Network pics thread

vetman

n00b
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
28


My rack as of August 2010, this year no more KVM all servers will have IP based KVM iDrac6 Enterprise or similar. I hate sitting in front of the rack. :) Kinda.

Notable items (top to bottom):
APC Power (Ethernet controlled)
Cisco 2960G-24
Cisco 3548
Cisco 1811
Cisco ASA 5505
Sonicwall (white list only for virus cleaning work)
QNAP TS-459 Pro (4x2TB) files & iSCSI
Macalley 2TB eSata (looks like a tiny Mac Pro)
Dell R610 E5540 ESXi
Dell R710 2xE5620 ESXi
Dell T610 E5505 with SATA Hot Swap bays for HDD recovery & wiping
APC3000 UPS
 

munkle

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
11,550
Fear my 939 clearos router! :p
Edit: wow I didn't notice that the fans are stopped in the photo, I took it while it was running, go camera!
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163


My rack as of August 2010, this year no more KVM all servers will have IP based KVM iDrac6 Enterprise or similar. I hate sitting in front of the rack. :) Kinda.

Notable items (top to bottom):
APC Power (Ethernet controlled)
Cisco 2960G-24
Cisco 3548
Cisco 1811
Cisco ASA 5505
Sonicwall (white list only for virus cleaning work)
QNAP TS-459 Pro (4x2TB) files & iSCSI
Macalley 2TB eSata (looks like a tiny Mac Pro)
Dell R610 E5540 ESXi
Dell R710 2xE5620 ESXi
Dell T610 E5505 with SATA Hot Swap bays for HDD recovery & wiping
APC3000 UPS

Very nice setup, but what does the acer Ferrari laptop do ?
Personally id ditch the sonicwall :) and install a Untangle unit :)
 

Blue Fox

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
11,811
Another Celestix box? I put a little effort into getting this one: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=300462753064 but ended up losing.
Ahhh! Winning bid $76 bucks? //cry What a score that would have been!
Yep, won that one. :D
BlueFox...all that in your home? Doing what?
You work 2x jobs for that electric bill?
Yes, that's all in my home. They're just personal toys/projects. I only have a part time job as I'm also attending a university to finish my BSEE (I'm only 22).
 

vetman

n00b
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
28
@dashpuppy The Untangle box is over on the workbench (not pictured). The Ferrari is just sitting there looking fast. :)
 

odditory

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
6,482
the board that is still in it's static bag, looks like a intel server board ?

how dare you. you have no idea how beautifully a SM motherboard and SM case fit together until you've built one yourself- its .. well, "climactic".. noises just come out of you...a lot like the sounds old ladies make when being tasered.
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
how dare you. you have no idea how beautifully a SM motherboard and SM case fit together until you've built one yourself- its .. well, "climactic".. noises just come out of you...a lot like the sounds old ladies make when being tasered.

sorry, but if you want i can take a picture of my motherboard in the static bag and show you how i got to this conclusion LOL!

maybe you will come to the darkside and get a intel board....
 

YeOldeStonecat

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 19, 2004
Messages
11,330
Also a crummy cell phone pic...top to bottom:Linksys/Cisco wrt150N running DD-WRT firmware in access point mode, the hideous 2Wire HGW ...for AT&T U-Verst 18 meg pipe, my backup router...Linksys/Cisco RV082 being used just as a switch, and my Supermicro D510 dual core Atom with dual Intel Gigabit NICs, 2 gigs of RAM andSeagate Pipeline drive as my firewall...running Astaro Security Suite, pulling public IP from the 2Wire in DMZ Plus pass mode.

Mid Atlantic rack
Supermicro 1U case, $89.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811152107

Supermicro Atom D510 board with dual Intel gigabit and IPMI remote module, $219.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813182238

Seagate Pipeline drive, designed for extra quiet, extra low power, extra low noise, 24x7 running in tight spaces like DVRs. It's an ideal drive for firewall appliances. $49.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822148556


I like the Supermicro setup, nice and quiet and power efficient, and the newer dual core Atoms finally got some nut to them. It even ran Untangle fine, smooth as butter. I'll probably have PFSense on it in a few months, and then ClearOS..and then whatever my mood feels like a few months later.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2004
Messages
3,861
I've got to get off my ass and buy one of those super-micros. Still running my Rackable P4 2.8GHz for my astaro UTM firewall. I would imagine there would be some nice power savings there....
 

YeOldeStonecat

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 19, 2004
Messages
11,330
where you get it from ? how deep is it ? I'm keeping my eyes out and looking on craigslist for a small rack with 4 posts something for my rack networking gear.

A local electronic/network supply/telephony supply place...got it for a clients office..they moved to a new larger office so it was no longer needed, since they went with a full sized APC cabinet and COMM rack, so given to me.

It's pretty deep, I think 20". I like Middle Atlantic for smaller net cabinets like that, good stuff, not too pricey. It's on an old table now, will be mounted on wall soon, in finished basement, next to my bar. :D
 

jmroberts70

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 15, 2002
Messages
2,953
Just completed another home network setup for a client.



Nothing too fancy. The main thing I did was clean up the "fire hazard" wiring mess that was sitting on the ground in their covered patio room and now is safely tucked away in a nice clean closet, off the floor, and easy to reach and work on if needed. I ran networking from this point to 2 other drops on the property as well as phone lines both from the line feed and to another building. Everything is now surge protected and safe. Not bad for one day's work! I'm probably going to replace all those bundled phone lines with short 12" runs when I have a spare moment this week...
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
Just completed another home network setup for a client.



Nothing too fancy. The main thing I did was clean up the "fire hazard" wiring mess that was sitting on the ground in their covered patio room and now is safely tucked away in a nice clean closet, off the floor, and easy to reach and work on if needed. I ran networking from this point to 2 other drops on the property as well as phone lines both from the line feed and to another building. Everything is now surge protected and safe. Not bad for one day's work! I'm probably going to replace all those bundled phone lines with short 12" runs when I have a spare moment this week...

Id like to know "WHY" you would put the telephone line through the serge bar, thats a NO NO!
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
To surge protect it? I've put my DSL line through plenty of power bars, it doesn't make a difference.

I'm the guy that gets the call, my dsl is slow, my dsl keeps going on and off etc etc, i'm the guy that removes splitters & other phonline crap off the dsl cable.

Up here over here in canada, Telus modems are VERY picky pieces of shit, LOL!
 

Berg0

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2005
Messages
1,038
I'm the guy that gets the call, my dsl is slow, my dsl keeps going on and off etc etc, i'm the guy that removes splitters & other phonline crap off the dsl cable.

Up here over here in canada, Telus modems are VERY picky pieces of shit, LOL!

then I would assume JMroberts70 is the guy that goes and replaces every peice of network equipment you installed after a lightening strike? :p

inline surge protection is a good thing I've never had it cause "speed issues"
 

dle1232003

n00b
Joined
Aug 20, 2010
Messages
38


Just a quick update of my original post here

I have now got my 3rd switch that I was looking for, managed to get another 2950 for £38 inc delievery, which I think is pretty cheap. Also added on the 1760 router, a wic-4esw, which I've yet to fully design what Im going to do with it, and also a Wic-1T, to connect to my frame relay router.

:)

Oh and finally I've given another overview shot of my ccna lab set up, and the laptop next to it, for use with the console serial cable, :D
 

MavsX

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 4, 2007
Messages
1,086
my main rig



my basement on sundays



my lab at home



one of our closets at work



another 2 post rack at work



me up close after wiring this fucker

 

Lightworker

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
457
Clean work.

Sometimes you spend so much time on your customer projects you neglect your own gear. I was working on this monstrosity earlier this week.

I LOATHE The CE500 series switches.

 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
then I would assume JMroberts70 is the guy that goes and replaces every peice of network equipment you installed after a lightening strike? :p

inline surge protection is a good thing I've never had it cause "speed issues"

Like i previously stated, telus modems are VERY VERY picky, they are SHIT! put a spliutter or even one of those dual phone line jacks in to split the line for one dsl one for phone, they hicckup all the time, they are really picky.


Lightning on Vancouver island ? when ? LOL!
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
MavsX, good looking work there, something to be very proud of. Looks like you take your time and do things properly. My hats off to you!
 

djBon2112

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 29, 2006
Messages
5,279
I'm the guy that gets the call, my dsl is slow, my dsl keeps going on and off etc etc, i'm the guy that removes splitters & other phonline crap off the dsl cable.

Up here over here in canada, Telus modems are VERY picky pieces of shit, LOL!

I'm on Bell, but I have a tank of an Alcatel that's been going strong for 10 years now. I guess I'm just lucky :confused:

Edit: Nope, others concur :D
 

MavsX

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 4, 2007
Messages
1,086
MavsX, good looking work there, something to be very proud of. Looks like you take your time and do things properly. My hats off to you!

thanks bro. Yeah, it was all done in like a 72 hour period on a weekend, not much sleep happened that weekend. lol And i think my hands were all cut up and cramping. This all happened a few years ago, it still looks as clean to this day, although we have had to add a lot more stuff to the racks. I got my pictures saved at home, so i can show them off down the road at future jobs, etc

see ya man
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
643
I'm the guy that gets the call, my dsl is slow, my dsl keeps going on and off etc etc, i'm the guy that removes splitters & other phonline crap off the dsl cable.

Up here over here in canada, Telus modems are VERY picky pieces of shit, LOL!

And I am the guy that had $4k in damage done due to lightning coming in over a coax cable through the modem and into the rest of my network.

Surge suppression in the midwest is pretty much mandatory. Using high quality protectors prevents your service calls, but not using them at all is a very expensive and dangerous move.
 

NTAuthourity

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Messages
147
I'm the guy that gets the call, my dsl is slow, my dsl keeps going on and off etc etc, i'm the guy that removes splitters & other phonline crap off the dsl cable.

Up here over here in canada, Telus modems are VERY picky pieces of shit, LOL!

Haha indeed, i will agree that telus uses some stupid shit, but the Cisco SA330's arent bad....anyway just a key point, almost and I say ALMOST any wiring closet you walk into that has been well done, all the pipes and telecom are grounded. Many stupid things have happened by forgetting that essenial piece of equip. :)
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
546
After the stories I have seen here, I have been putting anything I can through a surge. Last week while I was cleaning up my rack I finally put my cable connect to a surge, everything else is protected by a surge protector, that cable connection needs to be as well. At least I have VoIP so I do not need to run the phone line after the modem into a surge.
 

jmroberts70

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 15, 2002
Messages
2,953
LOL!! I never expected that I would start a heated discussion about running phone lines through surge protectors!!

Another recent job I did for a church.

I just wish I had snapped a shot of the "before" condition! I added the plywood at the top, re-routed all the coax components to a more clean-running setup (and made room for the new parts). I cleaned up all the phone line cabling to the punch-down block, added a modem, router, and gigabit switch. I also installed 2 wireless access points around the building... This actually was a pretty fun job.
 

p3n

Gawd
Joined
Sep 29, 2002
Messages
631
my basement on sundays


Man I would love to live in the states, only get 1 or 2 games a day here in the UK :( want to adopt a 26 yr old with experience in networking? :)

My little network in my flat, fanless 1810 sitting under my receiver in the living room:

 

Blue Fox

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
11,811
Got my Celestix box and another 2U Supermicro (which is nice and loud I might add). Might buy another 4U Supermicro shortly. Had more RSA boxes, but those were picked up earlier today.

 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
Got my Celestix box and another 2U Supermicro (which is nice and loud I might add). Might buy another 4U Supermicro shortly. Had more RSA boxes, but those were picked up earlier today.


your room must get so warm!
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2004
Messages
3,861
Got my Celestix box and another 2U Supermicro (which is nice and loud I might add). Might buy another 4U Supermicro shortly. Had more RSA boxes, but those were picked up earlier today.


Jeebuz, I'd hate to see what your power bill looks like. You keep all that powered on all the time??
 
Top