Grand Theft Auto V

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
11,077
I got it, won't bother downloading anytime soon I think. Already did the campaign but may just give the MP stuff a go because I haven't loaded up the game since finishing it years ago.
 

Comixbooks

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
15,818
95 gigs typical patch for MW COD for a month which you can make multiple directories for Epic just create another folder.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
23,487
95 gigs typical patch for MW COD for a month which you can make multiple directories for Epic just create another folder.
1589484766513.png
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
11,077
I think he is saying if there is a big update and you have a slow internet, you can just copy/paste the folder and that way only the original folder gets the update. So you can play while the other version in the original folder updates.
 

TaintedSquirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
10,122
lol the whole store is throwing 403 Forbidden. Tried to access it via launcher, sits at "Connecting" but that could just be a separate problem, ha.
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
7,378
I think he is saying if there is a big update and you have a slow internet, you can just copy/paste the folder and that way only the original folder gets the update. So you can play while the other version in the original folder updates.

Doesn't work with EGS sadly, or at least when I tried to restore from a backup last time.
 

TaintedSquirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
10,122
You can claim GTA 5 even though the site is down, instructions here:


Basically you login through the Fortnite portal and then there's a link directly to the GTA 5 checkout.
 

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,214
would have never known it was free if it wasn't for the ad in spotify i saw tonight
 

ChoGGi

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
1,520
You should be able to link your account on rockstars website, so you get bonus stuff for owners of the console version on PC (the sub and whatnot)?
 

Camberwell

Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Messages
743
I had an older install on my pc from a few years back, I re-installed the game and the new Rockstar Launcher found the files and it seemed to go fine, but I have 2 issues. I have to start the game from scratch, even though according to the Social Club website all my earlier progress is there?
Also, even though my system is the same one as back then, the game constantly crashes (err_gfx_d3d_init). Tried re-installing drivers (using DDU), changing graphics settings etc etc but no joy....
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
11,077
Turned up the graphic settings and it still gives me low frame rates around 40-60. Should I lower visibility and shadow range? Ryzen 3700X, RTX 2070, 16GB RAM, SSD, 2560x1440, 8x MSAA. Might turn MSAA down to 4X. Honestly thought the GPU would be able to handle it but I suppose the game doesn't work too well with Ryzen. If I recall it is one of the few games where IPC and clock speed matters a lot and favored Intel.

Trying the MP thing after finally getting the Rockstar account to link. Not sure what I am doing and it seems fairly laggy/buggy. Just want to see if I can get into the co-op story style heists, don't care for much else.
 

auntjemima

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
6,688
Turned up the graphic settings and it still gives me low frame rates around 40-60. Should I lower visibility and shadow range? Ryzen 3700X, RTX 2070, 16GB RAM, SSD, 2560x1440, 8x MSAA. Might turn MSAA down to 4X. Honestly thought the GPU would be able to handle it but I suppose the game doesn't work too well with Ryzen. If I recall it is one of the few games where IPC and clock speed matters a lot and favored Intel.

Trying the MP thing after finally getting the Rockstar account to link. Not sure what I am doing and it seems fairly laggy/buggy. Just want to see if I can get into the co-op story style heists, don't care for much else.

I didn't play at super high settings, but my i5 4690k at 4.2ghz and my g3258 at 4.2ghz gave similar performance. I have heard that it's heavily dependent on cpu speeds.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
23,487
Turned up the graphic settings and it still gives me low frame rates around 40-60. Should I lower visibility and shadow range? Ryzen 3700X, RTX 2070, 16GB RAM, SSD, 2560x1440, 8x MSAA. Might turn MSAA down to 4X. Honestly thought the GPU would be able to handle it but I suppose the game doesn't work too well with Ryzen. If I recall it is one of the few games where IPC and clock speed matters a lot and favored Intel.

Trying the MP thing after finally getting the Rockstar account to link. Not sure what I am doing and it seems fairly laggy/buggy. Just want to see if I can get into the co-op story style heists, don't care for much else.
lower some settings, maybe read nvidias optimization guide.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
524
Watch all the enhancements for PS5 bring it up to the same quality level of PC at max settings or something like that lol.

EDIT: Oh, and improved loading times ROFL.
 

Viper87227

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 2, 2004
Messages
17,874
Next-gen and PC enhancements coming.

https://www.rockstargames.com/newsw...o-V-Coming-to-New-Generation-Consoles-in-2021

Although the way it's worded sounds like PC just gets new GTAO content and not any technical "enhancements".

I suspect that's because no technical enhancements are being made. The PS4 version is only 1080p 30fps, and probably comparable to the PC build at medium settings. My money is on the PS5 version simply being equal to max settings on PC, at 4K and 60fps.

It's remarkable that GTA V is going to have released across three console generations. I wonder if people will buy it again. I also wonder if Bethesda is going to try and do the same thing as a result. Can you just imagine them announcing Skyrim for next-gen. People would lose it.
 

odditory

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
6,482
My money is on the PS5 version simply being equal to max settings on PC, at 4K and 60fps.
I'll take that bet. Not a chance in hell either new console runs it at equivalent max PC settings 4K60. End of day it's still an APU no matter how much marketing koolaid anyone's drunk on.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
18,686
Right now a 2080Ti can't even crank out 4K/60 with everything turned all the way up. You might think it can when you're in the city, but good luck once you head offroad in the hills. Especially if there is lots of vegetation and the sun is making all of it cast high detail shadows. Outside of some kind of dynamic resolution or detail function, there's no chance the PS5 or new Xbox can do it.
 

daissy

n00b
Joined
Aug 26, 2020
Messages
2
I use Spotify music on GTAV while playing, but ot do that, I need to use the tool DRmare Spotify Song Downloader to help me as Spotify doesn't support offline playback. But with this tool, nothing is impossible.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
18,686
At long last, the 3090 CAN run GTA5 at 4K with all settings maxed at 60fps without bottoming out in the shrubby areas. At least not noticeably. RDR2 still can't pull 60fps over settings set to "high" though. Maxing that one out ain't happening for at least 2 more years if not longer.

EDIT: I take that back, GTA5 still bottoms out in the shrubby areas northeast of town. I drove around and tested out the beach areas while heading toward Mt. Chiliad, but didn't head to the other side of town. Performance in that area is basically no better than a 2080, so I think the game just can't do it. Kinda like how GTA4 still chugs in certain spots.
 
Last edited:

socK

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 25, 2004
Messages
4,009
I mean, FXAA is ass but MSAA is disgustingly heavy in this game. That plus the grass reams your ass hard. Maybe they'll implement TAA like in RDR.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
18,686
It's still showing GTA Online, so I'm not interested. I'm ready for GTA6 and Rockstar is obsessed with their last-gen online component.
 

kalston

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
1,215
Can you force a lower MSAA setting in the driver control panel?

Pretty sure the game already gives you a 2x option, can't really go lower than that. Nvidia has (had?) some option to make MSAA faster, don't know if it works with GTA V.
 

Chelica

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 8, 2003
Messages
2,588
This game just keeps on keeping on, very nice. Hopefully they got sales coming up for the PC. I have not picked it up yet.
 

Ripskin

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
2,303
Looking forward to it. Hopefully its not too tiny and has some different aspects to it for some fun.
 

talk2troy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 10, 2004
Messages
6,014
This game just keeps on keeping on, very nice. Hopefully they got sales coming up for the PC. I have not picked it up yet.
It was FREE on Epic Game Store back in May. Truly a great game!

Right now, Elite Dangerous is FREE. They post a free game every week @ Epic.

Next week - black friday - one of my FAV games will be FREE = Mudrunner
+ tons of free add on / user created stuff in steam workshop = maps, trucks, jeeps, UTV's
 
Last edited:
Top