Quake II Rtx coming out June 6th, 2019

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by GoodBoy, May 27, 2019.

  1. aliaskary77

    aliaskary77 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    285
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    lol they dont like change. will likely want to go back to standard minecraft. but then i will get into it for the visuals lol.
     
  2. Nytegard

    Nytegard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,111
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Ran the first time demo on my system (everything at base speed, i.e. no overclocking). Everything maxed (100% scaling, Global Illumination @ high, etc.)

    AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950x
    2x 2080TI
    64 GB RAM
    Samsung 970 Pro



    4k: 30-40 fps
    1440p: 70-85 fps
    1080p: 110+ fps
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2019
    GoldenTiger, Auer, Chimpee and 4 others like this.
  3. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,411
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    What's going on with the red particle effects?
     
  4. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    48,213
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
  5. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,411
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Getting 40-45fps on my 2070 at 2560x1400 with medium global illumination. eh :/
     
  6. aliaskary77

    aliaskary77 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    285
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    yeah maybe just a little while :D

    i cant play any FPS without inverting the mouse motion. tried to get my 10 year old to get used to it, but he prefers it standard way. ugggh! he has been asking for his own pc, this may just be the reason why he might actually get one (the one we have of course as daddy will be planning a new rig for himself later this year)
     
    Armenius likes this.
  7. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    17,478
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Mentioned earlier, but this is fully ray traced and it looks absolutely amazing. Metro is not fully ray traced.
    You may want to play the original again. The textures in the RTX version are upscaled and look a whole lot better than the original, which was designed for 640x480 resolution.
     
    Manny Calavera, GoldenTiger and Auer like this.
  8. demondrops

    demondrops Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    340
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    only thing that can run full ray tracing is an old ass game! :D it did look quite nice anyway tho. 22 yr old game and u get shit fps :p
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2019
    Armenius likes this.
  9. zamardii12

    zamardii12 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,556
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    I guess I just don't understand the full scope of the technology to appreciate it.
     
  10. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,437
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Yup- that's why tuning the hybrid approach is important. BF:V was a bad example, Metro: Exodus is a good one.
     
  11. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    17,478
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    When new cards come out now people will be asking, "But can it run Quake II RTX?"
     
  12. GameLifter

    GameLifter Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    341
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    One thing is for sure, I'll be getting the next RTX cards based on how well they run Quake II RTX mainly.
     
  13. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,437
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Given the simplicity and accessibility of Quake II RTX, we might actually see it serve as a 'full RT' benchmark for comparing RT hardware.
     
  14. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,348
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Agree, and a step further: We may look back on Quake II RTX as an inflection point for RT adoption. With modern titles like BFV and Metro Exodus using hybrid raytracing, the effect gets lost in the highly detailed environments. With Quake II - already a beloved title - the simpler geometry ironically ends up the better showcase for the effect - it's there naked and stands out more. Plus the game is free, and RTX works backwards to Pascal cards.

    So developers are seeing it, experiencing it and, yes, making love to it - climbing it and grunting on it - and thinking about ways to apply it practically in their own titles.

    I just wish Carmack was still alive to see it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2019
  15. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,437
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Did he die?
     
  16. Youn

    Youn [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,310
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    jfreund, GoldenTiger, Denjoy and 4 others like this.
  17. GoodBoy

    GoodBoy [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,339
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Played for about an hour.. found the secret level, haven't finished it yet. Not sure I ever found that before...

    As others have mentioned, disabling global illumination makes it playable on a 1080Ti. So if AMD will put out drivers that support the API's, I bet a few AMD cards can play it.
     
    Manny Calavera, FrgMstr and Auer like this.
  18. dgz

    dgz [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,174
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    I assume multiplayer is compatible but I gotta ask. Can anyone confirm?
     
  19. GoodBoy

    GoodBoy [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,339
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    I haven't tried it, but the options are in the menu so chances are, yes. It's free, so just download it and try it.

    Played this over most of the weekend. I just finished the "Big Gun" level, and thought that was towards the end but I think I am only halfway done.
     
  20. dgz

    dgz [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,174
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Nah, I already own Quake 2 but don't have an RTX card, nor do I plan on getting one. Not interested in the slideshow that's going to play on my 1070 lol
     
  21. GoodBoy

    GoodBoy [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,339
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    I have a 1080Ti, and it plays pretty well if you do the following:

    Set Global Illumination to OFF
    Set Resolution Scale to 80%

    For a 1070, maybe try 60% Resolution Scale.

    The textures in the game are updated, but still based off low resolution textures from the 90's... It doesn't suffer running at a lower resolution scale from what I've seen. Worth trying. The above settings should work on higher end AMD cards as well, once AMD puts out drivers with raytracing support.
     
  22. xellos2099alpha

    xellos2099alpha [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,532
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
  23. Snowdog

    Snowdog [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,833
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
  24. DanNeely

    DanNeely 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,485
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
  25. Snowdog

    Snowdog [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,833
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Global Illumination is one of the major things that RT can deliver, disabling it seems to defeat the purpose of seeing a Ray Tracing demo.
     
    GoldenTiger, dgz and Armenius like this.
  26. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    48,213
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    Well that was fun. Not sure it was $1200 worth of fun, but cool to see it demonstrated.
     
    Armenius, GoodBoy and odditory like this.
  27. dgz

    dgz [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,174
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Beat me to it. Good thing you're following your hero dgz

    :D
     
  28. GoodBoy

    GoodBoy [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,339
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    100% of the lighting is RayTraced. The Global illumination must only eliminate a part of the overall environments raytraced light sources.

    What you see in the game with global illumination off is still ray traced.
     
  29. wyqtor

    wyqtor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    394
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    I have to set GI to low for framerates greater than 60 @1080p on a 2070...
     
  30. JosiahBradley

    JosiahBradley [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,724
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Not sure if it's cause I'm on a 1080ti@2ghz, but I get 35fps at 720p (medium lighting) with extreme input lag.
     
  31. GoodBoy

    GoodBoy [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,339
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    I finished the game Friday night :)

    Found the one hidden room with Carmacks head and a poster on the wall of him with his Ferrari, and the id software employees room in the final level, plus the dude hanging with the chicks in the room below that one.
     
    eclypse likes this.
  32. ZodaEX

    ZodaEX 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,722
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    LOL
     
  33. aliaskary77

    aliaskary77 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    285
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    well, i made the change without telling them, and was playing minecraft a little, the little that i know what to do. 6 and 10 yr old both notice. the 10 yr old who is into fortnite has a renewed interest in mincraft and is building houses and stuff. nice...architect in training. the 6 yr old trying his bit too. if you dont know what it looks like, here is a sample:

    no rtx needed, but is path ray tracing.
     
    odditory likes this.