Pictures Of Your Dually Rigs!

DJS4000

Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2009
Messages
711
so for years i wanted a dual processor system to use as a server and to play around with. i used to have an AMD A8-6600K working as a server but running plex and a few game servers (conan exiles when playing with the bros, don't starve together when playing with the GF) at the same time brought it to its knees. now it finally happened, and i got a dell T610 off ebay for 160€ shipped!

it came with 2 xeon E5620s, 24gigs of ram and 6 15k rpm SAS drives:

20180619_192925.jpg

so, first things first - fan modding. the OEM case/cpu fans are really loud, so throwing them out for something quieter is quite common. apparently the usual choice for these are arctic F9 PWM fans, but i chose some be quiets:

20180619_193035.jpg

and as luck would have it, the pins from the be quiet fans, once extracted from the standard 4-pin connector, fit the dell proprietary plug. no soldering needed at all! the difference now is day and night.

next up: CPUs. for another 100€ (shipped) i got a matched pair of xeon X5670s, for a total of 12 cores, 24 threads. the old TIM was literally rock solid, i had to use a plastic scraper on the coolers to get it all off. here are the old cpus, now clean:

20180619_194704.jpg 20180619_194734.jpg

anyone need some old s1366 xeons? i'd rather not throw them in a box to be forgotten. if you are in europe and want them, just hit me up - they're free.

finally, installing an MSI GTX1050 for plex hardware-based encoding. had to mod on of the PCIe slots to make it fit, since you're only supposed to put x8-long cards in it.

system is running windows server 2016 on a 240gig sandisk ssd i had laying around. another one of those is on its way, so i can put the OS/backup drive in raid 1.

20180619_192936.jpg

obligatory task manager and cinebench shots:

1.JPG 2.JPG

i love this thing, low-level-IPMI access is a god-send and now everything i need to run does so flawlessly.

20180619_191914.jpg

things to do: maybe get some extra ram, since it's cheap and wait for the three extra 4TB HGST drives to arrive to extend my plex library. i'm quite happy (y)
 

jetfire

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
182
is the xeon X5670s the fastest chip for the 1366 socket ? as i have a tyan s7010 mobo with the old cpus that you have removed from ur system and looking to buy some X5670s for about 70 quid. as i am about 760 on cinebench :(
 

DJS4000

Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2009
Messages
711
the fastest 5600-series xeon would be the X5690 with 3.46GHz base / 3.73GHz Turbo. they are around 100 bucks each. cost/performance-wise i think the X5670 or X5675 are the sweet spot.
 

jetfire

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
182
do i need to buy a matched pair of cpus or can i just get 2 the same spec and fit those? ones i was bidding on went over budget at £80
 

Spun Ducky

Gawd
Joined
Feb 1, 2009
Messages
638
do i need to buy a matched pair of cpus or can i just get 2 the same spec and fit those? ones i was bidding on went over budget at £80
You would just need two of the same spec. So two x5670s for example are what I run in one of my servers that aren't a matched pair. It just has to be the same model.
 

jetfire

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
182
i got 2 x5670s for £79 and free postage,but i dont have ecc memory does this matter ? as says not supported with the cpus i have and supported with x5670s.
 

Farva

Shens!
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
36,016
i got 2 x5670s for £79 and free postage,but i dont have ecc memory does this matter ? as says not supported with the cpus i have and supported with x5670s.
This is a showoff thread, not a how to build a dually rig thread. ;)
 
Top