The highly rated HP Pavilion Slimline PC thread

Joined
May 17, 2013
Messages
50
Hello again,i post new pictures, now everything its plugged correctly,card reader works as be expected.
Was worried about temps , but everything looks ok using HW Monitor
Max temps playing games was 60°C on the Ryzen 5 1600 using stock cooler, im impressed with the noise levels, isnt audible
If you planning use this case with a ITX project, Ryzen its a perfect choice, excellent performance and a money saver
The hotest part its the GTX 750Ti, locked at 75°C using Afterburner, the case feels warm to the touch, but nothing to be worried.
Added a 92mm fan on the bottom to keep cool the SSD and have some airflow,
I dont recommend Adata SU650 , stays at 55-60°C all the time, dont matter if its idle or gaming
My next steps its wait to a more powerfull card , Nvidia or AMD and maybe a Disc drive
IMG_0194.jpg


I
CPUID.png

IMG_0195.jpg
 
Joined
May 17, 2013
Messages
50
Hello again, i keep modifying my slimline, trying to get best airflow
I removed stock 92mm cooler master fan of the heatsink and put a silverstone ar06 92mm low profile fan which i cannot use
because silverstone never offered a am4 mounting kit
Cooler master stock cooler now im using it to keep fresh the SSD
Temps seems little worse on the 1600, but i did this to have some clearance to mount an additional fan
Today arrived my Artic P12 fan ,which i glued on the side door
Clearance are minimal, but its ok, fan blades and wires doesnt get obstructed
Temps dropped to low 50°C on the 1600, VRM temps from mid 60°C to mid 50°C
PSU fan runs a lot quieter and the case feels cold, which i expected with this modifications
By the way , i modded the shuttle stock PSU fan to a premium 40mm x20 mm Noctua fan, a really recommended upgrade
Artic and stock ryzen fan are plugged on a 4pin conector using a 7volt adapter to reduce noise and keeping a decent airflow.
IMG_0253.JPG

IMG_0252.JPG IMG_0251.JPG IMG_0250.JPG
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Chry
like this

winger0037

n00b
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
12
Just wanted to pop in and let y’all know I got her mostly finished. Gotta create something better than tape to block airflow and drill new holes in the primary cover for the video card. But she runs pretty good (and cool with the main cover off!)
65EEE7CC-9219-42D7-8877-A6B350DAB34F.jpeg
9891AB44-C898-4405-A84E-1345480B7F58.jpeg
 
  • Like
Reactions: Chry
like this

winger0037

n00b
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
12
Hello again,i post new pictures, now everything its plugged correctly,card reader works as be expected.
Was worried about temps , but everything looks ok using HW Monitor
Max temps playing games was 60°C on the Ryzen 5 1600 using stock cooler, im impressed with the noise levels, isnt audible
If you planning use this case with a ITX project, Ryzen its a perfect choice, excellent performance and a money saver
The hotest part its the GTX 750Ti, locked at 75°C using Afterburner, the case feels warm to the touch, but nothing to be worried.
Added a 92mm fan on the bottom to keep cool the SSD and have some airflow,
I dont recommend Adata SU650 , stays at 55-60°C all the time, dont matter if its idle or gaming
My next steps its wait to a more powerfull card , Nvidia or AMD and maybe a Disc drive
View attachment 217216

IView attachment 217217
View attachment 217218
nice! I’m running a Ryzen 5 2600 in mine and a GT1030
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 17, 2013
Messages
50
Your build looks nice

Im happy but not satisfied because the stock amd ryzen cooler isnt enough quiet to my expectations
So i decided change the cpu cooler
Looking for a decent and not expensive cooler (top class low profile coolers are to expensive to my budget) i found this gamemax gamma 300 on wish, cost me 24 bucks with shipping using a first buy coupon.
Looks decent, 5 heatpipes with 120mm fan and 85mm tall give me clearance to put it on the hp case
When this cooler arrives i gonna take some pictures to show you the upgrade, the gamemax website shows its compatible with am4 socket.
If you can make the holes on the side Door, Will help you to keep a lot cooler the procesor and vrms, on my rig cpu and vrm stays at 45-60 degress.
1567167678.png
 

GMANZD

n00b
Joined
Apr 3, 2020
Messages
1
Hello All,
I just recently came across an old HP Slimeline S3600f. It was my grandparents but they got a new comp cause this one wasn't working. It's been sitting in a garage for about 4 years. I recently picked it up and tried to fix it up. Turns out it was just a bad HD. I picked up a new HD and a new CPU, Q9500. It's not on the official list of supported CPU's for the original Irving GL6E mobo, but i saw a forum somewhere that said it's doable. I've update the bios to v 5.23, upgrade RAM to 4GB, got WIN 10 running with the original CPU but can't seem to get the Q9500 cpu to work. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance
 

kakawak

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
65
Hi Guys,

I recently installed an Asus 1030gt card into my slimline however, it seems to take about 5 mins to boot up into windows 10 whereas before using my k600 quadro it was about 1 min. Any ideas what to do here? the last thing i want to do is another re-install of win 10. Any quick fixes?

Thanks in advance!
 

kakawak

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
65
thanks for quick reply, its on the boot screen where you see the 5 dots spinning around underneath the blue windows logo before it gets to splash screen if that makes sense. i also updated the card with latest drivers from nvidia but it's still the same :(
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
18,162
thanks for quick reply, its on the boot screen where you see the 5 dots spinning around underneath the blue windows logo before it gets to splash screen if that makes sense. i also updated the card with latest drivers from nvidia but it's still the same :(
disconnect any usb drives. my ext HP drive causes my system to at least triple the boot time.
 

kakawak

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
65
it seemed to be a loose connection on the internal (original) hard drive as it kept disappearing where C: drive and all the other drives are. I don't use this drive for my OS only storage. It's all fixed now anyways.

Thanks guys....theres still life in this old beast yet!
 
Top