The highly rated HP Pavilion Slimline PC thread

Discussion in 'Small Form Factor Systems' started by Archaea, Sep 19, 2007.

  1. kakawak

    kakawak n00b

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Hi Guys,

    I've decided to upgrade my PC one last time on my slimline. I've added an Intel 520 180gb SSD along with a Pioneer 208dbk bluray writer using an IDE port converter to Sata.

    The SSD has been attached to a small sheet of metal mesh using velcro to attach on the underside of the original hard drive casing, which fits like a glove! The IDE converter will be stuck to the side of the CPU fan that will connect using a gender connector to the original IDE cable for my bluray.

    It's as far as i can go with everything being encased internally and with all connections being used :)

    I will try and upload photos of it but i don't see this thread being as popular now with new slimlines being released all the time.

    It's been the best PC i've ever owned and I do hope that i get a few more years before i decide to take the plunge on another system :)

    If only the bios could be changed to accommodate better RAM and CPU upgrades :(

    If anyone has any ideas on what else could be updated, please let me know :)

    Thanks for the help over the years guys

    Cheers

    Cammy
     
    Archaea likes this.
  2. kakawak

    kakawak n00b

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    hi guys,

    i have a question regarding the setup of this converter i bought from fleabay...

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3-5-IDE-to-SATA-SATA-to-IDE-ATA100-133-HDD-Converter-Adapter-Cables/292073457397?_trksid=p5411.c100167.m2940&_trkparms=aid=222007&algo=SIC.MBE&ao=1&asc=20140131123730&meid=cf18da2fa5854be994cd728645bfbfcc&pid=100167&rk=1&rkt=15&sd=222156000720

    on my motherboard i can use the converter and works fine if i plug it straight into the ide connector but due to the space limitation i have to move it as the dvd drive will not fit in place as it sticks out too much. i tried to use the original ide ribbon cable with a 40 pin gender (male to male) connector for extension but the pins seem to be reversed when i use the ide ribbon meaning i cant use the converter. is there a different cable that utilises the reverse setup as when i look at the converter when its connected to the ribbon/gender connector it doesnt work as one of the pins is not being use due to reversal. i hope this makes sense as im trying to finalise my setup.

    you will see on the converter image from link above that one of the pins is missing on it and this is where one of the live connectors on the ide cable that is hitting the blank part. if it was reversed around it would be fine.

    is there an ide cable that would duplicate the motherboards connection setup??? its very confusing :/

    thanks

    cameron
     
  3. cephusjed

    cephusjed n00b

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    eBay has male to female ide cable extenders as short as 2 inches. Do you think one of those might work? By the way I tried an ide/pata to sata adapter once. Seems they were limited to ide/pata speeds
     
  4. QuintonM

    QuintonM n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    hello slimliners. some info on my latest slimline builds using cheap 2017 gpu's and cheap cpu's:

    S3614UK Irvine Model 180 factorywattage
    Intel Dual Core E8600 and Quad Q9400s works great Bios 5.23 (not tried the Q9505s as its still expensive but i think it would work).
    Geforce GT710 2Gb LP works great (you need to swap round sata cable for dvd due to heatsink size but it all fits)
    Max OS I think on factory wattage: Windows 10 Creator 64bit



    S3215UK Acacia Model 160 factorywattage
    AMD x2 5600+ and x4 9350e works great Bios 5.18
    HD Radeon 5450 1Gb LP works great
    Max OS I think on factory wattage: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

    CPU performance wise its splitting hairs on the dual vs quad cores both Intel and AMD at 65 watts. I think price/availability is more of a concern.

    All CPU's 65watt max

    Power supplies been happy with GPU running at 100% on both Machines. Both GPU cards have passive heat sinks.

    Both machines have identical 4Gb 800Mhz high quality brand RAM. Cheap AMD only RAM on Acacia does not work.

    The Irvine is the stronger of the two platforms in this config as you can get away with a better GPU even at 180w. It is an acceptable steam game machine with no lagging. The Acacia is a very capable win7 PC /HTP but less capable at low level gaming. I would not push the 160w power supply beyond a Win7 level GPU as I started to get issues. Love these little guys, well thought out classic design.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2017
  5. Walkintarget

    Walkintarget Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    388
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Dating back to March of last year when I last futzed with my Slimline, I spent some quality time with it, with a 'fix it or toss it' approach to things. I found that one of the RAM slots is causing my problems, and when that slot is not filled it works fine. I pulled the x2 3800+ and put an x2 5400+ in its place. Also put in a Powercolor 5450 to improve graphics performance. Its just nice to have the damn thing working after many hours of working on it over the past year and a half. Other than its noisy CPU fan, it is a nice little box that I need to find a use for. I'd like to pass it to my son to use to play Skyrim, but he prefers his tablet and portability for gaming at this point.
     
  6. QuintonM

    QuintonM n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    I bought the H110M-HDS card to pimp my s3 series but realised that the pci-e slots (x16 and x1) although identical are in reversed positions from the HP model motherboards which makes it difficult to fit a decent performance GPU card internally. One to note if you want to add Gaming GPU. Its unfortunate otherwise it would be a direct replacement for s3 series motherboards as it fits like a glove in the case.

    I re-used the H110M parts for another m-atx project- kolink k6t box with a 300watt seasonic 1u gold power supply and a GTX1050 LP and its a brilliant m-atx motherboard albeit with limited pci slots and the wrong way round for hp slimline s3 series. It would have been a monster slimline no box modification execution but for those darn PCi slots!
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2017
  7. kitcar765

    kitcar765 n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    Ok guys. I have my own absolute beast of a gaming PC, which my father in law uses for his gaming via steam streaming to his old laptop.

    He also has a HP Pavilion slimline 3624uk with AMD cpu. I want to get it to a level where he can use that as his gaming machine, his gaming is not heavy or cutting edge, basically it needs to be better than his laptop.

    so far i have bought:

    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ 2x 2,9 GHz (correct wattage)
    Power: Sparkle SPI270LE 270 watt
    RAM: GB 2x2GB DDR2 PC2-6400 6400U DDR2-800 MHZ MEMORY
    Cables:

    - 20 to small 24 pin HP Slimline ATX Converter Adapter
    - 4-Pin IDE Molex Male to 15-Pin SATA Female
    - 4 pin molex to 6 pin pci-e PCI Express 6 Pin

    Can this machine run windows 10 64bit? is Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit the best?
    Can this machine run an SSD?

    which is the absolute best graphics card?
     
  8. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,179
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Yes you can run a SSD.
     
  9. kitcar765

    kitcar765 n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    Ok i have installed everything i listed above.

    all i need now is to get a 64bit version of windows, i have a SSD for this to go onto.

    How do i install a 64bit version of windows? do i just Buy a windows 10 64bit disk and it will auto-detect this and run?
     
  10. jeremyshaw

    jeremyshaw [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,044
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    In the US, if you have a Windows 7 or 8 key, MSFT will allow you to upgrade to Win10 for free. Just use the Win7/8 key in the serial key input section.

    Download the installer from MSFT, and have it create a DVD or a bootable flash drive.

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10

    As for your question, yes. Just install the 64bit version.
     
  11. kitcar765

    kitcar765 n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    OK the computer is built!

    HP Pavilion slimline 3624uk:

    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ 2x 2,9 GHz (correct wattage)
    Power: Sparkle SPI270LE 270 watt
    RAM: GB 2x2GB DDR2 PC2-6400 6400U DDR2-800 MHZ MEMORY
    Hard-drive: 120GB SSD
    GPU: Gigabyte 750ti - low profile
    OS: Windows 7 64bit

    It's very very speedy! on general usage it feels as fast as my £2,000 gaming rig (which is currently mining bitcoins). It certainly is capable of running the games he wants to play.

    Very happy with the build, windows 7 went on with no issues at all. i will run a benchmark score to see what it gets. Will post up soon.

    But for a computer from 2009 it packs a punch. And its my first attempt at seeing what happens when you throw the best components you can at a potato PC, and it was a bit of a challenge as its a small form factor.
     
  12. NERBORUTO

    NERBORUTO n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    https://valid.x86.fr/bzudd2

    after a long time i finally managed
    to mod the bios of this motherboard.
    change that allowed me to overcome the barrier of 293.5mhz of fsb.


    I think I'm the only one in the world who wastes time with this old hardware
    biggrin.gif

    Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
    07/25/2007-LakePort-LOCKTITE-00
    5.07 07/25/2007
    LOCKTITE-GL8E
    IPILP-AR ASUS
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  13. w9gb

    w9gb [H]Lite

    Messages:
    73
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    z7t7hqqXHlJouxuH_setting_fff_1_90_end_500.jpg

    Asus PRIME H310M-A motherboard, 3-slot.
    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/PRIME-H310M-A/

    Requires ATX Power Supply Bracket for usage in NCASE M1 ( 226 mm x 173 mm )

    Form Factor: ~ FlexATX at 8.9 inch x 7.3 inch ( 226 mm x 185 mm )

    Internal I/O Ports (headers):

    1 x USB 3.1 Gen 1(up to 5Gbps) connector(s) support(s) additional 2 USB 3.1 Gen 1 port(s) (19-pin)
    2 x USB 2.0 connector(s) support(s) additional 4 USB 2.0 port(s)
    1 x M.2 Socket 3 with M Key, type 2242/2260/2280 storage devices support (both SATA & x2 PCIE mode)
    1 x COM port(s) connector(s)
    4 x SATA 6Gb/s connector(s)
    1 x CPU Fan connector(s) (1 x 4 -pin)
    1 x Chassis Fan connector(s) (1 x 4 -pin)
    1 x S/PDIF out header(s)
    1 x 24-pin EATX Power connector(s)
    1 x 4-pin ATX 12V Power connector(s)
    1 x Front panel audio connector(s) (AAFP)
    1 x Clear CMOS jumper(s)
    1 x System panel connector
    1 x Speaker connector
     
    Archaea likes this.
  14. kakawak

    kakawak n00b

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Hi Guys,

    I just thought i would pop in and tell you that i'm still running my HP Slimline 7720. I recently bought a Nvidia Quadro K600 graphics card so that i could connect my PC to iMac using the display port connection in order to utilise both systems with one screen :) not to sure what to do with my old Nvidia 9600gt graphics card :/ maybe keep it as a back up!

    Does anyone know which quad processor will work on my model of PC would love to add one final mod to my PC before it ever gets replaced.

    Has anyone updated to windows 10 on this spec of PC or should i stick with windows 7 ultimate? Will windows 10 be too demanding on an old PC like this? I'm trying to get the most & best out of this PC before it dies and goes to heaven lol

    Over 10 years i've had with this bad boy, so a few more years would be good with the current iMac setup.

    Good to see this thread is still going :D

    cheers
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2019
  15. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,179
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Windows 10 works fine with older hardware.

    Have at it.
     
  16. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,893
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    if its the amd one, no quads sinces its only 35w:

    Socket type: AM2
    TDP: 35 watt
    Motherboard supports the following processor upgrades:
    re win10 on it, should work fine. ive put it on systems as old as a core2duo 2.4/4gb/60gb hdd/945g chipset
     
  17. kakawak

    kakawak n00b

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Hi, I've already seen the HP support but i think in general we usually ignore certain facts from HP as we have and went beyond their recommendations to what is acceptable.

    I'm using a 5050e currently shown as UNKNOWN in bios and device info. However, could i use a faster processor than my current one as i have a 300w psu installed, for example a phenom 9450e? or a faster athlon x2 with a higher TDP would this work? or should i stick with what i've got?

    Can a modded bios be used on my type of motherboard?

    What is your experience with win10 over win7 is there any performance issues, lag or any conflicts with hardware etc... before i decide to upgrade!

    cheers
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2019
  18. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,893
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    you'd have to try and find a modded bios but I think the most you MIGHT be able to get working would be one of the 45w chips. the board really isn't built for anything higher. just accept that. I had to with an older dell from that era. should have been able to use a q6600 but it just wouldn't work. even a modded bios isn't gonna change wattage limits to much.

    windows 10 felt better than 7 on the dell system I mentioned.
     
  19. kakawak

    kakawak n00b

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Well, what a nightmare this upgrade from windows 7 has been. After reformatting HD and doing a clean install with all the updates, i've now somehow got a boot error. after running bootrec commands it showed the installation as '0' but having rectified this problem without having to reinstall win10 again i can boot into win10 but still have the 'remove media press any key to continue' prompt. It still boots in but after several minutes of faffing about on the desktop or anything else, the computer crashes for no reason.

    Any ideas what might be causing this? I'm thinking i should've stuck with win 7 than doing the upgrade.......and no i didnt do a backup or system image so that rules that out.

    wasted a full day on this carp!

    cheers
     
  20. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,893
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    bios up to date? is all the hardware known to be good? did you disconnect any other drives during install? do you know what you are doing? ;)
     
  21. mnewxcv

    mnewxcv [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,395
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    I had an am2 Era hp though not a slimline, and in order to install windows 10 I had to load the sata driver during install, otherwise it would install but not boot. Worth a shot.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  22. kakawak

    kakawak n00b

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Thanks guys,

    My bios is 5.04 and i'm sure this is the latest from 10 years ago lol, please correct me if i'm wrong!

    After some head scratching it just got worse from there with the 'press any key to boot from cd or dvd' so none of my drives were showing up on bios. After a quick strip down, i tested the connections & sata cables with others i had spare and viola all good.

    Strange how a sata cable can be faulty all of a sudden :/ little confused as to why the cable would just pack in around the same time as an upgrade or something else lies sinister within this little beasty....time will tell i suppose!

    cheers
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  23. winger0037

    winger0037 n00b

    Messages:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019
    Ok I joined this site to literally get a definitive answer on the following question: What form factor mobo is in the s7510n? I’m looking to do a complete custom build utilizing the case only (possibly the DVD/RW, depending on PSU requirements of other hardware).

    Edit - I found on HPs site that the dimensions for the stock mobo is 6.69” x 6.69” which is consistent with the mini ITX form factor (which is 6.7” x 6.7”). This will be an interesting build... So far, my only hurdle is the PSU, best I can find is an FSP(?) branded unit @ 500w. More posts to come!
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2019
  24. mnewxcv

    mnewxcv [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,395
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Fsp is a decent brand. I wouldn't worry about using Fsp.
     
    winger0037 likes this.
  25. winger0037

    winger0037 n00b

    Messages:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019
    Good deal, the mobo I plan on using has a pretty decent integrated grafx chip, that being said the FSP unit doesn’t have a PCIe connector, which would have been a deal breaker...
     
  26. winger0037

    winger0037 n00b

    Messages:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019
    I got bored today and decided to play around with the tower and got it booted, to xp... Talk about nostalgia... couldn’t boot from dvd drive, I believe the laser is dead. Opened her up to find the optical runs on an IDE and no way to hook in a SATA optical that I had laying around. So I did what any other DIYer would do... found an old PSU and cut the SATA power cable off of it and spliced them into the existing SATA power cable, connected secondary cable for data and boom, dual SATA setup... All that just load Win7 onto the slimline. So as it sits right now the specs are: Win7 Home Premium, 1 GB ram, and 1 TB HDD. I don’t know why but I just really like the case of this slimline so my build is gonna end up being a “sleeper” PC... Here’s what I’ve got on order: ASRock Fatal1ty B450 Gaming - ITX/ac , Ryzen 5 2600, Patriot Viper 4 3200mHz 16gGB x 2, FSP 500w PSU, Crucial 1TB m.2 SSD. Will be using my extra optical drive and that 1 TB HDD along with putting some new holes in the casing for ventilation and a small fan. That’s my plan so far.
     
  27. winger0037

    winger0037 n00b

    Messages:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019
    Got her all cleaned up and painted! 15616585777865781973088551708613.jpg
     
  28. winger0037

    winger0037 n00b

    Messages:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019
    Got the new mobo in, shes looking good so far! 20190628_175300.jpg 20190628_175241.jpg