Post your Ryzen memory speeds!

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by bobzdar, Mar 15, 2017.

  1. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,107
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    There's only so many updates I can permit myself in one post :p

    New day, new tests. I bumped the voltage one notch last night to 1.125V on SoC, but since it was already late I just put the system to sleep. Been doing stress test today, and while I don't know what period of time is needed in AIDA to qualify as having tested a system's total capacity... it's been 3hr exactly so far. Note: This is also with ProcODT at 48Ohm. If this ends up being stable in FO76 as well, at least I'll know and can then go back and raise the ODT to 53.3 to determine what (if any) impact it has.
     
  2. DogsofJune

    DogsofJune 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,751
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    I know the feeling. I'm awaiting the rest of the watercooling replacements and a new case for the 2600 box and really start to eek out some goodness
     
  3. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,107
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Well I feel like 4hrs of AIDA64 Memory Stress Test and 4hrs of uninterrupted FO76 are pretty conclusive (with GPU fans below what I'd normally have it at, so it's probably 83C instead of 65-70C).

    MSI X370 Titanium w/ BIOS 1.J0 and a Ry 7 1700X, 2x8GB kit of originally 15-15-15-35
    CPU @ 38.5x 1.35V, LLC Mode 1
    CPU-NB @ 1.125V, LLC Mode 1
    DRAM @ 3200 13-13-13-30 43 CR 1T, ProcODT 48Ohm 1.41V, GearDownMode Disable, BankGroupSwap Disable (all other timings, see below image)
    DRAM VREF Ch.A and Ch.B @ 0.720V

    I think that's all the relevant info.... If it's not mentioned, it's Auto or Default. Even Spread Spectrum is enabled, for that matter. [All boxes at top with a Yellow Rectangle are Auto]

    DDR4-3200 13-13-13-30.png


    March 9 UPDATE: Just a small one to mention I once again was able to play FO76 for about 4.5hrs straight without a crash :D Yay!
    (That's even with increasing my GPU's memory speed 50MHz! [200Mhz effective]) I think this may not have been stable after all. No big deal.


    March 22 UPDATE: Many days with many hours of gaming and I've experienced zero instability (I only sleep my computer, so this is important). Super happy, and further surprised by this!
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2019
  4. bobzdar

    bobzdar [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,645
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Well, I upgraded from my c6h/2700X to an x399m/1920X threadripper build, added two more sticks of the corsair lpx3000 ram from the OP and set xmp profile and it ran fine. To test stability I ran about 7 hours of the 24h of nurburgring in iracing straight in VR (I drove 3.5 hours of it), though that doesn't fully load the cpu, but is a good combined load. I'll do some photogrammetry in 3df zephyr which will load the CPU and GPU 100% to really test stability later this week.

    That's quad channel on hynix ram on 1st gen ryzen, supposedly worst case scenario, and it works fine out of the box at 3000mhz cl15. Not sure what bios revision I'm even running yet, will probably spend some time this week tweaking it to see where the limits are.

    Now to wait for core madness with zen2.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2019
  5. dook43

    dook43 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,913
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    That sounds like a meh upgrade at best
     
  6. Below Ambient

    Below Ambient [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,438
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Tr is not ryzen
     
  7. bobzdar

    bobzdar [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,645
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Uh, what's that say in huge letters in the middle of the heat spreader? I can't quite read it. Plus, TR can be pretty finnicky due to being quad channel, especially first gen...More so than am4 with 2 ram sticks (which is what I was running before).
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 6, 2019
  8. bobzdar

    bobzdar [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,645
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    For gaming it is, but for photogrammetry it's not. Plus, at $299 it's basically the same cost as a 2700X, but you get an extra 4 cores/8 threads and only around 5% lower single core performance. It runs 3.7 all core and 4.2 on up to 4 cores, so pretty similar in lower threaded apps to the 2700X which ran 4.35 single and down to around 4.2 on 4 cores, 4.0 all cores. In highly threaded stuff it's ~35% faster. I sold the 2700X and board for what the chip and hsf cost, so the main expense was the board - and now I have the ability to go 32c in the future (or 64c, depending on what zen2 brings, which is why I didn't go for a higher end tr, this may be temporary).
     
  9. thebufenator

    thebufenator [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,209
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Anybody have a cold boot fix?

    I have a Crosshair VI, 2700x, and 2x 8GB B-die.

    I have issues where as long as I keep the computer running, it is stable, but getting a boot after a shut down can be a real pain.

    I am using the Stilt's safe 3200 mhz timings, and 1.4vdimm. I had been running 3200mhz ram, but recently can't get a boot above 3133 for the ram. Like I said, if I can get the computer to post it is stable for months (I never shut down). but my 3 year old likes to press illuminated buttons......
     
  10. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,107
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Doesn't the Crosshair VI have voltage for DRAM during POSTing? (Training Voltage I think it's called?)
    If so, bump that up to like 1.43V.

    It'll raise the DRAM voltage to that during POST but then bring it back to the 1.4V afterwards.

    Alternatively, have you tried increasing the CPU_NB (aka SOC) voltage a tiny bit? It may be stable, but help in that instance.
     
  11. Priller

    Priller Gawd

    Messages:
    566
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Post the rest of your voltages.
     
  12. arbitrary

    arbitrary n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    X470 Gaming Pro Carbon with 2x8gb F4-3733C17D and Ryzen 1600 I can get 3466 14-14-14-34

    X470 Gaming M7 with 2x8gb F4-3600C15D and Ryzen 2600x I can get 3533 14-15-14-36, this board even manages to run my XMP profile of 3600c15 with a slight bump in voltage
     
    Pieter3dnow likes this.