Post your mining rigs!

yowen

Gawd
Joined
May 20, 2011
Messages
610
I think these days most people are saying not to invest in a rig as it'll be hard to hit ROI and because of the upcoming change to PoS. However I look at it as a rig that I can mine ETH as long as I can then move on to the next most profitable coin AND the cards / rig will always have some sort of resell value.

That being said a 2 GPU rig is a great place to start, I would highly recommend the 1060 3 or 6GB variants are fine (ETH DAG still wont exceed 3GB til next year sometime). I think the 1060 is the best bang for buck as far as cost/hashrate goes.

Thanks for your thoughts on the matter! I am interested in getting some sort of ROI, I'm not in a hurry for it though. I also just find the prospect of building and running a miner interesting. What's a good community, a message board or reddit, that you'd recommend for me to learn more about getting started?
 

6foot4geek

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 27, 2008
Messages
1,287
Oh you'll still make ROI eventually and of course that ROI timeframe can go up or down depending on the current price of ETH or whatever coin you mine.
2 x 1060 6GB is 22MH/s on the low ish end which is $127 a month currently (without factoring in power expenses) and keep in mind these are all calculations with current market values.

Community is dependent on the coin you want to mine..
I read alot here, bitcointalk, forum.ethereum.org, and reddit can be a great source of info too
 

Dark12

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2003
Messages
1,685
7 1070s and 7 1070ti's.
Cable management to a new level here. Lol
 

Attachments

  • 4EB0EB37-2E5D-4425-B119-C6E741B0B90F.jpeg
    4EB0EB37-2E5D-4425-B119-C6E741B0B90F.jpeg
    379.5 KB · Views: 145

Milimarq

n00b
Joined
Dec 20, 2017
Messages
3
My main rig was primarily for gaming until I got into mining. It has a Zotac 1070 mini, Ryzen 7 1700 processor , 2 8GB sticks of Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 RAM 3200, MSI B350 Tomahawk motherboard, I think a RM 1000 watt psup, and various drives.

Another rig I'm running is using two RX 480s, another Ryzen 7 1700 and tomahawk motherboard, 2 stick of 8GB Corsair vengeance RAM, I think the PSU is 750-850 watts. I'll have to get pics of them later.
 

atp1916

[H]ard|DCoTM x1
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
4,802
Just put this one together the other day. Here she is warming up in a power-on test. Pardon the wiring!

x9 GTX 1070 Ti + Rosewill LSV-4500/Spotswood GPU Bracket-Drop-In + Asrock H110 Pro BTC+:

x5 MSI Gaming "Titanium" Editions
x2 EVGA FTW3 ACX3.0
x2 PoS Blowers (Asus / MSI)

All cards +175/+508/60%

~4.3kh's on Equihash @1175w total pull at the wall. ~480Sol/s each. ~4.32Sol/w per DSTM.

att_151519277015456 (1).jpg
 
Last edited:

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
10,478
045B4000-8AC9-4F5A-B9D2-B3E6CC943F4E.jpeg


12 Sapphire RX580 - 8gb
12 EVGA 1060 - 6gb
7 Misc 1080ti
7 PNY 1080ti

About 5000 watts continuous
One 40 amp, 240 volt circuit
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
10,478
should get a duct system going to move that heat around the house!

I'll have to figure out something else by summer - as I don't think my AC will be able to keep up at all, but those racks are about 2 feet away from my house's HVAC system which you can kind of see in the background. I programmed my nest thermostat to turn the big HVAC fan on every 1/2 hour of every hour. It cycles the heat through the house pretty well! My gas use has been record low for us this year. My electric bill.......record high. :)


Before I figured out that HVAC trick my entire basement was sweltering. I'd literally be dripping sweat while working on it -- and I have a fairly big house/basement with a lot of airspace.
 

mnewxcv

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
7,633
I'll have to figure out something else by summer - as I don't think my AC will be able to keep up at all, but those racks are about 2 feet away from my house's HVAC system which you can kind of see in the background. I programmed my nest thermostat to turn the big HVAC fan on every 1/2 hour of every hour. It cycles the heat through the house pretty well! My gas use has been record low for us this year. My electric bill.......record high. :)


Before I figured out that HVAC trick my entire basement was sweltering. I'd literally be dripping sweat while working on it -- and I have a fairly big house/basement with a lot of airspace.

I've been planning a way to get the heat out for the summer as I'm building a 12 card system currently. I'm thinking of making a window plate that mounts in an open window and attaching a few 4" ducts to it with 200cfm fans pulling air from the system. A little easier for me since I am using cases, but should still be possible for you if you have a window near by.
 

atp1916

[H]ard|DCoTM x1
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
4,802
I've been planning a way to get the heat out for the summer as I'm building a 12 card system currently. I'm thinking of making a window plate that mounts in an open window and attaching a few 4" ducts to it with 200cfm fans pulling air from the system. A little easier for me since I am using cases, but should still be possible for you if you have a window near by.

This is basically not far off from what i'll be doing.

My windows are just about 33" wide, these Rosewill LSV-4500 cases are ~16" wide - so i am going to stack them side by side and up - directly on the window. Drop the lower sash down for a good fit and hopefully get not too much leakage from the outside.

I like the idea of a "fitting" though. May not need it in my case.. no pun intended.. due to the snugness of the fit - however still a thought nonetheless.
 

mnewxcv

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
7,633
This is basically not far off from what i'll be doing.

My windows are just about 33" wide, these Rosewill LSV-4500 cases are ~16" wide - so i am going to stack them side by side and up - directly on the window. Drop the lower sash down for a good fit and hopefully get not too much leakage from the outside.

I like the idea of a "fitting" though. May not need it in my case.. no pun intended.. due to the snugness of the fit - however still a thought nonetheless.

I hadn't considered these cases until last night and didn't even think about the possibility they fit in the window opening. This is what I was considering (buying 3 of these)

https://www.amazon.com/Deflecto-Dry...=UTF8&qid=1513571728&sr=8-26&keywords=duct+4"

I'd cut the stack in half, and use the interior part to mount it to the 120mm fan outlet on the case x3. But you're idea seems so much simpler if it fits.
 

pclausen

Gawd
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
529
Here are some updates pics of my miners, which are all scattered around the house to take care of all my heating needs.

miner01 9x 1070's in the upstairs hallway:



miner02 7x 1050Ti's in the master bedroom:



miner03 9x 1080Ti's in the living room:



miner04 9x 1080Ti's in the downstairs theater room:



miner05 4x 1080Ti's in the office:



miner06 1x 1080Ti in the office:



miner07 8x 1070Ti's in the garage:



miner08 8x 1060 3GB in the garage:



miner09 7x 1060 3GB in the garage:



minertest 1x 1060 in the office:



And last but certainly not least, the 2 antminer S9's in the shop:



Except for miner06 (the 1x 1080Ti rig in my office), the plan is that everything else is getting moved down into my shop once it starts getting warm outside.

In preparation for that, I assembled this monitor cart using a Samsing 43" 6290. It has wifi so I can stream Netflix and what not when tooling around in the shop.

 

atp1916

[H]ard|DCoTM x1
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
4,802
Oh snap. I think i have that same exact TV cart pclausen. I did install some wooden shelves on it cause it's one of my next projects (i want a full mobile entertainment rack):

w.png
 

pclausen

Gawd
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
529
Hope you have a good security system, thats a lot of gear!

You bet. Security cameras, alarm system and a dog. 2 of them send notifications to my phone in real time. The dog doesn't need to, I can hear her bark from just about anywhere, lol.
 

pclausen

Gawd
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
529
Oh snap. I think i have that same exact TV cart pclausen. I did install some wooden shelves on it cause it's one of my next projects (i want a full mobile entertainment rack):

Yep. $69 with free shipping from PRIME. For the price, I'm very happy with it.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2013
Messages
744
Here are some updates pics of my miners, which are all scattered around the house to take care of all my heating needs.

miner01 9x 1070's in the upstairs hallway:



miner02 7x 1050Ti's in the master bedroom:



miner03 9x 1080Ti's in the living room:



miner04 9x 1080Ti's in the downstairs theater room:



miner05 4x 1080Ti's in the office:



miner06 1x 1080Ti in the office:



miner07 8x 1070Ti's in the garage:



miner08 8x 1060 3GB in the garage:



miner09 7x 1060 3GB in the garage:



minertest 1x 1060 in the office:



And last but certainly not least, the 2 antminer S9's in the shop:



Except for miner06 (the 1x 1080Ti rig in my office), the plan is that everything else is getting moved down into my shop once it starts getting warm outside.

In preparation for that, I assembled this monitor cart using a Samsing 43" 6290. It has wifi so I can stream Netflix and what not when tooling around in the shop.

And people wonder why GPU's are so expensive and hard to find! I don't know if I'm jealous of your setup(s) or angry that you have so much! Nah, I'm jealous lol
 

deaedius

Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2014
Messages
980
And people wonder why GPU's are so expensive and hard to find! I don't know if I'm jealous of your setup(s) or angry that you have so much! Nah, I'm jealous lol
Lol yes not sure if I am jealous or not.... This would make for one hell of a LAN party!
 

Hagrid

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
9,085
My middle son and I are building some crypto rigs. I will post pics once they are done. We have 2 72" cabinets, 1 for each of us. I put a 16x20 air filter on the side and has a 10" hvac fan that will blow the air into the attic. I am going to run a 60a 240v line and split it into 2 so each will get 30a.
I also have an extra 120v line that is literally run right where the cabinets will go, I just need to bring it through the wall. So far I have 10 1060's with 2 more coming. I bought 2 AB350 Pro 4 motherboards with a Ryzen 3 1200 cpu. They should be able to run 6-7 gpu's.
I have 8 of the 1060's and my main machine running making money in the meantime. I should be able to run 7 1060's on a 1000w Evga P2 PS. 6 should run fine on a 850 Evga. There will also be 2 12" high flow fans pointing up over the cards with the motherboards screwed to the side.

The son already has 4 1080ti's, 6 1060's, and 5 580's. Same motherboards as me.

Something to do while playing on Binance. :)

The cabinet looks good so won't be an eyesore.(Wife........)
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004HLU7CE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
 
Last edited:

regk

n00b
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
33
just wow at some of these rigs... i currently have 2 290's and 2 380's that i have attached to a custom cedar open air frame i built for about 8 bucks. I have affectionately dubbed it the Ukrainian ATM mark 1. I have the bug to keep building but where i live the shortage of cards is frustrating. Beautiful setups folks!
 

motqalden

[H]ard|DCOTM x3
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
1,688
Late to the game and just getting started but here are my "mining rigs" 1080ti and 1070. Hoping to add another 1070 this month.

 

Parja

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
12,397
5 GPU rig (for now...can handle more) I finished up this weekend...
1x 1080 Ti
2x 1080
2x 1070 Ti

20180121_000045848_iOS.jpg


Stand I threw together with scrap wood...
20180121_204308994_iOS.jpg


Ooh, pretty colors!
20180121_204341475_iOS.jpg


Cute little MATX Chinese mining board with 8 direct USB PCI-E connectors...
20180121_204300228_iOS.jpg
 

oblox

Gawd
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
962

Parja

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
12,397
It would make more sense in the first picture to have the fan on the opposite side instead of blowing into a wall.

Meh, it's like 3 feet away from the wall. It's running on low, fastest fan is about 60% and hottest card is 56C, so I think it'll be ok.
 

mnewxcv

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
7,633
Finally getting my roswill cases filled. Still messy. Waiting for new psu to show up before tackling wire management
 

Attachments

  • 1516575743515253708043.jpg
    1516575743515253708043.jpg
    436.6 KB · Views: 75
  • 15165757697551185364415.jpg
    15165757697551185364415.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 80
  • 1516575798204287719439.jpg
    1516575798204287719439.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 78

mnewxcv

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
7,633
Dam, what are the temps?

1080ti blower @65% power: 75C
1080ti 3 fan @ 65% power: 65C
1070 dual fan @ 75% power: 67C
970 dual fan @ 75% power: 58C
1050ti single fan @ 75% power: 53C
1050 single fan @ 75% power: 46C
 

Hagrid

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
9,085
1080ti blower @65% power: 75C
1080ti 3 fan @ 65% power: 65C
1070 dual fan @ 75% power: 67C
970 dual fan @ 75% power: 58C
1050ti single fan @ 75% power: 53C
1050 single fan @ 75% power: 46C
Nice. I am dreading summer. Electricity is going to skyrocket and it will be a bit warm inside, even with AC.
 

Hagrid

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
9,085
planning to duct the exhaust fans out the window via dryer vent hose.
Yeah, I have a 10" exhaust fan that will exit the hot air out the top of the cabinet. No way I would want all the heat from the miners floating in the house.
Not sure how some people stand it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Parja
like this

mnewxcv

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
7,633
Yeah, I have a 10" exhaust fan that will exit the hot air out the top of the cabinet. No way I would want all the heat from the miners floating in the house.
Not sure how some people stand it.

I wouldn't be able to stand the elec bill running miners + the AC!
 

Hagrid

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
9,085
So my son decided not to mine, since he is going to the gamers house for a month or 2. So i got all 5 1080ti hybrids at msrp. :)
Show me the money! Still working on the cabinet and electrical.
 

mnewxcv

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
7,633
So my son decided not to mine, since he is going to the gamers house for a month or 2. So i got all 5 1080ti hybrids at msrp. :)
Show me the money! Still working on the cabinet and electrical.

don't be afraid to post your own build thread, it sounds cool!
 

Orddie

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
2,929
So my son decided not to mine, since he is going to the gamers house for a month or 2. So i got all 5 1080ti hybrids at msrp. :)
Show me the money! Still working on the cabinet and electrical.

I would sub / follow a build log of this. also.. you had better beat your son.. cant let ya bring that weak stuff in here. this is [H]
 

mnewxcv

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
7,633
Got this off Craigslist....
 

Attachments

  • 15167440720541285105990.jpg
    15167440720541285105990.jpg
    324.5 KB · Views: 71

mkrohn

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,344
Yep. $69 with free shipping from PRIME. For the price, I'm very happy with it.
pretty sure I have the same thing in my bedroom. I didn't have a great wall mounting spot for it no way I'm putting a 55" 4k on top of a dresser or something else. I've been leaning towards getting another one. They're pretty nice.
 
Top