Quake II Rtx coming out June 6th, 2019

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by GoodBoy, May 27, 2019.

  1. workshop35

    workshop35 Gawd

    Messages:
    569
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Dont really care about RTX, but now I want to load up my old q2 cd. I wonder if anyone still plays lmctf...
     
    dpoverlord and blkt like this.
  2. Delicieuxz

    Delicieuxz Gawd

    Messages:
    959
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    It's a nice thought, though there's no way I'd be able to download and store even 1/4 of my Steam library.



    What I hope Valve are doing is putting away some billions of dollars into an account that would serve to fund Steam hosting service should Valve ever stop functioning as a business. Valve generate the income to make that possible, I hope it's something they'd do.

    I also hope that Valve will not go out of business but will stay around until a point in the future where all old games can be put under a public license and downloaded freely from some archival service. Something of a non-profit consortium-managed public resource archive, where all old games are automatically sent to after a certain amount of time.
     
  3. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    17,817
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    They're releasing an executable that will install to wherever you have Quake II installed. Meaning you can have the original game installed from CD and it will install to that.
    The funny thing is that the way Microsoft was initially planning the Xbox One you could trade and sell digital games. But everyone got so pissed about the always online restriction that Microsoft scrapped that plan. Thanks, internet. As always, you ruin everything.
     
    blkt and ZodaEX like this.
  4. Burticus

    Burticus 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,900
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Was that the one with the grappling hook? My buds at work played that constantly (at work, LOL) but that was 20+ years ago
     
    dpoverlord and blkt like this.
  5. GoodBoy

    GoodBoy [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,390
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Nothing wrong with Steam. Once you have purchased, downloaded, and launched a game at least once while online, it is then available to play offline. You mentioned "what happens if they go belly up", but games on steam, especially older ones, are often $5 or less. So assuming something did happen and you lost your online library, its not always the same $$ compared to physical copies.

    The physical copies are not only going away for PC games, but for consoles as well. Already, some games are only available in the online stores.

    I prefer the physical copies as well, but even when you do get a physical copy, they often require an internet connection to work (drm), so if that game developer goes belly up, your physical copy might become non-functional (same as your concern with Steam). If you want to wait 3 to 10 years, good games eventually make their way to Gog. So no DRM, but also no physical copy. But the nice thing about Gog and Steam is that some really old games that were not compatible with Windows past say Windows 98 or Windows XP, are updated to be fully compatible with current Windows, some even ported to Linux. It can be the only way to play some old games without having a 386 running Windows 95. So the physical copy becomes non-functional collector item. but I like to play my old games sometimes. All the favorites have been repurchased on steam or Gog.

    As far as Quake II goes, you can install the RTX mod manually on your existing game install. It's a separate executable, so if your pc can't handle it, just use the original shortcut/executable and play it without RTX.
     
    blkt, IdiotInCharge and Armenius like this.
  6. workshop35

    workshop35 Gawd

    Messages:
    569
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Yep, thats the one. Good times
     
  7. Joseph F

    Joseph F Gawd

    Messages:
    734
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    46d.png
    I feel you, old-timer.
     
  8. DooLocsta

    DooLocsta [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,522
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    HA, I kicked ass at that little mining game
     
  9. ZodaEX

    ZodaEX 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,725
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    No. I never asked what would happen if Steam went belly up, nor do I care. There was no need for you to lie. It just makes it impossible for me to try and take you seriously.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2019
  10. sleepeeg3

    sleepeeg3 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,833
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Looks great! Now wish they updated the poly of the models.
     
  11. Jandor

    Jandor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    157
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Quake is supposed to be a dark place. For the RTX purpose it has been all lighten up. Looks good but not Quake anymore.
     
    blkt likes this.
  12. eclypse

    eclypse 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,049
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    I bet the lighting can be adjusted when we get it.. prob just brightened up to showcase the tech.
     
    Manny Calavera likes this.
  13. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,291
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    By lighting the game up properly, it'd be possible to make the game even darker. HDR support would help too, these technologies can go hand in hand.

    HDR RT Quake I / II on an OLED?
     
    Algrim and Armenius like this.
  14. Youn

    Youn [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,336
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    You forgot Doom 1/2, Wolfenstein 3D, and their clones... would be more of a challenge to determine correct 3d lighting, but I can think of a few ways to go about it
     
  15. Snowdog

    Snowdog [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,977
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
  16. cyklondx

    cyklondx Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    180
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    damn them for locking it down to rtx. Would love to play some quake 2 with this kind of graphics.
     
  17. Snowdog

    Snowdog [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,977
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    The game is uses pure RT for all lighting, reflections, and shadows. The load would crush a card without dedicated HW.

    You can always download Q2VKPT for cards without RT HW. This was the basis for the RTX version.

    Edit. My mistake. Q2VKPT is also RTX based, but it is open source and only ~12K LOCs, so if/when another option becomes available to handle the RT calls, it could be switched.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2019
  18. GoodBoy

    GoodBoy [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,390
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    It's not locked to RTX, but to DXR.
    So if AMD releases drivers that support DXR, it will work on them. How well it will run remains to be seen. I was getting like 10 fps on a 1080Ti with Q2PKVT...

    The upshot is that it's based on the Q2PKVT project, not simply an installer for it.. so maybe they are going thru and correcting the lighting levels so it will not be so bright.

    Some of you RTX owners need to give us a review once you've tried Quake II RTX compared to the Q2PKVT.

    Edit:
    This list of improvements: From the news post https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce/news/quake-ii-rtx-june-6-release-date/ this has much more info than the page I initially posted. Looks like its going to be sweet!
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2019
    Manny Calavera likes this.
  19. Snowdog

    Snowdog [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,977
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    It's not DXR. That's a Microsoft DX API.

    This uses Vulcan, and an RTX extension (Runs on Linux and Windows).
     
    Armenius likes this.
  20. GoodBoy

    GoodBoy [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,390
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Oh, I bet the linux drivers need that. So using Vulkan makes it work in multiple places. Specifically VKRay, vs DXR.

    It's still an API though. So if AMD writes a driver that enables and uses VKRay, then the AMD cards can run it.

    Source: https://devblogs.nvidia.com/vulkan-raytracing/
     
    Armenius likes this.
  21. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,432
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    I really wish AMD would have been leaning into Vulkan heavily by now, especially since they helped spawn it with Mantle.
     
    Manny Calavera and Armenius like this.
  22. sc5mu93

    sc5mu93 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    123
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    soo what happens if i rename the quake to quack?
     
  23. Burticus

    Burticus 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,900
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    It will run at 999 quacks per second
     
  24. Snowdog

    Snowdog [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,977
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Sure, but considering that it's a NVidia created extension and API, I would expect it would probably be more NVidia biased than DXR.

    There is an advantage to being the company that defines the API, it's call structure and setup and order of calling functions will most likely resemble the low level operations of your specfic HW.

    AMD hasn't provided DXR drivers and I would expect those before a VKray implementation.
     
  25. Burticus

    Burticus 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,900
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Well I downloaded it and tried it. It functions without an RTX card but nothing special. I did find the standard issue pistol to be extra crappy tho, forgot all about that. I wish you could start with an axe or something, anything else
     
  26. ShuttleLuv

    ShuttleLuv [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,032
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    I was doing that with gl_modulate 20 years ago. pfft.gl
     
  27. Auer

    Auer Gawd

    Messages:
    716
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Just a FYI but the lighting in game changes from day to night if you want to, you can set it to match your day.

    Or play in nite mode, evening, day or dawn.
     
    Armenius and eclypse like this.
  28. dpoverlord

    dpoverlord [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,711
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    I loved that mode
     
    workshop35 likes this.
  29. aliaskary77

    aliaskary77 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    290
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    tried it on a 1080ti but got no ray tracing at all. looked normal q2. assume you have to have RTX?
     
  30. zamardii12

    zamardii12 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,578
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    So I tried this last night and I am utterly confused what I am supposed to be impressed about. I uninstalled it after a minute of running around and shooting. Oh and Metro Exodus completely maxed-out at 1440p ran with better frame-rates than this. :p

    Also I never was into Quake growing up so I could care less about the game itself so I didn't bother playing more than a few minutes.
     
  31. Snowdog

    Snowdog [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,977
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    You have all your windows and driver updates? From what I have read it will run on Pascal cards with ray tracing. Though you may need to lower resolution for playable frame rates.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  32. aliaskary77

    aliaskary77 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    290
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    will try again, there are yt videos showing it. i installed the 1080ti yesterday and updated laterst drivers over itself. came from an msi 970. all other win10pro updates installed to build 1809.
     
  33. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,291
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    It well should- Exodus is a hybrid rendering title, while Quake II in RT is fully ray traced. No rasterization being done. That's why it's interesting!
     
    Armenius and GoodBoy like this.
  34. GameLifter

    GameLifter Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    341
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Tried it out for a bit last night on my 1080Ti and as expected it ran very poorly at max settings. I was eventually able to get it running decently though. Global illumination is what tanks the performance the most. At 1080p with this set to high the game ran like a slideshow. Turning it completely off more than doubled the frame rate bringing my average to around 30fps. Still not great but enough to let me explore the game. After playing around with more resolutions I decided to leave it at 1080p with the resolution scale at 80 (global illumination still off). This provided the best balance between image quality and performance. I would get around 60fps in small areas and mid 40s or so in larger areas.

    As for the ray tracing effects I think they are really impressive. The way the pistol has a reflective surface that reflects everything in the environment was really neat and the other objects in the game with reflective surfaces were cool to look at. Lighting and shadows looked good as well and being able to adjust the time of day and other lighting settings is a nice touch that I plan to play around with more. The big downside to it all is obviously having to dial back the image quality to get a playable level of performance and turn off global illumination completely which seems to have a big impact on the look of the game. One day, though we'll have GPUs that can handle RT much better than the GPUs we have today. One day......
     
  35. aliaskary77

    aliaskary77 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    290
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Great, so it can run, will try again. not concerned about game play, more to get in and just look around. Looking into this on google also led me to Minecraft with Ray Tracing. May have to try that and confuse the heck out of the 6 year old when he plays next.
     
  36. Majinhoju

    Majinhoju [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    I'll try it again with global illumination off tonight, it was on medium and I got 12 fps on my gtx 1080, haha.
     
    Armenius and GameLifter like this.
  37. Lateralus

    Lateralus More [H]uman than Human

    Messages:
    14,109
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    So how many years until we can run this at 4K/120Hz with all settings maxxed? Lol. THAT will be the way to play this!

    I wish they'd do the original Quake, too.
     
    Youn and Armenius like this.
  38. Snowdog

    Snowdog [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,977
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    GoldenTiger likes this.
  39. defaultluser

    defaultluser [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,409
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    I get 15fps on my GTX 1060 6gb at 720p with Global Illumination on low.

    It's unplayable, will try again next time I upgrade my video card.

    And I thought they would at least redo the textures. Nope, you're stuck with the same old textures and geometry from 1998.

    This game really feels unoptimized to me (it's slower than any of the demos I played at 1080p on my 1060), so hopefully they will fix things between the time I upgrade to RTX.
     
  40. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,432
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    You might have to record the reaction. And then play dumb, insisting it always looked like that.