this is a higher TDP card and I'm able to push it a lot further than my dud 1080ti.

7/10 would hack apart again.
 

rfarmer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
1,153
With the stock silent fan profile I can't get it to go past 64C @ 2040mhz. But I would hardly call it silent. With a much more conservative fan profile I am doing 70C @ 2025mhz. I imagine I'll end up tuning it more and settling in around 75C @ 2000.

The stock strix sink is doing just as well as an Accelero considering this is a higher TDP card and I'm able to push it a lot further than my dud 1080ti.

7/10 would hack apart again.
Sits right on the fans nicely.
 

ranix

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
154
First many thanks for the answer on the Asus but I think I will go with a 2080super

Are they any specific 2080super that you will recommend that fit without any problem and offer good performance?
Thinking EVGA but not sur which and if they fit.

thinking about changing the component on my ncase M1
with a 2080 super
ryzen 3 3700x
any mobal with a ryzen 3700X?not sure where to go, I don't think pci e 4 is mandatory. especially if it comes with a new fan that is super loud.
I have a c14 but not sure it will be compatible so may be a new CPU cooler.
corsair SF600 platinium
No idea for the ram but 32 giga, just no idea what I should take to go with Ryzen.
I already have a 2 to samsung 970evo plus and a 512 ssd 970 evo so a mobal with 2 ssd would be great.

If there is anyone that can give me advice, I would greatly appreciate it.

Many thanks
 

wenrro

n00b
Joined
Jan 13, 2018
Messages
30
Here is what a 2080 ti strix with the fan shroud and bracket ripped off looks like. Also hacked up the gigantic support bracket that said RTX on it.

View attachment 177689
so clean and powerful. I would love to have that on mine...

Considering that the strix has these dimensions: 30.47 x 13.04 x5.41 Centimeter

Will this KFA2 fit easily?

  • Dimensions(with Bracket): 295*143*52mm
  • Dimensions(without Bracket): 285*127*52mm (I think that this measures are the ones to be held account)
It's a 2070 Super.

4be8733bb87e0676e44bc1a8d2fc59a8.png


Regards.
 

ranix

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
154
well kind of the same question, any hope that the MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti GAMING X TRIO fit?
It seems very masssive : 327 * 140 * 55.6 mm

Seaching my future 2080ti :)
 

Necere

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 3, 2003
Messages
2,737
Hello

Maybe this was already answered somewhere but could I use the v3 top panel with the odd part on the v6 so that i still can mount my odd

Greetings Chris
Yes.

Hi!

Has the google spreadsheet changed? Where are the graphic cards and heatsinks compatibilities list?

thank you.
It's been neglected for a long time. Looks like a lot of the old information is gone.

well kind of the same question, any hope that the MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti GAMING X TRIO fit?
It seems very masssive : 327 * 140 * 55.6 mm

Seaching my future 2080ti :)
It's too long for the thickness and too tall for the length.
 

Chimpee

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 6, 2015
Messages
1,512
well kind of the same question, any hope that the MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti GAMING X TRIO fit?
It seems very masssive : 327 * 140 * 55.6 mm

Seaching my future 2080ti :)
Nah it be too big, I am not even sure if there is an SFF case out there that can support that card, maybe the Sliger 580 if you mod it but you are pushing it as maximum GPU length support is 325mm while the length of the Gaming X Trio is 327mm.
 

ranix

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
154
Nah it be too big, I am not even sure if there is an SFF case out there that can support that card, maybe the Sliger 580 if you mod it but you are pushing it as maximum GPU length support is 325mm while the length of the Gaming X Trio is 327mm.
Thanks for the answer regarding the trio.

are they any 2080ti that you recommand for the Ncase? that fit without any mod and that perform ok temp and noise wise?

thanks a lot.
 

darrpara

Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2011
Messages
680
Ive got an x99 setup with my 5820k in my sig.. really eyeing upgrading to a Ryzen 3700x or 3800x. Anyone building a system with the new Ryzen chipsets? I'd love to find a way to keep my aircool solution going
 

Chimpee

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 6, 2015
Messages
1,512
Thanks for the answer regarding the trio.

are they any 2080ti that you recommand for the Ncase? that fit without any mod and that perform ok temp and noise wise?

thanks a lot.
Hmm FE version is always supported but not sure if you want the FE version though. Below is a list of 2080Ti and their length (scroll all the down for the list).

https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/geforce-rtx-2080-ti.c3305

For Ncase M1, the GPU supported dimensions taken from SFF Labs are:

Cards 2.2 slots (45mm) or less:

  • Length: 317mm
  • Height: 140mm at mid-card, 130mm at rear corner, 125mm at front corner (if over 280mm long)
Cards over 2.2 slots (45mm):

  • Length: 280mm (with front I/O ports), 290mm (with front I/O ports removed)
  • Height: 130mm, 125mm at front corner (if over 280mm long)
Note on height limits: please allow 15-20mm for PCIe power connectors
 

Grendell

n00b
Joined
Aug 20, 2015
Messages
34
Damit, I missed the answer and now it's out of stock, if someone cansels his Pre-order will it get back in stock so that someone else's will get the possibility to get a early shipping?

Edit

Someone must have canceled his or numbers of Pre-orders got raised anyway could place my Pre-order....
 
Last edited:

Greeley

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
407
been trying to m1 local but people keep trying to get me to ship but im a bit worried it will get damaged in shipping.


how safe is it shipping it built? (will use the black box that the case came in)

 

rfarmer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
1,153
been trying to m1 local but people keep trying to get me to ship but im a bit worried it will get damaged in shipping.


how safe is it shipping it built? (will use the black box that the case came in)

I would take either bubble wrap or those little air bags and wrap it around the internal components, think you will be fine.
 

m-jeri

Weaksauce
Joined
May 17, 2016
Messages
67
been trying to m1 local but people keep trying to get me to ship but im a bit worried it will get damaged in shipping.


how safe is it shipping it built? (will use the black box that the case came in)

That Gfx card and CPU cooler itself will put stress on the PCIe socket and CPU cooler bracket a lot. Perhaps remove them?
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2014
Messages
42
Sorry, I must be stupid, is the google sheets spreadsheet that has the compatible hardware, cooling, GPU on the first page anymore? The link seems to be there, but I can't find the compatibility worksheet. Was it removed or am I missing something?
 

MB_

n00b
Joined
Jun 9, 2016
Messages
9
If you insist on shipping it assembled please have the courtesy to share the aftermath pictures when it arrives completely destroyed. Tall, heavy heatsinks do not ship well. That is a _LOT_ of force being applied when it bounces around.
 

ReaperX22

Gawd
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
720
If you insist on shipping it assembled please have the courtesy to share the aftermath pictures when it arrives completely destroyed. Tall, heavy heatsinks do not ship well. That is a _LOT_ of force being applied when it bounces around.
As someone who worked at an online retailer who shipped builds often, it's actually quite rare there's any major issues. We generally used insta-pak where applicable, and that held the heatsink in place quite well in a high majority of cases. This is an ncase m1 with a U9S. Not a giant case with a Noctua NH-D15. If he pads it well internally so that items don't move it should be fine, HOWEVER if I was PERSONALLY shipping this, I would do as someone mentioned and ship the GPU separately. I'd be more worried about the PCIE slot than the heatsink/board frankly. Would also mean packing against the heatsink becomes easier.
 

Epos7

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
393
I have an M1 v4 with an X99E-ITX/ac and i7 5820K.

Starting to get the upgrade itch and looking at a 3900X. Has anyone got one in an NCASE yet?

I have a Noctua C14 which I love for this case, and it looks to be compatible with socket AM4 with the right brackets. Also have a Corsair SF600 I'd plan to keep, along with my 2080.

Recommended motherboards for the Ryzen 3000 series in M1?

Looking forward to getting the USB-C front panel upgrade, too :)

Thanks!
 

DoubleTap

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
2,440
I received an email that the M1 was available to order. I clicked the order button within 90 minutes of the email and its currently sold out.

Anyone else get notified?
 

Boil

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
1,432
Recommended motherboards for the Ryzen 3000 series in M1?
Right now you have a whopping two choices; the Gigabyte ITX mobo w/ two M.2 slots, or the ASRock ITX mobo w/ one M.2 slot & one TB3 port...

ASUS should have their Strix ITX & ROG mDTX boards out towards the end of this month or early September (he said ever so hopefully)...

Oh, and there might be a Biostar ITX offering...?
 

Necere

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 3, 2003
Messages
2,737
I received an email that the M1 was available to order. I clicked the order button within 90 minutes of the email and its currently sold out.

Anyone else get notified?
A few preorder slots opened up due to cancellations. A bunch of people complained about the notifications so w360 has disabled them for now. When the second round of preorders goes live there will be plenty of time to get an order in (days-weeks).
 

DoubleTap

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
2,440
A few preorder slots opened up due to cancellations. A bunch of people complained about the notifications so w360 has disabled them for now. When the second round of preorders goes live there will be plenty of time to get an order in (days-weeks).
Thanks for the explaination - I know they go fast, but to miss it in 90 minutes late at night was pretty discouraging.
 

Epos7

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
393
Right now you have a whopping two choices; the Gigabyte ITX mobo w/ two M.2 slots, or the ASRock ITX mobo w/ one M.2 slot & one TB3 port...

ASUS should have their Strix ITX & ROG mDTX boards out towards the end of this month or early September (he said ever so hopefully)...

Oh, and there might be a Biostar ITX offering...?
Good to know, thanks. Looking into that Asus that's due out soon...
 

Epos7

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
393
Almost seems like the B450 chipset would be a better way to go for 3900X. I'm not planning to do much overclocking, and 20+ second post times sound like the norm on X570. I don't like that. PCI 4 would be nice, but likely not particularly useful in real world applications for some time. And it comes with a hotter chipset and chipset fan.

Would DDR4 2666 be sufficient on 3900X without an overclock, or would I benefit from faster memory. I know AMD recommends higher, but it's not clear if that recommendation comes with overclocking in mind.
 

darrpara

Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2011
Messages
680
So I have been mulling a replacement for my 5820k in my NCase and I dunno about pricing wise 3700x vs a 9700k:
I'd re-use my NH-C14 heatsink, etc.

For $30-$50 more it seems like I get a consistently better gaming performance going with the 9700k, right?

3700x for $330
Mobo for $170. If I go to a 450 mobo maybe I get this down to $125 for a mini itx board
Memory for $95 (corsair LPX 3600 MHz)
~ $550-$590

9700k for $360
mobo for $125
Memory for $95 (corsair LPX 3600 MHz)
~ $580
 

AG1M

Weaksauce
Joined
Apr 7, 2017
Messages
76
Multitasking and other apps which have benefit of more cores go with AMD. If mainly gaming and you want to get the highest fps as possible go with INTEL. But it depends on your settings, if you have like a 4K 60 Hz screen you can go for the AMD any time, no benefit with INTEL in this case. If you have more CPU limiting high fps demanding games and lower screen resolution, go with INTEL. In any case it will be upgrade to your previous setup.
 

Skott

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
4,068
Almost seems like the B450 chipset would be a better way to go for 3900X. I'm not planning to do much overclocking, and 20+ second post times sound like the norm on X570. I don't like that. PCI 4 would be nice, but likely not particularly useful in real world applications for some time. And it comes with a hotter chipset and chipset fan.

Would DDR4 2666 be sufficient on 3900X without an overclock, or would I benefit from faster memory. I know AMD recommends higher, but it's not clear if that recommendation comes with overclocking in mind.
If I understand the reviewers correctly you want 3000 or better. If you plan to overclock get the new 3600 to play it safe. I wouldnt try 2666.
 

Epos7

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
393
If I understand the reviewers correctly you want 3000 or better. If you plan to overclock get the new 3600 to play it safe. I wouldnt try 2666.
Thanks, good to know. 3200 seems like the sweet spot price-wise right now. I'd like to upgrade to 32GB, but there are very few 2 x 16 3600 kits.
 

Hixbot

n00b
Joined
Oct 18, 2012
Messages
3
Anyone know if RTX 2060 super (Gigabyte 2x Windforce) will work with Accelero Xtreme iii in M1 v6?
 
Top