WD Easystore External Discussion

Discussion in '[H]ot Deals Discussions' started by klank, Apr 23, 2017.

  1. nilepez

    nilepez [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,500
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    I'll be interested to hear what you go with.
     
  2. NoxTek

    NoxTek The Geek Redneck

    Messages:
    9,272
    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Mine came in! Product of Thailand so we're off to a promising start.

    I may not even shuck it. My ASUS RT-AC68U (a converted T-Mobile unit) has a set of USB 3.0 ports on it. I am thinking about just attaching it there for some sweet network storage.
     
  3. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,735
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Give it a try, even if just to do some testing which you should perform before shucking anyway. Crystal Disk Mark should pull in 180MB/sec or better over usb 3.0, but gigabit network is actually going to limit you anyway. If you have a lot of data to dump into it initially, you'd be better off connecting it directly as you'd be hard pressed to break 120MB/sec over gigabit.
     
  4. Silentbob343

    Silentbob343 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,761
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Try it and go from there. My very old corsair HX520 and Lian-Li backplanes had no issue.
    Technically void, but most people pop them back in the enclosure and send them in. Lets be honest removing them from the enclosure isn't going to cause a drive to fail unless you removed it with a hammer. So there really isn't a good way for them to tell you ever removed it.
     
  5. gsilver

    gsilver Gawd

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Got around to shucking them, but broke the clips :|

    7SGMB and 7SGLW

    Both 256MB Thailand Reds


    Edit:

    Aaaannnddd: I got the first drive that I was replacing into the enclosure. It seems to do some basic encryption on the drive, since it showed as uninitialized, but it works.
    I wish that I had another My Book Duo enclosure, but these will do for NAS backups
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2017
  6. kohan69

    kohan69 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,517
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    You can just get one any time they're in stock at your local best buy. $200 is fine. Then the day it dips online, just go in the store withe receipt and get a price adjustment, no point in waiting. Anything bought now can be returned til Jan 14
     
  7. Mr_Pemberton

    Mr_Pemberton n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    I ordered 2 NESN @ $150 a couple weeks back and both came EFAX (Red, 256MB cache)
    I ordered 2 more NESN a couple days ago @ $140 and both came EMAZ (White, 256MB cache)
     
  8. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,854
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Same seems they are out of efax drives.
     
  9. panfist

    panfist Gawd

    Messages:
    635
    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    So there has to be some problem using these disks in a zpool, one has 1.75k checksum errors and one has 1.53k.

    I just got 2x NESN when they were $140. Long story short, one drive already threw 321 ZFS CKSUM errors, should I return it?

    I ran HDSentinel write then read surface test, came back with no problems.

    They are white label Made in Thailand 256MB WD80EMAZ-00WJTA0.

    I had an existing ZFS pool with 2x 6TB drives in mirror-0 configuration. I want to replace both 6TB drives with these two drives, and expand the pool to use the extra 2TB.

    I attached one disk to the zpool and resilvered. Everything went alright. I shut down the system, removed 1x 6TB drive and added the second 8TB drive. Rebooted. I was going to attach the second disk and resilver again. At this point the the first new 8TB disk threw 321 checksum errors, according to zfs.

    edit: it's up to 347 now FUCK what a hassle
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2017
  10. TordanGow

    TordanGow [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,341
    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    If you are using an HBA card upate the firmware.
     
  11. panfist

    panfist Gawd

    Messages:
    635
    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    I'm not, I'm using the two integrated controllers on the asrock c2750.
     
  12. Lunas

    Lunas [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,854
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    There is something you should all know about these drives... First there is no internal part number wd80efax there is a wd100efax it was surmised they are the same drive but with 2 platters turned off due to qc failure at the full 7 platters the drives fail but most of those failures are on 2 platters so in firmware the heads are turned off creating an 8tb drive.

    If you are getting errors return the drive for another.
     
  13. techbob

    techbob Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    362
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Unlike most of you, I'm using the drive un-shucked. Thailand version, paid $150 for it on BF.

    I'm using FreeFileSync to mirror an internal drive in a Windows 10 workstation to the easystore attached to a blue USB 3.0 rear port. Getting 80 - 90 MB/sec write speed. Is this on the slow side? Any way to speed it up?

    The drive was about 5/8 full when I got these speeds. A NAS was also mirrored to the easystore.

    Thanks!
     
  14. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,735
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    It will slow down as you fill it up. The fastest speeds are when it's fresh. You can try running some benchmarks on it now to see if it's another limitation, such as the internal drive's read speed. It's also possible that the usb controller isn't up to snuff, as you should be getting double that fresh. Try running crystal disk mark, I have one still unshucked that's 97% full and I get 200MB still. Give it a try and report back.
    8tb easystore crystalmark test 12-11-2017.png
     
    techbob likes this.
  15. rive22

    rive22 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,610
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Write speeds from a slower drive will be determined by that drive, it's file sizes, and especially any fragmentation.

    This is from one of EZZX models, though they perform about the same as these here.


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2017
  16. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,735
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    One thing that is still useful about crystal vs hd tune, is that you can perform a write test. It still would answer the question if his usb controller was up to snuff, when compared to my result.
     
    rive22 likes this.
  17. okashira

    okashira [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,798
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Swap drives ports and see if another drive throws errors on that port. U running ecc ram?
     
  18. techbob

    techbob Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    362
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Here's the result -

    [​IMG]
     
  19. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,735
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Hmm yeah that's hurting a bit. Do you have another computer to try it on, or another set of ports to try? I found on my pc two of my usb 3.0 ports were provided by an add on chip, and their speed was pretty bad. My server has the newest system, and that's what it's connected to and the usb 3.0 ports are very fast.
     
    techbob likes this.
  20. oldmanbal

    oldmanbal 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,072
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    In my experience it's the years of constant usage that wear down large cluster drives, I just had a storage drive fail and have doubled down on backup since.
     
  21. Design1stcode2nd

    Design1stcode2nd Gawd

    Messages:
    704
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    So if the drive is just used for say 10 hours per week what kind of lifespan would you all think it would have (obviously YMMV)?
     
  22. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,568
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    It could die on the first day or last 20 years. Remember luck plays a big part when you have a small sample size.
     
  23. nilepez

    nilepez [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,500
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Keeping in mind that my server isn't being hit all that hard, I find that my HD's are replaced with larger drives before they die. And the few drives that have died were almost always over 7 years old, though I've had one or 2 die under warranty. Whether it was in year 1-2 or year 3, I can't remember. There's a reason why Blackblaze has typically said the extra warranty is not worth the extra money you pay.
     
  24. michaelearwood

    michaelearwood n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2017
    Does anyone want to sell a few of their shucked enclosures for a good price? I could sure use them. :)
     
    Net Prowler likes this.
  25. SKiZZ

    SKiZZ Gawd

    Messages:
    514
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    I have some older ones from 4TB drives if you want?
     
  26. michaelearwood

    michaelearwood n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2017
    Thanks, That sounds good, give me a price shipped to Perry, GA
     
  27. CuriousGeorge

    CuriousGeorge n00b

    Messages:
    40
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Careful, some WD enclosures whitelist the drives they will work with, and won't even work with other WD drives of the same capacity. They also tend to automatically encrypt the drive's contents, making the drive unreadable if you ever take it out of the enclosure.
     
  28. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,568
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    There may also be lying about sector size. Some enclosures make the drive look like it is 4K native when the drive really is 512e. This will make your data unreadable when you switch from internal to external or vise versa.

    The reason for this is to allow large drives to work with operating systems that do not support GPT.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2017
  29. kohan69

    kohan69 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,517
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
  30. Net Prowler

    Net Prowler [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Did you read the posts?

    "...completely forgot that exFAT can't handle drives over 2TB, (the drive being 4TB). When formatted as NTFS, the dive being connected does not interrupt the boot process. This narrows it down to exFAT being the culprit."

    exFAT can't be used with paritions greater than 2TB according to that user. Though a Google search says otherwise so idk.

    Maybe the issue is with GPT vs MBR (where GPT should be used for volumes > 2TB)? So maybe they meant MBR instead of exFAT?
     
  31. michaelearwood

    michaelearwood n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2017
    I didn't know that. Has anyone tried these enclosures with other drives?
     
  32. Verge

    Verge [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,346
    Joined:
    May 27, 2001
    I put an old 2tb red in my 8tb enclosure and it works fine.

    The drives are encrypted though, so i can't take it out without full data loss. You also cannot switch from one enclosure to another.
     
  33. heatsinker

    heatsinker [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,470
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2001
    I put my Hitachi 1TB drive in the enclosure and Windows doesn't detect it when plugged in. It sees the USB interface (Easystore), but the drive inside can't be manipulated in any way.
     
  34. NoxTek

    NoxTek The Geek Redneck

    Messages:
    9,272
    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Ugh. I've been hemming and hawing on whether I want to leave the drive in it's enclosure and attach it to my Asus RT-A68U via the USB 3.0 port, or whether I want to build/buy some sort of NAS box.

    I'm now leaning towards a NAS of some kind because a lot of people claim USB 3.x transfers bog down the CPU in the AC68U and that the firmware doesn't support using a USB 3 hub at rated speeds (so no multiple drives). I can't really afford to buy a dedicated appliance right now so I'm thinking of just using some spare parts to build a basic box to stick this drive and a few others in. I've got a couple of socket 775 boards with Core 2 Duos in them and hefty amounts of DDR2, some nice 650w Seasonic PSUs from that sick Ebay deal last year, and a few cheap Zalman cases from another deal several months ago. I think I'll build something and attach it to the network that way. It will do for now...
     
  35. kohan69

    kohan69 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,517
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    2TB limit is FAT32 not exFAT
     
  36. Vapor1000

    Vapor1000 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,026
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Got my $140 offer NESN 8TB WD in last night. Same as most other peoples. Mine was a white label WD80EMAZ.
     
  37. rw3

    rw3 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,699
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Bought 5 yesterday at local BBs.....4 were 256MB REDs (NESN) and 1 was a 256MB White Label (NEBB). Going back for more today....
     
  38. Kamber

    Kamber Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    205
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Is there a way to identify the cache size without shucking? I ran CrystalDisk Info and I have a NESN WD80EMAZ.
     
  39. Mr_Pemberton

    Mr_Pemberton n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    The EMAZ are white label with 256MB cache.