Post Your Connection Speed

Discussion in 'Networking Gallery' started by RoBo, Dec 16, 2007.

  1. TheMusketeer

    TheMusketeer Gawd

    Messages:
    592
    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Oh Boy!!! I just connected mines with a wire, and it is absolutely crap too!!!! I'm assuming it has to do with the modem they give you. Try bridging it to a wireless router you have. I'm going to do that and comment back on how it goes.

    Edit: So after bridging my router (which took like 2 hours because TW customer service is total crap), I still ended up with the same result. I don't know how to fix this issue!!!!
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2013
  2. Xipher

    Xipher 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,621
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Nope that was from my house. CFU 1G/500M service. Mind you I work for them and have been testing from home. Also used a Ubiquiti EdgeRouter Lite when I ran that test so it was behind a router and through NAT. I don't like it's interface much so I went back to my Soekris and OpenBSD for now. Also IPv6 on the EdgeRouter Lite seems flaky and I've been testing that as well.
     
  3. JohnYYC

    JohnYYC [H]Lite

    Messages:
    71
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    My 25/2 TekSavvy VDSL Unlimited connection. I'm actually in Calgary but all TekSavvy DSL customers on the Telus infrastructure pop out in Vancouver.

    Hope TekSavvy starts offering the 50/10 soon that Telus is currently offering.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Gabri.91

    Gabri.91 n00b

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    [​IMG]

    Italian internet connection are very very poor, I feel very lucky with that!
     
  5. Bl4ckM0onk3y

    Bl4ckM0onk3y n00b

    Messages:
    39
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    connection in my workplace, gigabit ethernet at endpoint workstations. Seen faster upload speeds than this.
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,211
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    My current speed.

    [​IMG]

    Tomorrow, that will change. :D I can't wait!!! Getting fibre.
     
  7. LostStorm

    LostStorm Gawd

    Messages:
    775
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    [​IMG]

    Connection been stable for a day and half, a new record for TWC.
     
  8. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,211
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Got my fibre yesterday. This is totally insane.

    [​IMG]

    I can get up to 250mb but they cap it, so I'll stick with the 50mb package. I heard a rumor we might get bumped to 80 though. I just hope they don't put a cap when they do that...
     
  9. DeChache

    DeChache The ONE - Your Ignorance Annoys Me

    Messages:
    6,866
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Makes me wish I still lived in Cedar Falls....
     
  10. gs274

    gs274 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,283
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Idaho is getting better...at least d/l...

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2013
  11. artbird309

    artbird309 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    100
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    I just upgraded my connection from AT&T U-verse 18/1.5 to Comcast 25/4.

    I was sick of the horrible upload speeds on U-verse and the bad 2Wire Residential Gateway. I couldn't max the upload and download at the same time.

    I have had it installed for about 3 hours now and so far so good, I can max+ the speeds so far.

    Technical information:
    1. Motorola SB5120 Surfboard (DOCSIS 2.0) - I had it from a few years ago when I had Comcast, I figured I would try it and see if it will work for now before buying a new DOCSIS 3.0.
    2. Directly connected to VMware ESXi 5.1 Server running pfSense 2.0.3 - I tired for a long time to using VLANs but it would not work like before so I had to dedicate one port to the WAN.


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    AT&T U-verse 18/1.5

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Comcast 25/4

    [​IMG]
    pfSense Traffic Graph
     
  12. LostStorm

    LostStorm Gawd

    Messages:
    775
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    In all years I had TWC, above is the longest I had a stable connection.
    But all good things must come to an end:
    [​IMG]
     
  13. wizdum

    wizdum [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,940
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    You just need to move to a more densely populated area to get good internet access inside the United States.
     
  14. feffrey

    feffrey Gawd

    Messages:
    585
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Comcast Business is the best. They just doubled my speed at no extra charge. They also took off speed boost or w/e they call it, so I actually get a solid 50/10 all the time.
    [​IMG]
     
  15. SolidBladez

    SolidBladez [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,274
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    2 years ago:

    What I'm getting now:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  16. NickOlsen8390

    NickOlsen8390 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    126
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Finally figured out our single stream TCP issue here at the NOC, Malfunctioning router..
    [​IMG]
     
  17. ltickett

    ltickett [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2000
    Just change mobile provider- well impressed, this is my macbook pro tethered to my HTC one:

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    And that's still on 3G. They are upgrade to 4G in december, interested how speed may change :)
     
  18. twistacatz

    twistacatz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    182
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    [​IMG]
    FIOS 150/65, I feel lucky
     
  19. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,211
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messing around with pfsense traffic shaping. :D

    [​IMG]

    Oh those poor souls in India, next time they call me to help me "fix" my computer and need to remote in. I have a VM all setup for them.

    Normal speed:

    [​IMG]
     
  20. JosiahBradley

    JosiahBradley [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,724
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    That is just beautiful. I want my own honeypot now. I'm thinking a Linux VM skinned to look just like XP with all applications renamed to match. See how long before they think the computer really is broken.
     
  21. LOCO LAPTOP

    LOCO LAPTOP [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,271
    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Speed test servers out here suck, I have to use two of them one for download and one for up.

    Download run:
    [​IMG]

    Upload run:
    [​IMG]
     
  22. P4rD0nM3

    P4rD0nM3 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,544
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
  23. tehkr

    tehkr n00b

    Messages:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Over wifi with AC access point though I only have an N card in my mac :/ [​IMG]
     
  24. DJS4000

    DJS4000 Gawd

    Messages:
    684
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    [​IMG]

    not bad for 30 bucks :D
     
  25. LostStorm

    LostStorm Gawd

    Messages:
    775
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Upload could be better, but for $30 I wouldn't complain
     
  26. Please

    Please n00b

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    My upload isn't great, but other than that I'm happy.

    [​IMG]
     
  27. BigBadAl

    BigBadAl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    349
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    :(:(

    I wish the UK's ISP's would move into the 21st century and catch-the-f**k up to the rest of the world.

    Sure, 60 Mb down is great, but come on.... 2.7 MB up?? Really!? 2013 and less than 3Mb up......
     
  28. magictoaster

    magictoaster Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    456
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    [​IMG]

    This is with Bell Fibe in Canada (FTTH service).
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2013
  29. 101001101

    101001101 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    69
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    It's not the ISP's that is the problem, it's BT.

    I agree with you though.
     
  30. AceGoober

    AceGoober Live! Laug[H]! Overclock!

    Messages:
    21,640
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2013
  31. Dantrax

    Dantrax Gawd

    Messages:
    705
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    8 ms ping, 18.73 Mbps Download & 5.03 Mbps Upload
     
  32. BigBadAl

    BigBadAl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    349
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Just an fyi... I'm not with BT, I'm with VirginMedia, completely different network from BT's, unless BT are the evil communications overlord restricting everyone else so they don't look so bad!

    [​IMG]

    Wow, VirginMedia must be reading my posts, that's the closest to 3Mb up I've EVER had.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2013
  33. bmh.01

    bmh.01 Gawd

    Messages:
    610
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Count yourself lucky, BT/ADSL is far far worse. I'm on VM 120mb and consistently get 12mb up to can't really complain compared to what else is out there for the money.
     
  34. wizdum

    wizdum [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,940
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    I finally have somwhat useful internet access:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2013
  35. iGamer

    iGamer [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Its amazing what a simple coaxial cable replacement can do, went from an average 80Mbit down/ 5 up to my full 107Mbit down

    [​IMG]
     
  36. AMD_RULES

    AMD_RULES 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,010
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    FiOS 75/35 connection @ home

    [​IMG]
     
  37. trick0502

    trick0502 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,141
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Is this odd? How can you get 150mbps on n?

    Edit: never mind. Looks like newer router can do 250+ Mbps.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2013
  38. OpStar

    OpStar Gawd

    Messages:
    602
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    [​IMG]

    Wish Suddenlink would offer 107m/bit in my area :(
     
  39. Crosshairs

    Crosshairs Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    23,704
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
  40. iGamer

    iGamer [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Finally got around to doing another pingtest.net test (needed to install a 32bit copy of Java)
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    @Opstar yea it helps when you live where Suddenlink is Headquartered, I guess it also helps when you have a friend in customer support and have direct line and email lol :D

    @Crosshairs I don't what to say about that upload speed, and that ping.... Do you live in Mexico? or on the border here in lovely Texas?