Ryzen Owners Thread

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by RAutrey, Mar 4, 2017.

  1. RAutrey

    RAutrey [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,554
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    OK guys and gals. What do you think about your new rig/upgrade? I'm looking at retiring my 8350 setup and would like to have some feedback from peeps who actually use Ryzen.

    I'm considering a 1700 that will hopefully hit at least 3.8 with an ASUS ROG Crosshairs VI Hero.

    Thanks!
     
  2. buttons

    buttons [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,775
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    I'm at microcenter now waiting for them to open. Going to get a 1700 will let you know later today how it compares to my broadwell xeon
     
  3. ecmaster76

    ecmaster76 Gawd

    Messages:
    933
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Let me put one rumor to rest:
    retail Zen does include a case sticker and it's AMDs best in years :cool:
     
    DrDoU, SvenBent, auntjemima and 3 others like this.
  4. MikeTrike

    MikeTrike [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,872
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Subscribed. Next rigs for my wife and I will be Ryzen based, with some M.2 action this time as well... Undecided on specific CPU, depending on whether or not I/we want to OC or let it run stock... Sometime this year for sure if all goes well...
     
  5. ecmaster76

    ecmaster76 Gawd

    Messages:
    933
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    GA-B350-GAMING 3 quick thoughts
    • not full width ATX so it does not use right most MB standoffs. It also has an intermediate hole on the right middle that my case (CM690 1) does not have a location for but I have a plastic standoff from the AT days that I use for extra support
    • IO shield is awesome - has a padded dust seal and the outside is black with labels you can actually see
    • front panel quick connect header - where has this been all my life?!?
    • UEFI - seems nice enough, allows disabling SMT and has very granular core disable that is CCX aware (IE two 4 core modes: 4+0 and 2+2, so might be fun to play with and test theories)
    • UEFI - cant figure out where to turn off the Realtek NIC :confused:
    • Locked up when I tried using XMP memory settings but that was with F3 UEFI, haven't got around to retrying since I applied F4
    • Lighting is kinda neat actually. I tuned it to match my CPU fan's LED color. With the stylized glowing lines all over the place it looks like Tron is having a rave in there.
    More to come
     
    cybereality likes this.
  6. Vader1975

    Vader1975 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    315
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    I have my Ryzen 1800X and my Asus Crosshair 6 and my 64gb of DDR4 3200 and even a Samsung 960 EVO 500gb stick etc... but not my AM4 bracket connector for my NZXT X62... douh! Literally staring at all the parts and missing 1. It looks fast... sigh
     
    SpeedBump likes this.
  7. luke51087

    luke51087 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,196
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    waiting for my msi carbon gaming motherboard to be released :(
     
  8. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,183
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Asus b350 plus is a junk board. Im gonna return it for a much better board in the next 27 days.

    I cant get my ddr4 3000 to post higher than 2100 speed even using custom settings much less the XMP/DOCP profile. Junk ass board stay away from it.
     
  9. RAutrey

    RAutrey [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,554
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Running latest BIOS?
     
  10. pgaster

    pgaster [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,148
    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Lots of people are having RAM compatibility issues so getting another board might not help you. I have the same board and some 3200 RAM and it won't boot if I enable XMP/DOCP either so I'm in the same boat. I just thought of something new to try later when I get home and have a change to tinker again: Enable XMP/DOCP which sets the timings/speed, etc, but then manually change the speed to 2666. One QVL list I was looking at had some 3200 RAM listed as only being supported up to 2666, so that's where I got this idea. That's the fastest officially supported speed so maybe it will work.
     
  11. buttons

    buttons [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,775
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    oh great, I just got that board. I will say i am already disappointed that its not full width. Mine has a bios from 2/7 so ill update that and see what i can get out of the ram.
     
  12. cybereality

    cybereality 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,290
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Got everything for the build aside from CPU and mobo, coming Monday. Will report back once I get it set up.
     
  13. buttons

    buttons [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,775
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    I updated to the latest bios and it detected my ddr4 3000 cl15 correctly. I ran CS:GO benchmark as follows:

    Intel Xeon 2620 V4 ES 8C/16T runs 2.5ghz - turbos up to 3ghz w/amd fury (same ram) 274fps average
    Ryzen 1700 completely stock, no tweaks, ram at 2133 292fps amd rx 480 4gb
    Ryzen 1700 bios update with ram set to 3000 cl15 311fps

    Cpu-z bench
    Xeon above 1374 single core / 9688 multiple
    Ryzen 1700 ram set to 3000 -- 2078 / 16633

    Havent even started overclocking and its a substantial increase for me. Very impressed with this wrath cooler. looks cool, very quiet! one problem. I have to take it off to install ram in the first dim on this Asus B350 board. going to try war thunder / overwatch next -- I expect huge gains in overwatch, the xeon does 90-100fps in overwatch, my old FX-8320e did 135fps.
     
    RAutrey, cybereality and Zuul like this.
  14. ecmaster76

    ecmaster76 Gawd

    Messages:
    933
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Board seems stable with F4 UEFI and XMP settings (EDIT: Nope :dead:)
    Using a 32GB (2x16) Muskin kit (https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820226835)
    Was kicking myself for being cheap and getting DDR4 2400 but looks like that's on the upper end of what Ryzen can currently handle for dual rank DIMMS from what some have said

    Forza Horyzen 3 runs at a perfectly steady 60FPS on full Ultra settings (1080p) with CPU ~25%. My old A10 stuttered badly on dynamic medium 30FPS (RX 480 graphics on both). Granted I have not played in a couple of months so they have patched some issues out of the game and I was years overdue for a format
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2017
  15. wirerogue

    wirerogue Circle Jerkin'

    Messages:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    ryzen 1700x, msi b350 tomahawk and 16gb of hyperx 2666.

    getting ready to serve up some plex.

    also in the system, a couple of raid cards in the x16 slots and an old ass pny quadro in the x1 slot for video duties.

    couldn't get it to boot with the memory at 2666. 2400 works fine.

    any recommendations for software to measure cpu temps on ryzen? my cpuid hwmonitor seems to show the temperature for the package but, no core breakdown.

    IMG_20170304_145157.jpg
     
    ecmaster76 likes this.
  16. Hatbuster

    Hatbuster n00bie

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Just slammed together my new Ryzen parts (Asus Prime X370 Pro, 1800X, G.Skill TridentZ 3200 CL14).

    What surprised me the most was that it booted without any issues first try with DOCP set to run my ram at full speed (DDR4-3200 CL14). I did, of course, update to the latest bios (from feb 28th), but other than that I made no modifications.
    I ran cinebench, hyperpi and prime95 for a bit without problems, too. No real stability testing yet but I'll get to that eventually.

    My temperature sensor is busted tho, or literally everything including BIOS reads it out wrong.
    tjMax for this CPU is supposed to be 75°C, right? But according to all the tools, it went up to 81°C without even throttling - so those temps must be way off.


    Anyways, great experience so far, except for a completely random crash I had under no load, might have been CPU-Z tripping my system.

    EDIT: had a program crash, now, too - but without killing the entire machine. Pulled down the speed to 2933. But I'm quite confident with some manual tweaking I can get the system to do the DDR4-3200 CL14, too. Since it did boot with it just fine.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2017
    cybereality likes this.
  17. JimmiG

    JimmiG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,431
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    I have the same board and CPU and I'm also having temperature issues. Full load when running something like AIDA64 is about 75C with the 0504 BIOS, and idle is close to 60C. However with the 0502 BIOS, the temps drop to about 34C idle/58C full load. I even downgraded again to double check.
    Either my cooler isn't properly installed or there's something wrong with the readings. I'd like to eliminate faulty readings before I rip the heatsink out, though.

    Are you able to achieve stable boost speeds of ~4 GHz when running lightly threaded programs? I'm having trouble making the CPU boost beyond 3.7 GHz, and it's hard to know why with the unreliable temp readings. However if the CPU is actually physically overheating, that would explain it. Could you try running something like Cinebench single-threaded and check the frequencies with something like HWInfo or Ryzen Master? What cooler are you using? I have the Phanteks PH-TC14PE with the Phanteks supplied AM4 kit and MX4 thermal paste.
     
  18. SvenBent

    SvenBent [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,717
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
  19. Hatbuster

    Hatbuster n00bie

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    JimmiG

    My cooler is a Corsair H100i (old rev, with clip mount). So that was nice to have around, since I didn't need to worry about compatibility.
    For thermal paste I chose Cooler Master Mastergel Maker Nano, since after looking around, that's the best stuff on the market now and I didn't have any laying around.

    I too have the CPU not achieving stable 4.1 on a core when running cinebench ST. However, I also don't get any throttling with prime95 small FFTs! Even though I've been to temperature readouts beyond 80°C.

    I'm quite sure the current UEFI just has the formula for temperature wrong, nothing to worry about. If you really wanna find out how how yours is right now, stop the fans, run a load and note the "temperature" where you thermal trip the system - that'll be 75°C.
    Or if you have more patience, just wait for the next UEFI, I'm sure the folks at ASUS noticed this, too. Maybe these bugs influence ST boost, too.

    I don't really care about the singlethreaded boost right now, since apparently it only works when you really only have 1 thread of load anyways, and none of my vidya are that poorly optimized anymore these days. And my allcore turbo is working just fine, so there's that.



    IMPORTANT EDIT: I just had a lightbulb go off in my head! I had, after recommendations from literally all the people, set my power profile in Windows set to high performance to avoid core parking. Now, that came back to my mind, and I thought to myself: If the OS doesn't park any cores, maybe that's why the processor doesn't recognize the ST workload correctly...

    And that seems to be it. With 'balanced' profile, I reach 4.1 on AT LEAST one core in Cinebench ST. Sometimes even two at a time.

    So there you go, nothing wrong with our thermals, just shenanigans :)
     
  20. CAD4466HK

    CAD4466HK Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    439
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Just saw this on a OC'ing thread on Ryzen....

    *Important Notes*
    North bridge frequency it's tied to the memory frequency.
    AMD Maximum Recommended CPU v.Core is 1.45v but you can try higher dependant on your cooling solution , on high end Air Cooling stay at 1.45v or below , on AIO Water Cooling stay at 1.50v or below and on High End Custom Water Cooling stay below 1.60v.
    This CPUs run warm , bare in mind and remember that you are runnnig 8 cores and 16 treads , so do not be surprise if your temperatures are a little higher than normal 4 cores cpus , 6 cores cpus and older 8 core AMD cpus. Ryzen can cope very well with higher temperatures with no throttling or slowing down , it's just the nature of the beast !
    Ryzen CPUs won't throttle until you hit 85c and maximum safe temperatures as per AMD is 95c , as you can see they are designed to take the heat.
    I do not recommend using prime 95 as a stability stress test , it is an unreal scenario for CPU usage and might kill your motherboard and cpu at 100% usage on the stress test , instead use Aida 64 , Cinebench R15 , wPrime and your favorite games or programs.
    Do not try to delid the ihs ( Integrated Heat Spreader ) from the cpu , AMD did a great job with this CPUs and it is soldered
     
    cybereality likes this.
  21. wirerogue

    wirerogue Circle Jerkin'

    Messages:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    plex loves ryzen threads!!!

    this is an extreme example. remote 4mbps 720 stream from 4k source file, so lots of transcoding going on. also running 4k and 1080 local streams at the same time.

    plex transcoding quality set to "make my cpu hurt"

    not bad temps at all. and this is in a 4u case with only 2 80mm case fans. the cpu cooler is a Noctua NH-U9S with 2 fans.

    plex.ryzen.jpg
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2017
  22. NKD

    NKD [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,813
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Real Bench all the way. I have had things fail in real bench that passed in prime 95 and other stress tests. So I stopped using prime 95. Real Bench is my go to bench now. In my experience if it passes that it will pass anything.
     
  23. NKD

    NKD [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,813
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    amd has their own software suite with ryzen, try that?
     
  24. wirerogue

    wirerogue Circle Jerkin'

    Messages:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    tried it out. more geared towards overclocking rather than just simple monitoring. wasn't something i wanted to have running all the time.
     
  25. JimmiG

    JimmiG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,431
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Genius!

    Of course I had switched to High Performance mode like everyone else, because we were told this improves performance by disabling core parking.

    Well:
    [​IMG]
    (sorry for the Swedish, I don't know how to change it)

    I'm running Cinebench Single Threaded in the background. I used Task Manager (details tab, right-click the process and select Change Process Affinity), to lock Cinebench to one core (otherwise it keeps jumping between cores, which makes it harder to analyze cores speeds/usage).

    For the first third of the graph, I'm in Balanced mode. Then I switched to High Performance, then back to Balanced for the final third.

    -In Balanced mode, it downclocks the inactive cores (and probably parks them, too), and overclocks the active core to ~4.1 GHz. (it varies between 4.1 and ~4.075). Occasionally, Windows background processes cause another core (the yellow line) to "spin up", without it affecting the first core (red line). This is because XFR works with up to two cores active.

    -In performance mode, you can see all cores settle at 3.7 GHz, which is the highest "all cores" boost frequency of the 1800X.

    So it seems what we were told about disabling core parking isn't entirely true. In one way, it improves performance, because parked cores don't have to "spin up". On the other hand, it seems High Performance completely disables XFR, at least with some motherboards. Maybe a BIOS bug?

    This information could have saved me about 8 hours of testing and troubleshooting, but oh well..
     
    ThaWatcher likes this.
  26. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,752
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Ryzen owner here! :D I have my 1700X at 3.925 Ghz overclocked and 1.4125v and it is very fast. Not going to reach 4 GHz though, it would require way to much voltage. (This is with a Noctua NH-D15 on an Asus Prime X370 Pro.)
     
    RAutrey likes this.
  27. Riptide_NVN

    Riptide_NVN [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,587
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    I thought the "Turbo" for the 1800X was 4.0GHz?

    Got a MSI Tomahawk on the way and a 1700. Fully expect to deal with majorly downclocking my TridentZ to around 2400. If it works at all lol
     
  28. JimmiG

    JimmiG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,431
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    It's 3.7 GHz for all cores, 4 GHz for 2 cores, and <=4.1 GHz with 2 cores with XFR.
     
  29. Riptide_NVN

    Riptide_NVN [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,587
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Where can I find a table that shows that information for all of the 3 models? I can't seem to find one. TIA
     
  30. zerogg

    zerogg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    148
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Hi guys,

    I have a 1800x on the way, but still waiting for my asus crosshair to ship from amazon. Has anyone tried lapping the IHS on ryzen yet? I will be watercooling mine so I thought it might be worth the effort up front.
     
  31. SvenBent

    SvenBent [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,717
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    This is typically because the user doesnt know the difference between a CPU test and a system test.

    prime95 is harder on you CPU than anything realbech does.
    but realbeach is harder on your PSU and other parts of the system.

    Code:
    Core I7 2700K		4.4GHz +0.030v			4.4GHz +0.20v			4.5GHz +0.20v			4.5GHz +0.20v
    			Status	temp	Power		Status	temp	Power		Status	temp	Power		Status	temp	Power
    Asus RealBench		OK	79-84	318w*		OK	80-85	318w		OK	80-87	303-319/326	C  0:22	76-83	xxx/325
    
    PRime95 28.5 (8-8-30)	OK	84-93	217w						C 0:40	82-93	xxx/218 
    Prime95 28.5 (small)	OK	79-89	212w		OK	80-90	211w		C 1:52		xxx/219
    Prime95 28.5 (Blend	OK	82-92	215w		OK	84-94	201w		C 2:26	83-93	xxx/226	
    OK : mean it run at least 4 hours with no issues
    C : crash (BSOD/Shutdown/Restarts aka system not able to continue any other tasks)
    D: Error detected (system still running)

    as you can clearly see prime95 pushes you CPU much harder then asusrealbench
    asus relbench is even able to rn 4+hours on a system that is unstable on prime 95 28.5

    However looking at the powerdraw you can see that there is a lot more going on in the systems. this is due to the nature of asusrelbanch using OpenCL to keep the GPU going.

    so in short
    Prime95 is harder on you CPU
    Asus relbench test more of the system

    Arguing which is better is arguing whatever a hammer or screwdriver is better.
    You need to know the purpose and select the right tool.


    -- edit --
    Heck just doing simple png optimzing in brute force stress the cpu harder than asus relbench.
    One part of asus realbench is using 7-ziop which is a very weak for CPU stressing.
    Code:
    7-zip			OK	68-71	124-173		OK	68-72	126-171w	OK 9:20	70-74	126-175/178
    Ran 9 hours on a system that crashed with 2 hours of prime95
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2017
  32. Motley

    Motley 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,155
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Ok here's a few build pics. I have the 1700 @ 4064Mhz 1.41v, Asus CH6, 16G Vengence LED 3200

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    horse, Formula.350, EchoWars and 2 others like this.
  33. zerogg

    zerogg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    148
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    how is the stability with the newest bios on the CH6?
     
  34. PliotronX

    PliotronX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,891
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2000
    I am most curious about any subsystem glitches in particular with AMD soft RAID. Also what did you guys upgrade from? Did it convince any SB to Devils Canyon holdouts to upgrade?
     
  35. JustReason

    JustReason razor1 is my Lover

    Messages:
    2,220
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Something to add that you can try.

    On my 8350 had to go performance, core parking kills it.. But with performance it wont go into lower clocks so I did this: Set it to performance and then go into change plan settings. Then click on change advanced power settings. Then scroll down to processor management and click to gain access to the min power state. I use 20% (originally set to 100%) which allows for downclocking but no core parking.

    Not sure if this will help or not with AMD new architecture.
     
    Junkboy likes this.
  36. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,752
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Hey, thank you for this information. I still run an FX 8350 at work and will probably being so at least until early fall. I just did a rdp into that desktop and set it at 30% minimum in performance mode, thanks.
     
  37. Curl

    Curl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    210
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    I'm very pleased. Well now I am. After watching the Asus Crosshair shit itself when attempting to OC, I exchanged it for an ASRock Fatality and I couldn't be more pleased. Getting to 4.05Ghz @ 1.344v was as easy as changing 3 or 4 EFI options.

    http://valid.x86.fr/8zvdkq
     
    PliotronX and PCDC650 like this.
  38. JustReason

    JustReason razor1 is my Lover

    Messages:
    2,220
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    No problem. I have HWiNFO64 up 24/7 and noticed it was loading both cores in a module before loading any others, a huge NONO. Was curious if that made any difference with some of these new CPUs.
     
  39. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,752
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    EFI Options? Do you mean LLC? Before the board bricked, did it work with the same voltage and frequencies?
     
  40. PCDC650

    PCDC650 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    99
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Which chip and can you list the options you changed in your BIOS to hit 4.05Ghz using 1.344v? I have the same board and a 1800x on the way.