Pictures Of Your Dually Rigs!

Discussion in 'Multiprocessing Systems' started by nuclearsnake, Jan 1, 2004.

  1. m1919

    m1919 n00bie

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    The current battlewagon, Crimson Tide.

    I was running a Corsair 800D, but the CPU and GPU temps under load were pretty shit during the summer. This case moves much more air and with the 140mm coolers, surprisingly runs about 10C cooler than the old case. The 800D is now my server, but sadly not dual-socket right now.

    In the process of moving I was able to drop the spot cooling I had on my VRMs. Due to massive airflow potential in this case, the 750 Ti I use for my secondary monitors doesn't even need a fan on it anymore. I would have dropped it completely, but Nvidia stupidly will not fix their idle clocks when running more than two monitors on a single card.

    I might do the all-core unlock, not sure yet.

    I'm thinking Corsair should add some active cooling for the 3.5-inch bay on the cold side of the case, I installed a 60mm Noctua temporarily until I move my last spinning disks off to the server. Related to this, making the 3.5-inch bay replaceable with another 4-drive SSD caddy would be a nice change in the future. Also a tempered glass side panel would look great on this case.

    Corsair Air 740
    Asus Z10PE-D8 WS
    2x QFSC 10-Core QS (Stock: 2.9 GHz base, 3.1 all-core, 3.3 two-core) at 104 MHz FSB (3.0 GHz base, 3.2 all-core, 3.4 two-core)
    2x Cooler Master MasterLiquid 140mm
    64GB Samsung DDR4 ECC 2133 MHz
    2x EVGA GTX 1080 FTW Hybrid
    EVGA GTX 750 Ti
    Sound Blaster Z
    Samsung 850 Evo 250GB (OS drive)
    Intel 330 120GB (Scratch drive)
    4x Corsair Force LE 480GB
    2x WD Black 1TB
    EVGA Supernova 1000P2

    Old build:
    0nvOIzhh.jpg

    2vTFTz4h.jpg

    The new config:
    FAwUE0Xh.jpg

    ANZvtMBh.jpg

    nGK6xHUh.jpg

    ESw0adRh.jpg

    fsUFrZvh.jpg

    bV8oMxIh.jpg

    fShoiv8h.jpg

    uYaU6Kxh.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2018
    Armenius, gigatexal, Dextano and 2 others like this.
  2. w1retap

    w1retap [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,473
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Updated my ESXi whitebox last month. :D Asrock Rack EP2C612 WS + Dual Xeon E5-2667v3's + 64GB DDR4-2133 ECC Reg

    o7BfAlkl.jpg

    nWA3lQ6l.jpg
     
    Armenius, ND40oz and Deadjasper like this.
  3. WhoBeDaPlaya

    WhoBeDaPlaya 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,587
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    m1919 : The 750Ti seems a little out of place. PhysX? Or to drive extra monitors?
     
  4. ballistic

    ballistic Gawd

    Messages:
    738
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    They said in the post that it is being used to drive their other monitors so the 1080s will properly drop to idle clocks.
     
  5. WhoBeDaPlaya

    WhoBeDaPlaya 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,587
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    My bad, missed that somehow.
     
  6. DJS4000

    DJS4000 Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    so for years i wanted a dual processor system to use as a server and to play around with. i used to have an AMD A8-6600K working as a server but running plex and a few game servers (conan exiles when playing with the bros, don't starve together when playing with the GF) at the same time brought it to its knees. now it finally happened, and i got a dell T610 off ebay for 160€ shipped!

    it came with 2 xeon E5620s, 24gigs of ram and 6 15k rpm SAS drives:

    20180619_192925.jpg

    so, first things first - fan modding. the OEM case/cpu fans are really loud, so throwing them out for something quieter is quite common. apparently the usual choice for these are arctic F9 PWM fans, but i chose some be quiets:

    20180619_193035.jpg

    and as luck would have it, the pins from the be quiet fans, once extracted from the standard 4-pin connector, fit the dell proprietary plug. no soldering needed at all! the difference now is day and night.

    next up: CPUs. for another 100€ (shipped) i got a matched pair of xeon X5670s, for a total of 12 cores, 24 threads. the old TIM was literally rock solid, i had to use a plastic scraper on the coolers to get it all off. here are the old cpus, now clean:

    20180619_194704.jpg 20180619_194734.jpg

    anyone need some old s1366 xeons? i'd rather not throw them in a box to be forgotten. if you are in europe and want them, just hit me up - they're free.

    finally, installing an MSI GTX1050 for plex hardware-based encoding. had to mod on of the PCIe slots to make it fit, since you're only supposed to put x8-long cards in it.

    system is running windows server 2016 on a 240gig sandisk ssd i had laying around. another one of those is on its way, so i can put the OS/backup drive in raid 1.

    20180619_192936.jpg

    obligatory task manager and cinebench shots:

    1.JPG 2.JPG

    i love this thing, low-level-IPMI access is a god-send and now everything i need to run does so flawlessly.

    20180619_191914.jpg

    things to do: maybe get some extra ram, since it's cheap and wait for the three extra 4TB HGST drives to arrive to extend my plex library. i'm quite happy (y)
     
    Deadjasper likes this.
  7. jetfire

    jetfire Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    is the xeon X5670s the fastest chip for the 1366 socket ? as i have a tyan s7010 mobo with the old cpus that you have removed from ur system and looking to buy some X5670s for about 70 quid. as i am about 760 on cinebench :(
     
  8. DJS4000

    DJS4000 Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    the fastest 5600-series xeon would be the X5690 with 3.46GHz base / 3.73GHz Turbo. they are around 100 bucks each. cost/performance-wise i think the X5670 or X5675 are the sweet spot.
     
    jetfire and Deadjasper like this.
  9. jetfire

    jetfire Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    do i need to buy a matched pair of cpus or can i just get 2 the same spec and fit those? ones i was bidding on went over budget at £80
     
  10. Spun Ducky

    Spun Ducky Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    399
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    You would just need two of the same spec. So two x5670s for example are what I run in one of my servers that aren't a matched pair. It just has to be the same model.
     
    jetfire likes this.
  11. jetfire

    jetfire Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
  12. jetfire

    jetfire Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    i got 2 x5670s for £79 and free postage,but i dont have ecc memory does this matter ? as says not supported with the cpus i have and supported with x5670s.
     
  13. .Gunfire

    .Gunfire Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    377
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Damn son, time to dust that thing off...
     
    Aenra likes this.
  14. Farva

    Farva King of borked Picture links

    Messages:
    35,842
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    This is a showoff thread, not a how to build a dually rig thread. ;)
     
  15. jetfire

    jetfire Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    you should of seen it b4 i cleaned it out had to use a plastic trowel to dig out 10 years worth of dust out of it :rolleyes:
     
  16. jetfire

    jetfire Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
  17. acascianelli

    acascianelli [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,664
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
  18. jetfire

    jetfire Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    it is win 10 pro what it says in system but shows as win 8 in cinebench for some reason?