Network pics thread

Discussion in 'Networking Gallery' started by BobSutan, Feb 18, 2008.

  1. MikeTrike

    MikeTrike [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Do it. I just ran three cat5e lines, because I’m not buying more boxes until I deplete these two...
     
  2. Stanza33

    Stanza33 Gawd

    Messages:
    538
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    I think someone needs to go to the Seattle museum and clean up their cdc 6500 wiring mess

    6500.jpg
     
  3. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,093
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Do you want to play a game?
     
  4. USMCGrunt

    USMCGrunt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,113
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    My modest home setup, mind the dust, doing a bit of drywall work.

    upload_2019-3-17_16-3-12.png
     
    Sulphademus and MikeTrike like this.
  5. deaedius

    deaedius Gawd

    Messages:
    958
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Nice! That is sweet and simple! How does the wifi work in that rack? Looks like you've got it in a faraday cage.
     
  6. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,093
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
  7. MikeTrike

    MikeTrike [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
  8. trick0502

    trick0502 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,155
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
  9. USMCGrunt

    USMCGrunt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,113
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Small house, a little over 900 sq ft so it's able to hit everywhere it needs...but it's range is definitely reduced being in there. I figured if I needed to I could mount it on the side but so far so good.
     
  10. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,093
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Thanks that was my old job, I'll grab a pic of the really nice setup I did at my new one (here's a preview of a couple of layouts we tried).
    5xOUcjbm.jpg X6SZ5Zrm.jpg
     
    pendragon1 and MikeTrike like this.
  11. deaedius

    deaedius Gawd

    Messages:
    958
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Nice! That is all that matters!
     
  12. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,093
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Ignore the hdmi over ethernet adapters and such, this was 6" cables.
    We had LEDs in the cable management at one point but those were taken out for whatever reason.
    Each cubicle gets 1 port so all'ofem need to be hot, voip phone passes through to computer.
    Red is executive offices and no touchie ports, green is APs, white is conference phones

    zO4PGiDl.jpg

    The nice thing is even when it gets messy like the above it still looks nice, plus tracing and cable replace is a piece of cake.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2019
    Vengance_01, drklu, rma and 1 other person like this.
  13. trick0502

    trick0502 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,155
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    That looks really nice. But, what do you do when you need to add another switch? You’ll have to move everything to keep it evenly spaced.
     
  14. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,093
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    As I mentioned all the ports are hot, ie) every single patch port is live to a switch, we wouldn't need to add more, or if we did we'd need to add a new patch panel and switch anyway so we could have it spaced and organized accordingly if we did.
    Its 48 rj-45 ports per switch (with 2 SFP+ for the fiber inbound) and 48 ports per patch panel so its 1-1.
    I think it was about 612 patches run to this location there were a few patches at the end that weren't needed/punched down, but the switch has a comparable amount of open ports if they were ever added to the maximum.


    This is one of our two IDF so everything is access ports and nothings changed in the past 3 years since it was installed, non of the cables have gone bad, but we could easily change out the cable (which surprised me, I thought those 6" would fail every now and then being so short).
     
  15. jlficken

    jlficken n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    Here's my humble home submission...

    In the house:
    Supermicro 5018D-FN8T running Untangle HomePro
    Ubiquiti EdgeSwitch ES-12F as the "core" switch that handles server connections and the fiber uplinks from the shop
    Cisco SG350-28P powers 8 IP cameras as well as the AP's in the house (UAP-AC PRO and a UAP-AC-HD)
    Netgear GS510TP handles the overflow since keep adding crap to the network :)

    At the bottom is another GS510TP as well as an EdgeRouter X that I use as a "lab".
    KIMG0598.jpg

    In the shop (connected back to the house via 5 OM3 runs in conduit):

    Poor picture :-(
    Cisco SG250-26P powers the other 6 IP cameras as well as the AP's in the shop and extra garage (2 x UAP-AC-IW)
    Backup Netgear ReadyNAS RN102 with external enclosure to back up my Netgear ReadyNAS RN516
    KIMG0383.jpg
     
  16. MinPins

    MinPins Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    363
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
  17. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,856
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    If you can get the USG Pro. The standard USG can be grossly under-powered depending on your connection and what goodies you have turned on.
     
    SamirD and Cerulean like this.
  18. MinPins

    MinPins Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    363
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    I was considering doing that, I will look into it, thanks.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  19. Sulphademus

    Sulphademus Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    354
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    I love the color coding!
     
    msshammy and Spartacus09 like this.
  20. leezard

    leezard [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    I have a VERY small network set up at home finally.
    The ancient Dell on top is handling firewall and adblock duties via pfsense and pfblockerng
    it connects to an inexpensive dlink fully managed gigabit switch to provide network connectivity for the R710 and my home PC and trendnet mesh wifi hub
    The R710 on bottom is running ESXi 6.7 and runs a few VMs that contain plex, emby, nextcloud and a few other things.
    Once we move I plan on getting a rack and adding more hardware.
    servers.jpg

    I'll post up some pics of our submerged racks from work tomorrow if I remember to get some pictures.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  21. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,856
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    yes for the submerged rack pics. Never seen these before
     
    msshammy and SamirD like this.
  22. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,815
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    I like the idea of using that small temp/humidity/clock thingee to have a quick monitor of the environment--where did you get it and how much was it?
     
  23. leezard

    leezard [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    20190829_110338.jpg 20190829_110250.jpg 20190829_110239.jpg
     
  24. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,815
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Whoa! That is unreal! I thought they would be custom servers or something. What is the liquid being used? That can't be water, can it?
     
  25. DogsofJune

    DogsofJune 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,866
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    It's probably Florentine or some such stuff along those lines. Non conducting liquid.

    It's cool.
     
  26. leezard

    leezard [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    The liquid is called Electrosafe dielectric liquid coolant. It is both electrically and chemically inert. It has the consistency of mineral oil. The server chassis are custom made but the hardware is nothing special. Normal motherboards, ram, nvme, ssd and GPU (for the GPU nodes, we do have a lot of cpucompoute nodes that are not in oil) The second two pictures those servers have 4 RTX 2080 ti's in them. 3 quads (4 tanks per quad) 42 chassis per tank (168 GPU per tank) = 504 GPUs The first picture those tanks are pretty much all 1080 ti tubs.

    they all run 10GB network (the black cable) and dedicated IPMI (the white cable) PDU and switches are mounted on the back of the tanks, but we have submerged switches in the past as well.

    Not related, but I got this sweet led backlit blanking panel today.
    supermicro.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2019
  27. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,856
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Thats some serious fucking gear. What does your company use the GPU farm for?
     
    leezard likes this.
  28. peanuthead

    peanuthead [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,671
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    leezard That blanking panel is bad to the bone.
     
    leezard likes this.
  29. Farva

    Farva Shens!

    Messages:
    35,431
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    That is awesome. Where did you get that?
     
    leezard likes this.
  30. TeeJayHoward

    TeeJayHoward Limpness Supreme

    Messages:
    9,716
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Seriously. I've got 3U that need to be blanked thanks to rear-facing top-of-rack networking stuffs. I'd LOVE something like that for my rack.
     
    leezard likes this.
  31. leezard

    leezard [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Analyzing siesmic data

    Came from Supermicro long before I started this job. We decomissioned a bunch of racks and these were in them.
     
    Vengance_01 likes this.
  32. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,455
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Those blanking panels are definitely awesome.
     
  33. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,093
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    I’m running a regular usg on a gig isp connection (940/50) with no issues.I even have the DPI data inspection turned on. That being said it does run very hot sitting horizontally with the status light facing up (even in open area). It runs about 15 C cooler now sitting/mounted vertically. The no fan passivle cooling is great too, it sits on my desk or in my closet.
     
    rma likes this.
  34. MinPins

    MinPins Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    363
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Made some additions/deletions to my home rack.
    The wiring is a mess but it all works, some day I will make it look pretty with matching, neat cabling.

    Rack%209-3-2019%20small.jpg
     
    Sulphademus and Farva like this.