Eyefinity and Triple DVI working.

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by FrgMstr, Oct 20, 2009.

  1. Commander FAT

    Commander FAT 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,532
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2000
    Has the flickering problem been solved?

    I've found the BIOS flash posted by Dave Bauman of ATI but is there an official fix yet?
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2010
  2. fanboy

    fanboy [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    I run my eyefinity with 3 lcd's useing VGA for all of them as i am useing this cheap display port/vga connector ..

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10428&cs_id=1042801&p_id=5135&seq=1&format=2

    then i just use standard dvi/vga connectors right off the dvi ports on the card and i really can't tell much diffrents at 5760x1080 not useing dvi other then no HDCP support for blu-ray.. i have not had any issues gaming (no going to sleep or flickers) while gaming.. desktop even works great but once you hit a web site useing some kind of flash player i start getting the flicks across all 3 lcd's and i am useing Vista 64bit SP2 so it could very well be aero doing it.. does anyone know how to disable it in Vista so i can try it and report back..

    I plan to use this setup till Ati has the DP/DVI worked out at a cheaper price..

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2010
  3. caljomac

    caljomac n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Not bad, how long did it take for this to happen [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2010
  4. evanisthecoastie

    evanisthecoastie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,706
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    this is getting more and more goddamned tempting.
     
  5. annihilator3001

    annihilator3001 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    I ordered the adapter from mono. I plan on it on a 2405fpw. I'll post the results I get :)
     
  6. revenant

    revenant [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,165
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    I got the Accell adapter from amazon.. it'll be here tomorrow.. hoping it plays nice with my 5870... I have heard very mixed things about the bios flash fixing the flashing issues from DP connection.. I am going to go out on a limb and say I bet it's the adapter being marginally good/bad... a slight boost in signal may help in some cases, but not in all... some adapters will just need to be replaced if they have ongoing issues.. I hope mine doesn't. fingers x'd!
     
  7. Commander FAT

    Commander FAT 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,532
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2000
    Is there a difference between the Sapphire DVI/Display Port adapter and others?
     
  8. shawnoen

    shawnoen [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,565
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Yes, it has a Sapphire sticker on it. Thats the only difference.

     
  9. fanboy

    fanboy [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Now are you guys saying you get the flicks while gaming? I have never seen this while gaming myself on Eyefinity as i been useing that cheap Mono connector for over a month now>> just bad ass gaming is all i see OoO..
     
  10. revenant

    revenant [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,165
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    you're likely immune to the issue being solely on VGA connectors.

    edit: my accell dp to dvi seems to be working fine so far.. and so is eyefinity.. it takes some getting used to though.. wow! I think I need to sit down and game on it for a weekend to get used to my FOV being to active in movement. :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2010
  11. revenant

    revenant [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,165
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
  12. shawnoen

    shawnoen [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,565
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    From Engadget today. Each display has a resolution of 2560x1600!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  13. ntba

    ntba Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    185
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    I was wondering (and sorry if this was covered already) but I'm hearing that you can't use anything but an active adapter for eyefinity, but I've stumbled upon somewhere where it mentioned that if all you're doing is having three monitors as extended and not running all three as one monitor that passive adapters will work? If this is true then I really won't have any problems since I only need three monitors to work and not bother with all this eyefinity junk :p


    Thanks
     
  14. Regime|Life

    Regime|Life [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,169
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Where can you get the Sapphire adapter?
     
  15. bdavis24

    bdavis24 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,667
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
  16. simko1ra

    simko1ra [H]Lite

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    I call bullshit. I have the dell active dp to dvi adapter and it works like crap. Whichever monitor is connected with the adapter will randomly turn off and remain off until I either change resolutions or disconnect-reconnect the usb cable (at 1920x1200 resolution).
     
  17. SiG357

    SiG357 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    417
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    I must be lucky cause the Dell adapter works good for me. The Apple one gave me issues.
     
  18. inglewood78

    inglewood78 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,396
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    The Bios flash gives you the best chance of fixing the blinking issue. It worked for me.
     
  19. egandt

    egandt n00b

    Messages:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Accroding to the website my adapter is supported:

    Accell B087B-002B 1.01 DisplayPort DVI (Dual Link, Active Dongle) 2560x1600 Validated accellcables.com

    yet it does not work at all with the original bios and it flickers with the updated bios, but then again if I update the bios the I get graphics corruption else where as well, simple put the list may mean they tested, but it does not ensure that they will work with your monitor.

    Having gone through 3 units and flashed the bios (without success), even seeing the new site (which appears to be incorrect) I am quickly running out of any hope that the issues will ever be resolved (its been 6+ weeks after all) and nothing and improved or changed (though I've seen new BIOS and 3 driver releases during this period). Since I spent the $500 a DP monitor would have cost on something useful (and not redundant) and 160Gb SSD so all I can do is wait for a fix I do not expect to be forthcoming.
    ERIC
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2010
  20. schenks

    schenks [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,642
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    I used one of the Monoprice DP->VGA adapters found here, and after a couple driver hiccups and some voodoo, got it going through just fine.

    The monitors are a mixed bag of stuff I've gotten over the years (L to R):
    • Acer x203w
    • Dell 2007WFP
    • Dell E2009WFP

    The rig being used to run it is:
    • Intel C2Q Q6600
    • 4 Gigs DDR2
    • ATi Radeon 5770

    Despite the 5770, the lower resolution definitely helped out in the performance department relative to the earlier performance review on the [H], so any of you guys running 3x 20s will be happy. I'm not sure what the general framerate was, but the game was totally playable (I played it for a few hours :p ), so I'd venture a guess that it was in the low to mid 30s. The settings used for Dirt 2 were 5040x1050 resolution, AA off, then all medium except:
    • Particles - High
    • Crowd - Low
    • Ground Cover - High
    • Ambient Occlusion - Low
    • Cloth - Low

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2010
  21. alxnet2003

    alxnet2003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Great looking setup! Even with a 5770, I bet having Eyefinity with medium settings is better than a single monitor with high settings.
     
  22. schenks

    schenks [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,642
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Other than turning off AA (from 2x), the settings were the same ones that the game defaulted to anyway, so it wasn't even losing that much. I basically gained the two screens by playing at 30-35FPS instead of playing at 70-80FPS, which to me is fine.
     
  23. donniedark

    donniedark n00b

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    And the final verdict is? What works best if you have to use dvi ports?

    Thanks,
    Don
     
  24. DoubleParadoxx

    DoubleParadoxx n00b

    Messages:
    31
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    I'm using 3xU2410s without incident.

    I would like to upgrade to 3x Dell 3007s. I'm concerned with the DP->DVI not working as well as the green snow effect the 3007/ATI combination seem plagued with.

    Kyle or anyone else,

    Is the 3x3007 setup still working without issue? No green snow? No horizontal line blips? No flickering?

    If its still a problem I think I might pick up a 3008+3007 since they are the same price at the moment.
     
  25. meaty

    meaty [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,457
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    For some of you guys having issues I've read that if you connect the USB power to a powered USB hub or one of those ac to USB adapters like this one it can fix the problems. I haven't tried it yet. I'm still waiting on my 3rd monitor and adapter to get here.
     
  26. refraxion

    refraxion [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,420
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Does anyone know where I can get these type of adapters in Canada?
     
  27. teenk

    teenk Gawd

    Messages:
    675
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    I don't know if amazon ships to Canada but that's where I got mine.
     
  28. Scottig

    Scottig [H]Lite

    Messages:
    109
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    post #274 that looks pretty sick imo.
     
  29. Elmy

    Elmy Gawd

    Messages:
    923
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tj3RdI30JRU Here was my setup at PDXLAN I was the only one there out of 400 ppl with an Eyefinity setup raining down on Nvidias 3D triple monitor solution being demoed along with the new GF100. Nvidias Solution you need to have 2 cards to run the 3 displays. The one cool thing about it is that it will support using alot of the 2 series cards ( I think from 260 / 216 and up but dont quote me ) I played Need for Speed shift on Nvidias Triple monitor setup in 3D and it was pretty dang cool but really My favorite games MW2 , COD4 are not supported yet in 3d at fixed widescreen gaming resolutions like Dopefish has fixed over at widescreengamingforums ... Ill have a completely new build coming up here soon starting from scratch. Ill be designing and building my case from the ground up and Ill be posting a worklog on various forums. Ill be sure to include a link here for anyone that is interested.

    Here is some MW2 eyefinity footage and btw I was kinda just screwing around and died alot in this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WvnYt22MeIE&feature=related

    And here is some Cod4 footage http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A3TPZDcGluk&feature=related

    I was using the Apple Dual Link Dvi Adapter 99.99 at all apple stores and the Female minidisplay to regular displayport cord that is all over this forum from here http://estore.circuitassembly.com/p...Female-to-Displayport-Male-Adapter-Cable.html . I didnt use any powered usb hub and it work fine just pluged it into my regular usb slot on the back of my PC. Ive had one monitor drop a few times but I think its from something I did. IDK but yeah Eyefinity rocks and brings a whole new level to gaming.
     
  30. Vanni

    Vanni n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Any one know if we will see a price drop on this adapters?
     
  31. refraxion

    refraxion [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,420
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Will the Dell Displayport to DVI adapter work for 22" monitors? I'm assuming it will.
     
  32. Elmy

    Elmy Gawd

    Messages:
    923
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    It should work fine as long as your monitor has a dvi input but there are no guarantees in this 3 ring circus act of these adapters to make eyefinity work. I wish displayport was standard on all monitors. My Dell p2310H's were backordered and kept on getting delayed and I finally gave in and just bought 3 acer 244w 24" 1920 X 1080 for 169 a piece at costco with no tax in oregon and canceled by Dell order for now. Im waiting for a 27" 120hz 3D 2ms monitor with slim bezel ( I can dream cant I ? ) anyways my setup is in the post above and eyefinity does rock.... MW2 in eyefinity is amazing the FOV is like 120 degrees or so as you can see in my video above.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2010
  33. Rogue71

    Rogue71 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    regarding the dp/dvi dongle,
    i searched the same part number from the us site and it shows up on the dell canada site. its actually cheaper.....?? go figure.
     
  34. meaty

    meaty [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,457
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    my 3rd monitor arrived yesterday. Used the 3 monitor setup last night for my VB class with no problems and did a tiny bit of gaming the morning without any issues. Using the accell adapter with an AC/USB power adapter.
     
  35. rgraze911

    rgraze911 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    290
    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Man, would it be so difficult for the card makers to put a 3rd DVI port on it? That thing would sell like crazy!
     
  36. nitrobass24

    nitrobass24 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009

    Messages:
    10,460
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
  37. Mif

    Mif Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    320
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
  38. Rogue71

    Rogue71 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    i doubt they will. i imagine they have worked out some deal with the inventors of displayport in a ridiculous attempt conforming the market to a few selected displays............this kinda reeks of dell actually. i know a few others make them, but it makes no sense to use a new display connection when we already have dvi and hdmi. this is just a ploy by manufacturers to try to screw us over again. there really is NO reason they couldnt have used either 3 dvi, 2 dvi and 1 hdmi, or even 3 hdmi connections.
     
  39. Schro

    Schro [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,261
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Actually, ATi made the design decision not to include a 3rd RAMDAC on the silicon of the chip due to die size constraints...
     
  40. Intel_Hydralisk

    Intel_Hydralisk [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,743
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    If dell was 'in on it' they would have made a whole lot more displays. Their DP monitors went like candy and mine got backordered for 2 months.