The Official Guild Wars 2 thread

Scooty Puff Sr.

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
183
Hell yeah. I'm amazed they've been listening to the players so intently.

Cliffs:
- Your characters from the last beta event will transfer to this one.
- Ascalonian Catacombs Explorable Mode
- New map called Gendarran Fields (lvl 25-35) outside of Lion's Arch
- Mystic Forge. Drop your unwanted gear in here for a "gift" in return. Located in Lion's Arch
- PvP Tournaments. Eight teams of five-players, three-round, single-elimination.
- PvP reward system involves Glory (current) and Rank (measurement of PvP success). You receive chests as you climb in Rank.
- Improvements to combat. Better timing, enhanced sound design, subtle camera shakes.
- Overflow servers allow you to see where your party members are, and can now travel the Overflow server they are on.
- Chat bubbles, map chat (sounds like a particular zone's General chat), local chat (like /say, possibly /shout).
- New keybinding interface, and can now bind modifier keys.
- Minimap is square and can be resized. Dodge meter is now wrapped around the top of the health bar (which also has segments so you know exactly when Dodge is ready).
- Skills are now in tiers, so you have to purchase skills in one tier before you can move onto the next. (This doesn't have anything to do with Weapon Skills, it's the actual Skills interface)
- New items in Gem Store.

So many improvements in just one BWE. Damn I can't wait for this game.

Wow...the only major cons I heard from people last BWE was you couldn't bind modifiers, lag, and the problems with overflow servers....it looks like they fix all of those.

EDIT:

Also, looks like you missed one thing.

Expanded World vs. World

Once again, the Mists will echo with the sound of combat as we open up World vs. World for the weekend. As usual, massive armies of players from different servers will battle for supremacy on four huge maps, but this time we’ve added a couple of interesting new twists.

Players can now take their WvW battle underground in a new “mini dungeon” beneath the central map. This brand-new subterranean level is full of tricks and traps that can be used against enemy players, and is home to the aptly named Dark Room, which players will have to see (or not) to believe.

We’ve also added skill challenges, dynamic events, and even jump puzzles to the WvW maps. Why are these PvE elements being integrated into WvW gameplay? “We want to make the transition from PvE to World vs. World easy and natural for players,” says developer Matt Witter. “We always wanted additional meaningful content on the WvW maps so that players will always have something to do, even if the frontline of battle is far away.”
 
Last edited:

Skizzy

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
4,096
Yeah, I hope it can be disabled... it's annoying in the other MMO's I've played (thankfully, Rift had an option to disable it).
Agreed, but with how well they've been listening to input, I'm sure it'll be either properly implemented or toggleable. Completely different games, I know, but if it's anything like Diablo 3's screen shake, it might be neat. Who knows.

Also, looks like you missed one thing.
Oops! Thanks. :D
 

SolidSnakeUS

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 29, 2008
Messages
1,282
Am I the only one who can't download 3 files via launcher when it's updating?

EDIT: It finally worked. I think it was something on their end.
 
Last edited:

GoldenTiger

[H]ard as it Gets
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
19,093
Hm, trying to keep my patches updated and now I get this when I try to start the launcher:

Assertion: Received incorrect amount of data from HTTP server.

Anyone?
 

GoldenTiger

[H]ard as it Gets
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
19,093
I got that earlier, just keep trying, it will eventually fix itself. It's on their end.
I tried for hours before posting... however I just found a solution that worked for me: delete the "chrome" and "gw2.tmp" files and then re-run the patcher, and it goes through :D. Thanks regardless for your reply :).
 

Curious_George

[H]Lite
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
114
Hm, trying to keep my patches updated and now I get this when I try to start the launcher:

Assertion: Received incorrect amount of data from HTTP server.

Anyone?
I'm having the same problem. And deleting chrome and gw2.tmp doesn't help.

edit: XP compatibility mode worked, however.
 
Last edited:

zoobaby

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Jun 7, 2004
Messages
6,178
Wow...the only major cons I heard from people last BWE was you couldn't bind modifiers, lag, and the problems with overflow servers....it looks like they fix all of those.

EDIT:

Also, looks like you missed one thing.
They largely fixed the lag issue during the last BWE. I think they found the cause and put a band aid on it. I think the mini stress test they had a few weeks back tested a real fix for it as it was pretty much lag free.
 

zoom99

[H]Lite
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
68
I saw these questions in the reddit iama:

D4. What is the intent with game performance as it applies to multi-core processors (2, 4, 8 core etc)

As part of our performance improvements we plan to push more processing on to multiple cores. We're already utilizing multiple cores though!
-Peter

Can you talk a little about game optimization (like support for multi-core CPUs and newer DX11 GPUs) for GW2 and what your plans are?

This is something we'll be working on until release. You'll see improvements with each beta weekend.
The cold hard technical speak is: we need to fix the main CPU thread getting stalled on occlusion queries to the GPU; we need to fix driver compatibility issues; we'll continue offloading work to other threads.
~ MO

Hello guys:) Just a simple question, is the game running on more than 1 core this beta event? :) Thanks!

Yes!
-Peter

Will this beta recognize the GPU and more than 1 core of the CPU?

We still have work to do on performance but you should see improvements from BWE1.
-Peter
 

Bdonedge

Gawd
Joined
Jun 10, 2010
Messages
968
Game seems promising but hope they fix the "hardware" issues. I remember I bought BRINK cause everyone said it was going to be incredible, turns out the game was completely unplayable due to hardware issues. I was running the same machine as I am now (in my sig) and it wouldn't go above 15 FPS. The game died shortly there-after. Community is dead.

MMO-wise, Vanguard SOH was rushed and even though the game play was great, it was unplayable because it wasn't optimized. So I hope they are taking it seriously and push it off until it is 100% ready to play
 

GoldenTiger

[H]ard as it Gets
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
19,093
Game seems promising but hope they fix the "hardware" issues. I remember I bought BRINK cause everyone said it was going to be incredible, turns out the game was completely unplayable due to hardware issues. I was running the same machine as I am now (in my sig) and it wouldn't go above 15 FPS. The game died shortly there-after. Community is dead.

MMO-wise, Vanguard SOH was rushed and even though the game play was great, it was unplayable because it wasn't optimized. So I hope they are taking it seriously and push it off until it is 100% ready to play
I wouldn't say Vanguard was unplayable, it just had huge hardware requirements, like Crysis did, for its time. There's a difference between unoptimized and simply demanding... however, Guild Wars 2 seems to fall towards the former from what I hear.
 

SilverSliver

Beat It To Deformation
Joined
Feb 23, 2004
Messages
11,229
Is there an unofficial "this is where the good guilds are going" server?

edit -- Looks like Sorrows Furnace is the unofficial ex-DAOC server. I will be there.
 

zoom99

[H]Lite
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
68
In this game, the most populated are the most laggy and the zones are less fun imo. I came across lots of old Daoc guilds on ferguson's crossing too btw.
 

Bdonedge

Gawd
Joined
Jun 10, 2010
Messages
968
As hopeful as it was looking, how can they afford these servers without a monthly subscription? That is the only thing that concerns me with this game, the lack of support to their servers/etc
 

evilsofa

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
10,078
As hopeful as it was looking, how can they afford these servers without a monthly subscription? That is the only thing that concerns me with this game, the lack of support to their servers/etc
By charging for add-ons, costumes, character and account services, unlock packs, extra character slots, extra bank slots, and so forth. Here's the GW1 moneymakers:

https://secure.ncsoft.com/cgi-bin/Store.pl?action=toggleCategory;category=4

If GW2 is anything like GW1 was, I'll be buying some extra bank slots right off the bat, and possibly some extra character slots, because unlike the other stuff, those two things are actually useful.
 

Bdonedge

Gawd
Joined
Jun 10, 2010
Messages
968
By charging for add-ons, costumes, character and account services, unlock packs, extra character slots, extra bank slots, and so forth. Here's the GW1 moneymakers:

https://secure.ncsoft.com/cgi-bin/Store.pl?action=toggleCategory;category=4

If GW2 is anything like GW1 was, I'll be buying some extra bank slots right off the bat, and possibly some extra character slots, because unlike the other stuff, those two things are actually useful.
I never played the first one, whats with the PvP unlocks and things like that? You have to pay extra to PvP? I'm assuming a Mercenary slot is just character slots?

So this game is borderline microtransactions? Interesting.
 

evilsofa

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
10,078
I never played the first one, whats with the PvP unlocks and things like that? You have to pay extra to PvP? I'm assuming a Mercenary slot is just character slots?

So this game is borderline microtransactions? Interesting.
No, you don't need to pay to PVP or unlock stuff. You can unlock that stuff just by playing the game. It takes a while to unlock those things by playing so some people just buy them.

Mercenary slots are slots into which you can clone a max level character and turn them into a Hero. Heroes are NPCs that you can group with and can configure with skills and equipment; you can have a maximum of 7 Heroes. You ordinarily only get 2 or 3 heroes of each class; if you want 7 heroes all off the same class, you'll need to get 4 or 5 Mercenary Hero slots and fill them with 4 or 5 max level characters. Expensive, and very optional, and by that I mean totally unnecessary; you can steamroll through the entire game with 7 of the stock Heroes.

Enough people buy these optional things to generate quite a lot of cash. The prices may seem outrageous for these things, but consider that they are optional compared to the non-optional monthly subscription for a traditional MMO.
 

Intel_Hydralisk

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Feb 6, 2005
Messages
4,743
I never played the first one, whats with the PvP unlocks and things like that? You have to pay extra to PvP? I'm assuming a Mercenary slot is just character slots?

So this game is borderline microtransactions? Interesting.
It's like paying for honor if you're familiar with WOW...

That said, I unlocked just about everything for PvP without shelling out a dime in GW1.
 

chockomonkey

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
8,275
It's like paying for honor if you're familiar with WOW...

That said, I unlocked just about everything for PvP without shelling out a dime in GW1.
Except that the shit you unlock through PvP in GW doesn't make you better like honor does in WoW.

(correct?)
 

Intel_Hydralisk

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Feb 6, 2005
Messages
4,743
Except that the shit you unlock through PvP in GW doesn't make you better like honor does in WoW.

(correct?)
Well, it depends on what you mean by better. You got "end game gear" and a certain skill set by default in GW1. The stuff you got from faction was additional skills and enchants and runes that perfected your gear. So you could literally get by with just jumping in (which was the whole point of GW1), but the stuff you unlocked through faction / pve / $$ did make you 'better', but certainly not on the scale of items in a game like WOW.
 
Top