What is your backup GPU?

///AMG

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
3,570
At this point I will just pull one of the GPU's from my other systems. Which TBH I am lucky since I have a 3080, 6800XT and a 3090.
 

GotNoRice

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
10,129
I don't have a "backup GPU" for my main system, but I have an entire backup computer on my KVM only a few button presses away. That computer uses 3x GeForce GTX680 in SLI. Aside from not having DX12 or Freesync support, the 3x GTX680s still do very well in the games that I care about.

The 680s carried me along for many years. I got the first one as a replacment for the 2x 4870x2 in quad-crossfire that I was running before. Then I got a 2nd GTX 680 not long afterward. I ran that 2-way SLI setup for a few years. Right about when I was going to replace those with a newer single card was when the first crypto mining boom occured. Instead of paying the inflated prices for a new card, I just got a 3rd GTX 680 instead. Used that triple-SLI setup until I got my 2080.
 
Last edited:

Aireoth

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 12, 2005
Messages
5,051
You are a brave soul, mate!
9D025ACE-F521-4A73-9C4A-7C65F4FE164D.jpeg
 

kilroy67

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
1,131
MSI 1080 Gaming X is currently the backup, although I also have a MSI 970 Gaming X in a old Intel machine of mine.
 

Shadowarez

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2019
Messages
410
im afraid to repaste and new pad the 3090FE i got as watching GN vids i still havent seen his update on what cuased him to lose performance for opening them. untill then i dont wanna risk it.
 

Falkentyne

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 19, 2000
Messages
1,748
im afraid to repaste and new pad the 3090FE i got as watching GN vids i still havent seen his update on what cuased him to lose performance for opening them. untill then i dont wanna risk it.

He lost performance because the stock pads can't be re-used. They compress way too much. There was no "Memory junction temperature" back then, so he was probably phantom throttling (or even had a large core to core hotspot delta!) and didn't even know it.
Proof? I've opened my 3090 FE over 15 times now (various repastes, shunt mods, fixing shunt mods, removing MG842AR silver paint for proper shunt mods, proper thermal pads on my very last disassembly 13 days ago (FINALLY got the core to core hotspot delta to not degrade anymore after switching from Thermalright Odyssey 1.5mm pads to Gelid Extreme 1.5mm pads!!). Gelid Extremes, NOT Gelid Ultimates.

To repad your card, buy four packs of these. (1.5mm).
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06WWDT6RC

Or 8 in stock if you want to get them here.
https://www.digikey.com/en/products/detail/gelid-solutions-llc/TP-GP01-C/13587347

Or if you want to wait, you can get 120mm * 120mm giant sized samples from Aliexpress.


One whole pack can do the VRAM chips on one side of the card. So that will take 2 packs for both sides' VRAM chips only.
The third pack you will need for the GPU Side VRM strips. Then you will use the leftovers from the three packs + the 4th pack for the PCB hotspots on the backplate side.
 

Ripskin

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
2,340
I usually keep my previous GPU as a backup. Unless that card is toast. Currently that is a 7970.
Hopefully next CPU cycle and GPU cycle I can do a rebuilt but I wont get my hopes up.
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
14,048
GTX 960 in htpc...if that fails, I still have an gtx 460 somewhere! main card is 1060 6gb

like swapping my old card into the htpc (will buy a rtx 3060 once they drop below 300!)
 

evhvis

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2021
Messages
128
Depends on how you define backup. The 1070 in computer #2 is the backup for my main and a 7970 is the backup for the secondary computer until we can order GPUs again. Would have preferred a 3060ti performance class for my secondary computer, if cards were available around MSRP.
 

pfc_m_drake

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
1,737
Primary = Radeon vii
Backup = Radeon HD 7770

Gave away my RX 480 8GB to a former co-worker who was helping his Grandson build his first PC at Christmas. I'm tempted to email him and tell him he owes me $1000 :p
 

Halon

Gawd
Joined
Aug 13, 2004
Messages
611
Primary: Gigabyte Eagle RTX 3070 I somehow snagged back in November for MSRP. I never stop feeling lucky for that right now.

Secondary: Radeon Vega Frontier Edition with a Raijintek Morpheus II cooler and two low profile Noctua fans. Previously in a Linux machine where I was playing with ROCm but now in the family PC.

After that it's a steep fall down to a 4GB Radeon Firepro W7000 (basically a professional grade 7870), then to a 560 Ti, and below that it's down to the rubble in my parts bin like a Geforce GT 610, a Radeon 4650, or a Matrox M9120... Man, I wish I hadn't sold my GTX Titan X.
 
Last edited:

Shadowarez

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2019
Messages
410
Primary: Gigabyte Eagle RTX 3070 I somehow snagged back in November for MSRP. I never stop feeling lucky for that right now.

Secondary: Radeon Vega Frontier Edition with a Raijintek Morpheus II cooler and two low profile Noctua fans. Previously in a Linux machine where I was playing with ROCm but now in the family PC.

After that it's a steep fall down to a 4GB Radeon Firepro W7000 (basically a professional grade 7870), then to a 560 Ti, and below that it's down to the rubble in my parts bin like a Geforce GT 610, a Radeon 4650, or a Matrox M9120... Man, I wish I hadn't sold my GTX Titan X.
i hear ya i sold 4 Titan X in rigs sold for $2200
 

MooCow

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 13, 2000
Messages
7,497
Current GPU I'm running on is an Nvidia 2080Ti on an EK waterblock.

Backup GPU is an Nvidia TITAN X (PASCAL) waterblocked with the 5M0 resistor solder shunt mod. Do not use liquid metal to perform shunt mods. I still can't believe people are still making videos on how to perform liquid metal shunt modding on YouTube today.

Backup GPU #2 is an Nvidia Titan X (Maxwell) waterblocked and modded with the Skynet BIOS flash.

Remember Nvidia got all fucky when it came to naming the TITAN X editions, there was a Titan X Maxwell (based off the 980 Architecture) and then then Titan X Pascal (Based off the 1080 architecture). Significant differences between the two, but they named them the same!

I saw some impressive improvements modding both Titan X's. I have a first year fabrication 2080Ti so I can flash the BIOS on it.
 
Last edited:

Criticalhitkoala

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 17, 2015
Messages
1,901
Backup GPU is a 2070 I bought from Kyle himself. My daughter has been using it for Roblox and the Sim's 4, but occasionally I will game on it.
 

Nasgul

Weaksauce
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
103
Well......................bought an eVGA 1650 Super for $100 on Craigslist back in Nov 2020 for my back up PC, it's a refurb but then thinking of putting an HTPC in my living room, and in 12/10/2020 I bought an eVGA 1650 but I haven't used it so far.
Sitting here in the sealed box still, so that could be the backup for the main PC and backup PC just in case either PC's video card fails. Then again, they're nVidia cards, they haven't failed me since TNT2 M64. So don't need the 1650 actually.
 

Attachments

  • P_20210507_112859.jpg
    P_20210507_112859.jpg
    209.3 KB · Views: 0

Kerby1280

n00b
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
22
Currently running EVGA RTX 3080 FTW but I have on reserve an Asus RTX 2080ti Strix and Asus 1080ti Strix. Need to sell the backups but just been too lazy. If I decide to sell the backups then there's an MSI GTX 680 Lightning waiting in the wings should something happen to the 3080.
 

ElementDave

Weaksauce
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
79
He lost performance because the stock pads can't be re-used. They compress way too much. There was no "Memory junction temperature" back then, so he was probably phantom throttling (or even had a large core to core hotspot delta!) and didn't even know it.
Proof? I've opened my 3090 FE over 15 times now (various repastes, shunt mods, fixing shunt mods, removing MG842AR silver paint for proper shunt mods, proper thermal pads on my very last disassembly 13 days ago (FINALLY got the core to core hotspot delta to not degrade anymore after switching

You're braver than I. What solvent/conc. do you use for adhesive removal?
 

syd2o2

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
167
Main is 3070, first backup is 2070 super, than amd 6970, than gtx 440. Last two have been sitting in the drawer for a better part of a decade. 6970 is a leftover from the last mining craze.
 

III_Slyflyer_III

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 17, 2019
Messages
420
My backup is a 2080Ti I have in my TV computer... if that goes, my next backup is 2 1080's in SLI.... lol. I have a problem keeping old video cards... I have every card I ever owned going back to my Voodoo3... haha
 

Agent_N

Gawd
Joined
Aug 20, 2004
Messages
544
I had a RX 570 4GB card from previous mining spike as it was all I could afford at the time. Bought an EVGA 1660 from a forum member in January. Decided to start mining to help pay for new PC components. Got an RX 480 8GB from a friend, then got a 1070 Ti from a forum member. So I have a couple of backup cards and making, now, >$300/month mining ETH. Maybe I'll win the Newegg shuffle someday and get a shiny new card...
 
Top