Eyefinity and Triple DVI working.

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by FrgMstr, Oct 20, 2009.

  1. ontariotl

    ontariotl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    242
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    I didnt get into the game much, but when I was panning and zooming, nothing slowed down. I'll check it again later.

    As for the G19, a really nice keyboard, but not worth the retail price. I was lucky to get mine cheap. Use your money for the eyefinity upgrade instead ;)
     
  2. fairlane

    fairlane Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    297
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    I like to play Flight Simulator - and crash all teh planes - MUAHHAHAHAHAHA
     
  3. alxnet2003

    alxnet2003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    I'm waiting on the Dell adapter too, and the wait is driving me nuts! I've got two monitors going right now and just having that bit of expanded view is crazy. Can't wait to see what the third monitor will bring to the immersion factor.
     
  4. Crispy002

    Crispy002 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,351
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Oh man those pics are cool!
     
  5. ontariotl

    ontariotl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    242
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    I was in your position last week. I know how you feel.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  6. alxnet2003

    alxnet2003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Tell me about it. Dell just delayed my shipment from this week to next week for the displayport adapter. Kyle mentioned something about an upgrade in the firmware to stabilize the device so I'm not complaining. But man, minus the heinous bezel in the middle of the gameworld, two display eyefinity is so damn tempting. I can't wait for the third display to get used.
     
  7. ontariotl

    ontariotl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    242
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Well I'm using the Accell version which is practically the same as the dell one. So far I haven't have any issues with it, so maybe it has newer firmware than the bizlink/Dell adaptor. I'm so glad I signed up to be emailed when the item came back in stock as I got the email on Monday, got it on Tuesday (which is fantastic for crossing the border) and today I check stock for someone who wanted the link and its all sold out again.
     
  8. harmattan

    harmattan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,241
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    To Kyle if you're still tracking (or anyone else who might have advice...)

    What monitor stands are you using for those two exterior 30" monitors? I'm considering getting two non-rotating monitors and would need to replace the factory stands with an adjustable stand or mount to put them in portrait mode.
     
  9. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    48,337
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997

    I am using ones made by Chief. http://www.chiefmfg.com/

    Not inexpensive at all but very heavy duty....but I move mine around a LOT so I did not want to go cheapy. Might check Monoprice for some more cost effective alternatives.

    http://www.monoprice.com
     
  10. inglewood78

    inglewood78 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,449
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Where did you buy it at?
     
  11. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    48,337
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
  12. evanisthecoastie

    evanisthecoastie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,706
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    god damn this expensive hobby of mine, i thought i would never want to upgrade from my 37" westy, but im absolutely fawning over those three 30" displays.

    Gonna have to sell some guns for this purchase :-/
     
  13. Andrmgic

    Andrmgic Gawd

    Messages:
    732
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    I see that Mirror's Edge is on their list of tested titles.. I'd love to know how they got it working.. I could not get it working properly with 2 monitors at all..
     
  14. [L]imey

    [L]imey [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,007
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Same with RE5, was trying to run it dual monitor and I have the problem that the reviewers had where it blows up on the screen and you can't see it.
     
  15. ontariotl

    ontariotl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    242
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    I finally did a framerate test with FSX. With everything on the highest setting I was getting between 44-23 FPS. Unfortunately, the game will crash from time to time and the cockpit is a little screwy at the moment. Hopefully there will be fixes to be had.
     
  16. inglewood78

    inglewood78 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,449
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    looks like that adapter is sold out everywhere. Dell just delayed my order a second time...
     
  17. alxnet2003

    alxnet2003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Yeeesh. Bet they never expected anything close to this many requests for such a niche device. Dell delayed my order too. I placed a second order on Amazon for a similar device but they're saying anything from 2 to 5 weeks. :(
     
  18. Admiral Equinox

    Admiral Equinox Gawd

    Messages:
    592
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    That's really damn good to hear, especially at that resolution and settings. Thanks again, I might be going eyefinity very soon at this rate.
     
  19. harmattan

    harmattan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,241
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Doubful, unfortunately, since MSFT fired the FSX team.
     
  20. ontariotl

    ontariotl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    242
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Well I guess that game is screwed then. It did run fine while in the air, but from time to time if I went to other views with other planes it would sometimes crash. Oh well.
     
  21. Usurp

    Usurp [H]Lite

    Messages:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Oh my lord...3 monitors...can not wait to build a new system.
     
  22. guitarguy6

    guitarguy6 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,941
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    You can use 2 monitors instead of 3? How?
     
  23. Grentz

    Grentz [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,118
    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Love the pics ontariotl, I like landscape setups much better...the portrait style just makes the monitor bezels too apparent and does not give you the cool wide view anyways. You do have to curve them a bit to get the proper effect, but I sit on the corner of my desk as well so you can wrap things around easily (I have my dual setup "wrapped" just a bit).

    Kyle, with the 3x 30" displays in portrait what is the approx diagonal size?
     
  24. alamone

    alamone Gawd

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    I ordered the Dell adaptor and got it after about a week, after testing with it I have to conclude it's not stable when using with dual-link resolutions (e.g. 120hz or 2560x1600), as you get monitor detection issues and random blackouts. However, in single-link resolutions (e.g. 1920x1200) I haven't had any issues, so for me the Dell adaptor is basically like a single-link DVI converter.

    If other people w/ other variants of the adaptor have dual-link displays and can chime in their results it may also be helpful for others.
     
  25. V99

    V99 Gawd

    Messages:
    689
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Awesome! Glad to see that working now...I didn't want to ruin my dual set of ASUS 22's with some randy Displayport monitor...Just have to get my hands on a third :)
     
  26. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    48,337
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    IIRC about 58" including bezels.

    And I got a new adapter with the latest firmware that worked perfectly. The older worked damn good too, but every once in a while would lose the signal at boot up.
     
  27. Andrmgic

    Andrmgic Gawd

    Messages:
    732
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Create an eyefinity displaygroup with 2 monitors. You're not limited to only 3 or 1..
     
  28. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    48,337
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    No way to know till AMD starts with its Certified program.
     
  29. idex

    idex n00b

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    That's a sweet setup
     
  30. The_Rominator

    The_Rominator n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    When I saw all the buzz over Eyefinity, I had to get it.

    I couldn't get a 5870 through Newegg so I went to Fry's. The Woodland Hills store had cards in while Burbank did not.

    I got an XFX 5870 for $400 there. (2nd week of October)

    My monitor setup was a 30" Apple Display and a 2407 Dell. I decided to see if the "Must all be exact same res" info was correct, mostly because buying 2 more of either diplay seemed silly.

    So I found a Dell 2405 and got it. Being early and stupid I got a passive adapter for the 3rd screen. As has been posted...IT DIDN'T WORK FOR EYEFINITY.

    Having 2 screen Eyefinity is awful. The center where the bezels meet is where you want to be looking/shooting all the time. Makes you CRAVE a working 3rd monitor.

    I ordered the Dell adapter, but as of today it is a No-Show. Being impatient, I decided to try something I could buy in a B&M store. I picked up an Apple MDP to DVI DUal Link adapter.

    BINGO !!!!! Working 3 screen Eyefinity !!!

    The adapter isn't ideal and would frequently drop the group. The software is smart enough to arrange the 3 displays into a res that works. It took the 30" down from 2560x1600 to 1920x1200.thus allowing a desktop of 5760x1200.

    It would lose contact frequently at first and split back into 3 mirrored displays but this is nearly 100% gone now.

    The latest ATI drivers helped a little, but big help was a leftover from my collection of power adapters. A simple AC 120 to USB charger for cel phones really helped. Thus, the power to the adapter stays constant and the displays have become more stable, almost never losing contact.

    Interestingly, most of the trouble would occur when a game ENDED, not when it was playing. I could spend an hour on Crysis and forget where I was. When I would quit game I would get the Vista "Uh oh" sound and the displays would start flashing.

    In any case, it seems that the "all monitors must have same res" rumour is not a hard and fast rule. Most likely they need to all be same aspect ratio.

    Interestingly, the software even allows you whether you want the odd size screen to scale itself to full res, or just place black all around the center. Need to have more people try other odd screen res. See what works.

    Forget to mention, I used one of these to connect the Apple Adapter to the 5870:

    http://estore.circuitassembly.com/p...Female-to-Displayport-Male-Adapter-Cable.html

    I got one from another company in the same building and it doesn't work !!! But the C&A one does.
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2009
  31. inglewood78

    inglewood78 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,449
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    I ordered my Dell adapter on the 13th and it was just delayed a 3rd time. The new estimated delivery time is Nov 3rd. Fun times...
     
  32. alxnet2003

    alxnet2003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Thanks for the tip! I ordered an Apple active adapter which I'll see in a few days as opposed to God knows when with Dell. Also ordered the mini-DP to DP adapter. I'll hopefully have a 3 display setup running in a few days! :D

    BTW, I see a ton of complaints about the Apple adapter so hopefully your suggestion for using a spare USB power adapter as opposed to just plugging it into your PC's USB connection will work reliably.

    Thanks again!
     
  33. harmattan

    harmattan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,241
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    That's good news on the jury-rig, but still disheartening that there is no stock of the Accell adapter and probably won't be for some time.

    It's clear ATI could have planned better in preparing their vendors. It seems they largely underestimated the demand for both cards and required accessories...
     
  34. Intel_Hydralisk

    Intel_Hydralisk [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,743
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    It's not a required accessory.
     
  35. Flopper

    Flopper [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,642
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    actually it is when not using a DP screen.

    The ati guys drop the ball for eyefinity a little in regard to the demand.
    it works really well if you use DP but the adapter issue have been well documented to be a huge duh failure from ati.
     
  36. R1ckCa1n

    R1ckCa1n [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,355
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Where did you end up buying yours as I would like to get one from a B&M store too. The Apple adaptor is readily available, just not the mini display port to display port male adaptor.
     
  37. alxnet2003

    alxnet2003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    I got mine from the same place mentioned by Rominator:

    http://estore.circuitassembly.com

    If you live in So Cal, they've got local pickup available at their Irvine location.
     
  38. EazyM3

    EazyM3 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    239
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    My displayport got delayed till 11/4 for the third time. I'm glad to be apart of the support group.

    On a lighter note, are there any strategy games like Star Craft or Age of Empires that support Eyefinity?
     
  39. R1ckCa1n

    R1ckCa1n [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,355
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    You rock! I work in Santa Ana and will get one tomorrow. :D