Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020

Snowdog

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 22, 2006
Messages
11,267
HWUB tests Many GPUs, and notes that game is CPU limited a lot of the time, only uses about 4 CPU cores:
 

techie81

[H]ard for [H]ardware
Joined
Jan 12, 2005
Messages
5,254
I downloaded it but haven't played it yet. I'm afraid that my three year old 7820x and 1080TI on my 43" 4K monitor will not cut it. No way I would be satisfied with 20 FPS. I may just wait for a card that can run 4k @ 60 FPS consistently, before I jump into this sim.
I have a 7820x with a 1080 FTW and it plays on "high end" (everything else on High) just fine @ 1440. I haven't tried bumping it up yet.

But yeah at your res that will be a slide show.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
543
Honestly, this game has very slow movement for the most part. 30FPS is ok unless you're skimming the ground in a 747 at 500 knots.
 

techie81

[H]ard for [H]ardware
Joined
Jan 12, 2005
Messages
5,254
I am trying to use a logitech attack 3 joystick (yes its old) and I cant get it setup properly. Any ideas? I tried to use a mapping from someone on reddit but I feel like its not right.
 

Ryan7968

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
307
I noticed you can untether the ATC Comms Window and VFR Map Window from the game and have them run on the desktop. This made me want to finally hook up my old second monitor and display them over there to free up screen real estate within the game. However it tanks my performance. Sitting at the airport gate I'd be getting 54fps. Untether ATC Comms and move that to monitor 2, my fps drops to in the 30's. Untether the VFR Map on top of that and move it to monitor 2 and my frames drop to 24fps. Pretty disappointing and not really usable with that massive hit to fps. At least I can still take advantage of the second monitor for other things and maybe it will be fixed eventually. My friend I was playing the game with does not have that problem, moving things to his second monitor does not drop performance he says.
 

FlawleZ

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
1,306
I am trying to use a logitech attack 3 joystick (yes its old) and I cant get it setup properly. Any ideas? I tried to use a mapping from someone on reddit but I feel like its not right.
I have the same one and just blew the dust off to try it out on this game. I havent had any issues programming it so far but only have the basics with throttle accel/decel and the X and Y axis on the joystick. Other than being limited by the buttons available is there anything specific you're unable to set with it?
 

techie81

[H]ard for [H]ardware
Joined
Jan 12, 2005
Messages
5,254
I have the same one and just blew the dust off to try it out on this game. I havent had any issues programming it so far but only have the basics with throttle accel/decel and the X and Y axis on the joystick. Other than being limited by the buttons available is there anything specific you're unable to set with it?
Would you mind sharing the assignments? I am complete noob with assigning joystick movements.
 

mnewxcv

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,005
Flight Simulator 2020...we are in a new Crysis Era!

this is not a game...it's an actual simulator

I think it's still a game in some sense of the word. I'm not taking it too seriously and still having a good time with it. I play it pretty much the same way I would play with the planes in BF1942: try to get as close to objects without hitting them, and do maneuvers that would cause life ending G forces.
 

Ripskin

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
2,311
No issues here with Xbox one controller.

I'm using an Xbox 360 controller and the triggers are set as "buttons" vs analogue so the rudder control is either 100% or nothing. If I slowly ease into the triggers it goes on and off for a few seconds before locking in 100% :(
 

l88bastard

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 25, 2009
Messages
2,918
Unfortunately, mate, they seemed to have thos issue with previous flightsim as well. For some, unknown to taco reason, untethering is a huge resource hog.

My human mates had same experiences.

Ummmmmm.......tacos! Sadly my G940 got throwwweeed out and been using an xbox controller, which blows KBM controls out of the water.


I'm using an Xbox 360 controller and the triggers are set as "buttons" vs analogue so the rudder control is either 100% or nothing. If I slowly ease into the triggers it goes on and off for a few seconds before locking in 100% :(

The triggers are nightmarish for rudder control....I cannot even use the Yaw with this controller. Being analog contex you would figure they would not have this issue. WTF!
 

Ripskin

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
2,311
The triggers are nightmarish for rudder control....I cannot even use the Yaw with this controller. Being analog contex you would figure they would not have this issue. WTF!

No kidding, not sure how that got through Beta, everyone must have had Xbox 1 controllers or something but I'm not sure why they would register differently. With that and the Auto Pilot issues flight is really difficult lol.
 

l88bastard

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 25, 2009
Messages
2,918
No kidding, not sure how that got through Beta, everyone must have had Xbox 1 controllers or something but I'm not sure why they would register differently. With that and the Auto Pilot issues flight is really difficult lol.

Im using my xbox one x scorpio controller, so thats not it. In my experience YAW control generally sucks in every sim using a gamepad as most of those other sims are based on old archaic tech in a time before analog triggers on gamepads was the norm. You would think FS2020 would have been different....NOPE.

This is the kinda crap that makes my lazy ass want to break out the HOTAS warthog that has been collecting dust the last five years!
 

Ripskin

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
2,311
Im using my xbox one x scorpio controller, so thats not it. In my experience YAW control generally sucks in every sim using a gamepad as most of those other sims are based on old archaic tech in a time before analog triggers on gamepads was the norm. You would think FS2020 would have been different....NOPE.

Interesting. I had no issues in FSX with the rudders on this same controller a few years ago when I last had it installed and played. I opened a support ticket with MS yesterday on the issue, doubt I'll hear back any time soon but with flight control issues, broken auto pilot and weather settings that dont apply correctly its like I'm playing Star Citizen lol :)
 

l88bastard

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 25, 2009
Messages
2,918
With flight control issues, broken auto pilot and weather settings that dont apply correctly its like I'm playing Star Citizen lol :)

NOV19-We-Are-Laughing-Eyman.gif
 

WarriorX

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,108
Glad I bought a flight stick when I did... got a Thrustmaster T-Flight Stick X from Amazon for $65 or so. They are sold out. I'm guessing this game is causing shortages of flight sticks.
 

TwistedMetalGear

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 19, 2005
Messages
1,854
Do people normally use their dominant hand for the stick in a HOTAS setup? Or do they go for the realistic approach with stick on the left, throttle on the right?
 

blackmomba

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
453
Game has mixed reviews on Steam. Anyone know why?

I've never ever played a flight sim before. Would love to try this
 

celwin

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 18, 2006
Messages
1,142
Do people normally use their dominant hand for the stick in a HOTAS setup? Or do they go for the realistic approach with stick on the left, throttle on the right?
Can't speak for people, but I do it the realistic way. But I'm left handed and it's natural for me. One of the few advantages us left handers have in pc peripherals.
 

mnewxcv

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,005
Game has mixed reviews on Steam. Anyone know why?

I've never ever played a flight sim before. Would love to try this
I'm guessing it is less to do with the game itself and more to do with the steam version is basically just a shortcut to the Microsoft store version, yet you still need to use steam to play it.
 

Gigantopithecus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
1,482
Camp Randall.jpg


Closest to B1G football I'm going to get this fall! This is Camp Randall at the University of Wisconsin.

Game is amazing. Spent all afternoon learning to fly the Cessna 152. Flew around places I've lived and marveled at how nice it looks. It struggles to render piers and lighthouses along Lake Michigan, but otherwise, it's incredibly impressive.
 

Colonel Sanders

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 26, 2001
Messages
4,512
View attachment 272510

Closest to B1G football I'm going to get this fall! This is Camp Randall at the University of Wisconsin.

Game is amazing. Spent all afternoon learning to fly the Cessna 152. Flew around places I've lived and marveled at how nice it looks. It struggles to render piers and lighthouses along Lake Michigan, but otherwise, it's incredibly impressive.

The water masking (how the AI terrain rendering tech decides where shorelines should be) is pretty rough. I hope they find a way to make it more specific and accurate, because you're right, the underwater piers and boats and stuff looks pretty bad.
 

Gigantopithecus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
1,482
The water masking (how the AI terrain rendering tech decides where shorelines should be) is pretty rough. I hope they find a way to make it more specific and accurate, because you're right, the underwater piers and boats and stuff looks pretty bad.

Looks better at night, haha. Here's downtown Detroit, and the lights from Cobo Arena look nice on the Detroit River.

20200823_203243.jpg
 

Ripskin

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
2,311
Can't speak for people, but I do it the realistic way. But I'm left handed and it's natural for me. One of the few advantages us left handers have in pc peripherals.

Sept for those of us who trained our way into the right handed setup :( Lol. I can switch back just feels unnatural and takes more memory.
 

Ripskin

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
2,311
Game has a fair number of bugs for people so I bet a number of reviews are geared towards that as well as those who don't realize this is a sim.
 

Seyumi

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
298
Game has mixed reviews on Steam. Anyone know why?

I've never ever played a flight sim before. Would love to try this
I suspect the mixed reviews has to do with people who have not played a flight simulator before. Or have very little experience with them. The learning curve can be steep for those new to flight sims.

Actually it looks like the primary reason for the mixed/negative reviews are people just complaining on Steam about not being able to refund the game due to the 2+ hours it takes to download the 93GB update, and on the Windows Store version is because the launcher is garbage and it has trouble launching the game and/or updating the game correctly & fully before they can even play the game.
 
Last edited:

Ripskin

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
2,311
Actually it looks like the primary reason for the mixed/negative reviews are people just complaining on Steam about not being able to refund the game due to the 2+ hours it takes to download the 93GB update, and on the Windows Store version is because the launcher is garbage and it has trouble launching the game and/or updating the game correctly & fully before they can even play the game.

I thought Steam had stated they would issue refunds past 2 hours (don't know the exact details) as a result of that issue. I do wish I could pull files from steam and not have to deal with the XBox junk but oh well.
 
Last edited:

Iratus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
1,522
Been interesting to see friends get into it. Also a bit weird as though I haven’t played FS in 15 years, I can ‘do’ DCS so it’s been strange case of taking the flying part for granted until my friends fucking up reminds me that it’s like anything, easy when you know how.


Flip side, Y’all don’t want to see me trying to drive a sim racer with clutch enabled :unsure:
 

DWolvin

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Messages
2,458
I hear that, I only owned motorcycles for a couple of decades, but a friend of mine (Ducati semi-pro racer) would beat tar outta me in Ride.
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,231
I thought Steam had stated they would issue refunds passed 2 hours (don't know the exact details) as a result of that issue. I do wish I could pull files from steam and not have to deal with the XBox junk but oh well.

correct, download time is not counted toward refund period.
 

InaDaise

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
82
Is the green glow at night from street lights shining on trees a little unnatural looking to anyone? Maybe it's too green, not sure.

The street lights are not green, it's from the trees and vegetation showing the green glow during night time. If it's not an issue to others then it could be my greens and some other colors could be over saturated from my software/hardware settings.
 
Top