What ya using your 1x slots for?

Orddie

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
2,841
Was hoping to get a 10GBe Network card to fit a 1x PCI Slot. Cant find one.
Was hoping to get a M.2 expansion card to fit a 1x PCi slot. Cant find one.

What say you [H]. what ya using your 1x slots for?
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2013
Messages
744
Not sure you're going to find those cards you seek, afaik most cards that aren't x16 will be x4. I'm sure others will chime in.

And nothing. I have my video card vertically mounted so even if I had cards I wanted to use, I'm SOL. Only thing I could see me using a less than x16 slot for in the future is a 10gbe NIC but that's probably far off as prices aren't falling that quickly on new/used 10gbe network gear. I'd need two NIC's and a switch and I don't feel like going broke.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
26,521
A discrete sound or wifi card is usually only 1x. I have a couple USB 3.0 cards for old boards that have PCI express, but no onboard USB 3 headers.
 

mvmiller12

Gawd
Joined
Aug 7, 2011
Messages
985
I have 2 PCIe 1x soundacards, both being the Auzentech HomeTheatre. I also have a PCIe 4x card, the HighPoint RocketRAID 644L that drives a 5-bay external drive array. I've seen an 8x RAID card, but physical 8x slots are pretty rare - Usually they just make an x16 slot with only x8 worth of lanes to it.
 

TheSlySyl

Gawd
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
531
My M.2 is X4, as it should be for the full bandwidth.
I'm using a USB 3 hub in one of my 1x slots, and the other one is for a digital TV tuner (which I use to DVR through Plex)
 

deruberhanyok

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 22, 2004
Messages
1,646
WiFi/BT card in one setup.

dual port i350 gigabit nic in another. (Most of these are x4 but winyao makes some x1 versions).

not sure what else there is to put in one - USB port card maybe? Sound card if you’re still living in the 90s?
 

somebrains

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 10, 2013
Messages
1,301
Knock on wood I haven't needed them on my Garbo amd mobos yet.

They need the most help with audio&nic unless you spend stupid $.
 

matt167

Gawd
Joined
Dec 18, 2016
Messages
925
Nothing 1x in mine. I have a diamond media capture card that is 1x but I don't use it. My scsi controller is 4x. Actually works in a B450 and windows 10 works with my LTO3 drive. I don't think AMD or MS anticipated my use case, but it works
 

Fix Me

Gawd
Joined
Mar 20, 2007
Messages
700
I had either a modem, NIC, wifi, or sound card that used x1 at some point in time. It was so long ago, I can't remember what it was now.
 

M76

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
11,187
I have an IDE/SATA2 expansion card that uses x1. also an intel network adapter that is x1, and an Audigy RX sound card.
 

Mega6

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
2,736
Was hoping to get a 10GBe Network card to fit a 1x PCI Slot. Cant find one.
Was hoping to get a M.2 expansion card to fit a 1x PCi slot. Cant find one.

What say you [H]. what ya using your 1x slots for?
Seeing as your v3.x 1x slot is limited to 985 MB/s, it's no wonder you can't find a 10Gb/s Network Card or M.2 expansion for it.
 
Last edited:

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
17,657
I use a Soundblaster ZxR in one machine and USB3 card in another

My old Xeon system used 3, pair of USB3 cards and Soundblaster ZX
The system didn't actually have 1x slots, just used 1x cards in the 8 and 16 slots.
IMG_1695.JPG
 

Ready4Dis

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
2,041
Seeing as your v3.x 1x slot is limited to 985 MB/s, it's no wonder you can't find a 10Gb/s Network Card or M.2 expansion for it.
You realize that's 8gbps? I mean, you might not max out a 10gbe but it would still be much better than 1gbe. Also, 982MB/s is twice as fast as most SATA SSDs, although not near as fast as NVME could be so this one I could see falling pretty shorr. I think the only thing I've used a pcie x1 slot for is WiFi, hit typically they are empty as most others are.
 

Nenu

[H]ardened
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
19,340
Nothing.
I plugged a soundcard in to see how good it was. Pretty poor tbh but anything internal thats expected.
Thats been my only use for a PCIE x1 slot, ever.
 

Ready4Dis

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
2,041
What sort of frame rates would I be looking at with card at 480p?

:D
You mean how many seconds per frame? Lol. Seriously though, pcie x1 was all the rate during the mining boom, as the data transfered was minimal and easily handled by x1. They would use pcie bitfurcation (split multiple pcie lanes into individual lanes) to use a cheap MB and CPU to run many GPUs in a single system.
 

jeremyshaw

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
12,432
A capture card, for some reason.

I am hoping (vainly) for a PCIe 4.0 x1 10GbE card to come out. Not likely, but still a hope.
 

grumperfish

Weaksauce
Joined
Apr 19, 2014
Messages
74
I installed a SATA PCI-E 1x card so I can keep running a DVD burner only because I had one on hand. I have yet to actually have a need for this.
 
Top