LG L246W

Discussion in 'Displays' started by ascarytiger, Mar 10, 2007.

  1. mobbmann

    mobbmann n00b

    Messages:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    wow, what was a litteraly a problem nvidia could have fixed with an intern and notepad in 5 minutes instead... nvidia decided to lose market share, I'm not upset because they just fucked themselves, if my drivers dont install right on my clean install I guess I'll default to ati/amd... which is bad because ati/amd drivers are still a cluster... pick your poison... I'll post tommorow what happens on a clean install.
     
  2. Wibla

    Wibla Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    315
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Jees, you sound like a crybaby. I'd rather spend 5 minutes fixing an .inf file than have to endure ati drivers.

    As far as I know, its fixed in the latest releases, I certainly didnt have to do any hackery to get it to work with my GTS450, to my great surprise at the time.
     
  3. techie81

    techie81 [H]ard for [H]ardware

    Messages:
    4,954
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    I installed a GT 240 on my system for some testing and the resolution and positioning was fine. I did not have to modify the registry at all. I do agree that they should have fixed this long ago because I specifically bought an ATi card since I grew tired of messing with the registry.

    Its dumb because it was really easy to fix but very annoying for the end user.
     
  4. mobbmann

    mobbmann n00b

    Messages:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Crybaby for expecting drivers to install properly for a video card I dropped a couple of hundred bucks on? your right I expect drivers to work, how follish of me...
     
  5. Wibla

    Wibla Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    315
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    The drivers work just fine, as long as you bother to fix the .inf file... And getting info about that is just as easy as looking at this thread on the forum or do a google search (leading to the thread). Very annoying the first time it happens and you are unaware, but easily solved.
     
  6. mobbmann

    mobbmann n00b

    Messages:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    whatever...

    at any rate, I just tested the newest nvidia driver and it installs properly with no issues and no need to modify the installation files, so problem solved for anyone else concerned.
     
  7. bbf

    bbf Gawd

    Messages:
    624
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Actually you should expect your monitor to work properly.
    The drivers are fine since it's LG's incorrect implementation of HDMI that's the problem. nVidia is doing users (and LG) a favor by correcting an error with the monitor sending out the wrong capability data, which I applaud them for. ATI has not done squat with their drivers, nor should they be required to, to fix LG's problem... but definitely it would be nice if they did, so the handful of people that bought the monitors would have a working monitor.
     
  8. pitbull46

    pitbull46 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    210
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Is everyone who is using the new Nvidia drivers NVIDIA GeForce GTX 275 (x2) 260.99,as i did after i nuked pc but automatically entered the crack in the Nv disp file, saying the problem is sorted with new said drivers now?
     
  9. pitbull46

    pitbull46 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    210
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    C'mon people lets keep this thread going!!
     
  10. pitbull46

    pitbull46 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    210
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
  11. Aviator747

    Aviator747 n00b

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    I am running the 262.99 drivers on win7 x64. I did the monitor tweak and also had to edit it too accept my gtx 280. So far so good.
     
  12. pitbull46

    pitbull46 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    210
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Some are saying, with the new drivers installed you don't have to do the tweak, your monitor should work like normal when installing display driver, but i think it's only if you have a GTX 460 and above for some reason, i so wish i had bought the Benq instead, such is life.

    But because of no help from LG about this i stand firm that i will never buy another LG product again. :(
     
  13. Aviator747

    Aviator747 n00b

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    It's not that big of a issue for me now that I know what is causing it. I have had to jump through more hoops to get other things done in the past. :D I will have to try the drivers straight up next time around.
     
  14. pitbull46

    pitbull46 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    210
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Even after i apply the nv disp code and get my full resolution back, i am still left with 59Hertz not 60hertz as is normal?
     
  15. Aviator747

    Aviator747 n00b

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
  16. pitbull46

    pitbull46 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    210
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    I would appreciate it lots if anyone has an answer on how we can use full 60Hz on display not 59Hz?
     
  17. Aviator747

    Aviator747 n00b

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    There is no need to run 60 Hz. 59 Hz in this case is proper. There was a article that I came across back sometime ago that went into depth as to why it runs at 59 Hz. There is no need to get your brain all frazzled over it.

    I have had no issues with mine. It preforms great and has run for many hours.

    Edit: I just took a quick glance again and mine is actually reporting 60 Hz. 59 isn't listed.
     
  18. Wibla

    Wibla Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    315
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    my LG L246 is starting to fail.

    this morning, when the monitor was trying to get out of standby, the power indicator was blinking on and off for a few minutes before the monitor finally turned on.

    The last couple of weeks, it has taken a while to get the monitor to turn on if i pushed the power button, so i started leaving it in standby... guess the PSU is failing.

    When it finally turns on, it works just fine.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2010
  19. pitbull46

    pitbull46 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    210
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    I never turn my monitor off using the monitor power button anyway, i always turn everything off by the mains after i shut pc down.

    The less you push/click the least will fail, hopefully.
     
  20. Wibla

    Wibla Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    315
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Looks like its the power supply capacitors, when coming out of standby it also goes through this on-off phase for about a minute or two before it manages to turn on properly, indicating that the psu is struggling to give enough power when cold. It basically power-cycles untill it gets enough juice. Not good.
     
  21. pitbull46

    pitbull46 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    210
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Any more comments?
     
  22. Wibla

    Wibla Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    315
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    I have the service manual, but no time to actually open it up and investigate yet...
     
  23. dark_reign

    dark_reign 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,187
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    I'm seeing 60Hz since the last 2-3 driver updates.
     
  24. Aviator747

    Aviator747 n00b

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Hmm, seems my power switch is getting a little flakey. I have to poke it a few times to turn it off or on. I think mines still under warranty from Future Shop too. I wonder what todays equivalent is.
     
  25. UtopiA

    UtopiA 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,509
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    A tn panel.
    My button has been wonky for at least a year. I just deal with it... :(
     
  26. Aviator747

    Aviator747 n00b

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Other then that, mine is flawless. If it's not under warranty, I will crack it opn and replace the micro switch.
     
  27. UtopiA

    UtopiA 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,509
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Hey guys I'm about to bite on a GTX 570.
    I'm currently using XP 32-bit, but will probably be upgrading to 7 64-bit when I install the card.

    Just wondering if the HDMI issue still exists with Nvidia, requiring the INF tweak.
    It seems recent posts say new drivers fix it, but I'm just checking anyway. :)
     
  28. slingshot

    slingshot [H]Lite

    Messages:
    111
    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    I just received my 580 today and installed it. I'm happy to report that I didn't have the overscan problem. My driver version is 263.09 and I'm using a mini-HDMI to HDMI cable to connect to my monitor.

    Best,

    Nick
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2010
  29. covertash

    covertash Gawd

    Messages:
    988
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Yep, same here. The 263.09 drivers worked perfectly right from the get go. :)
     
  30. rj2

    rj2 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    166
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    well iam having the same issue,and then some,i am unable to update even the standard windows vga driver.
    this is using the hdmi-dvi cable.
    i wonder if i try the hdmi cable with adapter if that will solve this problem?
     
  31. UtopiA

    UtopiA 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,509
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Installed in XP and had the overscan issue.
    A few seconds in regedit and it's fixed, as usual.

    edit;
    Installed Win7, no issues with overscan.
    Although I'm getting TONS of artifacting on the left side of my panel, but only on solid blacks (0,0,0 color). The issue isn't present using D-Sub. If I force down to 50Hz with DVI the problem isn't there.
    Ordered a new HDMI->DVI to see if that helps.

    (It's not the 570's problem, I had the same issue with my 4870 on WinXP but it was much less severe).
    It could just be my trusty L246WP is dying... :(
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  32. covertash

    covertash Gawd

    Messages:
    988
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    I got my HDMI to DVI cable from Monoprice if that helps. Since getting the GTX 570, I also ordered a HDMI to mini-HDMI cable from them just to test to see if it works OK. Everything is on Windows 7 though for me.

    Hopefully the cable will solve your issue. :)
     
  33. Boggins

    Boggins Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    193
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Does anyone know what the sync polarity of this monitor is?

    I have one LG L246 and two Dell U2410s. They work fine in Eyefinity, but I want to go Nvidia Surround, but I'm worried that the LG won't be compatible with the Dells. These monitors are expensive and I would prefer not to have to buy another monitor to go Nvidia when I still have a perfectly good monitor.

    Thanks.
     
  34. UtopiA

    UtopiA 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,509
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Looks like mine is about to die.
    The artifacting on my solid blacks is getting worse, now after the monitor has been on for about 8+ hours straight, the image starts to blink/flicker and the monitor loses signal (turns off and on) every 3-5 minutes or so. I think it's related to heat, since the problems only start occurring after being on for a long time.

    I've been running the panel at 100% brightness since I bought it (3 years) and it's always seemed hot. I probably killed the screen off faster using such a high setting...
    This monitor has served me well, great picture quality, but it has had so many issues. I've had some "dying" pixels (greyish black) since day one, now I see a few more popping up. Burn-in occurs within 20-30 minutes of any image being on the monitor, I still have my desktop image (from TWO YEARS ago) burned into my screen. I've had to use solid black/white desktop images (desktop icons disabled, too) for 2 years to prevent burn-in.

    I guess I will replace it with one of the Dell IPS's on sale this month.
     
  35. blank

    blank 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,203
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    I still have one of these back home somewhere. Are they still good screens by today's standard?
     
  36. mattchapman

    mattchapman Gawd

    Messages:
    570
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    I find most panels these days are cheaper TN ones. This is S-IPS I believe which is better.
     
  37. bbf

    bbf Gawd

    Messages:
    624
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    It's an 8-bit MVA panel, not as good as IPS, but better than any 6-bit TN for color and off-angle viewing. Seems like the spiritual successor for the L246W is the Dell U2410 S-IPS monitor or the NEC one that uses the same panel (forgot the model number).

    http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1441159
     
  38. mattchapman

    mattchapman Gawd

    Messages:
    570
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Ah, thanks for claryfying.
     
  39. Tabs

    Tabs Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    147
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Unfortunately I think my 246WP-BN is dying... I've got weird streaking and blotches on the upper right side of the screen now and there's a vertical line running down it that seems to exactly line up with where I put my Trillian contacts list. It's very visible on grays and blues - can't see it at all with whites or pure blacks.

    If the splotches aren't there in screenshots that means it's not coming from the video card right?

    This really pisses me off if it's gone bad right after the warranty expires - I always turn it off when I'm not using it, the brightness has been at 30% ever since I got it etc. Such crap, I paid $600 for this thing.
     
  40. Wibla

    Wibla Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    315
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    These monitors have a real problem with image retention, I've had to rearrange my desktop and apps several times to avoid the worst of it ...

    Anyone got a busted monitor with a working power board? the power board on my L246 is goner... :(