Network pics thread

Discussion in 'Networking Gallery' started by BobSutan, Feb 18, 2008.

  1. MikeTrike

    MikeTrike [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,098
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Do it. I just ran three cat5e lines, because I’m not buying more boxes until I deplete these two...
     
  2. Stanza33

    Stanza33 Gawd

    Messages:
    538
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    I think someone needs to go to the Seattle museum and clean up their cdc 6500 wiring mess

    6500.jpg
     
  3. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 Gawd

    Messages:
    853
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Do you want to play a game?
     
  4. USMCGrunt

    USMCGrunt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,113
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    My modest home setup, mind the dust, doing a bit of drywall work.

    upload_2019-3-17_16-3-12.png
     
    MikeTrike likes this.
  5. deaedius

    deaedius Gawd

    Messages:
    935
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Nice! That is sweet and simple! How does the wifi work in that rack? Looks like you've got it in a faraday cage.
     
  6. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 Gawd

    Messages:
    853
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
  7. MikeTrike

    MikeTrike [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,098
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
  8. trick0502

    trick0502 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,129
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
  9. USMCGrunt

    USMCGrunt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,113
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Small house, a little over 900 sq ft so it's able to hit everywhere it needs...but it's range is definitely reduced being in there. I figured if I needed to I could mount it on the side but so far so good.
     
  10. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 Gawd

    Messages:
    853
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Thanks that was my old job, I'll grab a pic of the really nice setup I did at my new one (here's a preview of a couple of layouts we tried).
    5xOUcjbm.jpg X6SZ5Zrm.jpg
     
    pendragon1 and MikeTrike like this.
  11. deaedius

    deaedius Gawd

    Messages:
    935
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Nice! That is all that matters!
     
  12. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 Gawd

    Messages:
    853
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Ignore the hdmi over ethernet adapters and such, this was 6" cables.
    We had LEDs in the cable management at one point but those were taken out for whatever reason.
    Each cubicle gets 1 port so all'ofem need to be hot, voip phone passes through to computer.
    Red is executive offices and no touchie ports, green is APs, white is conference phones

    zO4PGiDl.jpg

    The nice thing is even when it gets messy like the above it still looks nice, plus tracing and cable replace is a piece of cake.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2019
    rma and pendragon1 like this.
  13. trick0502

    trick0502 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,129
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    That looks really nice. But, what do you do when you need to add another switch? You’ll have to move everything to keep it evenly spaced.
     
  14. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 Gawd

    Messages:
    853
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    As I mentioned all the ports are hot, ie) every single patch port is live to a switch, we wouldn't need to add more, or if we did we'd need to add a new patch panel and switch anyway so we could have it spaced and organized accordingly if we did.
    Its 48 rj-45 ports per switch (with 2 SFP+ for the fiber inbound) and 48 ports per patch panel so its 1-1.
    I think it was about 612 patches run to this location there were a few patches at the end that weren't needed/punched down, but the switch has a comparable amount of open ports if they were ever added to the maximum.


    This is one of our two IDF so everything is access ports and nothings changed in the past 3 years since it was installed, non of the cables have gone bad, but we could easily change out the cable (which surprised me, I thought those 6" would fail every now and then being so short).
     
  15. jlficken

    jlficken n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    Here's my humble home submission...

    In the house:
    Supermicro 5018D-FN8T running Untangle HomePro
    Ubiquiti EdgeSwitch ES-12F as the "core" switch that handles server connections and the fiber uplinks from the shop
    Cisco SG350-28P powers 8 IP cameras as well as the AP's in the house (UAP-AC PRO and a UAP-AC-HD)
    Netgear GS510TP handles the overflow since keep adding crap to the network :)

    At the bottom is another GS510TP as well as an EdgeRouter X that I use as a "lab".
    KIMG0598.jpg

    In the shop (connected back to the house via 5 OM3 runs in conduit):

    Poor picture :-(
    Cisco SG250-26P powers the other 6 IP cameras as well as the AP's in the shop and extra garage (2 x UAP-AC-IW)
    Backup Netgear ReadyNAS RN102 with external enclosure to back up my Netgear ReadyNAS RN516
    KIMG0383.jpg
     
    MikeTrike, USMCGrunt and Lunar like this.