Show Your LCD(s) setups!!!

SomeoneElse

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 16, 2007
Messages
1,936
nice I had some humanscale m7's back in the day. they were beastly.
Yea I never question the build quality of humanscale, but man is their stuff heavy. I'm only using the the upper half of the mount because its technically at 6 monitor mount. I have a glass top desk and was afraid that if i tried to put the base on it it would shatter the desk. I like the ability it gives me to fine tune where the monitors are but its like a 40-50 pound mount lol.
 

piscian18

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
11,021
sort of a work in progress, maybe post a bigger picture later. I'm not doing cable clean up until I finish installing the other 6 RGB 120ms that are going in. In case youre wondering the fans are setup to be completely dark unless theres sound, I have them set to responsive red to go along with Doom, its not hard set or anything. I did a custom scheme to making them look like spinning pokeballs the other day for my nephew. Brightness can be adjusted. With thermaltake software you can setup 5 or so profiles with 30 something modes.

BraveSpectacularBandicoot-size_restricted.gif


Doom3
Acer x34p
corsair k70
razor hyperflux(dont ask I was drunk, it does work great though.)
arozzi gaming arena desk
lian-li PC-11 Dynamic(black)
cheap RGB led strip, Thermaltake 3x120mm RIIING plus RGBS


1. I think im ditching thermal for corsair, the thermaltake software is actually great but the cable and power management is really obnoxious. im gonna play around with ll120s this week. I couldnt find a lot of info on what Corsairs profiles for ciue are. I hope its as good Thermaltakes. Asus Aura sync is meh. I cant do sound reaction and mod my colors in their current software, but I do like their sound reaction modes.

2. Im think about going 4k, big monitor. I dont think they make an ulrtawide 4k+ resolution retail monitor yet. I was thinking about the Wasabi Mango 43" but that means pulling my desk back mounting it and maybe building out the desk to the wall. is anyone doing 4k big monitor desk(not couch)? learning experiences? Surround? surround rtx?
 

Gmok Bonecrusha

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 16, 2004
Messages
1,077
sort of a work in progress, maybe post a bigger picture later. I'm not doing cable clean up until I finish installing the other 6 RGB 120ms that are going in. In case youre wondering the fans are setup to be completely dark unless theres sound, I have them set to responsive red to go along with Doom, its not hard set or anything. I did a custom scheme to making them look like spinning pokeballs the other day for my nephew. Brightness can be adjusted. With thermaltake software you can setup 5 or so profiles with 30 something modes.

View attachment 138196

Doom3
Acer x34p
corsair k70
razor hyperflux(dont ask I was drunk, it does work great though.)
arozzi gaming arena desk
lian-li PC-11 Dynamic(black)
cheap RGB led strip, Thermaltake 3x120mm RIIING plus RGBS


1. I think im ditching thermal for corsair, the thermaltake software is actually great but the cable and power management is really obnoxious. im gonna play around with ll120s this week. I couldnt find a lot of info on what Corsairs profiles for ciue are. I hope its as good Thermaltakes. Asus Aura sync is meh. I cant do sound reaction and mod my colors in their current software, but I do like their sound reaction modes.

2. Im think about going 4k, big monitor. I dont think they make an ulrtawide 4k+ resolution retail monitor yet. I was thinking about the Wasabi Mango 43" but that means pulling my desk back mounting it and maybe building out the desk to the wall. is anyone doing 4k big monitor desk(not couch)? learning experiences? Surround? surround rtx?

I went all Corsair...

You will need an RGB fan controller, along with the Command Node Pro to tie it all into the MB. Lights and fans. Cable management is NOT that great with this. Plus needing two nodes fuckin sucks.

Once it's all tied together with iCue and working, its VERY nice.

aaa.jpg
 

Fritzz

Gawd
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
857
I went all Corsair...

You will need an RGB fan controller, along with the Command Node Pro to tie it all into the MB. Lights and fans. Cable management is NOT that great with this. Plus needing two nodes fuckin sucks.

Once it's all tied together with iCue and working, its VERY nice.

View attachment 138334
You don't technically need the commander pro to make the LL120s work. It basically comes down to how you want to control your fans and if you want the addition of temp readouts using the thermal probes.

The lighting pro included in the LL120 3 pack will control up to 12 LL fans. Each channel of the lighting pro would connect to the smaller controller on the right. The fan speeds would need to be controlled by the motherboard or some other speed controller.

If you want your fan speed control to be handled within the iCue software, then that's where the commander pro comes into play. Each of the six channels could be split into two and you could control all 12 of the fans I just talked about. I think you can add more fans than 2 to the channel, but be sure you aren't overloading that channel. Typical amperage calculations need to happen.

Just did a build for a buddy that had 7 LL120s in it. I used a commander pro to control 4 of the fans, the other 3 hooked into the Celsius 360 fan controller(wanted those fans to spin up based on loop temp). I could have done it without the commander pro by attaching the 4 fans to the motherboard and used it's fan software. In hindsight the commander pro was a nice way to get everything into one piece of monitoring/control software. My buddy doesn't like messing with a lot of different pieces of software, so it was pretty important to give him a one stop shop for all that "stuff"

Not trying to prove anyone wrong here, it's just when I tried to do my research on how all the Corsair stuff worked, I had a hard time finding anything that was useful. If anyone had specific questions let me know and I will do my best to help out.

 

piscian18

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
11,021
You don't technically need the commander pro to make the LL120s work. It basically comes down to how you want to control your fans and if you want the addition of temp readouts using the thermal probes.

The lighting pro included in the LL120 3 pack will control up to 12 LL fans. Each channel of the lighting pro would connect to the smaller controller on the right. The fan speeds would need to be controlled by the motherboard or some other speed controller.

If you want your fan speed control to be handled within the iCue software, then that's where the commander pro comes into play. Each of the six channels could be split into two and you could control all 12 of the fans I just talked about. I think you can add more fans than 2 to the channel, but be sure you aren't overloading that channel. Typical amperage calculations need to happen.

Just did a build for a buddy that had 7 LL120s in it. I used a commander pro to control 4 of the fans, the other 3 hooked into the Celsius 360 fan controller(wanted those fans to spin up based on loop temp). I could have done it without the commander pro by attaching the 4 fans to the motherboard and used it's fan software. In hindsight the commander pro was a nice way to get everything into one piece of monitoring/control software. My buddy doesn't like messing with a lot of different pieces of software, so it was pretty important to give him a one stop shop for all that "stuff"

Not trying to prove anyone wrong here, it's just when I tried to do my research on how all the Corsair stuff worked, I had a hard time finding anything that was useful. If anyone had specific questions let me know and I will do my best to help out.

thanks the information online about rgb especially for those of us that want more than default rainbox raver shit is pretty slim. im thinking about being a hero and starting a review information channel comparing everything out.

I can tell you for my primary build the main thing I want is a sound reactive profile for all my fans and LED that also lets me customise the colors. So far thermaltake seems like the only one that can do all that but you need a seperate molex powered hub for every 5 fans which is obnoxious af.
 

Gmok Bonecrusha

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 16, 2004
Messages
1,077
If you want your fan speed control to be handled within the iCue software, then that's where the commander pro comes into play.
Yep...this was all I cared about really. Controlling everything via the iCue software. The fan module that came with the fans only had manual inputs (little dongle) to make fan changes.
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
17,664
My current setup in my bedroom,
I am surprised that that old Dell laptop does 3440x1440
IMG_2631.JPG
 

Kajun614

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 7, 2016
Messages
157
Love seeing this stuff. my setup simple but functional. Like that 3 monitor racing setup. man /drool
 

elvn

2[H]4U
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
3,828
It was very difficult to find a stand alone mount for triple 40's.. esp ones that didn't include a racing seat. I had them originally mounted on individual tables (as seen in first pic) and mounts which was wobbly AF where they tilted. I didn't have much room for a big desk and 120" of screen real estate side by side pretty much crossed a 10ft room. More thinking was involved then when I first had the idea to do it. Finally found a mount that checked all the boxes with the Trakracer mount. It can handle up to 3x45's and still give me room to put a 55" table up front without legs to get in the way and I could tuck it deeper into the corner. I could have probably even got a bigger table but pretty happy with the desk space I gained. Didn't really need the 34" up top but I have a cat that gets in the way sometimes I get tired of swapping the active window.

View Distance Adjustment
Why do you have the keyboard so close when you could have it back where you are playing from in the video (or somewhere in between the two) on another surface or a mount?
Does that whole middle desk area have the ability to roll backward independent of the monitors? That would seem like a good way to modify your viewing distance modularly on the fly depending on what type of game you are playing (surround racer immersed up close, a middle distance for other games or if you are doing desktop/apps).

Wheel?
... I also have to ask - why is the guy in the video playing with a gamepad when you have a good wheel setup right there? >.< :D


Single 1080
"running FH4 on a single 1080"
Forza is windows store game so between that and dev itself I think no SLI capability on that game so there is no option but single card for that afaik. (The Dirt series works with SLI, even the just released dirt rally 2.0 works with a simple workaround).

120Hz+ , VRR (variable refresh rate)
Very cool setup though I like it. I'm hoping to do something similar with 43" displays but for now my middle one is the only one I game on. It's a 32" LG 32gk850G for 120hz to 165hz with g-sync at 1440p for higher frame rates, with the two side 43" ones being $230 - $270, 60hz 4k VA tvs. I'm hoping to eventually get a monitor based on the upcoming 43" AUO panels in 2019- 2020 that do high hz and should have VRR. They are going to make 43" 4k 120hz+ HDR 600 and HDR 1000 (possibly FALD on the hdr1000, not confirmed). I'm not willing to do sub 120Hz gaming or play or sub 100Fps-Hz gaming rates where I can help it, nor lose VRR so I'll mostly just be playing on the middle screen using the 43" on each side for desktop/apps... and streaming, file mgmt, playlists, chat, media playback , progress meters, etc. Even though it's not exactly my usage scenario, it's really cool to see a similar setup to what I am aiming for in actual operation. Thanks for posting.
 
Last edited:

magnetik

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 6, 2000
Messages
5,802
View Distance Adjustment
Why do you have the keyboard so close when you could have it back where you are playing from in the video (or somewhere in between the two) on another surface or a mount?
Does that whole middle desk area have the ability to roll backward independent of the monitors? That would seem like a good way to modify your viewing distance modularly on the fly depending on what type of game you are playing (surround racer immersed up close, a middle distance for other games or if you are doing desktop/apps).
Keyboard gets moved out of the way when not in use.. like when I'm kicking back in the chair and using the gamepad. The desk is just a fold out 55" table. I can remove it completely and sit in my chair with no table at all but I use it for a bedroom computer use mostly. The monitors are on a standalone mount (links in previous post) and not attached to the desk.

Wheel?
... I also have to ask - why is the guy in the video playing with a gamepad when you have a good wheel setup right there? >.< :D
cause Forza Horizon 4 wheel FFB is awful. Tried tweaking and using other people settings but the consensus is FH4 is optimized for a gamepad. Believe me I've tried. It works fine for other games like Asseto Corsa, Dirt, etc. Even if it did work correctly.. farming perks on a wheel is tiring. heh

Single 1080
"running FH4 on a single 1080"
Forza is windows store game so between that and dev itself I think no SLI capability on that game so there is no option but single card for that afaik. (The Dirt series works with SLI, even the just released dirt rally 2.0 works with a simple workaround).
That I know but kept on getting the questions of the hardware used to push 12kx2k and kept getting the question on video and if I had sli.. this was to preempt questions if I was running SLI. Forza runs really good on Ultra now that I've upgraded to a 2080TI since the original post.

120Hz+ , VRR (variable refresh rate)
Very cool setup though I like it. I'm hoping to do something similar with 43" displays but for now my middle one is the only one I game on. It's a 32" LG 32gk850G for 120hz to 165hz with g-sync at 1440p for higher frame rates, with the two side 43" ones being $230 - $270, 60hz 4k VA tvs. I'm hoping to eventually get a monitor based on the upcoming 43" AUO panels in 2019- 2020 that do high hz and should have VRR. They are going to make 43" 4k 120hz+ HDR 600 and HDR 1000 (possibly FALD on the hdr1000, not confirmed). I'm not willing to do sub 120Hz gaming or play or sub 100Fps-Hz gaming rates where I can help it, nor lose VRR so I'll mostly just be playing on the middle screen using the 43" on each side for desktop/apps... and streaming, file mgmt, playlists, chat, media playback , progress meters, etc. Even though it's not exactly my usage scenario, it's really cool to see a similar setup to what I am aiming for in actual operation. Thanks for posting.

Thanks! Eventually I will go that route (high refresh / large screens) just waiting for hardware to catch up. I do have a 165hz g-sync screen but at this point I prefer the immersion of large ass screens esp for racing games.
 

elvn

2[H]4U
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
3,828
This still needs a little tidying up but here it is. I'll update pics in the future.

It used to be this single 43" 4k TCL S405 without monitor arm, 27" PG278Q, and a 2012 1440p apple cinema display on ergotron mx arm. I'm including to show my chair and more of the pc, and in order to compare to the larger desk setup now.


.....Current setup ...
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TCL S405 43" 4k 60hz ~4200:1
LG 32GK850G 32" 1440p g-sync 120hz /165hz ~ 3000:1
Samsung NU6900 43" 4k 60hz ~6100:1

- A more complete hardware list pasted at bottom of post
- The array is much larger than it might appear to be in the pictures.


bUZAS18.jpg




MiHJk40.jpg




It's difficult to get camera perspectives that encompass the whole setup without making things look uneven and gaped in relation to each other but I really like how this picture turned out since it shows how much area there actually is.

iWm1yYq.jpg



The black overlapping desk surface is on wheels but it is butted up against the main desk as far as it can go. It's straight on to the middle monitor in person, pictures make it look spun a bit but I could actually rotate it or even move it back some if I wanted to. The distance from the center of each monitor surface to my eyeballs is 3'.

HhC8Gha.jpg


ePKus0m.jpg


FYNdIex.png

Elgato streamdeck custom icons and button activated hotkeys I modded/made to move the active window around effortlessly after I select one. I still have to update the asus and apple icons but they still send the window to the center monitor and the right monitor centered 60% width after which I can follow up with other button presses if I want. I'll probably add some different functionality in place of the flux icons too since I don't use them much as they affect all 3 monitors at once.
Putting the arm mount and vesa plate on the 43" samsung recently.

FOIkbxK.jpg

I'm hoping to get one of the upcoming AUO 43" 4k 144hz hdr600 or hdr1000(FALD?) monitors to replace the middle 32" monitor someday, when I'll likely move the overlapping desk back a bit farther away to adjust for the added array width.

Thanks for checking out my setup .


--------------------------------------
Hardware List (most of it)
--------------------------------------
HAF-X-942 case
ASROCK X299 Pro Gaming motherboard
32gb DDR4, SLI 1080ti sc hybrid + 7900x cpu h100i v2 cooled

Monitors:
43"TCL4k-VA 60hz
32" LG 32GK850G 1440p 144hz VA G-SYNC
Samsung 43" U6900 VA 4k 60hz

Network: Fios Gigabit, Gigabit LAN wireless router

PC Sound: AKG K712PRO Cans, Onkyo TX-SR607 7.1 surround + Klipsch ProMedSpkrs(7+sub), ASTRO Mixamp

Peripherals:
-NagaWireless(wired), Proteus Mouse,
-Koolertron Programmable Split Mechanical Keyboard, All 89 Keys Programmable Ergonomic Keypad, 8 Macro Keys[SMKD62] (Cherry MX Brown Switch) with custom doubleshot keycaps
-Koolertron Cherry MX Red Programmable Gaming Keypad, Mechanical Gaming Keyboard with 43 Programmable Keys, Single-Handed Keypad Macro Setting, Backlit Can be Turned Off
-Rottay Mechanical Numeric Keypad USB Wired Blue LED backlit Numpad 22-key Number Pad - Black (Blue switches)
-Elgato Stream Deck (customizable graphic icons and recursive sets digital button/hotkey array)
-USB Volume Control, DROK Lossless PC Computer Speaker Audio Volume Controller Knob, Adjuster Digital Remote Control with One Key Mute Function
-Fragpedal Dual PC Gaming Footpedal
-Wheel Stand Pro G Racing Steering Wheel Stand Compatible With Logitech G27/G25, G29 -G29 Wheel, pedals, shifter
-samson meteormic on boom with wind screen
-Logitech 1080p cams
-xbox one controller(2) + usb wireless dongle
 

Commander Shepard

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 12, 2016
Messages
4,575
I recently ditched my 40” 4K 60hz for a 120hz ultra wide 1440p Alienware... i miss the real estate a little but 120hz with G-sync is so buttery smooth. Kind of a shitty dark pic.. heh.. I'll take some better pics. The monitor is gorgeous, very sleek design.

View attachment 157330
I've been thinking of doing the same with my 40" Samsung. That Dell 38" is the leading contender, but I'm waiting for more info on the forthcoming Asus and Acer 43" monitors with 144hz before puling the trigger.
 

revenant

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 10, 2005
Messages
14,505
I've been thinking of doing the same with my 40" Samsung. That Dell 38" is the leading contender, but I'm waiting for more info on the forthcoming Asus and Acer 43" monitors with 144hz before puling the trigger.
Yeah I should have waited but I am likely going to sell this one when those larger 144hz+ displays are available and scoop one of those.
 

Spun Ducky

Gawd
Joined
Feb 1, 2009
Messages
652
No longer a gamer. Here is my new work setup.
View attachment 157329
I have done a similar setup more recently. I have 2 coffee lake nucs hooked up to my audio amp, usb kvm, and 35" 120hz ultrawide. I love the speed of these little machines with low power usage and heat. I keep one nuc on linux and the other windows. I should have gone all out for the 38" higher resolution ultra wide but 35" 3440x1440 is working decently.
 

Anemone

Gawd
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
902
I also recently got the 3818dw. It's a really good monitor and running everything including sound with one USB C connection to the Surface Book 2 is quite nice (includes power back to the SB2). Nice setup, Klipsch and all :)
 

AdamK47

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 7, 2004
Messages
303
Some changes. Bigger front speakers with atmos speakers on top. More compact stand to bring the speakers inward and lower the TV to make it eye level for gaming. Moved existing front speakers to the rear. Added ambient lighting to the rear of the display. Oh, and a new Logitech 950 remote to control everything.
KiPWz9t.jpg

J3K7z2v.jpg

Hm75AHF.jpg
 
Top