Far Cry 6

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,715
I really do hope this game is optimized for both modern Intel and AMD Ryzen CPU's that has at least 8 cores and more. I just wonder how well it runs on NVIDIA cards since this game is optimized for Radeon cards as what I've heard.
 

CaptainClueless

Weaksauce
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
83
So this is another genius Ubisoft "choose between the male or female version of the same character" game? Ugh.

AC Odyssey and AC Valhalla pulled this crap, and both games had one version of the protagonist that was FAR better than the other. I'm not thrilled at the idea of having a 50/50 shot at picking the 'good' version of the game. Hopefully the retained the ability to change whenever you want from Valhalla, so I can abort mission in case I pick the wrong one.
 

70 Polara

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 31, 2004
Messages
264
I really do hope this game is optimized for both modern Intel and AMD Ryzen CPU's that has at least 8 cores and more. I just wonder how well it runs on NVIDIA cards since this game is optimized for Radeon cards as what I've heard.
No doubt, amazing how when I play Far Cry 5 or New Dawn on my ancient Harpertown E5450 quad-core it maxes out one whole thread and doesn't fully utilize the other three.....so yeah would love to see Far Cry 6 on a modern engine that can actually properly multi-thread!!!!!!!!!
 

DPI

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 20, 2013
Messages
12,047
I really do hope this game is optimized for both modern Intel and AMD Ryzen CPU's that has at least 8 cores and more. I just wonder how well it runs on NVIDIA cards since this game is optimized for Radeon cards as what I've heard.
It's not necessarily optimized for Radeon. It's just co-marketed with AMD/Radeon. It's got Nvidia-exclusive tech in the graphics settings, and the stream I saw with a guy playing on an Nvidia with High graphics settings looked pretty smooth to my eyes.
 
Last edited:

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,914
So this is another genius Ubisoft "choose between the male or female version of the same character" game? Ugh.

AC Odyssey and AC Valhalla pulled this crap, and both games had one version of the protagonist that was FAR better than the other. I'm not thrilled at the idea of having a 50/50 shot at picking the 'good' version of the game. Hopefully the retained the ability to change whenever you want from Valhalla, so I can abort mission in case I pick the wrong one.

I'd heard the female version is the correct/best option for FC6
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,914
If there is a game with an option these days, the female version is always the proper/canon option. That is how it is for Assassin's Creed.

plus in all the trailers you only see the female Dani so that's also a big sign which one they want you to choose
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,914
my free Far Cry 6 game code is now available to activate on the AMD Rewards page...yes!

FC6.png
 

CaptainClueless

Weaksauce
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
83
I'd heard the female version is the correct/best option for FC6
Kind of what I figured. I thought the game had a female protagonist from the clips I had originally seen, but the video the polonyc2 posted mentioned you could play either so I wasn't sure.

If there is a game with an option these days, the female version is always the proper/canon option. That is how it is for Assassin's Creed.
Eh... female Eivor was pretty terrible. I tried switching after reading online about how female Eivor was "cannon", but I wasn't feeling it at all. Went back to playing badass male Eivor, cannon be dammed. I had much higher hopes after playing through Odyssey as Kassandra.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,914
according to Ubisoft you need 11GB VRAM to use the HD Texture Pack...I think that's just because of their AMD partnership and they know that the 3080 only has 10GB...it's their way of trying to get you to buy a Radeon card
 

ghostwich

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
2,073
according to Ubisoft you need 11GB VRAM to use the HD Texture Pack...I think that's just because of their AMD partnership and they know that the 3080 only has 10GB...it's their way of trying to get you to buy a Radeon card
That's kind of a smart move, actually.
 

ghostwich

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
2,073
I doubt that 1GB matters...they're just doing it as a slight dig to Nvidia...10GB should be enough for the HD Texture Pack
Of course 10GB is more than enough- Far Cry 5's LOD was so aggressive no high res texture would even stay on the screen for any amount of time. I wouldn't call it a slight dig, it's pretty obvious!
 

Nirad9er

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 18, 2004
Messages
2,603
So I see Farcry 6 supports FSR and not DLSS so AMD cards have the advantage. I see the 6900xt beats 3090 at 4k (Guru3D review) which AMD's 6 series is usually falling behind.
 

Solhokuten

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
1,402
So I see Farcry 6 supports FSR and not DLSS so AMD cards have the advantage. I see the 6900xt beats 3090 at 4k (Guru3D review) which AMD's 6 series is usually falling behind.
FSR works for Nvidia as well. I didnt read the review, but I suspect the AMD GPUs simply perform better on this game regardless of FSR.
 

harmattan

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
4,885
Initial reviews are as expected. More of the same, but if you like the formula there's no reason you won't like this one, too.

Guru3D did a rundown of how performance works: https://www.guru3d.com/articles-pages/far-cry-6-pc-graphics-performance-benchmark-review,1.html
Unless you're utterly tired of that said forward. Sounds like it's another pseudo-reskin.

Not surprising on those benchmarks. AMD very moderately outpaces nV at all settings, moreso at lower resolutions.
 

ghostwich

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
2,073
With everything at Ultra and all ray-tracing turned on, I'm getting 80-110ish FPS at 1440p. As usual, you can't tell most times between "High" and "Ultra." The way shadows and ambient occlusion works with reflections is very off-putting especially since they really like making roads simultaneously muddy and reflective.
 

Lateralus

More [H]uman than Human
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
16,738
The 6900XT beat the 3090 by 1 FPS at 4K. And that's with the game being optimized for AMD. Lol. So much for the theory that Nvidia cards will be at a big disadvantage with this game. Looks like they're doing just fine through brute force.
 

Bigbacon

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
19,408
so does it force progress like FC5? that is all I want to know. I don't want the game to decide for me when I do things.
 

TaintedSquirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
10,671
The 6900XT beat the 3090 by 1 FPS at 4K. And that's with the game being optimized for AMD. Lol. So much for the theory that Nvidia cards will be at a big disadvantage with this game. Looks like they're doing just fine through brute force.
The results are pretty much the same as other recent Ubi games (aside from Legion which was an Nvidia tech demo effectively).
The 10 series is looking rough in Far Cry 6 though. About 20% below where they should be.

In the current market, it's a futile debate anyway. Nvidia wins, AMD wins, who cares, it's not like you have a choice.
 
Last edited:

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,914
reviews are all pretty much in agreement- good looking game, great audio, same Ubisoft open world gameplay
 

TaintedSquirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
10,671
reviews are all pretty much in agreement- good looking game, great audio, same Ubisoft open world gameplay
Like I said before across 3 console generations since Far Cry 3 and 4, they have improved nothing except graphics. This game plays the same as an Xbox 360 game. It's even more disappointing in the Open World genre which has shown the biggest improvements over the years.
Sad.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,914
Like I said before across 3 console generations since Far Cry 3 and 4, they have improved nothing except graphics. Sad.

they made some nice changes to the Assassin's Creed formula starting with Origins but I guess they were content to leave the Far Cry experience relatively the same...new setting, same basic gameplay...I got FC6 for free so I'll be playing either way but I was hoping this would be the best FC game
 

TaintedSquirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
10,671
they made some nice changes to the Assassin's Creed formula starting with Origins but I guess they were content to leave the Far Cry experience relatively the same...new setting, same basic gameplay...I got FC6 for free so I'll be playing either way but I was hoping this would be the best FC game
They had the right idea with 5, the interesting setting was enough to make up for the lack of game improvements.
Unfortunately Far Cry 6 looks like a mixture of 3 and 4, they hoped Gus Fring will be enough to carry it. At least the previous games had unique villians, sure they got an A-List actor, but it's still a familiar character from all his previous roles.

I really liked 5 and New Dawn (less so), I hoped they would continue to surprise us.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,077
AC Origins and Odyssey were amazing. Valhalla was a bit of a step back in many ways, though. As long as this one is on par with FC5 (which I enjoyed), I'm down.
 

chameleoneel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
5,174
according to Ubisoft you need 11GB VRAM to use the HD Texture Pack...I think that's just because of their AMD partnership and they know that the 3080 only has 10GB...it's their way of trying to get you to buy a Radeon card
Techpowerup says this:

What's really interesting is VRAM usage. I measured well over 10 GB with the 4K, HD Texture pack, and ray tracing combo, which does stutter sometimes on the 10 GB GeForce RTX 3080, but runs perfectly fine with cards offering 12 GB VRAM or higher. I guess I was wrong when I said that the RTX 3080's 10 GB will suffice for the foreseeable future. That said, there's plenty of graphics options, and I wouldn't be surprised if a future patch addresses memory requirements.

They also showed that FSR Ultra quality gives a little better than native image quality, in this game. And a lot of GPUs are CPU limited at 1080p and even 1440p. Will be interesting to see if Alder Lake can make a dent in that.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,914
Techpowerup says this:

What's really interesting is VRAM usage. I measured well over 10 GB with the 4K, HD Texture pack, and ray tracing combo, which does stutter sometimes on the 10 GB GeForce RTX 3080, but runs perfectly fine with cards offering 12 GB VRAM or higher. I guess I was wrong when I said that the RTX 3080's 10 GB will suffice for the foreseeable future. That said, there's plenty of graphics options, and I wouldn't be surprised if a future patch addresses memory requirements.

They also showed that FSR Ultra quality gives a little better than native image quality, in this game. And a lot of GPUs are CPU limited at 1080p and even 1440p. Will be interesting to see if Alder Lake can make a dent in that.

hopefully 10GB VRAM is enough at 1440p
 
Top