Show Your LCD(s) setups!!!

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Zardoz, Jan 31, 2005.

  1. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,602
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Nice setup. That bare internal drive doesn't bother you?
     
  2. NIZMOZ

    NIZMOZ [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,657
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Yeah, it does. I am going to buy an enclosure for it soon. It has a SATA connection on the back for USB 3.0 for now. :)
     
    cybereality likes this.
  3. SomeoneElse

    SomeoneElse [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,774
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Yea I never question the build quality of humanscale, but man is their stuff heavy. I'm only using the the upper half of the mount because its technically at 6 monitor mount. I have a glass top desk and was afraid that if i tried to put the base on it it would shatter the desk. I like the ability it gives me to fine tune where the monitors are but its like a 40-50 pound mount lol.
     
  4. iwhocorrupts

    iwhocorrupts Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    167
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
  5. AdamK47

    AdamK47 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    300
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
  6. HA5

    HA5 n00b

    Messages:
    46
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    I made a video putting together my new setup. It's a 2018 Mac mini + Sony 43" X720E + Ergotron LX HD Arm. It's a huge upgrade for me compared to what I had before.

     
    kniff, Alfy and Commander Shepard like this.
  7. kerby

    kerby n00b

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
  8. piscian18

    piscian18 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,021
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    sort of a work in progress, maybe post a bigger picture later. I'm not doing cable clean up until I finish installing the other 6 RGB 120ms that are going in. In case youre wondering the fans are setup to be completely dark unless theres sound, I have them set to responsive red to go along with Doom, its not hard set or anything. I did a custom scheme to making them look like spinning pokeballs the other day for my nephew. Brightness can be adjusted. With thermaltake software you can setup 5 or so profiles with 30 something modes.

    BraveSpectacularBandicoot-size_restricted.gif

    Doom3
    Acer x34p
    corsair k70
    razor hyperflux(dont ask I was drunk, it does work great though.)
    arozzi gaming arena desk
    lian-li PC-11 Dynamic(black)
    cheap RGB led strip, Thermaltake 3x120mm RIIING plus RGBS


    1. I think im ditching thermal for corsair, the thermaltake software is actually great but the cable and power management is really obnoxious. im gonna play around with ll120s this week. I couldnt find a lot of info on what Corsairs profiles for ciue are. I hope its as good Thermaltakes. Asus Aura sync is meh. I cant do sound reaction and mod my colors in their current software, but I do like their sound reaction modes.

    2. Im think about going 4k, big monitor. I dont think they make an ulrtawide 4k+ resolution retail monitor yet. I was thinking about the Wasabi Mango 43" but that means pulling my desk back mounting it and maybe building out the desk to the wall. is anyone doing 4k big monitor desk(not couch)? learning experiences? Surround? surround rtx?
     
    Solhokuten and Commander Shepard like this.
  9. Gmok Bonecrusha

    Gmok Bonecrusha [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,064
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004

    I went all Corsair...

    You will need an RGB fan controller, along with the Command Node Pro to tie it all into the MB. Lights and fans. Cable management is NOT that great with this. Plus needing two nodes fuckin sucks.

    Once it's all tied together with iCue and working, its VERY nice.

    aaa.jpg
     
    revenant and piscian18 like this.
  10. Fritzz

    Fritzz Gawd

    Messages:
    725
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    You don't technically need the commander pro to make the LL120s work. It basically comes down to how you want to control your fans and if you want the addition of temp readouts using the thermal probes.

    The lighting pro included in the LL120 3 pack will control up to 12 LL fans. Each channel of the lighting pro would connect to the smaller controller on the right. The fan speeds would need to be controlled by the motherboard or some other speed controller.

    If you want your fan speed control to be handled within the iCue software, then that's where the commander pro comes into play. Each of the six channels could be split into two and you could control all 12 of the fans I just talked about. I think you can add more fans than 2 to the channel, but be sure you aren't overloading that channel. Typical amperage calculations need to happen.

    Just did a build for a buddy that had 7 LL120s in it. I used a commander pro to control 4 of the fans, the other 3 hooked into the Celsius 360 fan controller(wanted those fans to spin up based on loop temp). I could have done it without the commander pro by attaching the 4 fans to the motherboard and used it's fan software. In hindsight the commander pro was a nice way to get everything into one piece of monitoring/control software. My buddy doesn't like messing with a lot of different pieces of software, so it was pretty important to give him a one stop shop for all that "stuff"

    Not trying to prove anyone wrong here, it's just when I tried to do my research on how all the Corsair stuff worked, I had a hard time finding anything that was useful. If anyone had specific questions let me know and I will do my best to help out.

     
  11. piscian18

    piscian18 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,021
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    thanks the information online about rgb especially for those of us that want more than default rainbox raver shit is pretty slim. im thinking about being a hero and starting a review information channel comparing everything out.

    I can tell you for my primary build the main thing I want is a sound reactive profile for all my fans and LED that also lets me customise the colors. So far thermaltake seems like the only one that can do all that but you need a seperate molex powered hub for every 5 fans which is obnoxious af.
     
  12. Gmok Bonecrusha

    Gmok Bonecrusha [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,064
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Yep...this was all I cared about really. Controlling everything via the iCue software. The fan module that came with the fans only had manual inputs (little dongle) to make fan changes.
     
  13. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,831
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    My current setup in my bedroom,
    I am surprised that that old Dell laptop does 3440x1440
    IMG_2631.JPG
     
  14. Dodge245

    Dodge245 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    183
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    I'll share:

    EDIT, a new picture as I changed the speakers to Dali Zensor 1

    IMG-20190213-WA0006.jpeg
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2019
    Commander Shepard likes this.
  15. AndreRio

    AndreRio [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,240
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    how is that led light on top of your monitor, is it any good?
     
  16. NIZMOZ

    NIZMOZ [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,657
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    It's actually really good. The only complaint is the auto brightness doesn't work well at all. But it is very bright, and well built.
     
  17. GingFreaccs

    GingFreaccs n00b

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2019
    YV2iv72.jpg


    hEqysJr.jpg


    Here is my setup! I had a Corsair RGB Void Pro Wireless but.... the audio sounds like doodoo so I went with Arctis 7 instead. Everything RGB is pretty much Corsair :D. I'm gonna add another 2080ti later and I feel like my life will be complete XD
     
  18. Betauser

    Betauser 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,731
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
  19. asheron42

    asheron42 n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Wires are still a mess, but I'm not sure I'll ever get the finished look.
    40a2d16c698930062ec7d29a20bf569c.jpg
     
    Commander Shepard likes this.
  20. fallguy

    fallguy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,953
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    rsz_razer_2.jpg
    Have had it going on two years, Asus 34" WS @ 3440x1440. Newer monitors have come out, but nothing to make me upgrade just yet.
     
    Absalom, mangapc, Alfy and 3 others like this.
  21. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,602
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Here is a rig I have in my kitchen. Just got a new 28" 4K monitor for it. Not that I need a 4K rig in my kitchen, but what the hell.

    Asus4K_Desk.jpg
     
  22. Kajun614

    Kajun614 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    151
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Love seeing this stuff. my setup simple but functional. Like that 3 monitor racing setup. man /drool
     
  23. elvn

    elvn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,272
    Joined:
    May 5, 2006

    View Distance Adjustment
    Why do you have the keyboard so close when you could have it back where you are playing from in the video (or somewhere in between the two) on another surface or a mount?
    Does that whole middle desk area have the ability to roll backward independent of the monitors? That would seem like a good way to modify your viewing distance modularly on the fly depending on what type of game you are playing (surround racer immersed up close, a middle distance for other games or if you are doing desktop/apps).

    Wheel?
    ... I also have to ask - why is the guy in the video playing with a gamepad when you have a good wheel setup right there? >.< :D


    Single 1080
    "running FH4 on a single 1080"
    Forza is windows store game so between that and dev itself I think no SLI capability on that game so there is no option but single card for that afaik. (The Dirt series works with SLI, even the just released dirt rally 2.0 works with a simple workaround).

    120Hz+ , VRR (variable refresh rate)
    Very cool setup though I like it. I'm hoping to do something similar with 43" displays but for now my middle one is the only one I game on. It's a 32" LG 32gk850G for 120hz to 165hz with g-sync at 1440p for higher frame rates, with the two side 43" ones being $230 - $270, 60hz 4k VA tvs. I'm hoping to eventually get a monitor based on the upcoming 43" AUO panels in 2019- 2020 that do high hz and should have VRR. They are going to make 43" 4k 120hz+ HDR 600 and HDR 1000 (possibly FALD on the hdr1000, not confirmed). I'm not willing to do sub 120Hz gaming or play or sub 100Fps-Hz gaming rates where I can help it, nor lose VRR so I'll mostly just be playing on the middle screen using the 43" on each side for desktop/apps... and streaming, file mgmt, playlists, chat, media playback , progress meters, etc. Even though it's not exactly my usage scenario, it's really cool to see a similar setup to what I am aiming for in actual operation. Thanks for posting.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2019
  24. magnetik

    magnetik Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,752
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2000
    Keyboard gets moved out of the way when not in use.. like when I'm kicking back in the chair and using the gamepad. The desk is just a fold out 55" table. I can remove it completely and sit in my chair with no table at all but I use it for a bedroom computer use mostly. The monitors are on a standalone mount (links in previous post) and not attached to the desk.

    cause Forza Horizon 4 wheel FFB is awful. Tried tweaking and using other people settings but the consensus is FH4 is optimized for a gamepad. Believe me I've tried. It works fine for other games like Asseto Corsa, Dirt, etc. Even if it did work correctly.. farming perks on a wheel is tiring. heh

    That I know but kept on getting the questions of the hardware used to push 12kx2k and kept getting the question on video and if I had sli.. this was to preempt questions if I was running SLI. Forza runs really good on Ultra now that I've upgraded to a 2080TI since the original post.


    Thanks! Eventually I will go that route (high refresh / large screens) just waiting for hardware to catch up. I do have a 165hz g-sync screen but at this point I prefer the immersion of large ass screens esp for racing games.
     
    mangapc and elvn like this.
  25. elvn

    elvn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,272
    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    This still needs a little tidying up but here it is. I'll update pics in the future.

    It used to be this single 43" 4k TCL S405 without monitor arm, 27" PG278Q, and a 2012 1440p apple cinema display on ergotron mx arm. I'm including to show my chair and more of the pc, and in order to compare to the larger desk setup now.


    .....Current setup ...
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    TCL S405 43" 4k 60hz ~4200:1
    LG 32GK850G 32" 1440p g-sync 120hz /165hz ~ 3000:1
    Samsung NU6900 43" 4k 60hz ~6100:1

    - A more complete hardware list pasted at bottom of post
    - The array is much larger than it might appear to be in the pictures.


    bUZAS18.jpg



    MiHJk40.jpg



    It's difficult to get camera perspectives that encompass the whole setup without making things look uneven and gaped in relation to each other but I really like how this picture turned out since it shows how much area there actually is.

    iWm1yYq.jpg


    The black overlapping desk surface is on wheels but it is butted up against the main desk as far as it can go. It's straight on to the middle monitor in person, pictures make it look spun a bit but I could actually rotate it or even move it back some if I wanted to. The distance from the center of each monitor surface to my eyeballs is 3'.

    HhC8Gha.jpg

    ePKus0m.jpg


    I'm hoping to get one of the upcoming AUO 43" 4k 144hz hdr600 or hdr1000(FALD?) monitors to replace the middle 32" monitor someday, when I'll likely move the overlapping desk back a bit farther away to adjust for the added array width.

    Thanks for checking out my setup .


    --------------------------------------
    Hardware List (most of it)
    --------------------------------------
     
  26. thelead

    thelead 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,087
    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    That's a lot of pixels
     
  27. Mcklain

    Mcklain Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    178
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    No longer a gamer. Here is my new work setup.
    IMG_20190426_174040.jpg
     
    pcuser, Vengance_01, tungt88 and 9 others like this.
  28. Commander Shepard

    Commander Shepard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,765
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Very clean. How do you like that monitor?
     
  29. revenant

    revenant [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,175
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    I recently ditched my 40” 4K 60hz for a 120hz ultra wide 1440p Alienware... i miss the real estate a little but 120hz with G-sync is so buttery smooth. Kind of a shitty dark pic.. heh.. I'll take some better pics. The monitor is gorgeous, very sleek design.

    CF4D374A-309E-47CB-978F-9793A210D383.jpeg
     
  30. Commander Shepard

    Commander Shepard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,765
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    I've been thinking of doing the same with my 40" Samsung. That Dell 38" is the leading contender, but I'm waiting for more info on the forthcoming Asus and Acer 43" monitors with 144hz before puling the trigger.
     
  31. revenant

    revenant [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,175
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Yeah I should have waited but I am likely going to sell this one when those larger 144hz+ displays are available and scoop one of those.
     
    Commander Shepard likes this.
  32. Mcklain

    Mcklain Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    178
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    I love it so far. Got it setup using USB-C. Got my audio, usb HUB and of course video going throught it with only 1 cable. I had a Dell u3415W for the last 4 years and liking the new higher resolution.
     
    Commander Shepard likes this.
  33. Spun Ducky

    Spun Ducky Gawd

    Messages:
    608
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    I have done a similar setup more recently. I have 2 coffee lake nucs hooked up to my audio amp, usb kvm, and 35" 120hz ultrawide. I love the speed of these little machines with low power usage and heat. I keep one nuc on linux and the other windows. I should have gone all out for the 38" higher resolution ultra wide but 35" 3440x1440 is working decently.
     
  34. mashtub651

    mashtub651 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    182
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    My first attempt at wall mounting anything, and yes came management will come
     

    Attached Files:

  35. Anemone

    Anemone Gawd

    Messages:
    892
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    I also recently got the 3818dw. It's a really good monitor and running everything including sound with one USB C connection to the Surface Book 2 is quite nice (includes power back to the SB2). Nice setup, Klipsch and all :)
     
  36. mangapc

    mangapc Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    314
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    I see the Tardis hidden in plane site.
     
    mashtub651 likes this.
  37. dragon69

    dragon69 69's Dragons

    Messages:
    1,220
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Dell AW3418DW main monitor with the Dell S2716DG as the secondary monitor. Second pic is of the old setup.

    Hs5Wu8t.jpg

    EU1aU5I.jpg
     
    revenant and Commander Shepard like this.
  38. AdamK47

    AdamK47 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    300
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Some changes. Bigger front speakers with atmos speakers on top. More compact stand to bring the speakers inward and lower the TV to make it eye level for gaming. Moved existing front speakers to the rear. Added ambient lighting to the rear of the display. Oh, and a new Logitech 950 remote to control everything.
    KiPWz9t.jpg
    J3K7z2v.jpg
    Hm75AHF.jpg
     
    Frraksurred and revenant like this.
  39. Eshelmen

    Eshelmen [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,246
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    My home office space

    VQUc5gc.jpg


    evDSE8d.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

    northrop, Comixbooks and tungt88 like this.
  40. SpeedyVV

    SpeedyVV [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,212
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007