Network pics thread

Discussion in 'Networking Gallery' started by BobSutan, Feb 18, 2008.

  1. FLECOM

    FLECOM Modder(ator) & [H]ardest Folder Evar Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,589
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    yes they are in a failover cluster, the last two interfaces are just cluster interfaces between the two units (and last interface on the x core)

    both clusters are in NAT mode

    I know a lot of people talk crap about them but they do what I need, they are pretty fast, and have been reliable... plus you can get them pretty cheap on ebay... I got that pair of XTM515s for $420 shipped

    I don't pay for the subscription services (anti-spam, anti-virus etc) since I don't really need them... and I like their application, I can do all my rules and then blow in the config all at once

    note that to do a cluster they need to have the advanced license... the ones I got on ebay already had it... plus friend is a reseller for watchguard so he was able to transfer them to his account so I could do software updates
     
  2. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,452
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Hey FLECOM whats the fiber switch u got in the rack?
     
  3. FLECOM

    FLECOM Modder(ator) & [H]ardest Folder Evar Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,589
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    thats a Cisco MDS9020 4GB fiber channel switch.. all my hyperv hosts and FC arrays are attached to it... so if a VM fails over from one host to another it still has access to it's FC attached storage
     
  4. Daedalus0101101

    Daedalus0101101 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    110
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Whats the power consumption on that little box? I can think of a couple things I would like to use a few of these for.
     
  5. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,452
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Damn FLECOM thats badass dude
     
  6. praetorian

    praetorian [H]Lite

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Shame these aren't in the UK as it's caught my interest on making my OPNSense box even smaller :(
     
  7. thefordmccord

    thefordmccord [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    I'm not sure. I'll have to put it on the kill-a-watt when I get a chance. With the Baytrail based J1900 Celeron, msata card and laptop RAM, it should be very little.
     
  8. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,452
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    id guess 20watt or less
     
  9. mikeblas

    mikeblas [H]ard|DCer of the Month - May 2006

    Messages:
    12,775
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    [​IMG]
    Expanded and rewired my structured wiring panel over the holiday break. Lots (lots!) better than before.


    • Leviton 47605-M42 enclosure
    • Leviton 47612-42B extension ring
    • Leviton 48212-6S AC power module
    • 2x Leviton 476TM-624 24-port CAT 6 panel
    • Leviton 47693-16P amplified CATV module
    • Leviton 476TL-T12 phone input distribution panel
    • Leviton 47605-42S vented premium door
    • Channel Vision C-1312 universal product holder
    • 3x Channel Vision C-1320 grid lifting
    • Leviton 47616-DSF DSL filter
    • Cisco SG300-10 10-port Gigabit Switch
    • Cisco SG300-10MPP 10-port PoE+ Gigabit Switch
     
  10. shodan_x

    shodan_x n00b

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Hi people!

    I started build new 10G home network core :D (cheap and powerful)
    Mikrotik CRS226-24S-2S+ (connect to low speed networking, 1G devices)
    Mikrotik CCR1009-1S-1S+ (2 internet channel balance+failover, IPv6 gateway, OVPN gateway, VLAN router and firewall)
    D-Link DXS-1210-12SC (connect 10G links... in future planned also connect 10G fiber to my friends, between building)

    Micro-ITX PC - torrent client, file share, XEN Server, DNS server, server of my blog.
    ATX PC - Backup server

    Now i preparing to buy more 10G NICs and HDDs.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Unfortunately internet in our coutry is too slow. Therefore i will be use 10G links for file sharing into local network.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2016
  11. Orddie

    Orddie 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,525
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    that's slow? that's better than i have at my house.
     
  12. mnewxcv

    mnewxcv [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,470
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    yeah, comcast/xfinity gives me 125/10ish.
     
  13. shodan_x

    shodan_x n00b

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Yes, it's 2 channels aggregated together.
    In our capital can connect 1G fiber, but in small city like my(99% of russia) we can connect only one channel 100 Mbps maximum.

    For connect 2 channels i waited for a long time, when internet provider have free ports. I had to conclude 2 contracts, at 18 months each. It's too difficult, but fortunately very cheap :)
    (50Mbps@day 100Mbps@night * 2 channel) + 1 static IP = 7.6$ per month

    I am be very happy if i connect more additional channels, but unfortunately it is not possible, my ISP will kill me. I prayed long-long time for get 1+1 channel....
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2016
  14. liamalxd

    liamalxd n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    How are you doing load balancing on the 1009-8G-1S-1S+ (I have one too!) do you use a script or just ECMP via static routes?
     
  15. shodan_x

    shodan_x n00b

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    It is very complicated to my poor english, but i try to explain.
    1 stage, i filtred some critical protocols like as SMTP DNS FTP SSH POP3 IMAP, and send it always via primary channels with static IP.
    2 stage, i marks incoming connections and send answer only via incoming channels.
    3 stage, specific protocols and services i always devide by two via NTH packet by packet (torrent, speedtest :D )

    4.1 stage... it is magic!!!.... i set each new DST address of new connections to specific address list(via NTH / 2) and save it on 6 hours. I get 2 dynamic address list... 1 for first channel and 2 for second channel.
    4.2 stage, set rouring mark on 1 and 2 address list to first and second channels.

    Absolutely no script! All work only on firewall rules.
    Registration on services, sites and forums keep very strong, because each dst IP hold via specific channels on 6 hours. if you use these services again until expire, time period(6h) renew.
    All dst IP on stages 4 save to 2 channel randomly and saved to 6 hours. Traffic balancing avg. 50/50 (except 1-2 stage)
    It is work very good! Mikrotik wiki examples is sucks!
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2016
  16. liamalxd

    liamalxd n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    That makes sense, how do you do the NTH rules packet by packet?

    Give us an example of the config maybe?

    Thanks :D
     
  17. shodan_x

    shodan_x n00b

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    I think this is little offtopic... i send it to PM

    Update... oops! i can't send PM :(


    HTML:
    /ip firewall mangle
    add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-mark=no-mark connection-state=new dst-port=1024-65535 new-connection-mark=NTH1 nth=2,1 passthrough=no protocol=udp src-address=192.168.88.9
    add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-mark=no-mark connection-state=new dst-port=1024-65535 new-connection-mark=NTH1 nth=2,1 protocol=tcp src-address=192.168.88.9
    add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-mark=no-mark connection-state=new dst-port=1024-65535 new-connection-mark=NTH2 nth=2,2 protocol=tcp src-address=192.168.88.9
    add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-mark=no-mark connection-state=new dst-port=1024-65535 new-connection-mark=NTH2 nth=2,2 protocol=udp src-address=192.168.88.9
    add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting  connection-state=established,related,new dst-address-list=Via_real_IP in-interface=SFP-10G-Switch new-connection-mark=NTH1 passthrough=no
    add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-state=established,related,new in-interface=SFP-10G-Switch new-connection-mark=NTH1 passthrough=no src-address-list=SRC_Via_real_IP
    add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-state=established,related,new in-interface=maxi new-connection-mark=NTH1 passthrough=no src-address-list=SRC_Via_real_IP
    add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-state=established,related,new in-interface=radiokrozhok new-connection-mark=NTH1 passthrough=no src-address-list=SRC_Via_real_IP
    add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-mark=no-mark connection-state=established,related,new in-interface=ether1-TTK-pppoe new-connection-mark=TTK1 passthrough=no
    add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-mark=no-mark connection-state=established,related,new in-interface=ether2-TTK-pppoe2 new-connection-mark=TTK2 passthrough=no
    add action=mark-routing chain=output connection-mark=TTK1 disabled=yes new-routing-mark=TTK1 passthrough=no
    add action=mark-routing chain=output connection-mark=TTK2 new-routing-mark=TTK2 passthrough=no
    add action=mark-routing chain=prerouting connection-mark=TTK1 disabled=yes new-routing-mark=TTK1 passthrough=no
    add action=mark-routing chain=prerouting connection-mark=TTK2 new-routing-mark=TTK2 passthrough=no
    add action=add-dst-to-address-list address-list=NTH1 address-list-timeout=2d chain=prerouting connection-state=new dst-port=22,25,53,465,993,995 protocol=tcp src-address=192.168.0.0/16
    add action=add-dst-to-address-list address-list=NTH1 address-list-timeout=2d chain=prerouting connection-state=new dst-port=22,25,53,465,993,995 protocol=udp src-address=192.168.0.0/16
    add action=add-dst-to-address-list address-list=NTH1 address-list-timeout=6h chain=prerouting connection-mark=no-mark connection-state=new dst-address-list=!NTH2 nth=2,1 packet-mark=no-mark src-address=192.168.0.0/16
    add action=add-dst-to-address-list address-list=NTH2 address-list-timeout=6h chain=prerouting connection-mark=no-mark connection-state=new dst-address-list=!NTH1 nth=2,2 packet-mark=no-mark src-address=192.168.0.0/16
    add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-mark=no-mark connection-state=new dst-address-list=NTH1 new-connection-mark=NTH1
    add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-mark=no-mark connection-state=new dst-address-list=NTH2 new-connection-mark=NTH2
    add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-state=new dst-port=8080 new-connection-mark=NTH1 nth=2,1 protocol=tcp
    add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-state=new dst-port=8080 new-connection-mark=NTH2 nth=2,2 protocol=tcp
    add action=mark-routing chain=prerouting connection-mark=NTH1 disabled=yes new-routing-mark=TTK1 passthrough=no
    add action=mark-routing chain=prerouting connection-mark=NTH2 new-routing-mark=TTK2 passthrough=no
    
    Dynamic lists
    [​IMG]

    Rules
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2016
  18. liamalxd

    liamalxd n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    :( oh well, happy new year anyway! :)

    UPDATE:

    ah! thanks for that :)

    I get it now, your making an address list based on the dst-address you want to get to and route it 50/50 via NTH1 and NTH2, yes?
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2016
  19. shodan_x

    shodan_x n00b

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    I not understand you clearly.
    I have two different routing table TTK1(default gw on it primary channel) and TTK2(default gw secondary channel). NTH1 sets routing mark TTK1, NTH2 => TTK2.

    But i recommend to make rules by yourself. I think i can't explain clearly how it works. And this topic not for that. Just for pics.

    HNY2016!
     
  20. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,452
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Shodan_x that is a badass network enclosure, very nice sir.
     
  21. RiDDLeRThC

    RiDDLeRThC 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,885
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Seeing a bunch of home network setups, don't think I ever posted mine.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  22. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,452
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    That's beautiful, can we get specs/info please?
     
  23. RiDDLeRThC

    RiDDLeRThC 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,885
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Drop running to every room plus ip cameras, Most the Coax isn't being used but put it in anyways just in case later down the line I want to ditch the TiVo and TiVo Minis.

    3x T20 Servers running ESXi each with 32gb RAM, 4x2tb drives, and 1x200gb ssd used for vSAN.

    The 7 bay Synology has 2x3b drives for surveillance station and 6x500gb ssd drives for iSCSI

    The 2 bay Synology has 2x6tb drives for media server (plex)

    Sophos firewall is off now but it's an SG330, running the XG Virtual Edition right now.

    Switch is a 48 port 3750x

    Access point is a UniFi AC
     
  24. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,452
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    damn thats nice, hows your power bill?
     
  25. RiDDLeRThC

    RiDDLeRThC 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,885
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    setup adds about $60 a month to my power bill. I destroyed the vSAN lab and turned off two of the hosts.
     
  26. cantalup

    cantalup Gawd

    Messages:
    758
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    how many watts average total in your calculation?
     
  27. DagNabCCIE

    DagNabCCIE n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Been awhile since I've been on here. Misplaced my account.

    I used to post pics of my home Cisco study racks, but thought I might post my work lab and show that all that work pays off... My new name could be misconstrued. Working on CCIE now and picked up my CCNP in R&S a year or so ago.

    I'm currently doing work on a campus building that will be running cisco 6880X VSS cores, and 6800ia instant access, and through a simulated network here on an ADVA FSP 3000 ROADM layer one solution to OSPF rings run off a Cisco ASR9001 ABR's with 9000v Satellites. There are a couple ASA 5585's burning in behind the racks, and the Nexus 5ks's and 2ks will be part of the lab for the Virtual desktop solution once the stuff from Dell and Citrix comes in. I just put in a couple ASA 5545's that we'll be working on some guest internet tunneling.

    [​IMG]
     
  28. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,452
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Dear lord please fix that sloppy fiber ball... not cool.
     
  29. FLECOM

    FLECOM Modder(ator) & [H]ardest Folder Evar Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,589
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    nice battery plant

    whats with the mixer and the roland speaker?
     
  30. DagNabCCIE

    DagNabCCIE n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    The ADVA is on DC.

    Speaker and mixer is for on-hold music for the Voip network.

    Because that would be an efficient use of my time in a lab setup :p ?

    sh controllers TenGigE0/0/2/0 phy

    Good to go...
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2016
  31. EnderW

    EnderW [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,889
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Cross posting this here, might be of more interest on this forum

    Put together a new pfSense box this week. Basically a DIY SYS-5018A-FTN4, but saved about $120 putting it together myself.

    Wiring was a real pain with the PSU location, but it ended up OK. Added a couple 40mm fans as the stock configuration has none besides the PSU.

    Couple of tips for anyone building a similar system:
    Follow the instructions in the manual for DIMM slot usage priority. My board wouldn't boot with a single stick of RAM in the secondary slot.
    The connector for the front on/off switch and activity lights must be oriented as seen in my photos. It looks backwards, but it's not.

    Specs:
    Supermicro CSE-505-203B Chassis/PSU
    Supermicro MBD-A1SRi-2758F-O MotherBoard/CPU
    Supermicro MCP-220-00044-0N HDD/SSD bracket
    Kingston KVR16LSE11/8KF RAM
    Intel 530 Series 120GB SSD
    Scythe Mini KAZE 40mm SY124010L (2)

    [​IMG]
     
  32. b3nno

    b3nno n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Nice little system, have you tested routing performance?
    How much was total cost for it?
     
  33. rma

    rma Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    194
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Really like the small 1U none full depth boxes, they really makes sense for small systems.
    im doing a small VPN box for a project and thinking about using this type of box.
     
  34. MGCJerry

    MGCJerry Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    138
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Here is a layout of my small-time home network... My work doesn't involve computers or servers or any of that stuff. I don't have any recent pictures of my "rack" which is an old stereo stand with my stuff sitting in it.

    [​IMG]
     
  35. Marcelo Ferreira

    Marcelo Ferreira n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Please, how did you configured the crestron CNMSX to connect the serials to the Equipment's console?
     
  36. TeeJayHoward

    TeeJayHoward Limpness Supreme

    Messages:
    9,636
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    New year, new switch, new pictures. I've now got a pair of HP 1810G-24 switches instead of just one. Just one MicroCloud node left to populate, so 3 more cables to run. If I get bored, I may end up re-wiring the whole thing. Right now, it's configured pretty poorly. No redundant paths. Daisy-chained switches. All the crap that would drive me bonkers at work. So why didn't I just do it right the first time? My cables are labeled, and I love having them accurately so. I need to buy some laserjet cable labels. Soon. Soon.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2016
    dreamnid and rma like this.
  37. iamwhoiamtoday

    iamwhoiamtoday Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    493
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Built a new PFsense Router:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Hardware:
    L3426 Xeon (Quad + HT)
    Supermicro X8SIE ATX Motherboard
    16GB DDR3 ECC (2*8GB)
    1*IPMI port
    6*Intel Gigabit NICs (4*Intel PCI-E card)
    32GB MSATA SSD inside for the OS

    It idles at about 38 Watts, bit more than I'd like, but still halfway sane.
     
    adamsir2, Fud and rma like this.
  38. Dimitar

    Dimitar n00b

    Messages:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    I like that very much! Any pics from inside?
     
  39. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,211
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    That is a neat system, totally what I'd do as well if I was building a new Pfsense box. 38w is quite impressive for "real" computer hardware too, which is often at 100w+. Almost worth upgrading my old core2duo based box just for the power savings.
     
  40. iamwhoiamtoday

    iamwhoiamtoday Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    493
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Thanks guys! The inside of the case:

    [​IMG]

    I need to redo the cabling inside, along with getting a proper 90 degree PCI-E adapter and a short SATA cable.
    I love the MSATA -> SATA adapter cards, it's small and does the job remarkably well.

    From the other side, you can see the 40mm fan that I've zip tied in place as air intake.
    [​IMG]

    I don't have room to mount two 40mm fans at the back of the case for exhaust, but so far the CPU fan is doing a great job at pushing air straight out the rear.