Battlefield 3 General Discussion Thread

Daggah

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
3,196
That's not what I've heard. And yes, I'm using kb+m with some key binding changes:

Space = Pitch Up
V = Pitch down
G = Heavy Brake

I can mostly fly around without crashing...right now it's acquiring targets and getting into a firing position that I'm having trouble with. I'm not very good with using the minimap (zoomed out and in large mode) to find aerial targets.
 

mzs_biteme

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2001
Messages
1,595
We must be on different servers because 70% off the time I have my Javelin no one has a soflam up
Same here.....
Most of the time my team gets RAPED by choppers and/or tanks and I'm running around with javelin (8 out of 10 games I'm engineer), and NOBODY got SOFLAM... One time, ONE DAMN TIME, I played on a server with a guy whose sole purpose in all our games (about 4hrs straight) was to "paint" tanks and choppers... I was raking up points like a mother$ucka....:D Best time ever...
 

botw

Gawd
Joined
Jan 13, 2007
Messages
593
There's nothing better than getting in a good squad that will do recon, engi, supply and just javelin the crap out of the other team...
 

-Strelok-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 2, 2010
Messages
10,005
Fired it up for the first time since like early November so I gotta download the patch. I just got 5.7mb/s, the fastest steam gets me was 3.0mb/s. Holy shit they really have some good servers!

Can't wait to play this game again.
 

Forceman

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
9,243
Same here.....
Most of the time my team gets RAPED by choppers and/or tanks and I'm running around with javelin (8 out of 10 games I'm engineer), and NOBODY got SOFLAM... One time, ONE DAMN TIME, I played on a server with a guy whose sole purpose in all our games (about 4hrs straight) was to "paint" tanks and choppers... I was raking up points like a mother$ucka....:D Best time ever...
Part of the problem is that the SOFLAM stands out like a beacon. Almost soon as I put it up, people start taking potshots at it (and I do the same). I prefer using the CITV instead - but it seems like most people have given up on Javelins (I only equip them if I see someone actually using SOFLAM). It would be nice of you could fire them in "dumb" mode - as it is they are pretty useless without SOFLAM/CITV (waiting for lock on takes too long and leaves you too exposed - and doesn't do enough damage to offset).
 

limitedaccess

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
7,570
In case anyone doesn't have it yet, you can get Back to Karkand for 20% off - http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1667112

Fired it up for the first time since like early November so I gotta download the patch. I just got 5.7mb/s, the fastest steam gets me was 3.0mb/s. Holy shit they really have some good servers!

Can't wait to play this game again.
You can thank Amazon for that, or EA/Digital River footing the bill :p

Part of the problem is that the SOFLAM stands out like a beacon. Almost soon as I put it up, people start taking potshots at it (and I do the same). I prefer using the CITV instead - but it seems like most people have given up on Javelins (I only equip them if I see someone actually using SOFLAM). It would be nice of you could fire them in "dumb" mode - as it is they are pretty useless without SOFLAM/CITV (waiting for lock on takes too long and leaves you too exposed - and doesn't do enough damage to offset).
It has always been a "chicken and egg" type situation. But once one side gets really dedicated to setting it up and taking advantage of it, it is extremely effective.
 

Ironchef Chris Wok

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 29, 2010
Messages
178
Once a SOFLAM is up and a Javelin net is up, basically your team has won the round (especially for Rush). The team that doens't SOFLAM usually loses.
 

otapnam

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 18, 2000
Messages
2,167
Once a SOFLAM is up and a Javelin net is up, basically your team has won the round (especially for Rush). The team that doens't SOFLAM usually loses.
YEP. alot of people dont make a point to take out soflams, and even mavs for that matter. So damn annoying, but whatever - when it gets to that point i just go out and try to kill as many people as possible, if im going to lose, im going to lose with a ton of kills
 

N3mi5is

Gawd
Joined
May 13, 2007
Messages
915
Well after not playing for about a month, I log back in to play and can't go longer than about 5 minutes in a match without getting either a bf3.exe appcrash or a directx error which crashes the game. Tried the newest beta drivers and lastest WHQL driver to no avail. Tried deleting and re-installing both origin and BF3 and still get the same crash. Oh well, it was fun while it lasted.
 

Dallows

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
6,816
Anyone who flies with a mouse/kb care to share their setup? like sensitivity, key bindings, etc?
 

haunter

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 20, 2011
Messages
1,883
Well after not playing for about a month, I log back in to play and can't go longer than about 5 minutes in a match without getting either a bf3.exe appcrash or a directx error which crashes the game. Tried the newest beta drivers and lastest WHQL driver to no avail. Tried deleting and re-installing both origin and BF3 and still get the same crash. Oh well, it was fun while it lasted.
check sound and lan drivers
 

Rustic

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 18, 2005
Messages
253
Well I just loaded up the game for the first time in awhile, and it said there was a plugin update. Maybe check that?
im all up to date. Matchmaking and Campaign doesnt work either.
 

-Strelok-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 2, 2010
Messages
10,005
Seems everyone use the VAL now. *sigh*, looks like this game will be unused for another 3 months. There is just nothing really pulling me back to it, seems theres more vehicles than there are players in 32 player maps.
 

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,138
Seems everyone use the VAL now. *sigh*, looks like this game will be unused for another 3 months. There is just nothing really pulling me back to it, seems theres more vehicles than there are players in 32 player maps.
infantry only servers are your friend. i go with the famas over the val any day. i'm guessing the famas will get a nerf.
 

MisterClean

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Messages
2,227
Finally finished my support service stars. The t88 took forever. The rest took about at hour each. I think ai like the m27 and m60 the best.

Next is finishing the assault. Need ak57, aek, and an94 before moving to engie. Its gonna br tough going from my beloved m16 to the damn ak and an94
 

Sly

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
5,747
Part of the problem is that the SOFLAM stands out like a beacon. Almost soon as I put it up, people start taking potshots at it (and I do the same). I prefer using the CITV instead - but it seems like most people have given up on Javelins (I only equip them if I see someone actually using SOFLAM). It would be nice of you could fire them in "dumb" mode - as it is they are pretty useless without SOFLAM/CITV (waiting for lock on takes too long and leaves you too exposed - and doesn't do enough damage to offset).
That's why i unlocked the third seat on the tank. Not easy when you're an infantry type.

That third seat is rather counter intuitive. One of my clanmates is a designated driver, so he unlocked the third seat rather quickly. The irony is that the reason he got it is because he's good at driving the tank and keeping it alive, so he couldn't use the CITV at all. To use it, he would have to give the drivers seat to someone else, who unfortunately, usually can't make the tank last as long or strategically position as he does.

I on the other hand, am a recon. So i'm the guy that spots enemies, flies back and forth with the MAV, paints with soflams, etc. and even tho the third seat is perfect for me, since i'm not a tank user, i had to resort to boosting (entering an empty server and capturing flags) to get that third seat. Most of the unlocks were useless. As a recon, the only ones that interested me was the proximity scanner and the CITV.
 

Tudz

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 15, 2008
Messages
7,434
Are you using a joystick/gamepad? It's close to impossible to be competitive if you're using mouse/keyboard for jets.
I only started flying for a couple of games recently and brought down a few enemy jets with just using the keyboard, arrows for roll and pitch, WASD for thrust and yaw. It's pretty responsive, I also tried with a 360 controller and couldn't get it to work as well, boosted the joystick sensitivity all the way and it still wasn't as responsive as pure keyboard. The only problem with pure keyboard is you lack the fine control required to do really well with guns, but I still managed to get a few kills with guns only.

Haven't tried mouse + keyboard, that sounds like it'd be hard, but pure keyboard was ok for me.
 

Stu55

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
1,679
I use default keyboard settings for jets, I have a joystick and a 360 controller and it's nice for maneuvering but it's a lot harder to aim
 

Daggah

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
3,196
Those of you having trouble with using the keyboard for flying, seriously...try kb+m and bind a couple of easily accessable keys to pitch up and down.
 

Viper87227

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 2, 2004
Messages
17,502
Well after not playing for about a month, I log back in to play and can't go longer than about 5 minutes in a match without getting either a bf3.exe appcrash or a directx error which crashes the game. Tried the newest beta drivers and lastest WHQL driver to no avail. Tried deleting and re-installing both origin and BF3 and still get the same crash. Oh well, it was fun while it lasted.
Same here. I'll play about 5 minutes and the game will just freeze my computer. Started two days ago, haven't been able to play since.
 

Jellylesg

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
2,283
Seems everyone use the VAL now. *sigh*, looks like this game will be unused for another 3 months. There is just nothing really pulling me back to it, seems theres more vehicles than there are players in 32 player maps.
Why do you even care? The VAL is hardly overpowered. If anything it's complete wank compared to what it ought to be, but even compared to most other weapons it's a nothingmaster. It's a fine gun but doesn't excel in any situation.
 

Drakenfeng

Gawd
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
671
My biggest problems with jets is it forgets my 'decellerate' bind 90% of the time even though it shows up fine in the bind menu. I bound accelerate to space and decellerate to ctrl - it just doesn't work most of the time and I have to rebind it every time I fly.

Seems like I get shot down within 5 seconds every time I take off though so I don't really get much experience with it. Seems like everyone turns faster than I do. And even when I do stay in the air I can never do enough damage to be worthwhile. I unload a whole volley of bullets into a tank (hit indicator is coming up) and I don't even get a vehicle disabled, yet when people do the same thing to me my tank explodes.
 

WarriorX

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,059
My biggest problems with jets is it forgets my 'decellerate' bind 90% of the time even though it shows up fine in the bind menu. I bound accelerate to space and decellerate to ctrl - it just doesn't work most of the time and I have to rebind it every time I fly.

Seems like I get shot down within 5 seconds every time I take off though so I don't really get much experience with it. Seems like everyone turns faster than I do. And even when I do stay in the air I can never do enough damage to be worthwhile. I unload a whole volley of bullets into a tank (hit indicator is coming up) and I don't even get a vehicle disabled, yet when people do the same thing to me my tank explodes.
Only ground attack jets have a cannon that does enough damage to tanks. Air attack must use rockets or guided missile to do any damage. I use rockets and one volley is enough to disable.

The best way to turn is to maintain 280-300 speed, tapping the brake and tapping afterburner to maintain that speed. If you are in the cockpit doing this, you actually see the jet pull up slightly when you hit the after burner.
 

WorldExclusive

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
10,870
Those of you having trouble with using the keyboard for flying, seriously...try kb+m and bind a couple of easily accessable keys to pitch up and down.
kb/m is great for aiming, not so good when being chased from my experience.
With skilled pilots on the enemy team, evasive maneuvering skills are essential.

I use the 360 pad and I stay in the air a lot longer with it than without.
 

Tudz

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 15, 2008
Messages
7,434
kb/m is great for aiming, not so good when being chased from my experience.
With skilled pilots on the enemy team, evasive maneuvering skills are essential.

I use the 360 pad and I stay in the air a lot longer with it than without.
That's what I found going to keyboard, I could quite easily keep the enemy planes infront of me instead of behind me, but it was tough to get them in the right spot for a gun kill. I could stay in the air for ages but I wasn't actually doing much damage while there. The 360 controller just felt way too sluggish to me. Even with the sensitivity right up it feels like there's some sort of damping on the controls which wasn't there when using pure keyboard.

One possibilty would be if you could bind pitch and yaw to the mouse, but have pitch and roll on the keyboard. That would give you the responsiveness of the keyboard to get in the right spot, then the mouse to line them up.

Ah well, I only spent a couple of games flying, I never feel like I'm contributing when flying and would rather be running around taking objectives and killing people.
 

Drakenfeng

Gawd
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
671
One possibilty would be if you could bind pitch and yaw to the mouse, but have pitch and roll on the keyboard. That would give you the responsiveness of the keyboard to get in the right spot, then the mouse to line them up.
That's how I have my binds setup, I made a thread about how to do it a few months back. Definitely a LOT easier to line up the gun while using the mouse. The keyboard is for rough adjustments. I don't think there's any way to bind inside of the game still (unless they finally fixed mouse binding).

Mouse is on Yaw/Pitch, WASD is roll and pitch, space / ctrl for throttle (comes from solider controls: space being jump/up/faster, ctrl being crouch / down / slower )

I wasn't aware that there were different cannons on the different planes. I knew they handled a little differently and that the rush planes don't have AB's.
 

Daggah

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
3,196
Does it make a different sound for laser-designated lock ons than it does for heat seekers?
 

lobski2

Gawd
Joined
Oct 16, 2009
Messages
969
So I finally switched to Recon after playing Support for 45 hours.

I have no fucking idea what I am doing. I have the SKS and RU/US starting weapons unlocked...

Any tips for a Recon newfag? Should I use the SKS?
 

Inu

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 29, 2004
Messages
2,022
I have almost unlocked all in Recon.

I recently decided to try the SKS, it feels like a pos. Some people swear by it once they get foregrip though.

The non-automatic sniper rifles feel more natural, and once you get the unlock that allows to keep firing without unscoping, its not so bad. (Straight pull bolt?)
 

Sly

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
5,747
I have almost unlocked all in Recon.

I recently decided to try the SKS, it feels like a pos. Some people swear by it once they get foregrip though.

The non-automatic sniper rifles feel more natural, and once you get the unlock that allows to keep firing without unscoping, its not so bad. (Straight pull bolt?)
Because even though it's the weakest, it's still dead accurate compared to an assault rifle. It's rate of fire is fast enough for you to bring it into a cqb game.
 
Top