What is your backup GPU?

DrDoU

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
2,681
sold my xfx 5600xt to buy a R9 3900x. so my evga 970 ssc is in use and i have 2 gtx 660's if need be.
 

Nenu

[H]ardened
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
19,616
Cos my 6700K machine wouldnt work with my 3090 I bought a new machine for it.
So I still use my 1080ti (FE with Arctic Xtreme III cooler) in the old machine for browsing and light gaming.
Its still quite incredible, gaming on a Samsung CRG9 UUW is no problem for many games at full res!
I've been playing Mafia II Definitive Edition as if on a new PC (ie no framerate issues at all).

Sucks to be the person who was going to get my 1080ti though.
 

arnemetis

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,269
Hmm if my 1080 ti dies my whole setup is out of commission for a bit as I have custom water cooling. I would use the gf's pc which has an amd 4gb 580 in it. If I had to put something in my pc (and it wasn't stealing with 480,) it would be the 9800 gtx I've been using for a mock up in my new case.
 

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
169
It appears most of people here will do just fine if main gou goes out of commission, spare for a few lost souls who would have to adjust. (play tetris or minesweeper until the state of gpu decay passes.)
 

GNUse_the_force

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2014
Messages
481
I have an APU which would take over. I don't think i could run too much on it, but at least i would get a functioning desktop with video and some very light gaming.
 

undertaker2k8

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
1,190
The RX6800 looks like a much better fit on the SFF system. Goodbye my 3090 FE, our time together was short but you will always be in my heart :)
 

Attachments

  • 20210503_093211.jpg
    20210503_093211.jpg
    367 KB · Views: 0
  • 20210503_091024.jpg
    20210503_091024.jpg
    306.6 KB · Views: 0

causticspill

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
300
Backup? As in singular? I have my backup backed up with backups: Sapphire Pulse Vega 56, XFX DD R9 290 (lifetime warranty on this one), XFX R7 360 (warranty replacement for HD 6870), XFX HD 4850.
 

causticspill

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
300
causticspill , lifetime is usually "lifetime of a product's cycle" printed somewhere in fine text, which means until unit reaches end of life cycle, aka discontinued.
I'm fairly certain that this is a true lifetime warranty based on purchasing the "Double Dissapation" model of the card and getting it registered with XFX at the time. Although if it died I am sure I would get whatever "equivalent" old card they have lying around, and certainly not a 6700XT.
 

Sorbert

n00b
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
12
Got an aorus master 3080 rev 1 and back up is an xtreme 1080 ti after that a 780, 470, 8800, and if really need got trusty 6600 gt x2 gigabyte but not sure if it works outside that motherboard never tried
 

talon95

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 13, 2006
Messages
148
You got into PCs recently?

That was partly a joke. The 2080S is in my HTPC to power Madvr. The 1080ti is in a machine in the family room for some gaming and also Madvr. 2060 is the only card really not needed but I'm keeping it as a backup for obvious reasons.
 

Nenu

[H]ardened
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
19,616
Unfortunately nothing at the moment 🤣

Would be a really $hitty time for my main GPU to take a dump.

I so want to update the paste and pads on my 3090 but the sheer cost, and chance of replacing it being nil, scares me.
I'm good for the task being an EEE but theres always that what if?
Even though I have a spare card I'm just as scared as you about harming my top card.

If it was a 3080 and I could get another I'd be all over the upgrade.
Might still do it though, I have some nutter days :D
 

JSHamlet234

Weaksauce
Joined
Apr 9, 2021
Messages
66
I so want to update the paste and pads on my 3090 but the sheer cost, and chance of replacing it being nil, scares me.
I'm good for the task being an EEE but theres always that what if?
Even though I have a spare card I'm just as scared as you about harming my top card.

If it was a 3080 and I could get another I'd be all over the upgrade.
Might still do it though, I have some nutter days :D

I don't blame you. If the memory is legitimately overheating (spec is 95C for Micron IC's), I would be raising hell to RMA the card. If a company wants to sell a $$$$ graphics card, it's THEIR job to build it right, not the consumer's.
 

Nenu

[H]ardened
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
19,616
I don't blame you. If the memory is legitimately overheating (spec is 95C for Micron IC's), I would be raising hell to RMA the card. If a company wants to sell a $$$$ graphics card, it's THEIR job to build it right, not the consumer's.
It hits 96C but in the summer its gonna be higher.
I'm not happy with 96C anyway which is why I'm considering the mod, it made up to 20C difference on other cards.

I dont trust what I get back from an RMA will be any better and could have other issues.
And I might be months without a card which is a real waste considering how long they remain useful at the high end.
So its a matter of having a brave/crazed day to do it :)
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
7,492
1. 1660 Super currently sitting in my Plex Server/Emulation Station
2. 750 OC

Most of my PC components rarely die on me, so I think I'll do alright (unless my ASUS 3070 OC is less than impressive over time).
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2016
Messages
580
Main: RTX 2070 Max-Q laptop that performs loosely like a desktop 2060

Backup: GTX 980, GTX 760 4 GB... leftover Quadro NVS 295 cards at work because I'm seriously short on even half-decent PCIe GPUs.

I've had that same GTX 980 since November 2015, was hoping to upgrade with an RTX 3080 for my Valve Index's sake, but yeah, you can guess how well that plan worked out. The goal was to put the 980 in the family desktop my bro uses to game, then move the 760 in that to a Mac Pro 3,1 to see if I can get Metal support out of it to run Mojave, basically get a nice trickle-down going, but that's clearly not working out when new GPUs worth buying just aren't available.

Heck, it might get to the point where I start having to back up all the way to the AGP era, 7800 GT, Voodoo5 5500 and all that... or even PCI era Voodoo2 SLI. Can't buy new hardware to play new games properly? Start playing the classics...
 

JSHamlet234

Weaksauce
Joined
Apr 9, 2021
Messages
66
@JSHamlet234 , I am sure their reply will be:

"works as intended, no malfunction present. RMA when failure occurs and you are within waranty period."

Oh, I'm sure. If they even acknowledge that there's a problem, they would probably try to blame the case ventilation.
 

harmattan

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
4,732
Either the Rtx 2080 or 2070 in my laptops, which are about equal to 2060 Super and 2060 desktop cards.

And I keep thinking I should sell my 3080s since I really don't need the power to run most of the games I play nowadays.
 

Toboggan

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 10, 2004
Messages
148
Radeon VII. I actually have it plugged into my rig next to my 3080. Kinda works with dual monitors, but mostly just using the inside of my pc for storage space.
 

HockeyJon

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 14, 2014
Messages
1,439
GTX 1070Ti primary, R9 280X spare. Not worth selling the 280X at this point, so I'll just hold on to it in case my 1070Ti dies and I can't get another for some time.
 
Top