Eyefinity and Triple DVI working.

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by FrgMstr, Oct 20, 2009.

  1. Regime|Life

    Regime|Life [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,169
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
  2. alxnet2003

    alxnet2003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
  3. Regime|Life

    Regime|Life [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,169
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Bit different from the Dell one as it works with HDMI though so it might not be suitable for everyone but I'm connecting 2 DVI displays and one HDMI TV so it will do the job I hope (Christmas time is when I'll know as I'm getting the 5850 then :) )
     
  4. Spaceman_Spiff

    Spaceman_Spiff [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,636
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Maybe I'm missing something but the description seems pretty clear that the usb port provides the audio for the hdmi, not power for an active converter. Still looks passive to me.
     
  5. Andrmgic

    Andrmgic Gawd

    Messages:
    732
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Yeah, it is passive + audio.. clearly designed to give folks with newer macs the ability to output to HDMI.
     
  6. Regime|Life

    Regime|Life [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,169
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Hmm damn well that sucks. :(
     
  7. wcp6

    wcp6 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    78
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    sure looks great for productivity, and a marvel of technology.. but those games were not looking hot on the triple display imo
     
  8. SiG357

    SiG357 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    417
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    You have never played on one then. I can't go back to one screen.
     
  9. LanPirate1

    LanPirate1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    362
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Well, here's my setup. Two 20" 2001FP's flanking a 2407WFP. Only thing that sucked was that Eyefinity made the 2407WFP 1600 pixels wide, matching the other two monitors. Not as sharp for 2d use, but ok for gaming. I know the 2001's are not as high as the 2407, but they are all 1200 pixels high. I have the tops of margins all lined up perfect. Gaming is great, all I needed was the adapter (thanks to ontariotl), I already had these three monitors. Good luck to everyone looking for adapters, trust me it will be worth the effort.
    [​IMG]
    L4D is amazing, way more fun to play now.
    [​IMG]
     
  10. ontariotl

    ontariotl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    242
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    You're quite welcome for the adaptor. Thanks for taking both of them off my hands :p. Your setup looks good, thanks for taking a few pics. Did your buddy get his setup yet?
     
  11. alxnet2003

    alxnet2003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Looking good. Welcome to the club!
     
  12. alxnet2003

    alxnet2003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Once you've tried it there's no turning back. Sucks because my next upgrade will have me getting three larger matching monitors (27" maybe?). Not sure how I'll sneak it by the wife, but can't just go upgrade one of course. :D
     
  13. LanPirate1

    LanPirate1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    362
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    My friend received his adapter and is using three new Samsung SyncMaster 2343BWX monitors, with a native res of 2048x1152. Weird size isnt it? They were on sale for $199.00. He will be sending me pics of his setup soon.
     
  14. harmattan

    harmattan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,185
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Just got everything set up. To reiterate others who have been lucky enough to play with Eyefinity, you really have to experience it to believe how much more immersive it is.

    I'm playing with a 28"x30"x28" portrait setup with the DVI-MiniDP adapter. I tried landscape, but it seemed too wide for me -- like I wasn't taking enough advantage of the screen area. Maybe when I try GRID, I'll test it back out on landscape, but portrait mode is my preference for now.

    I'm running at 3700x1920. Dragon Age (with the recent Eyefinity update) and TF2 is blowing my mind.

    I do have two outstanding issues:

    - Like many others, the monitor attached to the DVI-DP conks out/loses the link momentarily once in a while (maybe every 30-45 minutes or so), then quickly comes back.
    - My two Hanns-G 28", which are connected to my 5870 via HDMI/DVI adapter, get screen interference (the screen appears to shift periodically) when any images change in 2D mode (in movies, IE, Flash etc). Not a huge deal since I just turn them off when not gaming, but still annoying. I'm guessing it's a timing issue since the two 28"s are connected with HDMI rather than the DVI on the 30" HP.
    - I have two 5870s, but only one is being used in Eyefinity. Hopefully, ATI will fix this soon :)

    Pix shortly...
     
  15. ocgpirate

    ocgpirate n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    I did get the adapter, thanks for your help on that ontariotl :D
     
  16. LanPirate1

    LanPirate1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    362
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    This is ocpirate's setup:
    [​IMG]
     
  17. KaptainKhaos

    KaptainKhaos Gawd

    Messages:
    703
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
  18. inotocracy

    inotocracy [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,625
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Trying out GRID & Shift..

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  19. SiG357

    SiG357 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    417
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    I know. I have been thinking of upgrading to 30" :)
     
  20. MJZ

    MJZ [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,200
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Eyefinity is the reason I am building up a new system :)
     
  21. [L]imey

    [L]imey [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,977
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Make sure it all arrives at once because missing 1 piece will drive you nuts :p

    Wish my adapter would hurry up and get here
     
  22. avatardelta

    avatardelta [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,547
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    I was stupid and forgot to make sure I'd be getting a displayport cable, so one monitor sits boxed while I wait.
     
  23. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    47,988
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
  24. ClearM4

    ClearM4 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,320
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Questions regarding the "Eyefinity Not Using Active Adapter."

    So, using the Displayport + Passive DP-to-DVI adaptor + DVI-to-VGA adaptor should work?
    Any known issues or limitation using VGA?
    I guess not being HDCP complaint might cause problems for Bluray watching and some programs?
    Has anyone on the [H] forums tried this method yet?
     
  25. donniedark

    donniedark n00b

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Hey there,

    Will Eyefinity do 4800X1200? Would need to buy a new desk if I were to go bigger than 3X20" monitors. And I already have 2.

    Don
     
  26. LanPirate1

    LanPirate1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    362
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Yes, I am using a 4800x1200 setup right now.

    My center monitor is a 24" dell, native it is 1920x1200
    My flank monitors are 20" Dells, native is 1600x1200

    Eyefinity set the 24" to 1600x1200, for the three to be the same I suppose.

    Can't wait for the bezel management software.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2009
  27. overclkr

    overclkr n00b

    Messages:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    wrong thread. Sorry.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
  28. Tamlin_WSGF

    Tamlin_WSGF 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,974
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2009
  29. inotocracy

    inotocracy [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,625
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
  30. Tamlin_WSGF

    Tamlin_WSGF 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,974
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
  31. matrix563

    matrix563 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    19,021
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    will it be around $50 as ATi has stated?
     
  32. valve1138

    valve1138 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,053
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
  33. Tamlin_WSGF

    Tamlin_WSGF 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,974
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Ah, I am too used to autoresize :p I'll edit the post to a link instead for lazyness sake

    I haven't seen any pricing information yet, but I will post it as soon as I find it. :)
     
  34. Spaceman_Spiff

    Spaceman_Spiff [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,636
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Huh? He clearly meant the picture is just a photoshop, which is obvious by both the unrealistic overall look and the messed up perspective all over the place. Why would you need photoshop just to resize a picture?
     
  35. inotocracy

    inotocracy [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,625
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Correct. I was referring to the cheesy looking photo. ;)
     
  36. stateofjermaine

    stateofjermaine [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,249
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Dumb question: What game is that in the last two Eyefinity photos from the review? Is it one of the COD games?
     
  37. Tamlin_WSGF

    Tamlin_WSGF 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,974
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Thats what I thought and therefore pointed out that this cheesy looking photo is from Sappire themselves. Its most likely the advertised upcoming ATI certified adapter:
    http://www1.sapphiretech.com/fc/gallery/main.php?id=532

    I suggest you and Spaceman_Spiff send an email to Sapphire asking them how they dare to use photoshop in that manner with their products. :D
     
  38. inotocracy

    inotocracy [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,625
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    A photoshop could be any form of an altered photo, or in this case, fake as shit. Sure, they're probably coming out with a product but that doesn't mean the photo you linked was actually taken with a camera. That shit was drawn by marketing, and badly.
     
  39. Tamlin_WSGF

    Tamlin_WSGF 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,974
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    It could have been a hand drawing for all I care as long as it represents an actual product. If it gets your panties in a twist, send them an email.


    For others, who care about the adapter itself, I can see it online already here in Norway. Its confirmed to arrive 2009-12-15:
    http://www.komplett.no/k/ki.aspx?sku=575163
     
  40. inotocracy

    inotocracy [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,625
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Whos panties are in a wad? You're the one who took offense to a photoshop being called a photoshop :p