WD Easystore External Discussion

pclausen

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
458
I'm using a brand new EVGA Supernova P2 PSU less than a month old...

I'll try the molex to sata power adapter trick though.
 

pclausen

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
458
Using a SATA to MOLEX cable, and then a MOLEX back to SATA power cable did the trick. I'm surprised that EVGA P2 PSU's don't meet the new standard. I literally just got this one last week.
 

arnemetis

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
2,884
Using a SATA to MOLEX cable, and then a MOLEX back to SATA power cable did the trick. I'm surprised that EVGA P2 PSU's don't meet the new standard. I literally just got this one last week.
Just because it's new doesn't mean they care to adhere to the standard. This will probably take years for all the manufacturers to adopt. Right now it's just a major pain for us because WD implemented it on these externals, which providers no benefit but does work with their controllers.
 

scobar

.
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
34,329
FWIW, I would not do a splitter fix, tape looked to be more reliable/safer. EVERY sata power tap I have ever had has melted and made an awful plastic smell as it slowly melted away...
 

arnemetis

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
2,884
FWIW, I would not do a splitter fix, tape looked to be more reliable/safer. EVERY sata power tap I have ever had has melted and made an awful plastic smell as it slowly melted away...
Gotta make sure it's an assembled part on the sata end, not molded. Then you'll be safer. It's always the molded sata parts that melt.
 

pclausen

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
458
Appreciate the advice. This is very much temporary just for doing a Burst plot. Once it is done, it will go in a Supermicro server with as SAS2 backplane that fortunately does support this pin3 non-sense.
 

Deadjasper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
1,794
If anyone is in need of these I have four of these 8TB drives that I shucked and ended up not needing. I will post these to the FS/T section soon. These spent maybe two weeks powered up in my Dell PowerEdge R320 and were then powered off. Three of these drives are red-label, one is white. All 256MB cache models.

I'll get photos and S.M.A.R.T. stats for anyone interested. I have excellent Heatware.
Price?
 

Silentbob343

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
1,782
Just because it's new doesn't mean they care to adhere to the standard. This will probably take years for all the manufacturers to adopt. Right now it's just a major pain for us because WD implemented it on these externals, which providers no benefit but does work with their controllers.
I emailed evga about this and they said it was a server feature and was not supported on consumer grade PSUs. Paraphrasing from memory. Luckily my back planes are molex.
 

rw3

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2001
Messages
1,782
I have four of the WD80EFAX (Red Label, 256MB) available. They are left over from my build. I can include the original enclosures as well. PM if interested. Not looking to make any money, just recoup the $149.99+8.25% TX Tax I paid for each.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2016
Messages
8
I ordered a new Dell T30 server at Christmas along with 3 of these drives. Two were White and one was Red. The White labels wouldn't spin. I had seen all of the suggestions of tape or adaptors, but the easy answer is just deplug the 3.3V wire from the harness at the source connector, not the HDD side - it's only used for this purpose so it doesn't affect anything else by being disconnected. Easy as pie - no need for a bunch of adaptors or worry of damage, etc. and you're not cutting the wire which could be an issue if you're under warranty.
 

Lunas

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 22, 2001
Messages
9,877
I ordered a new Dell T30 server at Christmas along with 3 of these drives. Two were White and one was Red. The White labels wouldn't spin. I had seen all of the suggestions of tape or adaptors, but the easy answer is just deplug the 3.3V wire from the harness at the source connector, not the HDD side - it's only used for this purpose so it doesn't affect anything else by being disconnected. Easy as pie - no need for a bunch of adaptors or worry of damage, etc. and you're not cutting the wire which could be an issue if you're under warranty.
i would suggest a small bit of shrink tube over the exposed connector no need to heat it just cover it up you can fold over one side and seal it.
Another thing is the feature is a odd feature that is not even enabled in most enterprise gear... I ended up leaving mine in the enclosure. Nobody i asked could come up with a good reason as to why the feature was enabled...
 
Last edited:

odditory

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
6,047
I've got a weird WD80EZZX 8TB white label that turns on, is seen by OS and functions normally including proper transfer rates and clean SMART, but after 3-4min it just disappears from OS - disk keeps spinning but I guess controller dies. Power cycle resets it.

Tested it on 3 different servers and PCs and the problem follows the drive. Serial number in WD warranty check just shows "Invalid serial #".

I've dealt with thousands of hdds over the years between home and work but this one's bizarre.
 

arnemetis

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
2,884
I've got a weird WD80EZZX 8TB white label that turns on, is seen by OS and functions normally including proper transfer rates and clean SMART, but after 3-4min it just disappears from OS - disk keeps spinning but I guess controller dies. Power cycle resets it.

Tested it on 3 different servers and PCs and the problem follows the drive. Serial number in WD warranty check just shows "Invalid serial #".

I've dealt with thousands of hdds over the years between home and work but this one's bizarre.
Are you sure you've removed the 3.3v power? Pop it back in the enclosure and see if it still vanishes after a few mintues, if so then the drive is likely defective.
 

Lunas

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 22, 2001
Messages
9,877
Are you sure you've removed the 3.3v power? Pop it back in the enclosure and see if it still vanishes after a few mintues, if so then the drive is likely defective.
are you sure EZZX if yes that is not actually a red or he8 like the emaz... or efax or efzx drives

If memory serves ezzx was one of the first run of drives and are white label BLUE/GREENS. the Emaz is the one with the 3.3 volt reset feature and is a HE8 ultrastar hgst drive

EZZX = Blue/Green non Helium drive initial run circa 2015 june to feb 2016 High failure rating.
EFZX = Red label Made in China 128mb cache Feb 2016-nov 2016
EFAX = Red label PRO? HELIUM DRIVE Nov 2016-AUG 2017 256 MB cache Made in Thailand
EMAZ = Enterprise HGST Ultrastar HE8 256MB cache AUG 2017 - Has 3.3v reset feature enabled
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2012
Messages
40
EZZX are the first generation white-label reds that replaced the HE8s in the early batch 8TB My Books. HGST 5400RPM and helium, really no practical difference from the later drives, but you shouldn't find one these days unless you got really old stock or refurbished. Only thing I can think of that'd lead to them dropping out and coming back on reboot is some sort of spin-down incompatibility, but if you got it "refurbished" it was probably more like "broken".
 

odditory

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
6,047
are you sure EZZX if yes that is not actually a red or he8 like the emaz... or efax or efzx drives

If memory serves ezzx was one of the first run of drives and are white label BLUE/GREENS. the Emaz is the one with the 3.3 volt reset feature and is a HE8 ultrastar hgst drive

EZZX = Blue/Green non Helium drive initial run circa 2015 june to feb 2016 High failure rating.
EFZX = Red label Made in China 128mb cache Feb 2016-nov 2016
EFAX = Red label PRO? HELIUM DRIVE Nov 2016-AUG 2017 256 MB cache Made in Thailand
EMAZ = Enterprise HGST Ultrastar HE8 256MB cache AUG 2017 - Has 3.3v reset feature enabled
Yep, WD80EZZX, Aug. 2016. I can't remember if I pulled it out of a My Book or got it from ebay as a bare drive, but I'm thinking maybe it was from a time when the external enclosure and internal drive had different serial numbers.

Anyway, great info in this thread. Reminds me of the storage forum's glory days.

upload_2018-1-25_15-5-9.png
 
Last edited:

nilepez

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
11,659
Yep, WD80EZZX, Aug. 2016. I can't remember if I pulled it out of a My Book or got it from ebay as a bare drive, but I'm thinking maybe it was from a time when the external enclosure and internal drive had different serial numbers.

Anyway, great info in this thread. Reminds me of the storage forum's glory days.

View attachment 51623
I have one of these, but it came from an external drive I bought on Amazon.
 

doox00

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2005
Messages
2,998
I bought 2 of these a few weeks ago, finally getting around to installing them in my htpc, they are the white label 256mb cache drives. Windows does not see the drive at all (disk management) (either of them). What am I doing wrong?

Bios does not see the drive(s) either. msi z170 board with 6700k.

**Just realized they are not eveing spinning up, acting like it has no power.


*** okay read through this thread and found out I have the 3.3v issue, using corsair AX860i power supply, covered the 3 pins with tape and working fine now.
 
Last edited:

doox00

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2005
Messages
2,998
Another odd thing, bought 2 of these 3 4 weeks ago, both are the new white 256mb drives.. Have them in my htpc but they are different sizes, off by a meg or so so could not mirror them. I am now transfering all my data from the smaller one to the larger one and hoping it will let me mirror then.
 

gimp

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
10,122
awesome, decided to pick up 2 more.
Still finding the Thailand WDBCKA0080HBK-NESN up here.
These still seem to have the EFAX drives.

Haven't shucked yet, as I prefer to run a 3-pass overwrite to validate no bad sectors, so unsure of manufacture date.
 

pclausen

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
458
Picked up another 11 this morning. 1 red label and 10 white labels. It it interesting to note that there appears to be 3 "flavors" of the white label EMAZ drives. Look at the rear black plastic molding shape in the below pic:

 

gimp

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
10,122
awesome, decided to pick up 2 more.
Still finding the Thailand WDBCKA0080HBK-NESN up here.
These still seem to have the EFAX drives.

Haven't shucked yet, as I prefer to run a 3-pass overwrite to validate no bad sectors, so unsure of manufacture date.
so I lied.
One of these 2 is an EMAZ, despite both being the same exact EasyStore model number (and the same exact model as my other 4 that were EFAX)

Also, apparently the EMAZ has a max operating temp of only 111.2F, whereas the EFAX has a max operating temp of 158F (158F for EZFX also).
At least, that's per SMART per StableBit Scanner.

Aaaaaand, now I'm only getting 35MB/s from it. Was getting around 150MB/s+ before I stopped the wipe due to heat, let it cool down and got a fan in front of it.
Restarted wipe, and now a measly 35MB/s.

S'pose I could go ahead and shuck to verify if it's something weird with the USB bus or drive.
 
Last edited:

doox00

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2005
Messages
2,998
Any ideas why I can't mirror two of these drives, they are both the newer white 256mb cache WD80EMAZ drives but they show two different size in windows, one is 7452.04GB and the other is 7451.91GB. I have all my data on the smaller of the two, it tells me there is not enough space available on the disk to complete this operation.
 

Lunas

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 22, 2001
Messages
9,877
Any ideas why I can't mirror two of these drives, they are both the newer white 256mb cache WD80EMAZ drives but they show two different size in windows, one is 7452.04GB and the other is 7451.91GB. I have all my data on the smaller of the two, it tells me there is not enough space available on the disk to complete this operation.
that makes little sense is one gpt the other mbr? otherwise i don't see why you could not partition them to be exactly the same
 

doox00

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2005
Messages
2,998
that makes little sense is one gpt the other mbr? otherwise i don't see why you could not partition them to be exactly the same
Yeah is crazy.. .I ended up getting minitool partition software and it showed a ~1mb partition and a ~100 mb partition on the other drive that windows does not show in disk management at all. so I deleted all the partitions off the empty drive and recreated a partition and formatted it in windows disk management. I am now again (4tth time) copying all my data from the other drive to this one.. once that is done I will use minitool to delete all partitions, including that 100mb unknown one and recreate partition in windows and see if it will allow me to mirror then, hope so.. if not I am just returning these drives lol, already spent more time than I want/have on this.
 

doox00

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2005
Messages
2,998
okay, still won't mirror, it will create the mirror set but won't sync and the drive I am adding the mirror two has a ! on it.

 

Silentbob343

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
1,782
okay, still won't mirror, it will create the mirror set but won't sync and the drive I am adding the mirror two has a ! on it.

Did you clone one of your drives to get data on to the 8tb WD?
If so you might be encountering a duplicate drive signature error. It you hover or right click it should tell you what the exclamation means.
 

doox00

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2005
Messages
2,998
I did not clone, just copied and pasted. It tells me nothing for some reason, only options are reactivate disk, offline and properties.. reactivate does nothing when I select it. Properties shows the device is working properly. I assume its not resyncing, as normally it would give you a percentage.


** crazy after a couple of hours a percentage now shows up, 8 percent. hopfully all is well now. :)

**ended up mirroring fine and all is well again in the world.
 
Last edited:

Phixzet

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
196
I bought two the other day.

1 white. 1 red.

Red is pre-clearing now.

So how is BB with returns?

Do they ask questions? I mean the (white) package was opened, but I didn't shuck it. I could live with the white of course but considering I don't really NEED it right now (thought I did), and I'd rather not have to deal with the hassle of the 3.3v. (I have 5x3 drive system and not so easy to remove the 3.3v... I could us tape, sure... but again don't need the space now, and if it was a red drive, I'd love to keep it)
 

|-Goku-|

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 24, 2003
Messages
1,776
I bought two the other day.

1 white. 1 red.

Red is pre-clearing now.

So how is BB with returns?

Do they ask questions? I mean the (white) package was opened, but I didn't shuck it. I could live with the white of course but considering I don't really NEED it right now (thought I did), and I'd rather not have to deal with the hassle of the 3.3v. (I have 5x3 drive system and not so easy to remove the 3.3v... I could us tape, sure... but again don't need the space now, and if it was a red drive, I'd love to keep it)
You will be find. I was able to return one without issues that was opened.
 

p0lish

Gawd
Joined
Sep 11, 2002
Messages
597
Just picked up one of these from the local best buy. SN is 7SGNA***. White label with 256MB Cache.
 

nilepez

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
11,659
I picked up one from BBY tonight. they didn't have a ton of drives and the ones they had were clearly white label 256mb drives. I don't really care, since it's generally believed these are all just relabeled red drives, which are actually HGST drives. I'm getting closer to getting a nas (building a computer is easier than figuring out what NAS to get).
 

pclausen

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
458
Had an old 2TB drive fail (HDS722020ALA330). It had 52,000 hours on it, so I guess I got my money's worth out of it, lol. At any rate, checked BB website, and they are back at $199.99 again. Bummer. Guess it will be another couple of weeks before it goes back down to $159.99 again. I got a $100 and a $40 gift card from the last batch I purchased, so hopefully they will go on sale again before they expire!
 
Top