Eyefinity and Triple DVI working.

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by FrgMstr, Oct 20, 2009.

  1. Tamlin_WSGF

    Tamlin_WSGF 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,974
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Your panties, in a twist. :p Seems you took offence of the picture. You should tell Sapphire how you want them to take pictures, so they don't offend you and you start derailing the posts.

    I don't care about the picture, only what it represents. Many have waited for ATI's certified adapters for Eyefinity and this is good news for them.
     
  2. tboo

    tboo Gawd

    Messages:
    569
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    I am taking the plunge with Eyefinity. Picked up a 5970 & 3 Asus 26 inch LCDs(thank you Bing Cashback!). The Asus LCDs have DVI, VGA, & HDMI inputs. What kind of DP adapter do I need to get this setup working(I assume I need a DP adapter).

    Thanks
     
  3. harmattan

    harmattan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,185
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    None right now. Despite what the title of this thread implies, triple-DVI with Eyefinity is not "working" for many people due to the blinking issue.

    Wait a couple weeks for the ATI-certified adapter before spending $100 the adapter that's currently out there, but has the blinking issue.
     
  4. rally9x

    rally9x [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,914
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    No luck with my 3 soyo 24 inch's with vga to dp adapter (bsod and highest res possible 1600 x 1200). With the DP adaptor on my 24inch Sony crt I can get it to work but only at 3xxx by 1024. My active DVI adaptor got rescheduled to be delivered tomorrow so I guess I will have to see how that goes. I was hoping for triple 24inch crt though. Using this adaptor:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812270275 which I think is the same as the directron one.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2009
  5. tboo

    tboo Gawd

    Messages:
    569
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    I ordered a Dell adapter. I figure its worth a shot. If it doesnt work I have three weeks to return it.
     
  6. inotocracy

    inotocracy [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,625
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    People are having success with a cheapo DP->VGA, I'd give it a go. My setup is using the active Apple one and seems to be running fine, granted I'm afraid to upgrade my drivers in fear of losing my working setup. :p
     
  7. alxnet2003

    alxnet2003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Same here. I'm having great luck with my Apple active adapter. Just for giggles, I purchased the VGA-DP cheapo adapter from Directron. It was a *pain-in-the-ass* to get working with multiple reboots and configuration changes, but I finally got it working at 2048x1152 (combined Eyefinity of 6144x1152).

    The Apple active adapter was so much easier to setup and works more reliably than the VGA, but of course, it's about $80 more in all (with the required mini-DP regular-DP adapter cable).

    The other downside is at that resolution, VGA is a bit softer than the crystal sharp DVI-DP signal.
     
  8. ShadeTreeMechanic

    ShadeTreeMechanic n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    This thread was extremely helpful setting up Eyefinity after upgrading my video card to the 5870. I've been wanting to game across 3 monitors since I read about the Matrox Parhelia way back in July 2002.

    I did make the mistake of purchasing a passive StarTech DisplayPort to DVI adapter. After reading further and realizing my mistake, I ordered the Dell adapter (made by BizLink). It was only a $28 mistake though.

    Dell DisplayPort to DVI-D Adapter
    [​IMG]

    The 1 issue I have (minor) is that my PC won't turn on with the adapter plugged in to the USB port. I have to unplug it, power the PC up, and plug it in after that. Not a big deal though. Probably can be fixed with a powered USB hub.
    I got the Dell adapter in 2 days (after the 3rd monitor showed up with the passive adapter). I am still going to update my rig over the Christmas holiday (I built this one Fathers Day 2007), but so far, the framerates are pretty good for the few games I've tried out. I will need to fine-tune the monitors color settings to match between all three though, which I never bothered to do when I was just gaming with my 8800 GTS 640 on one screen.

    Here are a few pics (yeah, I'm using my MaximumPC magazines as monitor height shims):

    Unreal Tournament3
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Hawx

    [​IMG]
     
  9. bumsoil

    bumsoil n00b

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    now they need crosfirex with eyefinity!
     
  10. foolish

    foolish n00b

    Messages:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    thats just plain sexy, now we just need some borderless lcd's
     
  11. harmattan

    harmattan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,185
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Agreed.
     
  12. FranklyShankly

    FranklyShankly [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,024
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    I would really really really love some indication of when to expect that.
     
  13. tboo

    tboo Gawd

    Messages:
    569
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Got my 3 Asus 26 inch monitors with a Dell active adapter on my 5970 working no problem.
     
  14. knightk1027

    knightk1027 n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Those pictures look great, but I wish the monitors had borderless displays. It looks jarring to jump from screen to screen. Nevertheless, progress is progress.
     
  15. SiG357

    SiG357 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    417
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    When you are playing, you don't even notice them.
     
  16. tboo

    tboo Gawd

    Messages:
    569
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    I second that. I thought the bezels would bother me but I dont notice them at all when playing.
     
  17. SiG357

    SiG357 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    417
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Now with 24" monitors, I would noticed them having them all in portrait.
    With 30" I would guess not. Hmm....time to upgrade. ;)
     
  18. texhex

    texhex n00b

    Messages:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
  19. Flexion

    Flexion [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,569
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    I think it has just been implemented in 9.12s with Hotfix. I don't have a three monitor setup yet, hopefully we'll see some results soon. It'll be great if we can set up the monitors on different cards, negating the need for the displayport to DVI adapter.
     
  20. egandt

    egandt n00b

    Messages:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    I have 3 Dell 2405WFP Monitors on my 5870
    2 are Hooked using DVI
    1 is hooked up using the Bizlink (Dell)

    The Bizlink one constantly flickers and I have tried
    All three monitors.
    Different DVI cables (which all work when hooked up to DVI). and all are heavy duty dual link monoprice cables.
    I also tried the 9.12 drivers released today without any success.
    Issue occurs in both Eyefinity mode and extended desktop mode.
    Wall USB charger did nothing to help (but freed up a USB port I needed, so no harm done).
    Overdrive is off

    That being said I've seen this type of behavor before on a Samsung 20" LCD 1600x1200 which just did not (and still to this day will not work on ATI cards, but does with Nvidia). This issue with the flashing appears to me to be the exact same, and I'm guessing it has to do the refresh rates from the Bizlink to the Monitor, the older Dell's (seem to be the most common and others), may just not handle the converted single. What is interesting is that the displayport works fine if a passive cable is used.

    I'd be interested if anyone which the issue and a Bizlink adapter has had success with the Apple Adapter?, since based on previous experience this is a 100% issue with the Bizlink hardware, and might very well work with a different brand.

    Performed 2 other tests:
    1. On an Asus 24" monitor 1920x1080P: Did not work
    2. On an Acer 24" monitor 1920x1080P: Did not work
    2. Changed Display resolution on the Dell 2405WFP and it works at 1280x768 and 1440x900, but not at 1600x1200, 1920x1080 or 1920x1200. As the resolution above 1440x900 was increased so did the rate of flicker. My new theory is that this Bizlink can not handle high frequencies correctly.

    Purchased a ACELL adapter and RMA'ed the Bizlink to DELL (they are the exact same down to the stickers on the back). The new ACELL only does 1280x960, not even 1280x1024 no less the required 1920x1200. Worse yet I can not RMA the crap.

    My thought is getting a working adapter especially at 1920x1200 or even 1920x1080 is hit or miss, likely a lot more miss than hit, the only thing you can really do is buy a DP monitor. Don't waste time with the DP to DVI adapters, to many failures and problems if you want high resolutions.

    ERIC
     
  21. tboo

    tboo Gawd

    Messages:
    569
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Ive been running 3 26inch Asus monitors in eyefinity using the Dell active adpater now for almost two weeks & its been flawless. This is on a 5970.
     
  22. FranklyShankly

    FranklyShankly [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,024
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Mind posting a pic of your Asus 266's in eyefinity? I'm thinking about getting 2 more of these,curious how the size looks.
     
  23. tboo

    tboo Gawd

    Messages:
    569
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Here you go. I have absolutely no regrets going from a Dell 3007-hc to these three Asus monitors. The experience is awesome!.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  24. FranklyShankly

    FranklyShankly [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,024
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Thanks a bunch. That looks great!
     
  25. egandt

    egandt n00b

    Messages:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009

    Requested support and a replacement from ACCELL and the response came from Bizlink, so I feel it is safe to assume they are one in the same, also given the pictures of the new ones being released I think it is same to assume that are also just rebranded Bizlink adapters.

    In case you are interested support requested the following information:
    1. OS
    2. Monitor brands and Models
    3. Cable Brand and Model (that is not always easy, but luckily mine are from monoprice)
    4. EDID from the monitors (which I could not provided under Windows 7)
    5. Adapter Model and BIOS revision (not sure what good BIOS does as I'm unwilling to risk a 5870 on a BIOS upgrade).

    My current plan is to just continue to hound them until they admit to the issue and replace the adapter free of charge as it is faulty. I'd suggest that everyone with a similar issue do the same (even if you already returned the device for one that works), Bizlink needs to understand that their QA process is crap and that the product they are shipping is broken so that they improves for other people.
    ERIC
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2009
  26. LanPirate1

    LanPirate1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    362
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    I have been using an ACCELL branded adapter, and a Dell "Bizlink" adapter in two different setups for a month now, with no problems whatsoever with 5870's. One even uses older Dell monitors, maybe your adapter is bad.

    BTW, I am selling the Accell adapter. I just bought 3 Dell 2408's, so I wont be needing it. PM me if you are interested.
     
  27. alxnet2003

    alxnet2003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    There is a fix for this. It requires a BIOS flash of your 5870.

    Apprently these adapters (Bizlink, Dell, Apple) are all sensitive to a slightly lower DisplayPort signal strength that the 5870's are putting out. This new BIOS, made available by Dave from ATI, boosts the DisplayPort signal strength.

    This *completely* cured any flashing/flickers/blinking I've experienced using my Apple adapter and Samsung 2343BWX LCD.

    Get the BIOS here:
    http://techpowerup.com/vgabios/61848/ATI.HD5870.1024.091112.html

    Get the flashing program here:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1650/ATIFlash_3.75.html

    If you are unfamiliar with flashing a video card's BIOS, don't do it. Otherwise, this is the only thing that I know of that completely solved my issues.
     
  28. ontariotl

    ontariotl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    242
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008

    Finally got the upgrade bug LanPirate1? That poor Accell adaptor just can't find a good home to stay. With all these issues everyone else has been having, I guess I lucked out with the 2 I ordered. No issues even after 3 owners.
     
  29. inotocracy

    inotocracy [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,625
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
  30. egandt

    egandt n00b

    Messages:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009

    Gave it a try, downloaded and flashed using: ATI.HD5870.1024.091112.bin
    Flashing was quick and easy went well both times.

    Flashing did not do anything to fix the DP connected panel (still flickered about once a second).

    Second one of the DVI monitors stopped working correctly (would get crap in the bottom 50% every few seconds (not usable), had to re-flash back to the original bios 12.011.000.006.034494. Now no DP display at all again, yet at least the DVI ports work correctly.

    So flashing did not help. -1 for that for those keeping count

    ATI needs to release a solution for this ASAP, as I'm just plain pissed off at this point, might try complaining to support on Monday (need something to do while at work).
    ERIC
     
  31. teenk

    teenk Gawd

    Messages:
    675
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Have you gotten the adapter replaced? I was having issues with my first one so I RMA'd it (got an accel one from amazon, they overnighted me the replacement) and I haven't had any issues since. I don't think the video cards are the issue but rather the adapters are. Seems the quality is not the same between the each adapter.
     
  32. alxnet2003

    alxnet2003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Sorry to hear that. Did you confirm via the CCC's info panel that the correct BIOS version was flashed?

    I'm using three Samsung 2343BWX with an Apple DP DVI adapter and the new BIOS cured it. I'm also using the latest hotfix (beta) 9.12 drivers which were released about a half day after the official 9.12. Been running with this new BIOS for the last few days for hours at a time with no blinking.

    BTW, immediately following the BIOS flash, I had a few moments of garbled graphical glitches until I cold booted the system again. Been working fine since.
     
  33. egandt

    egandt n00b

    Messages:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Reflashed and did some more testing: The glitches are related to handling window borders (resizing, passing across them ...), this happens with both 9.12 and 9.12beta. This can be fixed by disabling the Aero effects (cold booting did nothing), but then that is not an acceptable long term solution. Restoring the default BIOS removes the issue immediately, has anyone else seen this problem?

    ERIC
     
  34. alxnet2003

    alxnet2003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Wow, that's weird. I've had no issues with Aero using Windows 7 64-bit.

    This is my system, BTW: Windows 7 64-bit, Sapphire 5870 stock speed, 3.6GHz Core i7 920.

    Which brand of 5870 do you have and what OS are you using?
     
  35. Frraksurred

    Frraksurred 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,059
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    First off, thanks for the links.

    Secondly, I tried the flash utility (3.79 and 3.75) using Win7 64 and it told me it was not compatible with my version of Windows. Did you have to do anything special to get it to work?

    Thanks again.
     
  36. alxnet2003

    alxnet2003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    The flasher doesn't work in Windows. You need a boot disk of some sort, either a USB floppy drive or USB mem stick. Boot into a DOS prompt and use the flash utility to flash the .bin file to your card. I'm not aware of any Windows flasher. :(
     
  37. Frraksurred

    Frraksurred 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,059
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Oh duh, what was I thinking. :rolleyes: Thanks for the speedy reply.
     
  38. Commander FAT

    Commander FAT 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,532
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2000
    Will the Dell DP-DVI adapter work on non Dell monitors?
     
  39. SiG357

    SiG357 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    417
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    I use them on the Gateway Monitors.
     
  40. Frraksurred

    Frraksurred 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,059
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Ditto.