Ryzen Owners Thread

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by RAutrey, Mar 4, 2017.

  1. Montu

    Montu [H]ard DCOTM x4

    Messages:
    6,459
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001

    What makes you think you're going to get 4ghz out of your 1700?
     
  2. mvmiller12

    mvmiller12 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    275
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    My impression was that this is an EXISTING build waiting on a new case. He already has it running and overclocked to 4.0GHz.
     
  3. Montu

    Montu [H]ard DCOTM x4

    Messages:
    6,459
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    You might be right.
     
  4. oneforspeed

    oneforspeed [H]Lite

    Messages:
    95
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    For those that are running virtual machines. Have you noticed any cross bleeding with the Ryzen processors? Basically, if you heavily load one vm does it pull down the system or other vms? I used to notice this on some intel machines and less often on AMD machines. One vm would max and bog the entire pc. Just want to make sure it isn't an issue with the new offerings before I jump in the game.
     
  5. Silent.Sin

    Silent.Sin Gawd

    Messages:
    969
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    I generally only run lightweight stuff like a linux box for easy ssh and *nix duties for work, or for small labs to test stuff like docker, chef, etc but I've never noticed anything like that which wasn't expected. I went from 6 core Intel to 6 core AMD and don't feel a noticeable difference in VM behavior.

    In my experience, it's all about making sure your VMs have access to their own storage I/O and less about absolute CPU. You can overallocate CPU and RAM and up until the point where those get completely saturated everything generally runs pretty smoothly. If you are sharing a single hard disk with your host or between multiple VMs and there are some intense storage ops going on? Forget about it. Even on an SSD it can get chippy with a lot of random activity.

    Make sure you have a separate disk or array specifically for your VMs and you will be in much better shape.
     
    Nightfire likes this.
  6. oneforspeed

    oneforspeed [H]Lite

    Messages:
    95
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    That makes good sense thank you for the feedback.
     
  7. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,154
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    I updated my sweet sweet rig. It now has 2x 1080tis and 1x 1080. My two 1080ti EVGA Hybrids had the pumps die at only six weeks!! Wtf! Put in a normal pump and now it runs even better... but they are retired to "distributed computing" and one will be used for gaming on our 4k TV.

    The little Ryzen 1200 keeps chugging along!

    IMG_4082.JPG
     
    kirbyrj and JustReason like this.
  8. JustReason

    JustReason razor1 is my Lover

    Messages:
    2,363
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    I thought the update would have ensured moving from the cardboard... lol.
     
    Dayaks likes this.
  9. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,154
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    I added foam underneath (an old insulated case door) because I was worried about the mobo eventually getting through the cardboard and shorting out.

    I am still impressed with that Asus strix / Ryzen CPU build quality.
     
    JustReason likes this.
  10. JustReason

    JustReason razor1 is my Lover

    Messages:
    2,363
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Now that I really look at the picture, we may be a lot alike. I have a ton of spare parts, some working some not, And I will use them before buying more. I am using a PSU fan that hangs from the top of my case for cooling VRMs, works great. Don't have to worry about how it looks because the whole thing is in a case with no windows.
     
  11. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,154
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    I might grab a case black friday if something is super cheap just for strain relief reasons. I definitely want fan filters sooner than later.

    It's in my basement where only I have ventured in the last 10 years. Aesthetics are my last concern.
     
    noko, JustReason and ManofGod like this.
  12. noko

    noko 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    lol, you remind me of someone putting money in engine, drivetrain and wheels beating all the other kids on the block who have chrome tailpipes, shiny wheels and metallic paint jobs you could use as a mirror but can't get out of their own way if their life depended upon it. All show no glory. Now for the paperbox and foam, I would worry about it catching on fire myself. I would recommend you make your own case, get some standoffs, aluminum panel or steel and have some fun in that basement. You could configure it anyway you want with fans, water cooling, drives etc.
     
  13. r3dleh

    r3dleh n00bie

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    anyone having issues with cold boot?
     
  14. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,154
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Might want to at least list your system.
     
  15. r3dleh

    r3dleh n00bie

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    of course:

    Asus Crosshair VI Hero . AMD Ryzen 1700@3.7GHz (undervolt) . G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHz CAS16 . EVGA GTX580 . Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB . Seasonic S12II-620 620W
     
  16. Elf_Boy

    Elf_Boy [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,735
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    What kind of problem? Won't boot?

    What uefi version are you on?
     
  17. noko

    noko 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Best bios for addressing Ryzen cold boot issue for CH6 is test bios 9920 which happens to be my favorite bios so far. I normally just turn off system and not power off as in shutting down the power supply. Some like to power everything off which I understand and 9920 does it the best in not having cold boot issues. Now I only had that issue early on so I do not know how well that bios will work for you.

    First post of this thread has the 9920 bios:
     
  18. ecmaster76

    ecmaster76 Gawd

    Messages:
    994
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    I have a Gigabyte AB350 Gaming 3 board and maybe half of my cold boots fail to post. At least for me its not a huge deal, I just press the reset button once and the next boot attempt succeeds

    From what I have read DRAM timings and voltages get applied late in the process during a cold boot causing lock ups but once its powered on the stings stay in effect for the next boot attempt.

    AGESA 1007 is supposed to be a major overhaul so hopefully a lot of this nonsense gets patched out
     
  19. Elf_Boy

    Elf_Boy [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,735
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Only time I have had any issues was early bios and aggressive settings. Cmos button fixed it.

    Current uefi if I set it too high it just boots to default clocks.
     
  20. stealthballer123

    stealthballer123 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    142
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    I returned an asus crosshair too. Never did work right, but would boot sometimes and work fine for a while, drove me crazy.
     
  21. magictoaster

    magictoaster Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    435
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    2017-11-10 18.48.20_preview.jpeg

    I just received this from the Egg (1950X). I'm now waiting for the Heatkiller block and a x399 motherboard. Still undecided but the Zenith Extreme and the Designare EX are looking good. The Crosshair VI Extreme currently in my system has been a joy to work with (definitely better than the Crosshair VI Hero) so the Zenith Extreme is really tempting... Plus the Designare looks to be harder to find in Canada right now.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2017
    drklu and ManofGod like this.
  22. gordon152

    gordon152 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Just upgraded to Ryzen 5 1600 today (shorted out my z68 mainboard, was so holding off until next year to upgrade but I need to work). System was running buggy initially on Windows 10 1709. To stabilize it, had to change ram positions (not sure why this is even a thing), download latest chipset drivers, finagle with some ambiguously named bios settings to enable virtualization (plus overclock processor a bit) and seems good to go now.

    Having issues with Microsoft Edge stalling every so often (didn't experience before on 2500k), not a big issue since I mostly use IE and Chrome for testing, but got used to Edge for browsing every now and then.
     
  23. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,108
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    If you did a clean install, do it again but this time, without being connected to any network. Once you are at the initial desktop, then connect to the network, update and that is all. I doubt very much that you are looking at a hardware problem, build 1709 has to many bugs but they can be resolved.
     
  24. gordon152

    gordon152 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Thanks, yes I did do a clean install but also wondered if it was just a Windows Creators thing as I did also experience an issue upgrading one of my work systems with 1709 (it seemed fine at first, then just wigged out on next reboot. This is on an i7 Dell and all I did was do upgrade install). Everything is running well now after tweaks, so for now I'll just avoid using Edge (problem solved :p).

    Sort of underestimated the improvement I would see on a general use level through with a 6 core processor. Doing a lot of installs right now, but multitasking in a number of other programs and seeing no slowdown.
     
    JustReason likes this.
  25. Irockzz

    Irockzz n00bie

    Messages:
    24
    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
  26. stealthballer123

    stealthballer123 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    142
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    i like that case but suspect it would take up a 3rd of my office.
     
  27. Irockzz

    Irockzz n00bie

    Messages:
    24
    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    yea its not a small case
     
  28. Joseph F

    Joseph F Gawd

    Messages:
    701
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Hey guys, I got my R7 1700 to 3725 Mhz at 1.15 Vcore. Is that good or average?
     
  29. bobzdar

    bobzdar [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,075
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    That's good for that low of voltage. What cooler are you running? I'm able to get 3.8 at 1.325v on the stock Wraith, could probably go higher but I don't want to push temps too high with the stock cooler.
     
  30. luke51087

    luke51087 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,233
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    that is really nice voltage, is that what you have it set to in bios? under full load does it move from there?
     
  31. Joseph F

    Joseph F Gawd

    Messages:
    701
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    It's running under a Corsair H60. FWIW, 3.8 Ghz takes at least another 0.1 Vcore to achieve, and I could not get stable at 4.0 Ghz even with further increased voltage. With this in mind, I figured I'd sacrifice 75 Mhz for a lot less power draw and heat.

    I have everything set to default in the EFI, and I use Ryzen Master for clock and voltage adjustment. It seems ti bounce between 1.144 and 1.156 Vcore, with occasional dips to 1.137 and spikes to 1.169. The power regulation circuitry of the ASRock AB350M leaves much to be desired. Considering it was very cheap, it is hard to complain, though.
     

    Attached Files:

    JustReason likes this.
  32. ltjws05

    ltjws05 n00bie

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    What's the max safe voltage on ryzen with watercooling for 24/7 use?
     
  33. JustReason

    JustReason razor1 is my Lover

    Messages:
    2,363
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Have seen 1.45V posted by the majority, but unsure if that is a hard and fast rule.
     
    ltjws05 likes this.
  34. ltjws05

    ltjws05 n00bie

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
  35. JustReason

    JustReason razor1 is my Lover

    Messages:
    2,363
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    well that I would like to know too. I think the Intel limit before of 90C or so based on temps some claim to see and they don't seem worried. I ran 8350 and the rule was voltage doesn't matter, temps do. The temps there were 65C max safe with 72C being some coded limit for throttling. Many with water, including me were running up to 1.75V but never going over 60C during burn in/heavy stress. That was sustained for 5+ years and still going strong.

    I still have a hard time seeing any temp around 60C although I know it is fine, after 5 years making sure it didn't. This far I have seen up to 68C under full load, not much more and not that often.
     
    ltjws05 likes this.