LG L246W

Wibla

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
315
Just hit the power-button with the monitor unplugged and you'll not be in any danger. Ofcourse, be careful with what you touch on the power board. The manual is linked above, you'll need djvu viewer
 

user3657

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
239
Just hit the power-button with the monitor unplugged and you'll not be in any danger. Ofcourse, be careful with what you touch on the power board. The manual is linked above, you'll need djvu viewer
Anything I should know about buying a soldering gun? What kind of solder do I buy?
 

derelict5

n00b
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
8
Anything I should know about buying a soldering gun? What kind of solder do I buy?
For this particular application, I would buy a soldering iron that you can be very precise with (small thin point). And you won't want thick solder either, get something thin you can maneuver easily with and won't find yourself with too much excess on the board.

Remember, don't touch the solder to the soldering iron. Heat up the capacitor wire with the iron, and then touch the solder to the wire.

Also, watch this video :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_NU2ruzyc4
 

UtopiA

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
3,509
Mine's finally going off the deepend. I need to buy a new monitor or switch to d-sub ... :(
Replacing it with the new series of Dell E-IPS's (HM models).
 

dark_reign

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
2,305
Mine's finally going off the deepend. I need to buy a new monitor or switch to d-sub ... :(
Replacing it with the new series of Dell E-IPS's (HM models).
The Dell E-IPS monitors are really nice. The only real drawback I could find on the U2412M over the LG is the AG coating. It's more noticeable, but I got used to it after a few days of use. Contrast, color and black level are a big improvement over the LG, so you shouldn't be disappointed.
 

Corvette

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 12, 2002
Messages
1,269
How does the input lag compare? My bezzel recently cracked by the HDready sticker, probably from heat cycle since I barely move the thing. I'm really surprised that the e-ips contrast is better.
 

dark_reign

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
2,305
How does the input lag compare? My bezzel recently cracked by the HDready sticker, probably from heat cycle since I barely move the thing. I'm really surprised that the e-ips contrast is better.
I believe the input lag on the LG is around 22ms and the newer Dell E-IPS monitors average around 10ms or under. The Dell U2312HM averages 0.6ms according to TFT Central. No problem if you want to game on these.
 

UtopiA

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
3,509
I believe the input lag on the LG is around 22ms and the newer Dell E-IPS monitors average around 10ms or under. The Dell U2312HM averages 0.6ms according to TFT Central. No problem if you want to game on these.
Yeah I was avoiding the Dell's for the past year or so, due to complaints about purple/yellow tints but that issue seems largely resolved with their new panels. At this point I don't have a choice anymore.

Not really concerned about the input lag for gaming, should be the same or better.
 

shurcooL

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
1,125
I've just connected this monitor to my mom's netbook via VGA (it doesn't have any digital video ports), and the problem is that when 10 minutes pass and the monitor gets turned off, it starts to display "Check signal cable: RGB" message instead of just going into standby mode.

How do I enable standby mode when the monitor is connected via VGA?
 

AV17

n00b
Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Messages
9
Finally got the pictures off the camera to share.

Thanks to everyone who helped to identify this problem, and offered help. It took a while to open the case, but eventually it gave in. What I saw inside was:



Having ordered the caps from Digi-Key, and replacing them, it looked like:



Now the monitor is better than new :)

Once again, thank you!
 

pitbull46

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 8, 2007
Messages
210
My L245WP has just died, and i am sooooo over the moon, what a damn crap monitor from LG it has been.
 

dark_reign

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
2,305
My L245WP has just died, and i am sooooo over the moon, what a damn crap monitor from LG it has been.
Time to move on. Mine went to crap a month ago, so I replaced it with a Dell U2412M. It's an excellent upgrade from the LG L245/L246. No more image shift crap to deal with.
 

UtopiA

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
3,509
This monitor was amazing for maybe the first 6 months that I owned it.
Shit went belly-up after that. Kept it for 4 years anyway, and she's still running on a 2nd PC in my house.

I still don't know if I will ever find another monitor I like as much as the L246.
 

Corvette

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 12, 2002
Messages
1,269
What went belly up? I had it for years before the EDID bug bit me, and then it's a 15 minutes fix once in a blue moon.
 

UtopiA

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
3,509
What went belly up? I had it for years before the EDID bug bit me, and then it's a 15 minutes fix once in a blue moon.
Burn-in mostly.
Then last year the screen flickering and artifacting started. Had to use 1080p for 6 months, then had to drop to 1680x1050 in August. Now it only runs using VGA output.
 

JabbaTHutt

n00b
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
3
My L246WP has been acting up for a while now, in the not waking from sleep more, so I just power it down, I still have one of those power bar things that sits under it with the switchs on the front so that is easy and no worry about the switch breaking. Well it recently started flickering and acting up, I run it in I guess native mode, always have, it is like some other have found a 245 acording to the service menu. It was the display model at future shop as they only had 2 of them and the other one had a bad pixel in it. The build date on it puts it at 5 years old but it was over a year old when I picked it up so I have had it maybe 4 years. Something tells me that it had a 5 year warrenty on it and they where to supply me with a replacement monitor while this was in for repair. Well along with some other paperwork I seem to have lost my reciept in a move 2 years ago.

Well its acting up now, as I said always ran it at native mode with a BFGTech AGP video card. It blanks out, it squiggles, it gets this funny dim out on it, it will get lines on it like the interface to the panel is messed up. Now here is the wierd part, I hooked it up to a HD FTA satellite reciever and it is working fine right now with a 1080P input. Over there I also have an XBOX360 with HDMI output and an old 47 inch cinepluss LCD TV. And a computer with a BFG Tech GeForce 7950 GT OC video card, now everything displays to the cinepluss with no problems even the windows 7 computer with the 7950 in it, the xbox360 and the FTA reciever all using HDMI. Now the weird part is the LG will not display the XBOX360 or the computer, it just says check the cable then it goes into sleep mode after a bit. Same thing happens if I hook the win7 computer to it. Doesn't seem to matter what resolution the computer is set to use the LG will not display it. Hell it won't even display the boot screen where it scans the dirves or anything but it will if I hook it to the cineplus.

Sounds like CAPs?

Does anyone have a complete list of the caps that need should be changed?

I will be in a city where I may be able to pick up the caps tomorrow, monday so a complete list would be nice to have.

Any other thoughts or ideas on this?

I really want to start using the win7 computer thats hooked to the cinepluss but if it isn't going to work in native mode using DVI to HDMI I am sorta stuck.

Thanks for all input.
 

DyNe__

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 10, 2002
Messages
2,005

Armageddon

n00b
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
4
Wonder if any one is able to solve the crop and shift issue on a Windows 7 Home Premium x64, Intel 3000 GPU, hdmi to hdmi.
I tried several of the registry methods but none of them works, not sure if I have missed anything since this is a really long thread.
Thanks in advance.
 

Armageddon

n00b
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
4
I tried adding OverrideEdidFlags0 and OverrideEdidFlags1 in registry to "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{9 2BCC990-E567-430E-A9A1-31057B0D2357}\0000" and 0001.
I also tried to add a EDID_OVERRIDE to "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Enum\DISPLAY\GSM563F\5&f453257&0&UID257\Device Parameters" that modifies the last byte of EDID from 01 to 00.
Neither of them worked. I still got images blurry, shifted up and left on my l246wp.

I thought all crop and shift issues were with nVidia cards? This link has a bunch of suggestions. http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1167222&page=89

Did you try all of the potential registry entries? I haven't found a way to identify the correct one reliably. I think mine were the ones with the most values.
 

spotter

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
95
Wonder if any one is able to solve the crop and shift issue on a Windows 7 Home Premium x64, Intel 3000 GPU, hdmi to hdmi.
I tried several of the registry methods but none of them works, not sure if I have missed anything since this is a really long thread.
Thanks in advance.
did you figure this out? I have same issue (including in bios) on my i5-2500k machine
 

spotter

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
95
as a followup to my previous message, I see thom's method of updating the edid via powerstrip, but when I try to use it, I get an "EEPROM Error" message from powerstrip. "An EDID EEPROM was not detcted on the selected monitor. Do you want to scan the bus for other EDID EEPROMs?"
 

spotter

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
95
I've made progress. when attached to an older nvidia 7900GT (as opposed to the i5-2500k's hdmi) via a dvi->usb cable it detects the eeprom just fine, but then when I try to update, it gives an error that the "EEPROM may be write-protected or the cable may simply be too long". I've enabled the service menu (menu while turning on, but doesn't seem like there's anything to do in it to change this)
 

spotter

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
95
ok, I'm an idiot (well, thom's instructions said "agent mode", it was staring right at me as "aging mode" in service menu.
 

tthom

n00b
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
15
Yepp, sorry to all, I didn't write correctly, as spotter said, it's 'Aging mode', poorly remembered. Sorry again..
But it's very good fix, I have another Windows now and everything is correct..
 

Kent_Deigo

n00b
Joined
May 21, 2010
Messages
14
My L246WP has been acting up for a while now, in the not waking from sleep more, so I just power it down, I still have one of those power bar things that sits under it with the switchs on the front so that is easy and no worry about the switch breaking. Well it recently started flickering and acting up, I run it in I guess native mode, always have, it is like some other have found a 245 acording to the service menu. It was the display model at future shop as they only had 2 of them and the other one had a bad pixel in it. The build date on it puts it at 5 years old but it was over a year old when I picked it up so I have had it maybe 4 years. Something tells me that it had a 5 year warrenty on it and they where to supply me with a replacement monitor while this was in for repair. Well along with some other paperwork I seem to have lost my reciept in a move 2 years ago.

Well its acting up now, as I said always ran it at native mode with a BFGTech AGP video card. It blanks out, it squiggles, it gets this funny dim out on it, it will get lines on it like the interface to the panel is messed up. Now here is the wierd part, I hooked it up to a HD FTA satellite reciever and it is working fine right now with a 1080P input. Over there I also have an XBOX360 with HDMI output and an old 47 inch cinepluss LCD TV. And a computer with a BFG Tech GeForce 7950 GT OC video card, now everything displays to the cinepluss with no problems even the windows 7 computer with the 7950 in it, the xbox360 and the FTA reciever all using HDMI. Now the weird part is the LG will not display the XBOX360 or the computer, it just says check the cable then it goes into sleep mode after a bit. Same thing happens if I hook the win7 computer to it. Doesn't seem to matter what resolution the computer is set to use the LG will not display it. Hell it won't even display the boot screen where it scans the dirves or anything but it will if I hook it to the cineplus.

Sounds like CAPs?

Does anyone have a complete list of the caps that need should be changed?

I will be in a city where I may be able to pick up the caps tomorrow, monday so a complete list would be nice to have.

Any other thoughts or ideas on this?

I really want to start using the win7 computer thats hooked to the cinepluss but if it isn't going to work in native mode using DVI to HDMI I am sorta stuck.

Thanks for all input.
Here is a video of how to fix:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qJhkLiMR12g
 

Armageddon

n00b
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
4
I've made progress. when attached to an older nvidia 7900GT (as opposed to the i5-2500k's hdmi) via a dvi->usb cable it detects the eeprom just fine, but then when I try to update, it gives an error that the "EEPROM may be write-protected or the cable may simply be too long". I've enabled the service menu (menu while turning on, but doesn't seem like there's anything to do in it to change this)
How exactly do you connect via a dvi->usb cable? I tried i5 hdmi->hdmi, no eeprom found. I tried gt220 dvi->hdmi, still no eeprom found.
 

Grey_Ghost

n00b
Joined
Jan 9, 2012
Messages
1
Thanks for the information on "Aging Mode"! I've been wanting to fix this hardware side for so very long. Haven't been able to update my drivers in quite a while, for fear of the Override flag not working.

PowerStrip has no guarantees when it comes to this it seems, so I searched hard and found a DOS based EDID writer called DDCW here, and it worked!

I used WinXP SP3 to make a bootdisk and copied everything from that download on it. Then I used the "nec1880.txt" file as a template for the lg.txt EDID I wanted to change it to, which was simple comparing it to the changed one from Phoenix (extension blocks = 0).

At first ddcw.exe just reported my monitors EDID as nothing but number zeros, and the "-m 1" (other port) switch returned a failure message! So I moved my monitors connection (dvi -> hdmi) to it's other port and rebooted. Again ddcw.exe reported a bunch of number zeros, but this time using the "-m 1" switch finally displayed my monitors current EDID correctly.

So I used it to update my EDID, and confirmed the changes stuck. So far I haven't had any issues. I'm glad I still keep that that external USB floppy drive around.
 

powruser

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 6, 2011
Messages
435
I used to have a L246WP, had it for about 2 years. Luckily I never ran into the EDID bug, using a HDMI to DVI cable and a nVidia 9800 GTX. Good thing I sold it when I did, because if I had kept it maybe it would have died on me like many others here have been reporting. Interesting to see that they seem to be dying en masse now, too bad LG didn't use higher quality electronics. For what it's worth, I absolutely loved the monitor during the time I had it, the only real issue was the contrast shift of the MVA panel.
 

Wibla

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
315
'too bad LG didnt use higher quality electronics'... really? Really?

Unless the processor/scaler shits itself (fairly rare), the most common problem on these monitors are two 50 cent capacitors on the psu board shitting themselves.

Avoiding the HDMI overscan problem is easy enough (use an active DP -> DVI adapter on AMD).

Compared to a lot of newer 1080p monitors you get for $100-150 at costco, the P-MVA/IPS/PVA monitors from 2006/2007 hold up damn well, with the added benefit that they are pretty cheap on the used market, or if you bought it new in 2006/07, you dont really need to swap it out anytime soon, unless it croaks in a non-fixable way, that is.
 

tthom

n00b
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
15
Yepp, it's very good monitor.. Capacitor problem is nothing.
I use this monitor at least 4-5 years, 10 hours/working day, so, it's about 11000 turned-on hours.. :) And it's still okay. On top of the panel there is a little area, seems like dirty, so isn't 100%, but nothing else..
 

shurcooL

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
1,125
Mine's holding up okay too, bought it new in late 2007-ish. I would've been most likely using it to this day if not the 30-incher I found a nice deal on. I've always wanted higher res, and the new 1080p monitors are lower res than this 1920x1200 one. The only other thing I'm looking for now (other than even higher res, of course) is 120 Hz, but I won't sacrifice resolution to get it.
 

smallming

n00b
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
3
Dear all I have a favour to ask: my L246 just failed again. First time it failed was a month after the 3-year warranty gone by: it was a case of 2 bloated electrolytic capacitors which I promptly replaced. That was some good engineering I must say, failing soon after the warranty expires. Now fast forward 4 months, capacitor at position C115 ruptured.

Problem is, I do not know what capacitance and working voltage it is since the capacitor spilled its dielectric and the markings altogether. Anyone kind enough to post the markings for C115 please?
 
Last edited:

smallming

n00b
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
3
Thanks Wibla! Great document, definitely a keeper :)

However it conveniently omitted C115, so I'm still clueless as before...
 

VegasGuy

n00b
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
4
Success! My capacitors from Digi-Key arrived this morning. Tonight I replaced the bad ones. I am very happy to have my L246 back in operation, especially since it was such a cheap and easy fix.

A special thanks to Wibla and Cerilia for sharing their information! I would not have found a fix without you. Thank you, thank you.

Looks like my wife scored big on this debacle. I ordered a replacement monitor prior to finding this thread. She will soon be the happy owner of a Dell U2412M e-IPS monitor. :)
 
Top