The Division 2

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Hardware' started by Blade-Runner, Mar 8, 2018.

  1. dvsman

    dvsman 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    I can't remember if I posted in this thread or if there's another Div 2 thread here on [H] also?

    Anyhoo, I'm just getting started but dvsman here and themaker387 on Uplay.
     
    Armenius and Q-BZ like this.
  2. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    18,526
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Damn, I spent over 3 hours playing the game last night and didn't realize it. Only made it through the hotel mission. I kept getting sidetracked looking down subways and alleys finding loot. I had to go to sleep before I could recruit Gracie to get into one of our clans. I'll work on that tonight. I can't believe I never got around to playing the first game because this is a lot of fun, with this type of gameplay being right up my alley.

    I said it earlier in the thread, but I'll repeat it here:
    I'm ArmeniusLOD on UPlay and everywhere else. On Steam I'm just Armenius like my forum name.
     
  3. Q-BZ

    Q-BZ [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,288
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    It seems like the skills are fixed. I had my trust turret back and it made a difference although I still can't beat Roach. I'm 18 in a 16... I'm just not getting that damned thing done. I'm going to come at it fresh today and take one last shot. If I fail again then it's recruit, call for help, and wait until I can get help to finish that.
     
  4. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    18,526
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Any suggestion on what to take as a second skill? I took the Reviver first per the suggestion of a lot of people and I haven't needed it yet. Thinking about the defensive drone, just don't know if it's useful to invest in for later levels and endgame content because I'm worried enemies will shoot it down quickly or the batteries will run out too fast.
     
  5. SomeoneElse

    SomeoneElse [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,781
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    I can't stress enough how good this game is. Im only level 8 and man im having a blast with it. I can't believe how much more involved and fun it is over the first game. (I waited 3 years for D1). The sheer amount of skills and perks is nuts compared to the first game.
    I am still getting a bug where I'm behind cover and when I double tap to deploy right on top of the barrier the turret falls through the object and just sits there and can't aim at enemies. Have had that happen at least 3 times now.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  6. LOCO LAPTOP

    LOCO LAPTOP [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,300
    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Armenius likes this.
  7. Dan

    Dan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,475
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    soo.... i spent 30 min running around the DZ at lvl 10 after unlocking it and found 1 crate with 2 MRE's in it... and thats it.... Not a single other player, and like 3 hot spots where mobs are defending... I want to murder people...
     
    jmaker and Armenius like this.
  8. SomeoneElse

    SomeoneElse [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,781
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Lmao, you should have gone for the gear....pull out some good stuff.
     
  9. Dan

    Dan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,475
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    there was nothing to loot, no gear to be found, no mobs to be seen. What are you talking about
     
  10. TheCur

    TheCur Doesn't like you

    Messages:
    10,035
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Armor repair is good. I'd personally take the chem launcher as that heal rocks, and oxidizer is pretty great, too.

    But the turret is a good option too (the machine gun one), it can guard you back, or a flank well.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2019
    Armenius likes this.
  11. TheCur

    TheCur Doesn't like you

    Messages:
    10,035
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    I pulled on average 20+ items out of each of those DZ intro missions. Check every nook and cranny. I'm an explorer and I spent over an hour running around each time. Well worth it, to me.
     
    SomeoneElse and Armenius like this.
  12. Porter_

    Porter_ [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,874
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    I believe the first intro mission into the DZ is just a PvE mission. You have to go back in to find the glorious DZ you know and love and hate and love again.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  13. Porter_

    Porter_ [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,874
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    I wonder if they’ll scale up if I let them sit in there until I’m in WT4?
     
  14. TheCur

    TheCur Doesn't like you

    Messages:
    10,035
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    I tested this one regular leveling caches; didn't work.
    I also tested it on gear caches going from one WT to the next one up; didn't work.

    I'd say the item level is probably locked on it upon creation of the cache. Let us know if you try it though.
     
    Porter_ likes this.
  15. Dan

    Dan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,475
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    the intro mission i did, I went back through the gates this morning. and couldnt find jack shit. Ill play again tonight. Wife is working an overnight
     
    Porter_ likes this.
  16. SomeoneElse

    SomeoneElse [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,781
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    That's odd, maybe they changed how it works since D1, but in D1 mobs where everywhere.
    They may not have these actually populated with low level mobs because of the gear. It might just be an intro to the DZ.
    I don't know yet because I haven't gotten there yet.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2019
  17. Smutacus

    Smutacus n00b

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    This game has pushed me into upgrading my PC - MSI MPG Z390 Gaming Pro Carbon, i7-9700k CPU and 2x16G of DDR4-3200 RAM on the way. :) It actually runs pretty good (45-80 FPS, average around 60 - I need to run the ingame benchmark) however that is DX11. Constant crashing with DX12, which sucks because DX12 was stable and smoother in the second Beta. CPU hiting 100% a lot, 4 cores just don't cut it anymore. :eek: Been wanting to upgrade for a while, D2 is the straw that broke the camels back. My old rig is in my sig, only thing is running a RTX 2070 instead of the GTX980 Ti.

    Happy to be in the clan, right now I'm slowly leveling and enjoying the world. Lvl 15 and just did the "Meet Henry" mission. Aside from DX12 and the stupid Logitech sound bug, I've had zero issues. Game looks stunning in 3440x1440p! Sound is awesome, doubly so with good headphones.

    -S
     
    Porter_ likes this.
  18. Ragenrok

    Ragenrok 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,046
    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    that will be a niceupgrade, so far I really like the 9th gen chips, my 9600k has been really good so far. Div 2 only uses 60% of it lol
     
  19. VF31Tomcatters

    VF31Tomcatters Gawd

    Messages:
    659
    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    You have to go and scan the two areas and create a map, upload it to the SHD network outside the DZ. Have to do this for all 3 of the DZs. Little tip, while doing the Recon missions, all the loot containers are not contaminated so no need to extract them except for the one that mission oriented. So, I managed to get some good guns in the DZ.

    Another stupid question, where do I see my gear score now that I'm level 30. D'oh.
     
    Frraksurred and Q-BZ like this.
  20. jmaker

    jmaker Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    464
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Did anyone find the April Kelleher echo yet? It's a little hidden. Nice touch from the devs.
     
    Frraksurred likes this.
  21. Porter_

    Porter_ [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,874
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Nice tip about the DZ missions, thanks man. Your gear score will show up after you’ve reached world tier 1. You have to complete the strongholds to go into world tier 1.
     
    Q-BZ and VF31Tomcatters like this.
  22. Porter_

    Porter_ [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,874
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007


    Some good tips here, particularly the one about manually deactivating skills.
     
    Frraksurred, Q-BZ and SomeoneElse like this.
  23. Frraksurred

    Frraksurred 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,194
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Sounds like a bug I encountered also. There is not supposed to be any enemies in the DZ your first time in, at least not outside of the story elements. This happened to me with both the East and South DZ, I went there, got no marker as to where to go and it was behaving like a normal DZ. I had to leave, go do some little side thing on the map, and then come back. Then the mission kicked in properly and I could complete it.
     
    Q-BZ likes this.
  24. Frraksurred

    Frraksurred 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,194
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    I don't think so. What neck of the woods should I look?
     
  25. Frraksurred

    Frraksurred 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,194
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    You will remain level 30 (no Gear Score) until you complete all 3 Strongholds. Start with the one in Judiciary Court, then do Roosevelt Island, and finish with the True Sons. Once you finish the last one, you will get a 30 second timer telling you, you are entering World Tier 1. At that point, when you open your inventory, you should see your GS at the center of the build wheel (the circle that shows how many pieces you have in Defense, Offense and Utility).
     
    Q-BZ and VF31Tomcatters like this.
  26. polydiol

    polydiol [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,327
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
  27. jmaker

    jmaker Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    464
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    I believe Judiciary Square. It was close to the safe house.
     
    Frraksurred likes this.
  28. VF31Tomcatters

    VF31Tomcatters Gawd

    Messages:
    659
    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    That makes sense.

    Been eager to find out what happens to April. The book Broken Dawn will expand on the lore too. https://www.amazon.com/Tom-Clancys-...45&s=books&sprefix=broken+dawn,aps,197&sr=1-1


    Also, there's voice recordings of a certain baddie and a captain from NYC scattered around D.C.
     
    SomeoneElse, Q-BZ, Porter_ and 2 others like this.
  29. Frraksurred

    Frraksurred 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,194
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    I ran into a clan member in the clan room last night (Fat_Moisty), so apparently if a clan member is on the same server as you, our clan room acts as a common area. We saluted / waved, talked in the clan chat for a bit and moved on. This is the first clan member I have seen ingame apart from Neo (personal friend). I am really looking forward to getting back on a 'normal' schedule and hitting WT4.

    I am looking into setting up my Discord for 24/7 use. I tried doing this for the Betas, but it kept shutting itself down if no one was using it for a while. With the daughter moving out, I should have more headroom in my Internet plan as well.
     
    SomeoneElse, Q-BZ and jmaker like this.
  30. StryderxX

    StryderxX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,148
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    21 hours playing this game it's been rock solid. Today the game crashed twice already! :mad: WTF! This is pissin' me off.
     
  31. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,405
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    I haven't had any crashes, yet. I do get some occasional one-off quite long sutters though. Like around a 1 second long straight up everything locks up, like it wanted to crash, but it keeps running fine.
     
  32. WarriorX

    WarriorX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Are you running DX12 by chance? I also was getting crashes but after going back to DX11 it stopped happening.
     
  33. st4rk

    st4rk Gawd

    Messages:
    985
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Man you guys are lucky. I had to stop playing due to random crashes which caused mission progress and loot loss. The game takes FOREVER to load initially, so I couldn't deal with it anymore (it's installed on SSD too). Luckily I got Wildlands for free, so that is getting me by for now (that and Brutal Doom). Waiting for the next patch....
     
  34. HeYSNipES

    HeYSNipES n00b

    Messages:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Dx12 doesn't play nice for me on this game so dx11 it is.
     
    Q-BZ and Denpepe like this.
  35. Denpepe

    Denpepe [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,181
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    I had some stuttering in DX12 every now and then, seems gone now that I gotten back to DX11.
     
    Q-BZ likes this.
  36. craigdt

    craigdt [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,030
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Is this a game I can play a campaign by myself?
     
  37. swatbat

    swatbat [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,805
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    You can but I'd recommend doing all of the side missions so that you are going into new areas on the higher end of the leveling for them.

    Some of the main missions are kinda a pain in the ass. Having some help, even if its just random people online, really can make them less crazy.

    On a side note I see the mp5 st is back. The only person I've ever seen make one of those is Mike Woodward from TSC Machine. I need to ask him next time I see him if he made that off some hk prototype design or if he made it up himself. I'm wondering if they ripped him off.
     
  38. Frraksurred

    Frraksurred 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,194
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Yes. I've solo'd 95% of the campaign, side missions and Strongholds. As you move into end game and replay these missions on Hard and higher, you may want to squad up (which is typically just fun in general), but it is not required.

    What Swatbat is saying regarding the side missions is that the XP they reward you, scales with your rank, unlike the main missions. For this reason, it is useful to save most of them for after you hit rank 20. I waited until rank 25 to play almost all of them, and still had about 6 left over after hitting level 30, so it is not critical to save all of them.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2019
  39. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,405
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    You can play yourself, but it's way more fun playing with others. There seems to be more enemies thrown at you, and it's pure chaos at times.

    Finding a team is super easy as well. You just hover over what mission you want to play on the map, hit matchmaking, and accept. They really did a good job with how easy it is to choose missions/etc.
     
    Porter_ likes this.
  40. swatbat

    swatbat [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,805
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    I've been knocking out the side missions as I did the zones. It starts to get easier and you end up being closer to the top end of a zone when you go into it. For doing solo work I found it to be easier.

    One thing I found helpful as well is that the stash rooms in the control points refill a lot of the boxes daily. I'll wait till I level up and then make the rounds and collect gear. In many cases its been giving me better stuff than I had so it helps get started on the next level.

    I've had a good amount of trouble with the matchmaking. Had it keep throwing me in groups that were in other zones altogether not looking at the mission I wanted to play. I've also had it take a while to match up(xbox one edition).

    Big thing with matchmaking through is that you can be revived by others. This game likes to throw people at you from different angles and it can be easy to die as you get jumped sometimes. Being on a team means you don't have to wait to respawn and do parts over. It can also help when you get just screwed. I've had a few times where stuff isn't being displayed like fire and you get trashed. Again having even random match ups from the matchmaking can save your ass.