Pictures Of Your Dually Rigs!

Zarathustra[H]

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
31,700
Hello one and all again!
I posted my dual-CPU rig in here back in november 2013. it's been a year and some months since then, and I've gone ahead and done some minor upgrades to it. Just thought I'd post some pics since, although it's an old sucker and DEFINITELY slower than most peoples' laptops now (as was said before... ;) ), it's still quite the workhorse. Getting to a point where it's showing its age (as if it wasn't already!) for some things I'm doing that I wasn't a year ago, such as constant nightly Google+ hangouts, but normally this only uses about 30% of each core or so when there's nothing really happening.

So, onto pics.

Here's where it currently stands... I took this after a cleaning. Having a gas station nearby with a free air tire pump is the best thing ever. don't need to pay for canned air, and I don't need to worry about rust in the line, since the pump gets used daily and is well-maintained.
[url]http://a.pomf.se/ezerpw.jpg[/URL]

the RAID card in the PCI slot with the small heatsink turned out not to work. it'd make the machine lock up on POST after loading the card's option ROM to detect the drives. I believe this to be a bug in the BIOS in relation to the board's nForce CK804 (nForce 430, pretty much) and the nVRAID stuff. There's nothing I can technically do about it since Tyan does not support this board anymore.

and SPEAKING OF THE NFORCE, that thing gets HOT. like SERIOUSLY hot. I'd love to someday be able to take the board out and replace the heatsink on it (which is sort of mangled finwise because of all the fans I've tried to mount on it in the past) so to bring the temps down. if the temps on that are kept low, the system performs better. it especially helps out the nForce Gigabit adapter on-board, which would make the temps rise drastically with extensive use. This isn't such a problem at the moment as I've taken to using a dual-port Intel PRO/1000PT adapter in the X16-sized PCIe x4 slot. the Broadcom Gigabit onboard also doesn't like to play nice sometimes, so using this NIC over the nV and Broadcom onboard have become a necessity. I'll probably sometime soon replace it with a proper PCI single-port NIC as I have no use for the second port in reality. this is just what I had on hand that wasn't a Marvell-based card or a low profile Intel card that would also have sufficed.

The hole placement on the nForce heatsink is sort-of nonstandard in that the heatsink is rectangular instead of square. in this picture, you can see that clearly:
[url]http://a.pomf.se/vakfrj.jpg[/URL]

I also believe the heatsink to be painted and not anodized, which just adds insult to injury.
I've only seen this board in one other "modern" build of this decade, one which was dismantled and replaced with a new AM3 board, recently. boo.
Pic:
[url]http://a.pomf.se/prhfhs.jpg[/URL]

What's even more troubling is that I'm currently seeing what I believe are problem signs in the voltage department. I probably should be placing a multimeter probe on the 5v and 12v rails to determine accuracy, but I'm getting some unsettling readings from the sensors.

http://a.pomf.se/oiewkr.png
Ignore the Winbond sensor for the most part, I think it's reading some of the voltage sensors wrong... at the same time take a close look at it since I believe some of them to be right... sans the fan speed. Either that's because I'm sharing the PWM signal for a few fans, or because it's just that far off.

Anyways, just wanted to post that bit of update... since the last time I did post it, some people thought it looked pretty neat, even though it was old.

and yes, the webcam is still inside... but now it's pointing at something entirely different...!
[url]http://a.pomf.se/ktknes.png[/URL]
because why not. clicking the image above will take you to a Youtube video of the light show the fan puts off. it's off the NB heatsink of an old Intel 875X-based MSI board that was new-in-box and got scrapped.

Can't see any of your pictures :(

Apparently a.pomf.se is blocked as a "malicious website" by our firewall.
 
Last edited:

mikeblas

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - May 2006
Joined
Jun 26, 2004
Messages
12,775
Zarathustra[H];1041562151 said:
Can't see any of your pictures :(

Apparently a.pomf.se is blocked as a "malicious website" by our firewall.

I can see 'em. I saw them twice, in fact: in the original post, and in your quote of the whole post. I don't think anyone here is able to fix your firewall.
 

Zarathustra[H]

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
31,700
I can see 'em. I saw them twice, in fact: in the original post, and in your quote of the whole post. I don't think anyone here is able to fix your firewall.

My bad, since I couldn't see them it completely slipped my mind that they would appear in my quote. I'll edit them out.

Wasn't expecting help with the firewall. it was more of an indirect way of wondering if that is a legit hosting site, and possibly a heads up to the poster that some (many?) people may not be able to see them.
 
Last edited:

mikeblas

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - May 2006
Joined
Jun 26, 2004
Messages
12,775
Zarathustra[H];1041562572 said:
My bad, since I couldn't see them it completely slipped my mind that they would appear in my quote. I'll edit them out.
Thanks! :)

Seems like it's a legit hosting site to me. But those get blocked at work because the content is unknown and uncontrollable, and only rarely work-related. (And, probably more likely, because whatever firewall service vendor decided to block them for whatever reason.) If you want to use it yourself, you can start at their home page whenever you're on a more liberal network.
 

Sudos

n00b
Joined
Jan 8, 2013
Messages
11
jam? eh? im just a weeb who's slightly towards the hardware enthusiast side too :p

your hardware reminds me of that of the person that convinced me to look for a dual-socket motherboard in the first place. same type of machine... but looking back, their machine had some much different heatsinks on the CPUs therein. is that board meant to go with that chassis? that may explain it. the hardware along with the weeb name (and a nicely picked one at that) kind-of threw me off.

=======================
on a more topic-based remark, I have a dual-500MHz GigE PowerMac G4 I'd love to drop some pics of in here sometime.... after the thing is seriously cleaned.
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
your hardware reminds me of that of the person that convinced me to look for a dual-socket motherboard in the first place. same type of machine... but looking back, their machine had some much different heatsinks on the CPUs therein. is that board meant to go with that chassis? that may explain it. the hardware along with the weeb name (and a nicely picked one at that) kind-of threw me off

I've always recommended dual socket since my first socket 771 system a few years back, the coolers on here are new though before these zalman ones they just had standard intel 2U coolers on.

hmm the board and case aren't 'made for each other' but it's basically a stand alone server case so the board does fit very snugly, no wasted space and all the fans are on clips for easy removal but they are by no means made for each other XD the case is a chenbro the board is intel but it's not in the Intel case that's available (but then I'm not complaining given it all costed me nothing XD)
 

Eni

n00b
Joined
Sep 23, 2012
Messages
7
I am finishing a build for video editing and some 3D work

Tell me what do you think
xviepy.jpg

rvvldt.jpg

Motherboard: Evga SR-X
CPU: 2 x Xeon e5-2650
Ram: 4 x 8 Gskill Trident X 2400Mhz
Hard Drive: Kingston Hyper X Fury 240
Second Storage: Synology Diskstation 4 Bay conected via Ethernet
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W
VGA: For now quadro FX4800 (waiting for Quadro K5000 to deliver)
Case: Xigmatek Elysium
Watercooling.... A lot of stuff from EK

Sorry for pictures quality
 

Eni

n00b
Joined
Sep 23, 2012
Messages
7
My second Rig
uthvry.jpeg

itrust.jpeg

MOTHERBOARD: Asus Z9PA-D8 Dual LGA 2011 Xeon E5-2600 Family + ASMB6-iKVM.
CPU: 1 x Xeon E5-2660 Series V2 2.3ghz (3.1ghz Turbo Cache) 10 Core/20 threads.
CPU COOLER: 1 x Be Quiet! Dark Rock 2 Silent CPU Cooler.
RAM: GEIL 4 x 8GB Quad Channel 1600Mhz CL9.
VGA: Nvidia Quadro K4000, PCI Express 2.0, 3GB GDDR5, 786 CUDA Cores.
SOUNDCARD: Sound Blaster Creative SB1040 X-FI Xtreme PCI Express.
USB 3.0 ADAPTER: Delock 89315 2 X External + 1 X Internal 19PIN USB 3.0 PCI Express Card.
POWER SUPPLY: Cooler Master Power Supply V1000 80 Plus Gold.
OPTICAL DRIVE: SATA Internal 24X DVDRW w/DVDRAM.
CASE: Cooler Master
 

Wiseguy2001

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 28, 2001
Messages
3,466
Video of Linus 'Techtips' destroying a pair of Xeon E5 2699v3's (by using cable ties to "secure" the heatsink instead of waiting a few days for the correct mounting hardware).

It's painful to watch.. this is what happens when you have more hardware than sense! :(
 

ClintE

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 27, 2006
Messages
131
Hardware setup like that requires duct tape to secure the heat sinks properly.

Duct Tape FTW !!!
 

.Gunfire

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 15, 2009
Messages
505
Video of Linus 'Techtips' destroying a pair of Xeon E5 2699v3's (by using cable ties to "secure" the heatsink instead of waiting a few days for the correct mounting hardware).

It's painful to watch.. this is what happens when you have more hardware than sense! :(

Yeah, I actually kind of raged when watching those..

Like seriously, he can't wait a few days to order the proper heat sinks instead of ghetto rigging some hardware that is almost the same price of my new car...
 

juri36

n00b
Joined
Nov 10, 2014
Messages
1
TWQhZw2l.jpg

2GtaF4jl.jpg

U4JWWWAl.jpg

uinvZ3dl.jpg

Supermicro H8DG6-F
2x AMD Opteron 6272
Be Quiet Pure Rock with a simple mod since it is not G34 compatible.

It wasn't easy to find something that would fit between RAM modules and 24pin plug (and RAM modules - MOSFET radiator on the other cpu) since there is just 9.5cm of space. After some research I've shortlisted to Thermalright Macho family and some Be Quiet coolers. I guess Thermalright Macho rev.B or Macho Zero would be best since they would cover whole IHS on CPU. Unfortunately in my country those are twice as expensive as Pure Rock and pretty close to the price of Noctua which does not require any modifications.
Budget was tight so I got cheapest Pure Rock's paid less than 80$ for both including parts for mod. They are sufficient, temps are low and noise is gone :)
 
Last edited:

runt

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 16, 2000
Messages
2,437
ptak6BV3cIl73eH3MYdVD-uyag50ZUvxzz8otpGnA2amBGyQ4Fv8KY-OiXfFurhMVZY4BD-J1MgWvSk=w1576-h951-rw

jq-98VRuFvvVy5uf6svws6YwSDffNhw-nBNkwo-x0Uo7r8yXhlAlnZIDeKqSarr0rELphop6nvAhvN8=w1576-h951-rw

XdVZJrmODbUvd8TcNcs0QWwOy0vHIJS27Zrvu5E14OEWbJdt1WVGrCRHmqcOtxO9m-BbrQH3UHvE4bU=w1576-h951-rw

rNmi3qiKlt7ZIYnLO1-h4euZMx2_Ivl_nhSxz-kUndNqzUTuhADxI2zKc2JJvoirDDsep9rj1NqWRTo=w1576-h951-rw

Supermicro H8DG6-F
2x AMD Opteron 6272
Be Quiet Pure Rock with a simple mod since it is not G34 compatible.

It wasn't easy to find something that would fit between ram modules and 24pin plug (and ram modules - MOSFET radiator on the other cpu) since there is just 9.5cm of space. After some research i've shortlisted to Thermalright Macho family and some Be Quiet coolers. I guess Thermalright Macho rev.b or Macho Zero would be best since it would cover whole IHS on CPU. Unfortunately those are twice as expensive as Pure Rock and pretty close to the price of Noctua which does not require any modifications.
Budget was tight so i got cheapest Pure Rock's paid lass than 80$ for both including parts for mod. they are sufficient, temps are low and noise is gone :)

Don't have permission to view the pictures.
 

Duke2k

n00b
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
2
OK, here's my 'Dually rig':
My 2nd workstation is a dual Xeon Prestonia (2.4 GHz, LV, 40 W TDP each) setup with Windows Server 2008 Enterprise an 8 GB ECC Reg DDR-266 RAM (4x 2 GB) on a SuperMicro X5DPA-GG Board, 2x WD Blue 160 GB HDDs, HP dvd630 toaster, Matrox Parhelia PCI-X graphics, SB Live! 5.1 with active GamePort and Microsoft SideWinder joystick attached to it. :D

All mounted in a CoolerMaster Elite 372 case, with a beQuiet Pure Power L8 350 W PSU.

Why WinSrv2008 Enterprise x86? Because with PAE enabled, it can address up to 64 GB RAM. I don't like to fiddle around with kernel hacks...

Here are some pictures:




 
Last edited:

Juda$

n00b
Joined
Nov 14, 2013
Messages
23
2x Dual Xeon 5355 2.66 quad core
Intel VSA 5000 motherboard
16GB ECC RAM
8x Seagate 2TB ST20000DM0011ER1 in Raid 10
1x San Disk SSD boot Drive
Mellanox Connect X dual port 10Gbit Infiniband adapter
Dell Perc H700
Akasa Eclipse 62 Case

 
Last edited:

Deadjasper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
1,861
My new FreeNAS box -

Chassis - Supermicro SC846E16-R1200B
Backplane - BPN-SAS2-846EL1
2 x 1200w Gold PSU's
MB - X8DTE-F
Old Intel x25 80GB SSD for boot drive
CPU - Xeon X5570 x 2
Memory - 64GB DDR3 ECC
HBA - LSI 9211 flashed to IT mode
Storage - 8 x 3TB and 7 x 1TB (waiting on 2 more 3TB to complete my media RAIDz2 volume)

PKD02Qx.jpg
 

Zarathustra[H]

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
31,700
I just finished building my new vSphere Hypervisor 6 machine that is replacing essentially my entire home network. I had previously a small i5-2500S machine running ESXi and three independent Atom boxes running various services, but I am migrating them all to this new box.

Supermicro SC846A-R900B
Supermicro X8DTE-F Motherboard
Supermicro SAS846EL1 24 bay SAS Backplane
2x Intel Xeon L5630 2.13GHz Quad Core CPUs
6x 2GB DDR3-1066 Registered ECC
Adaptec ASR-5805Z SAS Controller

For hard drives, I am re-using many of my WD Red drives for storage and downloading, but the VMs themselves are now running off of some HP 300GB 15K SAS drives that I had kicking around for a future need.

Total out of pocket cost for this setup is $320.54 after shipping. $258.65 for the Case, motherboard, SAS controller and backplane; $37.90 for the CPUs; and $23.99 for the memory.


http://i1340.photobucket.com/albums...E-3A88-4C25-A46A-2CB35EACC1A3_zpsrmofjakh.jpg

http://i1340.photobucket.com/albums...5-D36F-41CA-87EF-AF795CE1EA0D_zpsdvsxpztu.jpg

http://i1340.photobucket.com/albums...7-4050-46DB-9FE8-F2754798C628_zpss4dtypcb.jpg

http://i1340.photobucket.com/albums...8-9811-4113-99ED-8A8394DAB681_zpsk5147ocq.jpg


Nice, I have a very similar system myself. I went with a Norco Chassis instead of SuperMicro, and I have the non-F version of that motherboard (great board! Love all the x8 slots) and dual 6 core L5640's, as well as 96GB of RAM.

This hardware may be older but it is still VERY capable today.

Starting to wish I had added more RAM though. I have an overabundance of CPU power, and PCIe expansion, but I always find myself a little tight on the RAM front. Such is virtualization, I guess.

I have mine filled up with 8GB sticks. I'd start replacing them with 16GB modules, but they are just so damned expensive...
 
Joined
May 4, 2015
Messages
4
Hi everybody,

Small contribution from Belgium. This is my dual Xeon rig I am messing with.
X-Case RM 424 Pro Rev 2
Supermicro X9DRH-7F
2 x Intel Xeon E5-2680 ES
I still have to decide for memory and hard disks.

General intention is to have it run ESX with a few VM to handle storage and stuff for streaming through the house.

IMG_1267.JPG

IMG_1268.JPG

xeon.jpg


The Supermicro 3U chassis is housing storage now, but became to small :D
The bottom one is stil empty.
Once all the date has been moved to the X-Case, both Supermicro 3u boxes will be used to expand the storage.
 
Joined
May 4, 2015
Messages
4
Hi everybody,

Small contribution from Belgium, my dual Xeon rig being still under construction:
X-Case RM 424 Pro Rev 2
Supermicro X9DRH-7F
2 x Intel Xeon E5-2680 ES
Still have to decide on memory, hard disks and raid card

Intention will be to have this run ESX with a few VM's to handle storage and stuff for streaming through the house.

IMG_1267.JPG

IMG_1268.JPG

xeon.jpg


The Supermicro 3U chassis in the middle has now all the storage, but became to small :D
The Second 3U chassis at the bottom is still empty.

Once all the date has been moved to the X-case, Both 3U boxes can and will be used to enlarge storage.
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,445
So I just bought this thing

oloDp4H.jpg


(pic shamelessly pulled from eBay since I'm still arranging freight)
Will be interesting to see how it performs, I've never owned a single image system this big (512 cores) before.

Holy moly, that thing is huge - 3 phase power as well:eek::eek:
 

AthlonXP

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
20,449
Snagged from the Dell outlet Business a T7810 Workstation for $650

Here are the specs:

Dual Intel Dual Xeon E5-2609 v3 Processor (6C, 15MB Cache, 1.9GHz)
64GB DDR4 2133 ECC (4x16GB)
2TB HDD (I have a 256gb SSD i will put in for OS)
Quadro K2200

I will post some pics up when I get it. I figured I would use it for testing and I assume set it up to host VM's.
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
and im back on the xeons, have been away from them for a bit, but there's something about them that calls me back to them whenever i try to leave :p i should know better by now, the board i had with the L5640's did a boomerang though, same exact board that i had before, just got it back now :p running a pair of X5675's, 24gb ram (12x2gb) for now and a gtx 690 with a 760 for physx (also for now :p ) the rest is in the sig along with a validation, image here also (don't have any with the 760 in but the validation has it in)

pics (other links weren't working) https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B8H2Nuzku6DlcGsweTJfUHh1Q2c&usp=sharing
 
D

Deleted member 82943

Guest
whoa, you're in luck, you have no need for a space heater, just lug that thing around.

in all seriousness that's a lot of compute right there!
 

ChristmasGT

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
340
Just finished building this for my buddy for Rendering.

Running Dual X5750's with a SuperMicro x8dt3-ln4f and 48GB of RAM.

GPU is a 7970

Coolers are dual NH-D14's inside of a White Corsair Air 540, overall looks super slick.

PSU is a Corsair 750i Platinum.

udYUOds.jpg


ae27Vlt.jpg


jreCI4p.jpg


wkHLqT6.jpg
 

w1retap

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
12,910
Parts arrived.. putting it all together. :woot:

Intel S2600CP Dual LGA2011 Motherboard
2x Intel Xeon E5-2670 2.60GHz 20MB Cache SR0KX (16 cores / 32 threads total)
128GB (16x8GB) Kingston DDR3-1333 ECC RAM
2x Zalman CNPS-10X Extreme CPU Coolers

20160420_193633.jpg


20160420_193726.jpg


20160420_193813.jpg


20160422_145518.jpg


20160422_145601.jpg


20160422_145621.jpg


20160422_155743.jpg


20160422_155941.jpg


20160422_155959.jpg
 

Quartz-1

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 20, 2011
Messages
4,257
Would it not be better to turn the right-hand CPU cooler around and have the CPU coolers each blowing away from the other? Because right now one is blowing into the other.
 
Top