Eyefinity and Triple DVI working.

Commander FAT

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 23, 2000
Messages
3,564
Has the flickering problem been solved?

I've found the BIOS flash posted by Dave Bauman of ATI but is there an official fix yet?
 
Last edited:

fanboy

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
1,057
I run my eyefinity with 3 lcd's useing VGA for all of them as i am useing this cheap display port/vga connector ..

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10428&cs_id=1042801&p_id=5135&seq=1&format=2

then i just use standard dvi/vga connectors right off the dvi ports on the card and i really can't tell much diffrents at 5760x1080 not useing dvi other then no HDCP support for blu-ray.. i have not had any issues gaming (no going to sleep or flickers) while gaming.. desktop even works great but once you hit a web site useing some kind of flash player i start getting the flicks across all 3 lcd's and i am useing Vista 64bit SP2 so it could very well be aero doing it.. does anyone know how to disable it in Vista so i can try it and report back..

I plan to use this setup till Ati has the DP/DVI worked out at a cheaper price..



 
Last edited:

revenant

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 10, 2005
Messages
14,389
I got the Accell adapter from amazon.. it'll be here tomorrow.. hoping it plays nice with my 5870... I have heard very mixed things about the bios flash fixing the flashing issues from DP connection.. I am going to go out on a limb and say I bet it's the adapter being marginally good/bad... a slight boost in signal may help in some cases, but not in all... some adapters will just need to be replaced if they have ongoing issues.. I hope mine doesn't. fingers x'd!
 

fanboy

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
1,057
Now are you guys saying you get the flicks while gaming? I have never seen this while gaming myself on Eyefinity as i been useing that cheap Mono connector for over a month now>> just bad ass gaming is all i see OoO..
 

revenant

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 10, 2005
Messages
14,389
you're likely immune to the issue being solely on VGA connectors.

edit: my accell dp to dvi seems to be working fine so far.. and so is eyefinity.. it takes some getting used to though.. wow! I think I need to sit down and game on it for a weekend to get used to my FOV being to active in movement. :)
 
Last edited:

ntba

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
185
I was wondering (and sorry if this was covered already) but I'm hearing that you can't use anything but an active adapter for eyefinity, but I've stumbled upon somewhere where it mentioned that if all you're doing is having three monitors as extended and not running all three as one monitor that passive adapters will work? If this is true then I really won't have any problems since I only need three monitors to work and not bother with all this eyefinity junk :p


Thanks
 

simko1ra

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
85
I call bullshit. I have the dell active dp to dvi adapter and it works like crap. Whichever monitor is connected with the adapter will randomly turn off and remain off until I either change resolutions or disconnect-reconnect the usb cable (at 1920x1200 resolution).
 

SiG357

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 21, 2007
Messages
417
I call bullshit. I have the dell active dp to dvi adapter and it works like crap. Whichever monitor is connected with the adapter will randomly turn off and remain off until I either change resolutions or disconnect-reconnect the usb cable (at 1920x1200 resolution).
I must be lucky cause the Dell adapter works good for me. The Apple one gave me issues.
 

egandt

n00b
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
29
Accroding to the website my adapter is supported:

Accell B087B-002B 1.01 DisplayPort DVI (Dual Link, Active Dongle) 2560x1600 Validated accellcables.com

yet it does not work at all with the original bios and it flickers with the updated bios, but then again if I update the bios the I get graphics corruption else where as well, simple put the list may mean they tested, but it does not ensure that they will work with your monitor.

Having gone through 3 units and flashed the bios (without success), even seeing the new site (which appears to be incorrect) I am quickly running out of any hope that the issues will ever be resolved (its been 6+ weeks after all) and nothing and improved or changed (though I've seen new BIOS and 3 driver releases during this period). Since I spent the $500 a DP monitor would have cost on something useful (and not redundant) and 160Gb SSD so all I can do is wait for a fix I do not expect to be forthcoming.
ERIC
 
Last edited:

schenks

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
1,642
I used one of the Monoprice DP->VGA adapters found here, and after a couple driver hiccups and some voodoo, got it going through just fine.

The monitors are a mixed bag of stuff I've gotten over the years (L to R):
  • Acer x203w
  • Dell 2007WFP
  • Dell E2009WFP

The rig being used to run it is:
  • Intel C2Q Q6600
  • 4 Gigs DDR2
  • ATi Radeon 5770

Despite the 5770, the lower resolution definitely helped out in the performance department relative to the earlier performance review on the [H], so any of you guys running 3x 20s will be happy. I'm not sure what the general framerate was, but the game was totally playable (I played it for a few hours :p ), so I'd venture a guess that it was in the low to mid 30s. The settings used for Dirt 2 were 5040x1050 resolution, AA off, then all medium except:
  • Particles - High
  • Crowd - Low
  • Ground Cover - High
  • Ambient Occlusion - Low
  • Cloth - Low

 
Last edited:

alxnet2003

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 19, 2009
Messages
271
I used one of the Monoprice DP->VGA adapters found here, and after a couple driver hiccups and some voodoo, got it going through just fine.

The monitors are a mixed bag of stuff I've gotten over the years (L to R):
  • Acer x203w
  • Dell 2007WFP
  • Dell E2009WFP

The rig being used to run it is:
  • Intel C2Q Q6600
  • 4 Gigs DDR2
  • ATi Radeon 5770

Despite the 5770, the lower resolution definitely helped out in the performance department relative to the earlier performance review on the [H], so any of you guys running 3x 20s will be happy. I'm not sure what the general framerate was, but the game was totally playable (I played it for a few hours :p ), so I'd venture a guess that it was in the low to mid 30s.
Great looking setup! Even with a 5770, I bet having Eyefinity with medium settings is better than a single monitor with high settings.
 

schenks

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
1,642
Great looking setup! Even with a 5770, I bet having Eyefinity with medium settings is better than a single monitor with high settings.
Other than turning off AA (from 2x), the settings were the same ones that the game defaulted to anyway, so it wasn't even losing that much. I basically gained the two screens by playing at 30-35FPS instead of playing at 70-80FPS, which to me is fine.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2009
Messages
31
I'm using 3xU2410s without incident.

I would like to upgrade to 3x Dell 3007s. I'm concerned with the DP->DVI not working as well as the green snow effect the 3007/ATI combination seem plagued with.

Kyle or anyone else,

Is the 3x3007 setup still working without issue? No green snow? No horizontal line blips? No flickering?

If its still a problem I think I might pick up a 3008+3007 since they are the same price at the moment.
 

meaty

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2001
Messages
1,458
For some of you guys having issues I've read that if you connect the USB power to a powered USB hub or one of those ac to USB adapters like this one it can fix the problems. I haven't tried it yet. I'm still waiting on my 3rd monitor and adapter to get here.
 

Elmy

Gawd
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
927
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tj3RdI30JRU Here was my setup at PDXLAN I was the only one there out of 400 ppl with an Eyefinity setup raining down on Nvidias 3D triple monitor solution being demoed along with the new GF100. Nvidias Solution you need to have 2 cards to run the 3 displays. The one cool thing about it is that it will support using alot of the 2 series cards ( I think from 260 / 216 and up but dont quote me ) I played Need for Speed shift on Nvidias Triple monitor setup in 3D and it was pretty dang cool but really My favorite games MW2 , COD4 are not supported yet in 3d at fixed widescreen gaming resolutions like Dopefish has fixed over at widescreengamingforums ... Ill have a completely new build coming up here soon starting from scratch. Ill be designing and building my case from the ground up and Ill be posting a worklog on various forums. Ill be sure to include a link here for anyone that is interested.

Here is some MW2 eyefinity footage and btw I was kinda just screwing around and died alot in this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WvnYt22MeIE&feature=related

And here is some Cod4 footage http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A3TPZDcGluk&feature=related

I was using the Apple Dual Link Dvi Adapter 99.99 at all apple stores and the Female minidisplay to regular displayport cord that is all over this forum from here http://estore.circuitassembly.com/p...Female-to-Displayport-Male-Adapter-Cable.html . I didnt use any powered usb hub and it work fine just pluged it into my regular usb slot on the back of my PC. Ive had one monitor drop a few times but I think its from something I did. IDK but yeah Eyefinity rocks and brings a whole new level to gaming.
 

refraxion

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 3, 2007
Messages
8,422
Will the Dell Displayport to DVI adapter work for 22" monitors? I'm assuming it will.
 

Elmy

Gawd
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
927
It should work fine as long as your monitor has a dvi input but there are no guarantees in this 3 ring circus act of these adapters to make eyefinity work. I wish displayport was standard on all monitors. My Dell p2310H's were backordered and kept on getting delayed and I finally gave in and just bought 3 acer 244w 24" 1920 X 1080 for 169 a piece at costco with no tax in oregon and canceled by Dell order for now. Im waiting for a 27" 120hz 3D 2ms monitor with slim bezel ( I can dream cant I ? ) anyways my setup is in the post above and eyefinity does rock.... MW2 in eyefinity is amazing the FOV is like 120 degrees or so as you can see in my video above.
 
Last edited:

Rogue71

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 25, 2007
Messages
1,311
I don't know if amazon ships to Canada but that's where I got mine.
regarding the dp/dvi dongle,
i searched the same part number from the us site and it shows up on the dell canada site. its actually cheaper.....?? go figure.
 

meaty

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2001
Messages
1,458
my 3rd monitor arrived yesterday. Used the 3 monitor setup last night for my VB class with no problems and did a tiny bit of gaming the morning without any issues. Using the accell adapter with an AC/USB power adapter.
 

rgraze911

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 12, 2005
Messages
290
Man, would it be so difficult for the card makers to put a 3rd DVI port on it? That thing would sell like crazy!
 

Rogue71

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 25, 2007
Messages
1,311
Man, would it be so difficult for the card makers to put a 3rd DVI port on it? That thing would sell like crazy!
i doubt they will. i imagine they have worked out some deal with the inventors of displayport in a ridiculous attempt conforming the market to a few selected displays............this kinda reeks of dell actually. i know a few others make them, but it makes no sense to use a new display connection when we already have dvi and hdmi. this is just a ploy by manufacturers to try to screw us over again. there really is NO reason they couldnt have used either 3 dvi, 2 dvi and 1 hdmi, or even 3 hdmi connections.
 

Schro

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Messages
7,565
i doubt they will. i imagine they have worked out some deal with the inventors of displayport in a ridiculous attempt conforming the market to a few selected displays............this kinda reeks of dell actually. i know a few others make them, but it makes no sense to use a new display connection when we already have dvi and hdmi. this is just a ploy by manufacturers to try to screw us over again. there really is NO reason they couldnt have used either 3 dvi, 2 dvi and 1 hdmi, or even 3 hdmi connections.
Actually, ATi made the design decision not to include a 3rd RAMDAC on the silicon of the chip due to die size constraints...
 

Intel_Hydralisk

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 6, 2005
Messages
4,743
i doubt they will. i imagine they have worked out some deal with the inventors of displayport in a ridiculous attempt conforming the market to a few selected displays............this kinda reeks of dell actually. i know a few others make them, but it makes no sense to use a new display connection when we already have dvi and hdmi. this is just a ploy by manufacturers to try to screw us over again. there really is NO reason they couldnt have used either 3 dvi, 2 dvi and 1 hdmi, or even 3 hdmi connections.
If dell was 'in on it' they would have made a whole lot more displays. Their DP monitors went like candy and mine got backordered for 2 months.
 
Top