RT-AC68U clone $59 - use code WIFI40 - T-Mobile.com

Discussion in '[H]ot|DEALS' started by boushidosan, Nov 14, 2016.

  1. boushidosan

    boushidosan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    364
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Schiwing, T-Bob, NKD and 2 others like this.
  2. boushidosan

    boushidosan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    364
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Link to flashing instructions:

    https://slickdeals.net/forums/showpost.php?p=73690012&postcount=3895

    EDIT: My Router came in today, here are its hardware specs:
    HW Version: 170
    CFE Version: 2.1.2.2
    Board Revision: 0x1100
    NAND Info:

    Dec 31 16:00:17 kernel: Found a AMD NAND flash:
    Dec 31 16:00:17 kernel: pflash: found no supported devices
    Dec 31 16:00:17 kernel: bcmsflash: found no supported devices
    Dec 31 16:00:17 kernel: lookup_nflash_rootfs_offset: offset = 0x200000
    Dec 31 16:00:17 kernel: nflash: squash filesystem with lzma found at block 28Dec 31 16:00:17 kernel: Creating 6 MTD partitions on "nflash":
    Dec 31 16:00:18 kernel: Creating 2 MTD partitions on "brcmnand":
    Dec 31 16:00:18 kernel: 0x000006000000-0x000007ec0000 : "brcmnand"


    FINALLY!!! MERLIN!!

    http://imgur.com/a/DMY41
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2016
    T-Bob and cybrnook like this.
  3. Ocellaris

    Ocellaris Ginger Ale, an alcoholic's best friend.

    Messages:
    17,238
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
  4. mope54

    mope54 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,742
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Interesting, I didn't realize they sold these direct. I got two of them free from TMobile because we're on their cell plan.

    Fantastic router. I use merlin firmware on one and tomato on the other.
     
  5. boushidosan

    boushidosan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    364
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Which firmware do you like better? Any features missing / prioritized in one over the other?
     
  6. MavericK

    MavericK Zero Cool

    Messages:
    27,230
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    I bought one of these not too long ago for like $150... :mad:

    Just bought another one, though...great router, great price.
     
    boushidosan likes this.
  7. mope54

    mope54 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,742
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    I prefer merlin for being stock with bug fixes and improvements. I think it might rely on some proprietary code for speed and I know it does for QOS.

    I use Advanced Tomato on the second router because I need to use it as a wireless bridge (a feature not available via stock firmware).
     
    boushidosan likes this.
  8. cybrnook

    cybrnook Gawd

    Messages:
    1,004
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Holy Smokes, in for 2 x.
     
  9. LurkerLito

    LurkerLito [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,658
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
  10. Ocellaris

    Ocellaris Ginger Ale, an alcoholic's best friend.

    Messages:
    17,238
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
  11. DTN107

    DTN107 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    You might to double check on those "free" routers. Many folks found out the hard way that they are actually on "loan" and must be returned whenever you end your services with t-mobile. They registered the routers by serial number so you can't return a different one if you accidentally sold them or toss them out. If you fail to return them you pay $99 or in some cases $250 each.
     
    Mav451 likes this.
  12. mope54

    mope54 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,742
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Nothing to check. Seems pretty obvious that you'd have to return them if you stop your Tmobile service.
    Nothing hard to learn about that unless someone tried to scam Tmobile.
     
  13. Hanakuso

    Hanakuso [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,381
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Anyone know what's the range on this? My RT-AC56U is fast enough, but it starts to lose connection around 40-60 feet.
     
  14. mope54

    mope54 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,742
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    I have a 1600sq ft townhouse and it covers all of it from upstairs and a few houses down the street on either side.
     
  15. Odellus

    Odellus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,629
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    anyone using this with openwrt? what can it handle with sqm enabled?
     
  16. boushidosan

    boushidosan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    364
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
  17. Sp33dFr33k

    Sp33dFr33k 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,467
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Don't even have to be a tmobile customer so I can't see how you would ever need to return these. They've done this promotion before and no one who got them the first time has ever mentioned that. From their site:

    This product is available for purchase by both T-Mobile and non-T-Mobile customers.
     
  18. cybrnook

    cybrnook Gawd

    Messages:
    1,004
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    He/She wasn't talking about these (the sale), they were responding to the post above theirs. User talking about the leased routers......
     
    MavericK and Ocellaris like this.
  19. NoxTek

    NoxTek The Geek Redneck

    Messages:
    8,847
    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    BOUGHTED!

    Thanks OP! I've been looking for something to replace our current TP-Link WDR3600 and this will fit the bill nicely...
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2016
    boushidosan likes this.
  20. cybrnook

    cybrnook Gawd

    Messages:
    1,004
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    I am still blown away, the ac1900 platform from broadcom is pretty much the best "usable" home router platform you can get today. Thus is such a great deal, thanks again.
     
    boushidosan likes this.
  21. RipperMac

    RipperMac Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    335
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Time to dabble ..thanks for the heads up
     
    boushidosan likes this.
  22. NKD

    NKD [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,056
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    I dont need it but one heck of a deal. I can use it as repeater, a bridge, access point or simply a backup router. Just got a netgear repeater/bridge for 120. I think I am still within return policy. That baby is going back.
     
  23. silent-circuit

    silent-circuit [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    16,022
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Love my "real" AC68U. If you can get this on Merlin, excellent deal. If they're stuck on T-Mobile firmware (conflicting reports) then so-so deal.
     
  24. NoxTek

    NoxTek The Geek Redneck

    Messages:
    8,847
    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    I highly doubt their really 'stuck', hell if I have to I'll rig up a JTAG and flash it that way or something.
     
  25. NoxTek

    NoxTek The Geek Redneck

    Messages:
    8,847
    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Looks like the latest batches of the router are coming with a CFE (basically the bootloader) that locks the unit to only accept T-Mobile firmware. This doesn't make flashing a non T-mobile firmware impossible - you just have to flash an older T-Mobile firmware that doesn't have the CFE lock. Then you can flash the ASUS firmware, or DD-WRT, or whatever other firmware you like...

    More info:

    https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Asus_T-Mobile_Cellspot


    One of the things I'm really stoked about is that this router supports Tomato! I used Tomato on several deployed WRT54G units and absolutely love it. It's slick as snot, and has always been extremely stable.

    FWIW I hear the ASUS firmware is no slouch either so....
     
    MavericK likes this.
  26. boushidosan

    boushidosan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    364
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    From what I have read, the router will auto update the CFE if connected to the interwebz. This will make it harder to flash!

    NOTE to [H] Purchasers: Do not give it access to the webz0rz until you follow all your flashing instructions to change the CFE to your preferred distro.

    People could also update their posts with what firmware version their routers came with, I get mine today and will update!!
     
    MavericK likes this.
  27. cybrnook

    cybrnook Gawd

    Messages:
    1,004
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Yep, Engineer has it all spelled out clearly in the guide you posted. Thanks for that again btw.
     
    boushidosan likes this.
  28. Kluden

    Kluden Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    268
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    In for 1 too. Actually was in the market for a new router that could do ddwrt, so this was perfect timing!
     
  29. Bageland2000

    Bageland2000 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    169
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
  30. silent-circuit

    silent-circuit [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    16,022
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
  31. MrRuckus

    MrRuckus Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    159
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Set this up for my brother. He picked one up from Slickdeals a while back when it was like $30 via some promo. It covers his 3200sq ft 2 story house no problem. I could not get an aftermarket firmware to take on it due to the signature and the version he had. This was done a few months back so I dont remember all of the details. I tried for a short while and just gave up. Stock firmware is based off of DDWRT anyway. So its not that much different over stock. Overall good router. I have an Asus AC3200 myself and love it. Asus makes solid routers.
     
    MavericK and boushidosan like this.
  32. Bageland2000

    Bageland2000 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    169
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Good point. For those on T-mo though, this is an EXCELLENT option.
     
  33. boushidosan

    boushidosan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    364
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
  34. cybrnook

    cybrnook Gawd

    Messages:
    1,004
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    SFB likes this.
  35. buhbuhfet

    buhbuhfet Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    437
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    any success flashing it whoever just got it?
     
  36. boushidosan

    boushidosan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    364
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
  37. nightanole

    nightanole [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    For all those would are using outdated information or myths....

    NEVER let this thing connect to the internet till after the first boot of the 3rd party firmware. As others have stated it will auto update if it sees internet. Odd are i spent 1-2 hours boxing with it. I would get uboot flashed correctly, and then it would boot the tmobile image because i did not quite throw enough bones to get it into limp mode, and that would blow away the uboot, but i would not know it. Then i would get back into limp mode, and wonder why the hell my uboot changed, rinse repeat.

    Once you get uboot fixed and are on a 3rd party firmware you are gold.
    As for all the haters uboot is pretty much set in stone, so even if you install the dredded asus firmware with image lock, you can still just reboot into limp mode and use the uboot gui to flash whatever you want, only flashing from the asus update page is locked to asus images.

    If you want ultra low pings, install tomato or openwrt with sqm QOS baked in. No matter what you are doing on the network ping will be just as good as if zero traffic was flowing, aka zero buffer bloat. However you will sacrifice 5-10mbs of bandwith to achieve zero buffer bloat, for me , disabled i got 7.3Mbs with a 1200ms ping, and enabled i got 6.5Mbs with a 50ms ping. Using pfsense to do the same thing i could still pull 7Mbs with zero buffer bloat. Using merlin firmware and smart QOS, i could still pull 7.3Mbs but ping would go to 150-200ms. Yes i am blessed with a 50mbs connection that runs a bit faster than it should.

    As for the other haters that think the new tmobile firmware disables the ability to get to limp mode, they are just doing it wrong. It takes a bit of a nack to get the timing down to bring up the tmobile uboot gui to be able to flash telnet to downgrade the tmobile firmware so you can change uboot.
     
    boushidosan likes this.
  38. boushidosan

    boushidosan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    364
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Yes just keeping the page on 192.168.29.1 and hitting refresh after doing the hardware recovery mode instantly pulled up the firmware flashing page for me downgrade. So far it is working great with merlin. Will update if there are any concerns with stability
     
  39. cybrnook

    cybrnook Gawd

    Messages:
    1,004
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    SFB likes this.
  40. MavericK

    MavericK Zero Cool

    Messages:
    27,230
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    So did you guys just follow the directions on the DD-WRT wiki, or is there more to it?