Metro: Exodus

dark_reign

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
2,314
I got the good ending but it was kinda meh. Seemed odd there was no dialog.

Good game overall, but it felt like it was on rails in a lot of places.
 
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
803
I guess I can always just lookup the good ending on Youtube. I googled how to get the good ending:

https://www.gamesradar.com/metro-exodus-good-ending-how-to-get/

  • Find and deliver the teddy bear and guitar in the Volga, as well as the family photo in the Caspian Sea.
  • Check random strangers with your reticle to see if they're friendly (green or yellow reticle), and approach with your weapon holstered. This includes the acolytes in the Volga, the bartender in the Volga, and the hermit in the Caspian Sea.
  • Don't kill the soldiers in the chapel or on the barge on the Volga.
  • Don't kill the acolyte soldiers on the bridge when you're leaving the Volga. This also ties into Duke's fate.
  • Don't kill the character that jumps you on the roof in in the first mission in the Caspian Sea. He’s called Saul, and if you don't kill him, you'll get access to his subquest line, as well as a better finale to the Caspian Sea.
  • Free the slaves in the outdoor mine and the slave camp in the Caspian Sea by stealthily knocking out the slaver guards. (And, as a rule, always avoid hurting them so watch those ‘nades.)
  • Don't kill the wounded soldiers at the Lighthouse battle in the Caspian Sea, and don't harm the slaves in the mission to steal the water tanker.
  • Don't kill forest tribe members in the Taiga whenever possible. Most of these guys can be avoided and don't even need to be knocked out.

Now I remember,I killed Saul when he jumped on me when I first started the Caspain Sea.

Fuck you Saul.
 

Vega

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
6,563
I got the good ending but it was kinda meh. Seemed odd there was no dialog.

Good game overall, but it felt like it was on rails in a lot of places.

Ya I am struggling to get through it. Great graphics but extremely linear. More like watching a movie than playing a game. I think they also went over-board with the cut scenes you can't skip through.
 

T4rd

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
18,535
Well good thing I waited a few days since my last post to get the game, it just went on sale on Steam for $20 or $30 with all the DLC, so I got the bundle deal. Perfect timing, as I'm just about to beat Last Light finally.
 

HAL_404

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 16, 2018
Messages
1,069
Well good thing I waited a few days since my last post to get the game, it just went on sale on Steam for $20 or $30 with all the DLC, so I got the bundle deal. Perfect timing, as I'm just about to beat Last Light finally.

There's also DLC called Sam's Story. Nice add on level but Two Colonels well, save your $$$
 
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
803
I bought the bundle on Steam last month, it came with Sam's Story and Two Colonels. I have yet to play the DLC, I will get around it to eventually.

I didn't notice any bugs during my play through either. Seemed to run fine .
 
Last edited:

Cliff Couser

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
1,838
Its included on Xbox PC Game Pass that costs $5 a month with no commitment. buy one month. Play it, and any of over a 100 other titles, and cancel your subscription. Out just $5

IMO the game isn't very good. I played 4-6 hours in and uninstalled it because I still don’t like the Metro series for whatever reason. The game looks open world — but it’s definately on rails. Acting and dialogue is cheesy and feels hamfisted. Also RTX on the game adds basically nothing. Turn it on, or off, the game still looks great - too bad its just not very engaging.

My sentiments also. After 10 hours in, I keep thinking less about Metro, and reminded more of how great the Stalker series was, and how good an open world shooter it was. The humanimals and other anomalies are also incredibly easy to avoid In Metro. What are they even there for?

Graphics are superb though and everything on Ultra is smooth on an RTX 2070.
 

Zarathustra[H]

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
31,884
I'll be buying this on Steam when my build is complete.

It may not be a S.T.A.L.K.E.R, but it sure is closer than most things out there right now.
 

T4rd

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
18,535
Graphics are superb though and everything on Ultra is smooth on an RTX 2070.

What resolution? I just started playing last night and at 3440x1440 on my 2080 at Ultra settings and hairworks and Advanced Physx with RTX ultra on and getting between 50-70 FPS, which is good enough for me with G-sync. Looking at some bench comparisons, it looks like there's really no difference between RTX high and ultra, so might step that down and also there's pretty much no IQ difference between Ultra and Extreme settings either (but there's a 10% or so hit on performance still), so definitely stick with Ultra.
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
11,152
What resolution? I just started playing last night and at 3440x1440 on my 2080 at Ultra settings and hairworks and Advanced Physx with RTX ultra on and getting between 50-70 FPS, which is good enough for me with G-sync. Looking at some bench comparisons, it looks like there's really no difference between RTX high and ultra, so might step that down and also there's pretty much no IQ difference between Ultra and Extreme settings either (but there's a 10% or so hit on performance still), so definitely stick with Ultra.
as long as your using “pretty much” as the benchmark, there’s pretty much no difference between RTX on and RTX off in the majority of the game, so you might as well leave it off and gain a huge amount of performance.
 

T4rd

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
18,535
as long as your using “pretty much” as the benchmark, there’s pretty much no difference between RTX on and RTX off in the majority of the game, so you might as well leave it off and gain a huge amount of performance.

You're probably right.. I just feel like if I have the hardware to utilize those special features, I might as well use it. There's definitely a significant difference between RT on and off than there is between RT high and ultra though, hah. I know RT even at this point is a relatively weak excuse to get an RTX card, but it is a perk that I wanted to use nonetheless. If I'm getting 60ish FPS while using it still too, I'm good with that. I have to turn on DLSS to keep it at that 60ish FPS too, which definitely softens the image up if you compare screens side by side, but it doesn't seem too noticeable while moving around in game at least to me. Would be awesome if they added DLSS 2.0 to the game since its image quality is as good or even better than native res with no AA, but I doubt that's happening at this point or it'll be too late for me by the time I beat the game anyways.
 
Last edited:

Cliff Couser

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
1,838
What resolution? I just started playing last night and at 3440x1440 on my 2080 at Ultra settings and hairworks and Advanced Physx with RTX ultra on and getting between 50-70 FPS, which is good enough for me with G-sync. Looking at some bench comparisons, it looks like there's really no difference between RTX high and ultra, so might step that down and also there's pretty much no IQ difference between Ultra and Extreme settings either (but there's a 10% or so hit on performance still), so definitely stick with Ultra.

I'm running lower res than you. Only 2560 x 1440.
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
11,505
I found RTX to make things unplayable in certain areas, RTX 2070, Ryzen 3700X. But I have not played an updated version of the game. It does make lighting look more realistic but wasn't worth the FPS hit. 2460x1440 here.
 

DrDoU

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
2,681
if you think the dialog and voice acting was bad in metro exodus wait till you play sam's story.this is some major corn.
 

Maddness

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 24, 2014
Messages
1,254
which Metro: Exodus DLC is the better one- Sam's Story or The Two Colonels?

I've only played Sam's Story and thought it was quite good. I do have the Two Colonels, but haven't tried that yet. I've heard its quite short.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
16,628
4A Engine 6_11_2020 1_04_24 AM.png



Still chugging though this game I don't don't think anyone could finish it in one sitting.
I have 14 hours in the game seems like a lifetime.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
19,859
Today marks the 10th anniversary of Metro 2033's release, and to celebrate 4A has put together a timeline in the form of a metro map, for both books and games, and revealed a little more about the next entry in the series...

 

GoldenTiger

Fully [H]
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
20,747
For someone who hasn't played metro 2033 or last light, would I be able to get the story enough of exodus if I played it alone?
 

NattyKathy

Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
647
For someone who hasn't played metro 2033 or last light, would I be able to get the story enough of exodus if I played it alone?
Fwiw, I jumped into Exodus when it first came out without having played 2033 or Last Light (I've played thru both since then) and didn't feel like I was missing much. Obviously I was missing a lot of backstory but the nature of the exposition and setting in Exodus means a lot of prior events are somewhat irrelevant. There are a couple moments at the very beginning that have more of an impact if the player already knows who certain characters are but the game is good at introducing them in a way that fills in new players quickly. If you don't mind missing some references that aren't critical to the story, I'd say go right ahead and start with Exodus.
 

GoldenTiger

Fully [H]
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
20,747
Fwiw, I jumped into Exodus when it first came out without having played 2033 or Last Light (I've played thru both since then) and didn't feel like I was missing much. Obviously I was missing a lot of backstory but the nature of the exposition and setting in Exodus means a lot of prior events are somewhat irrelevant. There are a couple moments at the very beginning that have more of an impact if the player already knows who certain characters are but the game is good at introducing them in a way that fills in new players quickly. If you don't mind missing some references that aren't critical to the story, I'd say go right ahead and start with Exodus.
Thanks... Gonna snag it.
 

polydiol

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
1,394
I think I have borderline arachnophobia or something but this fucking game freaked me the fuck out with all the giant bugs in the dark fucking tunnels. I often times forced myself through it with one eye closed to not see whatever shit was coming at me. Definitely NOPED out of a second play through and the dlc when it looked like another bug infested shitshow.
 

Josey-Wan

n00b
Joined
Mar 23, 2017
Messages
4
Today marks the 10th anniversary of Metro 2033's release, and to celebrate 4A has put together a timeline in the form of a metro map, for both books and games, and revealed a little more about the next entry in the series...

Superb.
 

MavericK

Zero Cool
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
30,783
I keep getting crashes on this with my new rig. No issues with any other games, just this one after not even that much playtime - 10-15 minutes maybe?
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
11,505
Yeah, but then I can't use RT. :/

I had the same issue last time I played. Random crashes every 10-15 minutes. Turned it down to DX11, no more issues. Was annoyed, but couldn't play with ray tracing anyways due to low frame rates.
 

silentsod

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
321
I keep getting crashes on this with my new rig. No issues with any other games, just this one after not even that much playtime - 10-15 minutes maybe?
Turn off MSI Afterburner if that's what you're using - it's the only way I could get it to run DX12 on a 2070S (no longer in my possession) or a 3090.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
4,316
If you're having issues with crashing and raytracing, it's likely that your GPU is clocked too high..
 

DrDoU

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
2,681
have you tried turning stealth mode off/on to see if that may be the problem?
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
11,505
I do use that, so I'll give it a try - thanks!

When I had crashing I wasn't using that program. Try backing down the OC is the next thing I'd try then. My GPU was OCed slightly.

Will play around in Exodus on my end some time with DX12 and no OC to see what happens.
 

MavericK

Zero Cool
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
30,783
Seemed to be OC related - closing MSI Afterburner didn't seem to do anything, but I kicked everything back down to stock and it seems stable now.

Weird that it is only this one game out of all of the other demanding titles I've tried.
 
Top