3dfx Voodoo 5 6000

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by erek, Sep 12, 2018.

  1. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,687
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005

    definitely not going to risk the 6000 in a dodgy motherboard
     
  2. Susquehannock

    Susquehannock 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,446
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Guess you bought the EPoX as untested then. Should be easy enough to find a working socket A board. An nForce2 would be cool. Though those usually command higher prices than VIA based ones.
     
    erek likes this.
  3. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,687
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
  4. Susquehannock

    Susquehannock 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,446
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    erek likes this.
  5. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,687
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    it's because of the prototype nature of the 6000

    "the HiNT bridge which is the biggest death cause for the Voodoo 5 6000 cards in the world. On some motherboards this chip can be destroyed by a short-circuit during the boot process and this kills the whole card."

    http://www.x86-secret.com/articles/divers/v5-6000/v56kgb-6.htm
     
  6. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,687
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    She arrived!

     
    jeffj7, DrezKill, Reaperkk and 8 others like this.
  7. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,687
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    any missing capacitors or resistors?

    gpm324Y.jpg
     
  8. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,944
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    looks fine to me. if GB? did the rework on it I would assume he scoured every mm of it.
     
    erek likes this.
  9. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,687
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    slightly better shot

    IMG-1281.jpg
     
    DrezKill and pendragon1 like this.
  10. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    765
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    It looks fine, but I wouldn't trust those SMD caps. I had to replace all of them on my V5 5500, more than half were bad. Luckily the V5 6000 only has two SMD electrolytics instead of a dozen or so sprinkled all over the 5500.

    If you do plan on using the card, I would definitely figure out a way to brace the card to prevent it from flexing. While it does use leaded solder instead of ROHS crap and is less prone to BGA failures, it is still subject to mechanical stress. Even a carefully cut length of stick on the end of the card is better than letting it hang from just the AGP slot.

    If you want me to have a go at repairing that EPoX board, let me know.
     
    erek and pendragon1 like this.
  11. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,944
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    a bamboo skewer makes a good prop rod.
     
    alxlwson and erek like this.
  12. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,750
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    If you could work out the values for those missing components that Epox board is entirely fixable.
     
    erek and Susquehannock like this.
  13. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,944
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    upload_2018-9-22_17-49-21.png

    this is the best pic of what is supposed to be the 8k3a backside I could find. not sure if it will help, not very high res...
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2018
    erek likes this.
  14. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    765
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Unfortunately SMD ceramic capacitors almost never have markings on them. They'd have to be removed from the board and tested with a capacitance tester to be sure what they were.

    The only thing I could do is measure the capacitance of nearby caps that look like they perform similar functions and replace the missing ones with those.

    As for the fuses, those would probably have to be bought, I doubt I have anything like those in my scrap board pile.
     
    erek and pendragon1 like this.
  15. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,944
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    ah so no it doesn't. I tried :)
     
    erek likes this.
  16. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    765
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    It is a good reference to know if the positions are populated or not, sometimes SMD components are not installed for various reasons and putting them in places where they shouldn't be can cause problems.
     
    erek and pendragon1 like this.
  17. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,944
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    the sad bit for me is that I know that there used to be at least a dozen of those floating around my town, 'cause i built systems with them. not the voodoo though, never personally saw one of those 6000s.
     
    erek likes this.
  18. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    765
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Well if another one turns up, you can ship it to erek.
     
    erek and pendragon1 like this.
  19. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,687
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Looking over eBay for these:

    "Asus P4S533-E (SiS645dx) Rev. 1.04 (BIOS 1006 and 1008Beta tested) compatible Rev.A 3700
    ASUS P3B-F (i440BX, v1.04): compatible (tested BIOS up to 1006, higher BIOS versions result in no-vga beep) Rev.A3 3400
    EPoX EP-BX3 Rev.A2 2600, Rev.A3 3400, Rev.A 3700 & Rev.A 3900 compatible
    EPoX EP-8K3A Rev. 1.0 - 1.2 Rev.A0 0700, Rev.A1 1500, Rev.A2 2600, Rev.A3 3400 Rev.A 3700 & Rev.A 3900 compatible
    EPoX EP-8K3A+ Rev. 1.0 - 1.2 Rev.A0 0700, Rev.A1 1500, Rev.A2 2600, Rev.A3 3400 Rev.A 3700 & Rev.A 3900 compatible
    EPoX EP-8K5A2+ Rev. 1.2 Rev.A2 2600 & Rev.A 3700 compatible
    EPoX EP-8K5A3+ Rev. 1.1 Rev.A2 2600 & Rev.A 3700 compatible
    EPoX EP-8KHA VIA Apollo KT266(A) compatible Rev.A 3700"


    Source: https://forums.evga.com/3dfx-Voodoo...-I-did-for-the-3dfx-communities-m2185131.aspx


    Found an EPoX EP-8K5A3+, but costing an arm and a leg: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Epox-EP-8K...056249?hash=item41d518f2b9:g:I-oAAOSwaEhZJnpn



    Currently working the Returns process for that Dead 8K3A (non-plus) board.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  20. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    765
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    I found the budget version of the P4S533-E, which is the P4S533-VM for about $50

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/113095093347

    There are likely a bunch of boards which work with the V5 6000 other than those. You'd just have to do the hint bridge test where you keep a finger on it while powering on and have your hand near the PSU switch if it starts getting excessively hot.
     
    erek and revenant like this.
  21. UnrealCpu

    UnrealCpu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,734
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    I found my Voodoo 5500 and EPoX 8K3A+ different times at the good will outlets. Paid 2 bucks ea
    also found a p4 engineering sample extreme edition on the motherboard.. free of charge with the ram lol


    Everything works great.. I have quite a collection of older retro computer stuff.. They will never be emulated perfectly and so will sound cards.

    my most recent find is a turbo graphx 16 , docking station and CD for 2 bucks.



    i just ordered the power adapter through radio shack and tested today and it worked. Now i just need the controller but those can cost 35 bucks :(

    The power adapter on the docking station is ultra rare and can cost 40-100 bucks. Luckily through some research radio shack online had the power adapter for 20 bucks. I could sell it but i guess i would never have one again since they are ultra rare.
    Everyone hold onto those Voodoo cards even if it is just a 3000 version which i have found many of them at goodwill outlet. nglide emulation is not perfect.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2018
    erek likes this.
  22. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,687
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005

    wonder if there are differences big enough between the E and VM to be concerned enough
     
  23. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,944
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    erek likes this.
  24. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    765
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    The chipsets are slightly different (SiS 645DX for -E vs SiS 651 for -VM), the only real difference seems to be the 651 has a SiS 315 IGP. Both chipsets can use the same southbridge chips (SiS 962/962L) and support the same CPUs.

    That board won't work with any Voodoo5, it has an AGP 4x/8x keyed slot.
     
    pendragon1 and erek like this.
  25. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,687
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Seen this? heh

     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  26. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,944
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    lol and a lock pick apearently
     
    erek likes this.
  27. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,687
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    some x-3dfx group members with a reference 8K3A+ are going to attempt a repair on my 8K3A (non-plus).. also someone may be donating an EPoX 8KHA including CPU after recapping and testing the board thoroughly... so looks like i'm getting some help and options
     
  28. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,687
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Additional good news, the seller accepted my Partial Refund request so i can repair the board !!!

    "The seller has now refunded $XX.94 to your original payment method.You don't need to return this item to the seller - you can keep the item."
     
    pendragon1 and Susquehannock like this.
  29. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    765
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Looks like everything is working out.

    My V5 5500 motherboard died a few days ago due to a series of unfortunate events that lead to a corrupt BIOS. I'll be too poor for awhile to replace it.
     
  30. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,687
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005

    :( :(


    I have an ASUS TULS2-C w/ PIII 1.4GHz that depending on how things work out here, might be willing to donate perhaps?

     
    DrezKill likes this.
  31. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    765
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Thanks for the offer, but I have a similar situation as you where I need a very specific motherboard to run my 5500.

    It needs to be a Pentium 4 motherboard with a universal AGP slot, like the P4S533-VM that I listed above. Reason that I need a Pentium 4 is because I need SSE2 support. I have several other boards which can run the V5 5500, but they're Athlons or Pentium 3s and don't have SSE2.
     
    erek likes this.
  32. dgz

    dgz [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,320
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Play NFS2:SE on it!
     
    erek likes this.
  33. tsuehpsyde

    tsuehpsyde [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,595
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    The Voodoo 5500 AGP was the first piece of "kit" that I ever got and started me down the path of computers and PC gaming (along with the rest the my first system, who's specs I still remember). This thread makes me so very happy. :)
     
    erek likes this.
  34. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,687
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    "
    [10:11 AM]
    H_Rush:
    also, v6000 doesn't work on TUSL(
    "


    (ASUS TUSL2-C motherboard is a no-go, which i own... someone else tested on theirs)
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2018
  35. AlphaQup

    AlphaQup Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    301
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    I know I'm a bit late to stumble across this thread, but man, congrats on finally finding your holy grail erek !

    I have no memory of the pre-geforce GPU's, I wasn't quite old enough yet :( Pretty sure this was my first GPU back when I was 9-10 or so.

    That Q3 Arena pic in your OP really takes me back...

    Great thread, and GL on the build/rebuild/repair!
     
    erek likes this.
  36. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,687
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Update, the EPoX 8K3A (non-plus) has touched down in Australia today and getting closer to being repaired!

    "September 28, 2018, 4:51 pm
    Departed
    MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
    Your item departed a transfer airport in METROPOLITAN AREA, MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA on September 28, 2018 at 4:51 pm. The item is currently in transit to the destination. "
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  37. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,687
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    what do you all think of running a Voodoo5 series on Windows XP? are the reverse engineered drivers horrible?

    this guy here ran Q3A with WinXP, but didn't demonstrate any other games, and i guess the Voodoo5 6000 drivers even on Win9x were Alpha at best:

     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  38. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    765
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    My v5 5500 works *alright* on Windows XP. The only major issue I have had was programs expecting Direct X 8/9 hardware not functioning properly.
     
    erek likes this.
  39. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,687
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Even more damage discovered to my 8K3A (non-plus) !

    The Bad News - 6 Missing SMD Capacitors - All Capacitors are original Teapo branded which suck

    43134806_253872225310356_6729780592495296512_n.jpg

    43016079_306773160122153_3169568388502519808_n.jpg

    43045083_751091565230220_5386570733637861376_n.jpg



    42977570_2024442917598849_5839807830541991936_n.jpg
     
  40. Verge

    Verge [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,265
    Joined:
    May 27, 2001
    call me a stupid head but is there no compatible alternative for the teapo caps?
     
    erek likes this.