Theoretical maximum specs for AMD cpu based platform under Windows 7

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by spacedrone808, Dec 19, 2018.

  1. thebufenator

    thebufenator [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Just friggin use a router that blocks Microsoft, and manually run your updates weekly.

    Staying on Windows 7 is insane and autistic
     
  2. spacedrone808

    spacedrone808 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    100
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Insane? Do you know that almost all production environments are faster under Win7. Eg, Blender is 10% faster.

    No limitations is visible.
    It's just marketing crap.
    You buy it. But not me.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2019
  3. Jandor

    Jandor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    You're taking about Threadripper. However TR never receuved any support for Windows 7. It's a hack even at the driver level. On the contrary to Ryzen AM4 plateform.
    However AMD doesn't mention in its latest drivers compatibility with Zen 2, but neither on W10 drivers, while for instance it is clear that Windows 7 drivers are not mentioning Zen APU while W10 drivers do. So it has to be seen.
    But, for sure, new bioses are still compatible with Zen/Zen+ and Windows 7 latest drivers, and you need to put latest drivers on new bioses, modified for Zen 2 compatibility.
    So the case of TR4 plateform and Am4 is different, for sure. But you may need to reinstall W7 after Bios update, with the new chipset drivers from AMD.
     
  4. Jandor

    Jandor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    And about all new software except a few games and that of Microsoft are still compatible with Windows 7, when Windows 10 is incompatible with a lot of not so old professional software and even worse, may need to update professional software between Windows 10 at lunch and now and will be worse in the future.
    I'll wait to see how this goes. For now there are plenty of professional users shifting to pirated software to stay in touch of the mandatory permanent upgrade and new pay per month software that results in up to 5 times the price one used to pay before Windows 10. People and companies may not follow that path, will go with trustworthy software you buy and pay once for all, and those software companies need a stable OS that could become some Linux distro. For instance IBM bought Red Hat. It would be great if IBM makes a professional Desktop redhat distro with support for professional software, drivers for everything and so on. Until then Windows 7 and "old" software but good enough is okay and costs nothing more than AM4 hardware upgrade. Just thinking a full AM4 Zen 2 configuration will be still good enough up until maybe 2025. That's a lot of bucks saved and time consuming update problems. For security reasons one even can avoid direct Interned connection on those "unpatched" computers. Not a big deal.
    And there another way: Linux + TR4 64 cores + Vmware + Windows 7 Pro on around dedicated 60 cores (up to 128 meaningful for sure when they'll produce the chip).
     
  5. raazet

    raazet n00b

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019

    Thanks to tenacity of spacedrone88 and AXm77, with PS2 keyboard and optical drive I was able to at least install Win 7 on 2950X, Asrock x399 Taichi, GSkill 128 GB RAM, Samsung 860 EVO SSD with latest bios, 3.50


    but I because of the following


    However, I am stumped while installing below chipset drivers where I get warning from Ryzen software "No AMD hardware detected"

    http://asrock.pc.cdn.bitgravity.com/Drivers/AMD/Allin1/Allin1(v17.40.1025).zip



    What options do I have now, any suggestions please. Thanks.



    Asrock_bios_versions.PNG
     
  6. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,926
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    time to move on...
     
  7. RamonGTP

    RamonGTP [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,578
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Hey can we do this for Windows XP 32bit also?
     
  8. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,411
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    This:

    Seriously. Stop trying to run insecure software on metal. Run 7 in a VM on a Linux install if you have to, behind an IPS.
     
  9. spine

    spine 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,539
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Windows 7 for life!

    never_give_up.gif
     
    SvenBent likes this.
  10. Randall Stephens

    Randall Stephens Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    408
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Amd has fairly recent chipset drivers on their website for win 7. The version number is above what Asus lists as recommended for their beta bioses that support the new ryzen 3000 stuff supposedly. Not sure if it will actually work.
     
  11. spine

    spine 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,539
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    I'm being fully honest here, if I can't get Ryzen 3 on Windows 7 this summer, I'm going Intel, it's that simple.
     
  12. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,411
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    At some point you won't be able to run Windows 7 on Intel.
     
  13. spine

    spine 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,539
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Apparently all modern systems can run Windows 7, Ryzen 2 included, so I'm hopeful for Ryzen 3. Requires a PCI USB drive apparently, though I'm pretty sure that's just for installation, reckon I can just clone it over. I've basically done that with every upgrade actually. My current Windows 7 install? Installed just the once, practically a decade ago, and that was on a Core2 Duo, never re-installed since, just kept cloning it over to new Intel systems, RAID-0 boot OS array an' all!


    Here's how the average task evolves with each generation of Windows:

    Windows XP - Would take just 1 click.
    Windows Vista/7 - Now takes 2 clicks.
    Windows 8 - 3 clicks, made for tablets of course.
    Windows 10 - Infinite, functionality broken/removed.
    Windows X - Auto downloads and then deletes itself, quietly in the background, then needlessly reboots at a completely random time and formats the OS drive. Because at this point you're too stupid to use a computer.

    :LOL::ROFLMAO::D
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2019
  14. Jandor

    Jandor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Problem is that they don't even say if this is compatible with the latest BIOS to run on Windows 7, but may run older BIOS with Ryzen 1/2000 series. It may also not be compatible with Ryzen 3000 series yet. They don't say it's compatible !
    So the BIOS may be but the drivers may not be yet and may only support Rzyen 2000 at best + Ryzen 3000 APU (based on Zen+).

    As a matter of fact AMD made Threadripper 2000 series incompatible with Windows 7 after compatibility BIOS update. You can't run Windows 7 on Threadripper 2990WX or 2920X but can on 1950X with older BIOS still incompatible with TR 2000 series.

    AMD is very much dependent on Microsoft. Microsoft just made it's Windows 10 system update 1903 optimized for 16 cores and more on AMD CPU, which wasn't the case before. It seems Microsoft put an hold on this on purpose advertising that the AMD CPU is badly made (but Linux was thinking the opposite). Maybe they negotiated CPU incompatibility for Windows 7 and don't forged AMD makes also the APU for the current and next Xbox.

    AMD needed Windows 7 compatibility as an advantage for their CPU sales but now that they sell better CPU than Intel they needn't that anymore. It is more Intel that needs it.
     
  15. Jandor

    Jandor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Coming back on this.
    All professional products still good have gone from ownership to renting. I won some of them and they are very expensive. Even 10 year old software is still great. While going for renting, Windows 10 cut the compatibility on the older software, I would say for no reason. They even uninstall your older Adobe software after some updates. You can reinstall and it will run abut you will have to reask for your key at Adobe and they will make plenty of difficulties even if you are in you right.
    No such problem on Windows 7.
    And what's the security problem with Windows 7 ? There are none. Much more secured than Windows 10 constantly running things on the internet on your behalf if connected. I'm not running servers on top of it !!!
    So this security thing is all fabricated crap ! You can run Vista and XP safe today. I do. Never had a virus.
     
    SvenBent likes this.
  16. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,411
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    You are the reason Windows Updates are being forced.
     
  17. Jandor

    Jandor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    No. This belief is fabricated by M$ for the idiots.
    Windows 10 updates are made to force you update software (buy new one every year or rent) and hardware and keep track on your moves without you knowing and be in charge of your computer... at one point you'll have Windows 10 not to update your old hardware drivers to the point to force you buy new one and that is valid for your scanner, printer etc. And after all why would they force me to update a system that is MINE, not their and that I am in my right to do whatever I want with. I'm in Europe and the license thing doesn't work in here. I by 100% fully own the WIndows I bought on my DVD ot usb key and M$ is ought to let me use it in the way I want, but they do not comply with this. On that matter I am entitled to hack their system to block the updates. This is what I did on my only Windows 10 system I own, which is on the Bootcamp of my Macbook.
    Even the UI is made for the idiots.
    Windows 10 forced me to move to OSX, stay on Windows 7 Pro whenever possible on new hardware, and try Linux.
     
    spine likes this.
  18. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,411
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    You're intentionally using an OS that is approaching end-of-life. That's the 'move the hell on we're not fixing this thing anymore' signal. You'd have gotten the same thing if you were using Ubuntu 14.04 or some ancient OS X.

    By running insecure operating systems, you put not just yourself at risk, but every system that yours can reach- which is the global internet.

    I recommend getting over your feelings and taking an actual security-minded perspective on information technology.
     
  19. Thevoid230

    Thevoid230 n00b

    Messages:
    35
    Joined:
    May 7, 2019
    Most telemetry and update concerns can be remedied with a handy little utility from O& O software called Shut Up 10. It is currently free and allows you to disable all known telemetry and turn off forced updates.

    https://www.oo-software.com/en/shutup10

    As for the interface, you can use a tool called Classic Shell, which can be set to give you a w7 style start menu and explorer.

    http://classicshell.net/
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  20. The Cobra

    The Cobra 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Sadly, Windows 7 will be dying off after this year unless you pay for support...and that doesn't mean that the big vendors will continue to support it. Support for XP dropped off of a cliff once official support ended back in 2014. Shit, AMD doesn't even make drivers for Windows 8.1 and that is supposed to be supported for a while still...
     
  21. Hagrid

    Hagrid [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,193
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    I say update to 10 and use the 3rd party software to make it more like 7. I did not want to change, but stuff was being made 10 only. Sucks, but I never have to see any of the bloat or malware stuff.
     
  22. spine

    spine 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,539
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    The 3rd party stuff only gets you so far. Last week I rolled back my work PC back to 7. Mouse got caught in the fucking corner one last fucking time and that was it! The final fucking straw. :mad:
     
    Hagrid likes this.
  23. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,411
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    This seems unrelated to Windows 10 alone. I use a myriad of multi-monitor setups. My desktop, for example:

    31.5" 4k | 31.5" 1440p | 2x vertically stacked 24" 1080p

    I don't get mice stuck in corners where there isn't a 'natural' corner where these displays don't line up vertically. I've learned to steer around those.

    I'm wondering if there isn't something else in the mix, as I've been running various multi-monitor setups since Vista really and haven't seen the issue you describe.
     
  24. SvenBent

    SvenBent 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,894
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008

    The mouse getting stuck in multimonitor mode with windows 10 is a well documented "feature"/bug just because its not affecting your PC does not mean it does not exist.
    Windows 10 update screws up some drivers so its driver/hardware activated bug.
     
    spine likes this.
  25. spine

    spine 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,539
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    http://www.jawfin.net/?page_id=143

    However, if you have screens aligned corner to corner, the mouse gets stuck. Introduced with Win8 and a reg hack disables it. With Win10, there's no way to completely disable it. It's fundamentally broken.
     
    SvenBent likes this.
  26. Lakados

    Lakados [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,490
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    WIndows 10 Workstation Edition and Intune..... Updates when I want them, clear control methods, virtually no bloat, pair it with a decent hardware firewall and you can redirect or block any telemetry you don't want to go through, but the stuff collected from 10 with the bare minimums in place is no different than what is collected from 7 after SP1 is installed Hundreds of physical deployments and around 60 virtual ones with 0 issues outside of my licensing server being a PITA.
     
  27. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    53,841
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    I understand the interface is better for Windows 7, I get that. I couldn't agree more with that opinion as I share it. However, consider this: Windows 10 has recently been updated (Build 1903) with an improved scheduler for AMD Ryzen CPU's. Previously, the scheduler would just use whatever cores it wanted to regardless of whether or not it was crossing CCX complexes. This introduces massive latency. The new scheduler is aware of Ryzen's topology and uses a single CCX complex before placing workloads on additional complexes. Windows 7 is in the final stages of support according to Microsoft and is nearly EOL. It's a pain in the ass to install on modern machines. Newer hardware features will not be supported by Windows 7. At what point do you give up and move on?

    You guys remind me of the DOS4Lyfe crowd back in the mid-1990's.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2019
  28. Lakados

    Lakados [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,490
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Sounds like your monitors aren't aligned in the display settings, I run 3 systems, two of which use 3 monitors and one that uses 2, and the bulk of the office is using a minimum of 2 displays. The only times anybody gets a cursor stuck (myself included) is when they are either moving between monitors with different resolutions usually higher to lower in which case they have to lower the mouse cursor an inch or 2 to get it to move to the lower resolution screen. They were all perplexed by this until I showed them the wonderful little picture in "Display Settings" That showed them how the computer thought their monitors were displayed and pointed out that while they were perfectly lined up on the bottom and could freely move the mouse between the screens at the bottom of the page towards the top they were not aligned, and you could not move between them up in those sections as the computer is convinced there is nothing there. I don't recall if windows 7 or 8 was so caught up on the specifics of the screen alignment or if it just left that decision making up to the video drivers themselves but in Win 10 it is definitely a thing.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2019
  29. somebrains

    somebrains Gawd

    Messages:
    582
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    I run a 3440x1440 main with a 27” 1440p VS Code/terminal/cloud9 ide vertical at home.
    Same at at work, next years gear allowance I may expense an open loop cooled blinged out rgb o11 res block showbox to annoy the millennials.

    We use macs, Ubuntu on thinkpads, win10.

    Never had mouse stick issues.

    If I’m working a project in Azure/GKE/VMware and AWS at the same time, sometimes i want 2x ultrawides and a pair of 27” code monitors.
     
    Lakados likes this.
  30. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,411
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
  31. Lakados

    Lakados [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,490
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    We see it all the time moving between monitors on our side. If the cursor is on pixels 1081-1440 and you try dragging it over to one of the 1080’s it just gets to the screen edge and stops, drop it back down into the range of the adjoining monitor and it pops right over. Not sure if it is a windows issue or an nVidia issue never had the time or inclination to actually find out an answer and really the work around is pretty simple so nobody really complains any more. But yeah as annoying as it may be that odd time it happens it really isn’t worth putting up with Windows 7 for a fix though.
     
    {NG}Fidel likes this.
  32. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,411
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Is this a detailed explanation for 'mouse cursor not moving to pixels that don't exist'?
     
  33. Lakados

    Lakados [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,490
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Yes and no, in Windows 7 when you drag it over it will simply decide its out of range and move the coordinates accordingly in win 10 it just says “FU NO” and it stays there.
     
  34. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,411
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    I honestly can say that I haven't used Windows 7 with mismatched monitor bounds to remember. What I do remember is that the mouse would get stuck, but I can't remember if that was Windows 7 or others. I moved immediately to Windows 8 (and then 8.1 and then 10).
     
    Lakados likes this.
  35. Lakados

    Lakados [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,490
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    I can’t recall it getting stuck in 7, but when I was still using 7 actively I was using an AMD card and now on 10 I am using an nVidia and I can say for sure it does get stuck. Not sure if the sticking is a Win10, or nVidia thing.... or if it did it with AMD/ATI as well and I just plum forgot.
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  36. {NG}Fidel

    {NG}Fidel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,150
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    I wish people wouldn't get so emotionally attached to an old operating system
     
  37. spine

    spine 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,539
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Exactly. They changed it for the worse, I would say, 'for no reason' but the reason is that it's aimed squarely at tablets and not Desktop PCs. That's the fundamental fucking problem.

    Linux when Win7 goes EOL, it's actually mature enough now, and in recent trials I find I've spent more time fighting with Win10 than I have learning a new OS. It's certainly a more pleasant experience to discover new amazing things, than to keep finding what was once good is now gone and keep asking myself, "is there a 3rd party app to bring it back?"

    #calculator #paint #taskmanager #fuckingstartmenu
     
    Lakados and spacedrone808 like this.
  38. spacedrone808

    spacedrone808 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    100
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Dumb msheads. I will use Win7 to the edge and than switch to linux. It better handles multicore cpus then win10
     
  39. Hagrid

    Hagrid [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,193
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Emotional? No. They like it because it works awesome and doesn't have lot of bloatware and malware. When you need a bunch of 3rd party software to make your
    OS less malware free and more usable, there is a problem.
     
    spacedrone808 likes this.
  40. spacedrone808

    spacedrone808 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    100
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    108% correct