Fallout 4

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Hardware' started by w35t, Jun 5, 2013.

  1. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,405
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    The thing that boggles my mind about this game engine is that they have it setup to stream in the textures but it uses nowhere near 4GB of VRAM @ 1080p max settings. So you walk around with low-res blurred textures that take forever to load in high-res but then you look at the VRAM usage and the game is only using like 2GB of VRAM. Even with the mipmap setting fix (Which does help) the game is still using barely any VRAM and isn't pre-loading enough stuff.
     
  2. Terpfen

    Terpfen [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Not really. I accept pretty much everything that happens on screen.

    The issues I'm describing are basically limited to FO3 and FO4. FO1, 2, and NV do not suffer from the same gaps of logic. Basically, I'm railing on a developer that inherited a series and is failing to improve on it. Happens all the time on this forum. Doesn't get met with smartass comments from you.
     
  3. Bigbacon

    Bigbacon [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,824
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    ok does the shit preston garvey have you do ever end?
     
  4. Zorlag

    Zorlag Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    272
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    That´s one of the guys who gives out Radiant quests, right? Those will never end.
     
  5. Bigbacon

    Bigbacon [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,824
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    thanks. I will just stop talking to him and doing the stupid annoying shit over and over.
     
  6. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,851
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    the ones you have expire after a few in game days and they will expire if you dont turn them in. there are mods to turn them off but i find if you progress them to the point where they want you to turn them into preston they will keep until you do and until you turn them in no more will come...
     
  7. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,851
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    i am in the boat of the gamebryo engine needs to get flushed down the toilet...

    Someone was going about reproducing skyrim on the unreal engine 4 and it looks so good...

    But lets put this into perspective fallout new vegas was made by obsidian and published by bethesda skyrim, fallout 3 and 4 were just bethesda all 3 games have similar issues and bugs... all 4 games though used the same engine...
     
  8. USMCGrunt

    USMCGrunt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,113
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Technically, FO4 uses the Creation Engine which is different from Gamebryo.....but it does seem to be built on top of some Gamebryo code. UE4 is a lot more polished and a lot more capable...I'm guessing they're trying to save developing in-house instead of licensing UE...though I really don't know.
     
  9. Skripka

    Skripka [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,792
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    I've never seen a game built on UE that has any user mod capabilities whatsoever. Is that a case of developers locking down UE, or a case of what games I look at...or a case of UE games simply not being moddable by user as a fundamental premise?
     
  10. Terpfen

    Terpfen [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    The Creation Engine is just a somewhat upgraded, renamed Gamebryo engine. The exact same console commands that worked in Gamebryo work in Creation. It's the same thing.
     
  11. BottomsUp

    BottomsUp Gawd

    Messages:
    588
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Guys i just got a new 144hz gsync monitor coming from a 60hz non gsync and am not sure it's working properly.

    I read this thread which I find somewhat confusing and tried a few settings both with ingame vsync on and off and a FPS limiter to 60hz but i still feel like i'm getting stutter with gsync on when FPS is in the 45-60 range

    I have never played with gsync so i'm not sure if it's my expectatiosn are off or if this game has some problem with it. I have confirmed the video card thinks it working by enabling the 'gsync in game display' from control panel.

    Thanks

    https://www.reddit.com/r/pcgaming/comments/3shwfj/fallout_4s_simulation_seems_to_be_tied_to_vsync/
     
  12. Bigbacon

    Bigbacon [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,824
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    well 73 hours in and I finally made it to the institute. I am astounded at how short the main quest is. It is worse than FO3 or NV it seems. I felt like I did about 4 main missions before getting here.
     
  13. Spewn

    Spewn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,459
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Well, there is Ark, which at least proves that it's down to the developer/publisher to decide.
     
  14. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,851
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    299 hours I just got there. Go for a stroll around the wasteland build up a few settlements customize your gear...
     
  15. Odellus

    Odellus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,696
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    i think it's just the game. i haven't played in a while so i don't know what exactly was happening at the time when i would observe microstutter, but it definitely doesn't happen in any other game for me with gsync.
     
  16. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,405
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    The game/engine generally has quite a bit of micro stutter from what i've noticed and it's possible gsync may actually exacerbate this issue.
     
  17. MavericK

    MavericK Zero Cool

    Messages:
    28,923
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Do...do you even read these forums?
     
  18. pothb

    pothb [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,997
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    You guys are bringing up numbers.... but is that the save number or actual gameplay time? Because those save numbers are probably off for me, since there are plenty of times where I forget to save, then die and have to repeat 30 minutes or an hour.
     
  19. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,851
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    My 299 hours is what steam says I have played...
     
  20. Domingo

    Domingo [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,207
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    One thing I've noticed is that there are far fewer quests with a real story to them. Most of the plot in FO4 is isolated to reading text on terminals and the occasional note instead of having an actual plot play out in front of you.
    I don't know if it's better or worse, but it probably cut down on the number of spoken lines (beyond random companion chatter) by a significant amount.
     
  21. Terpfen

    Terpfen [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Do you? Because Climber has never addressed me prior to that post.
     
  22. jyi786

    jyi786 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,501
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Dude, last night I had the most fun in a game that I have had in almost 10 years.

    So, I set about repairing the huge gaping holes in the Castle walls. Got them patched up nicely. Next, I set up a brigade of turret defense line: 4 heavy machine guns, 2 laser, and 4 missile turrets right at top wall of the front gate. Standing outside it, so I guessed, hmm, wonder how this would hold up against a party of enemies.

    I used the console and spawned a legendary deathclaw. Ultimate hilarity ensued. That thing got ripped to shreds in 3 seconds flat by my turret line. Next up I spawned 20 legendary gunners, then legendary synths, then legendary assaultrons. Turret line ripped each group to shreds. It was amazing and ridiculously funny to see synth parts flying through the sky and into the ocean. I do have to say the effects are very lifelike and the sound is amazing. It's like real war (in my limited understanding of what that is really like). :)

    Next came legendary supermutants. This time, I did 40. That was a match, as they disabled all my turrets. Now, I am going to install a mod to get rid of the settlement size limit, and then beef up the entire turret line to triple it and see what happens.

    So much fun! :D
     
  23. Bigbacon

    Bigbacon [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,824
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    already done all that. I had explored every possible location I could before that.

    Did any missions I could that didn't mess with the main line unless I needed to. Plus the settlement thing isn't really interesting to me so I don't bother sitting around for hours building things. i think it is getting to the point where I'm going to have to choose a side, which I really don't want to do. Railroad has me want to do a mission where the institute will hate me, the BoS nearly hates me because I went to the institute with the railroads help and screw preston garvey and his settlement helping missions.
     
  24. Opie

    Opie Gawd

    Messages:
    986
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    @bottomsup

    I'm running gsynch and it's a relatively smooth experience. Here are my settings:

    Monitor @ 144hz. Make sure that both the monitor via it's on-board controls and the Nvidia control panel are set to 144hz in both the "Change Resolution" page and "manage 3D Settings" under global (highest available).

    Game: V-synch off, run full screen/non-windowed. Limit FPS to 90 via Nvidia Inspector. God Rays to low or off.

    Despite this under heavy load things will chug a tiny bit, esp Corvega exterior, but it's generally OK and very pleasant to play. I almost never use VATS because the available precision is so good via Gsynch.
     
  25. Climber

    Climber [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,283
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Then you didn't pay attention. All of the fallout series have huge gaps of logic in them. Pointing them out becomes kind of a buzzkill. I've never seen you nitpick a game before otherwise I'm sure I would have dropped a smartass comment.

    I mean you are playing a video game based on nuclear war that takes place over 200 years in an alternate future and the one thing that bothers you is that a sentry bot left outside doesn't have rust on it? Really? Drinking radiated cola, canned food, or that Elder Maxson is now in the commonwealth instead of California running things doesn't bother you or that the BoS has a standing army and going on the offensive?

    There is so much cannon and lore that doesn't make sense in the new games that I'm flabbergasted they actually called them Fallout 3 and 4 but that doesn't take away how much fun they are and I'm glad we have them. Nitpicking such a small thing seems silly is all I was pointing out. I really wasn't trying to offend.
     
  26. Frankie

    Frankie 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,088
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    I'm over 100 hours in, haven't been to the institute yet, haven't explored every location yet, haven't used more than half the companions yet, and really haven't done much with settlements other than building a simple tower at the red rocket and haphazardly plopping tons of sleeping bags/turrets/etc whenever I come across a new one.
     
  27. Domingo

    Domingo [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,207
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    I'm pretty sure the different missions don't affect the differing factions THAT much until they give you an on-screen warning.
    I've done a few missions that are in direct conflict with one faction or another. The most it seemed to do was to make one of my companions dislike the action.
    I'm right about to hit level 57, which will give me all of the perks I was setting out to get. The last one is one of the ones where it makes power armor last longer. At that point I'm just going to put a suit of it on and march toward the end of the game. I'm at the point where I do have to choose a side and random wandering isn't doing much in the way of plot development or XP. A few places that did give tons of XP (Quincy) have been listed as "Cleared" for a while, so I can't grind there anymore, too.
     
  28. MrSteel74

    MrSteel74 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,599
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2000
    I've played this game for 200 hours and during the course of the 1st 75 I never went to Diamond City and my only companion was Dogmeat. I spent the time exploring, setting up new settlements and just having fun; this is easily my game of the year. I've perfected the game achievement wise and the way I played the game I still have 3 of the 4 factions friendly with me.
     
  29. Bigbacon

    Bigbacon [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,824
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Finished it today, it ended quite quickly after the institute. I need to go back and reload though because the one mission we totally bonkers and I lost my ability to go back to the institute.

    I was friendly with all but the institute at the end. Time to pony up for the season pass now. hopefully the DLC is like those from the previous games which were all quite good.
     
  30. chenw

    chenw 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,977
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    I spent a lot of my time in this game 'unlocking' settlements and making my own base out in Sanctuary, but there is one or two I would keep empty due to the amount of clutter (EG red rocket) or the house would be a nice place to have alone (EG the Boathouse).

    The only one I haven't been able to decide which side I want to pick is

    Covenant, but chances are I will side with the Synth, I despise all those who doesn't care about others, especially against their own kind, for paranoia and petty revenge. Unfortunately, that would also lead to a blood bath, but the town would be a very nice base afterwards

    However, I am running into a severe shortage of copper, screws, oil and especially caps, what's everybody's sources for them? Screws I can get by mismantling weapons/armor with mods, but copper and oil seem to be in short supply, especially since I can't seem to 'farm' them like I can with adhesives. I imagine shopping for copper containing junk from traders is for copper, but Oil has me baffled. The Oil shipments are total ripoff, but bones are not exactly easy to find either.

    Oh, and caps.... 22h on my save game and I only amassed 3000 caps. Granted, I barely sold anything, but the weapon/armor poses a very strange dilemma of either dismantling for screws, leather and other components, or sell them...
     
  31. Climber

    Climber [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,283
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    I was given a tip of setting up trade routes between settlements which requires charisma 6. Once you get a few of them going caps aren't a problem any more.
     
  32. chenw

    chenw 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,977
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Thanks, guess it's time to pay Bunker Hill a visit.
     
  33. BottomsUp

    BottomsUp Gawd

    Messages:
    588
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Yes the supply line feature is awesome for growing food to make adhesive. I never run out now...
     
  34. carnageX

    carnageX Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    494
    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    When scavenging, pick up every lighter, lantern, bar of soap, and gas can you find. All of them will reduce down to oil.
     
  35. jiminator

    jiminator Capt Obvious

    Messages:
    11,241
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    there are a couple of item scavenging perks. once you have both levels you can then go to a station, look at recipes and flag missing items for lookup. they will show a magnifying glass and if you have both perks the container will light up. if you want to find everything then dump all loot, and in an empty scavenging station (like those found in enemy buildings) flag everything. Repeat for armor, chems, cooking, etc.
     
  36. MrSteel74

    MrSteel74 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,599
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2000
    Also when scavenging most armor gives you very little resources concentrate on "junk" items and weapons and get the scavenger perk as well it is extremely helpful. I wandered around with Dogmeat for the longest time and I took the Lone Wanderer perks that gave me more carry weight when exploring on your own but works with Dogmeat as well.
     
  37. LeninGHOLA

    LeninGHOLA Vladimir Hayt

    Messages:
    18,416
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Maxson was never in Cali. Not this Maxson.
     
  38. chenw

    chenw 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,977
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Thanks everyone for the input, I already have both of the scavenger perks, but I didn't think of the "take all junk, highlight every ingredient" trick. I did however use the carry weight cheat (gave myself 10,000lb of carry weight), so I had been diligently looting everything that wasn't bolted down, even bones, which I later found could be converted to oil, but I am still running into shortages of Copper and Oil.

    I'll try using the caravans and use the income to buy the stuff I need.

    Oh, one more thing, do the trade stations share their stock if I have built several in different (or even the same?) settlements?
     
  39. aeonrevolution

    aeonrevolution 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,316
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Any updates on the ability to switch between keyboard/mouse and a controller on the fly?

    I put this game down awhile ago bc it frustrated me so much that you couldn't do this simple task.
     
  40. chenw

    chenw 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,977
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Haven't heard anything, but I don't usually (or rather, I avoid it) play anything that requires precision aiming with a controller, so I haven't been paying much attention.

    On a different note, how do you move settlers to other settlements? I can only figure out how to assign them on a supply route, but not moving them completely...