LG L246W

Wibla

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
315
I have it if you want, not too keen on putting it on a webhost directly, but if you PM me your email I can send it to you :)

Edit: I'm really bad at checking pm's though, welp, sorry about that.
 
Last edited:

RoosterX

n00b
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
2


I take it your monitor also didnt want to turn on when you pushed the power button, and it would "cycle" with the power led blinking etc for a while before finally powering up?

Edit: ^^^^^^stupid question anyhow.

I'll try to replace the two caps this week or next, if that fixes the problem I will do a proper writeup, also gonna consult with one of my professors in electronics about this fault...
My LG L245WP got the blinking led and started to powercycle for 5-6 minutes before it turned itself on again for about a week ago, i knew this probably was a broken electrolyt capacitor in the PSU of the screen from earlier problems with a Acer 17" LCD screen(from when these were normal...), but today i found this very thread and i've just opened up and it is in fact the exact same capacitors that you have found.
:)

Living in Sweden the cheapest ones i found was Nichicon UHE1A332MHD for about $10 incl P&P.
 
Last edited:

Scarby Jones

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
219
This thread just saved me big time! I just took apart my monitor, found the bulging caps and then placed an order with digi-key. I hope to be up and running soon, thanks again for all the posts explaining the process.

On a side note did anyone else try changing the EDID on this monitor? I know tthom posted how to update it, but I was wondering if anyone found any other software to try (other than PowerStrip)? I am still having the dreaded shift issue and don't feel like rewriting drivers every time Nvidia has an update. I am still using a 280 GTX, and as far as I can tell the latest update does not correct the issue (at least from reading the other posts that is what I gathered).

Anyways I hope this thread isn't too old to post on because it definitely is still a very useful!
 

3DChipset

Gawd
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
670
This thread just saved me big time! I just took apart my monitor, found the bulging caps and then placed an order with digi-key. I hope to be up and running soon, thanks again for all the posts explaining the process.

On a side note did anyone else try changing the EDID on this monitor? I know tthom posted how to update it, but I was wondering if anyone found any other software to try (other than PowerStrip)? I am still having the dreaded shift issue and don't feel like rewriting drivers every time Nvidia has an update. I am still using a 280 GTX, and as far as I can tell the latest update does not correct the issue (at least from reading the other posts that is what I gathered).

Anyways I hope this thread isn't too old to post on because it definitely is still a very useful!
The dreaded shift still remains. I have never ever been able to figure out how to solve that problem. I always have to edit the file for the NVIDIA drivers. If I recall ATI cards are a hit or miss with this problem.

P.S. I love this monitor. I have been using it for about 4 years now.
 

Scarby Jones

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
219
The dreaded shift still remains. I have never ever been able to figure out how to solve that problem. I always have to edit the file for the NVIDIA drivers. If I recall ATI cards are a hit or miss with this problem.

P.S. I love this monitor. I have been using it for about 4 years now.
Thanks for the heads up on the shifting issue still happening. Other than the caps/shift issue the picture is still killer on these monitors. I am hoping once I replace the caps to get a few more years out of it since it is becoming harder to find quality 1920x1200 displays.
 

Scarby Jones

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
219
Thanks for the post on the EDID update. I sent you a PM, not sure if you check those often but I plan on updating it once I replace the caps.
 

Scarby Jones

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
219
Good news guys, I soldered in the replacement caps and the monitor is turning on with no problems now. Thanks again for all of the help and the descriptive posts. I am hoping to work with tthom to flash/update the EDID on the monitor itself and finally put an end to the endless driver/reg edits.

I think this was stated before but if anyone is/was having an issue where the monitor was flickering for a moment (from sleep state to on and needed to be power cycled) or having trouble turning on (with no warm up period) it is definitely not the power switch but the caps that need to be replaced. Mine were only bulging on top (not as bad as some of the others that posted), but obviously any bulging in a standard cap is not normal.

Any ways thanks again!
 

SeanAtr0n

n00b
Joined
Jul 30, 2011
Messages
1
Those are the same 2 capacitors I found. I ordered replacements from Digi-Key. I went with the United Chemi-Con KZE series, EKZE100ELL332MK25S. They were the closest I could find to the original part, which has been discontinued.
Thanks for sharing, I probably would have let the monitor die if not for this thread.

I ordered the same caps from Digi-Key and now my L246W is alive again :D
 

tthom

n00b
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
15
Eh, I think I have to go for new capacitors tomorrow... Today there were two times when it didn't want to turn on..
 

tthom

n00b
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
15
Storno, I found this page: Power on fix

So, it's working, but needs only 16V caps, the my 25v doesn't fit correctly, later I need to replace.. Or not. :)
 

Wibla

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
315
Just upgraded from a GTS450 to a 6870. Ran into the dreaded overscan issue if I connected the monitor directly to a DVI port on the card.

Solution: everything works perfectly if you use a DP -> DVI adapter
 

mickey4paws

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 13, 2004
Messages
116
Hey guys,
I also had my monitor die on me. I was just within the warranty period so sent it in to LG. I thought for sure they'd send me a replacement, with an inferior monitor. Well just got it back and it powers on again :) I had no idea how common this problem is. If it wasn't under warranty, I would have definitely tried the capacitors. I just wonder now that mine has been fixed, how long it will last. I really do love this monitor.
 

UtopiA

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
3,509
Mine's still on the brink of death.
Insane burn-in, image flickering, artifacting on blacks. I can't even use 1920x1200 anymore (Must be 1920x1080 or lower to reduce the effects I just described).
Strangely it's a DVI problem, when I use D-Sub the monitor runs fine (except burn-in obviously).

It's not ready for the trash bin just yet, but I'm starting to lose my patience.

Anyway, I'm looking to replace my L246 with another similar monitor.
I'd like to avoid TN's, though I haven't used one in 6 years. Are they any better these days?

I was looking into the Dell EIPS's but their prices have gone up, and I don't even know what good MVA panels are around these days.
I really love the image quality of this thing, which is why I held onto it for so long, so I want something that's reasonably close.

I know a lot of you guys replaced your's recently, so what's a good monitor to go with within the the 1920 resolution range? (1080 or 1200 doesn't matter to me anymore)
 

Dyno

n00b
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
27
Well I couldn't take the long start up time any more..



New capacitors will be here tomorrow... :D
 

derelict5

n00b
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
8
Thank you to everyone in this forum who posted about the power problems. I'm no pro with a soldering iron, but I was able to remove the old ones and put in 2 new 3300mf 16V caps. Fixed for $6!!

Now I just want a more permanent fix for the EDID shift :( I'm still using drivers from 2010 I think because I don't want to deal with updating them...
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
572
Can anyone suggest a comparable replacement for this monitor?
I've really liked it but now starting to get some burn-in.
Also, it has always annoyed me that it doesn't automatically wake from sleep and you have to manually cycle the on/off button.
 

Scarby Jones

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
219
Thank you to everyone in this forum who posted about the power problems. I'm no pro with a soldering iron, but I was able to remove the old ones and put in 2 new 3300mf 16V caps. Fixed for $6!!

Now I just want a more permanent fix for the EDID shift :( I'm still using drivers from 2010 I think because I don't want to deal with updating them...
I am not sure what GPU you are using but I noticed the latest Nvidia drivers for my 280 GTX are not having this issue any longer (I just did a clean install and didn't have to do any driver/reg edits).

If you are still having this issue tthom posted a more permanent fix a few pages back.
 

Scarby Jones

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
219
Can anyone suggest a comparable replacement for this monitor?
I've really liked it but now starting to get some burn-in.
Also, it has always annoyed me that it doesn't automatically wake from sleep and you have to manually cycle the on/off button.
Not sure on a replacement monitor, but if the monitor is having trouble coming out of sleep and needs to be power cycled this could be the early signs of the caps being bad. Mine was doing this at first and eventually needed to be cycled multiple times before it would come on, after doing this for a while longer the monitor would no longer come on. The cap fix is easy and would most likely fix your first issue.

On the other issue with burn-in I have just tried to be more careful with static images being left on the screen (Windows login etc). Obviously with this being a LCD we shouldn't have to worry about that but the nice thing is the images do go away after something else is on the screen for a while... I know this isn't the best fix but I enjoy having the extra real estate for now and haven’t found a good replacement. I hope this helps, if you happen to find a nice replacement let me know.
 

AV17

n00b
Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Messages
9
My monitor started having a problem coming out of sleep a few days ago. I'd like to go ahead and have the caps replaced, but first would like to get a copy of the service manual. Would someone be able to share a copy with me. You can PM me since I realize that people don't want to share the manual publically.

Thanks!
 

AV17

n00b
Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Messages
9
Why wouldn't they?
Perhaps, I misread some earlier message in this thread, where someone said that he/she wasn't too keen on posting the service manual publicly. In any event, if someone has one or a link to one, it's greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
 

Wibla

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
315
Sorry, I'm not reading the [H]-forums a lot lately.

The manual is here for those who need it, you will need a djvu reader.


Also, image retention IS a problem on this monitor, but it does fade away after a short while. Avoid static content and you'll be fine.
 

UtopiA

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
3,509
I've had the same burn-in on my screen for 2 years. It's an outline of my old wallpaper from 2 years ago and it's still there...
I had to stop using all wallpapers now, just a plain black background.
 

AV17

n00b
Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Messages
9
Sorry, I'm not reading the [H]-forums a lot lately.

The manual is here for those who need it, you will need a djvu reader.


Also, image retention IS a problem on this monitor, but it does fade away after a short while. Avoid static content and you'll be fine.
Thank you for making the manual available. I downloaded the file, and used djvu reader to open it. It shows 38 pages; however, starting with page 14 through 38, the pages are empty. Am I doing something wrong or there's a problem with document itself?

Thank you.
 

Wibla

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
315
Damn, I'm not sure how that happened, fixing it now. The full file is 1711 kilobytes.

The most important info in the document is how you disassemble the monitor, which can be found at page 9. The rest should be fairly self-explanatory once you gain access to the insides of the monitor.

 

AV17

n00b
Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Messages
9
Damn, I'm not sure how that happened, fixing it now. The full file is 1711 kilobytes.

The most important info in the document is how you disassemble the monitor, which can be found at page 9. The rest should be fairly self-explanatory once you gain access to the insides of the monitor.

Sounds good, the file I downloaded is 547 KB. Looking forward on getting the complete file downloaded.

Thank you.
 

Corvette

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 12, 2002
Messages
1,269
So, on white backgrounds I'm noticing a slight flicker on the left side :( I just don't know what I'd replace this thing with.
 

Wibla

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
315
Yes, but dont replace the caps with 'new old' old caps from the same manufacturer, they blow because they are the cheapest, shittiest caps the PSU manufacturer could get at the time.

There's been waves of problems with bad caps on motherboards, in televisions, in computer monitors etc for the last few years, its not isolated to some monitors...
 

blazarcher

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 31, 2011
Messages
65
Should I get this panel for 150 dollars? In general what are the problems that I will face? Gonna be stuck with this panel for 5 years, I really just wanna be able to watch movies and play some games occasionally, I'm going to med school this January so I will probably be typing lot of stuff, need it to be easy on the eye.
 

Wibla

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
315
Depends on how many hours its been used, and if it has the capacitor problem.

It's not a bad panel by any means, but it does have its issues. Backlight having to be inside a narrow range to get the best colors etc, image retention if you leave static images up on it for a long time, HDMI / DVI overscan issues (solved on nvidia with a driver hack, on amd/ati with a DP->DVI dongle).

If the backlight is good (should be bright enough at brightness set to 60, no discoloring at the edges) and the caps have already been swapped (or you know how to do it), you cant really go wrong with the monitor, but I'd look for something newer used aswell.

That being said, the MVA panel is really good for being from 2006, with decent lag (I dont notice any ghosting etc, unlike with my HP LP2465, a newer panel that is horrid in that regard).
 

dark_reign

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
2,305
Well, mine is going bad. The screen randomly blanks out for a second or two and there are occasional glitches. The weird thing is that it only does this at the native resolution. If I drop down to 1680x1050 it works fine. At first I thought it was the video card, but I recently upgraded to a GTX 570 and it only made the problem worse. Other problems include artifacting down the left side of the panel, mild buzzing sound near the back right of the panel, and faint dark streaks that are visible on lighter areas of the screen. The streaks are mostly near the top.

I've had this monitor for nearly five years and it has been used daily, so I guess that's not too bad. I'm replacing it with a Dell U2412M as it seems to be well-liked around here.
 

UtopiA

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
3,509
Well, mine is going bad. The screen randomly blanks out for a second or two and there are occasional glitches. The weird thing is that it only does this at the native resolution. If I drop down to 1680x1050 it works fine. At first I thought it was the video card, but I recently upgraded to a GTX 570 and it only made the problem worse. Other problems include artifacting down the left side of the panel, mild buzzing sound near the back right of the panel, and faint dark streaks that are visible on lighter areas of the screen. The streaks are mostly near the top.

I've had this monitor for nearly five years and it has been used daily, so I guess that's not too bad. I'm replacing it with a Dell U2412M as it seems to be well-liked around here.
Same problems with mine.
Blanks out at 1920x1200, artifacting on the left.

I had a 570 for a few days (returned it) and it made the problem significantly worse.
If you're using DVI, try using a single-link adapter.
 

user3657

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
239
I was pointed to this thread because im having the capacitor problem. Im up for the challage, even though ive only soildered in class before and forget everything ive ever learned lol. going to google......but I remember learning that you have to discharge first......can someone give me tips in making this safe so I dont kill myself? lol
 
Top