EVGA Overtake

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
EVGA just showed up on our Overtake list.

If you have Boxen, "D" or rigs sitting idle....... FOLD!

We need to step it up just a bit so we can keep the #1 spot!

evgaovertake.jpg
 
D

Deleted member 88227

Guest
1.1 years...

Pretty sure once most of [H] gets word of the new QRB point system, it'll go away. I just learned about it yesterday. Since then I've already dished out ~70k points and it hasn't even been a full 24 hours. Now that I've got both my GPUs running and both my SMP clients running, I should be at ~200k PPD now. That's half of what they are gaining, for now.
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
Must be the result of GPU QRB ?

That and they have a contest going.....

However, when the GPU QRB comes out of beta and everyone with a GPU is getting them. We need to be ready with our own GPUs.
 
D

Deleted member 88227

Guest
By the time that happens, I should have a few more GPUs added to my farm. :)
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
Yes the overtake is a ways out by those numbers, but another 400k and that shortens to half a year.

We don't have a huge lead over them like they had over us.
 
D

Deleted member 88227

Guest
Good point. They did put up 37M yesterday to our 32M... That's 5M a day. Wonder how much it will drop off when the bucks thing dies off this month.
 

musky

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2012
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
3,154
37M was exactly mid-month - I don't think it was fueled by bucks as much as we would hope. This is a direct result of the GPU QRB WUs, which plays into their membership perfectly - a bunch of gamers who happen to fold. We need to ramp and ramp fast, else our reign at #1 will be very short-lived.
 

402blownstroker

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - Nov. 2012
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
3,232
Finally got all three 4P back online after a system upgrade and design failure.....
 

rick5127

Gawd
Joined
Feb 18, 2007
Messages
530
My SR-2 with L5640's is coming online by the weekend. I also turned on 3 gtx460's to get more points. That should help some...

oh yah... it IS the weekend isnt it. hehe.. us retired guys don't keep track of that stuff. lol
 

jebo_4jc

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2011
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
14,562
37M was exactly mid-month - I don't think it was fueled by bucks as much as we would hope. This is a direct result of the GPU QRB WUs, which plays into their membership perfectly - a bunch of gamers who happen to fold. We need to ramp and ramp fast, else our reign at #1 will be very short-lived.

I agree with this post
 

extide

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
3,494
I haven't been folding on my Sandy-Bridge E box.

I think I am going to set up a network-bootable linux install specifically for folding.

I will put a little file system on my Linux/ZFS box, and make that have the rootfs. That way it will be running against a disk, so it can save state between reboots. I can mount this over NFS.

Anyone know if there is a disk-backed memory disk driver? Or any way to make one? I would rather use a disk backed ramdisk for the state, but I only know how to make regular ramdisks atm. I can even do something like keep the state in a folder base on the NIC's MAC Address or something so it supports multiple computers. This could be a fun little project.
 

402blownstroker

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - Nov. 2012
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
3,232
Personlly I would just boot off a live cd/usb disk, create a ramdisk, and fold off the ramdisk. I have had very good luck doing that for 'temporary' setups.
 

extide

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
3,494
Yeah but that would be too easy. I can already boot to the livecd over the network, now I just need to make the disk backed ramdisk.
 

Axdrenalin

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - Nov. 2009
Joined
Jan 28, 2004
Messages
6,250
Been stepping it up the past week or so as I can...
 

extide

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
3,494
oooh, I know, I can use MDADM and make a raid 1 between a ramdisk and a volume somewhere, and set it up so all the reads come from the ram. Hrmmm.
 

tkam

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - Dec. 2012
Joined
Dec 18, 2007
Messages
436
It's going to be very hard to hold them back once these QBR's leave beta. They've got a sizable advantage in active member count and are heavily GPU based. So most of those active members won't have to do anything and will see a huge PPD increase.

I think this would be a good time to try to get some folding posts on the main [H] page to help get the active member count up.
 

Biffa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
226
depends whether the wus released after the beta testing are anything like the teeny tiny lightweight ones we are seeing now.
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,479
depends whether the wus released after the beta testing are anything like the teeny tiny lightweight ones we are seeing now.

^^ This, these test WU are not exactly large - especially if they are supposed to be the same as SMP units
 

jebo_4jc

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2011
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
14,562
I think this would be a good time to try to get some folding posts on the main [H] page to help get the active member count up.
I actually think we should wait until the qrb leaves beta. We don't want to scare away noobs trying to get them to set up beta units
 

wings2004

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
213
So... is Atlas-Folding getting the QRB bump too? cause that should be more than enough to keep up with EVGA... :p
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,479
So... is Atlas-Folding getting the QRB bump too? cause that should be more than enough to keep up with EVGA... :p

Don't think so - last time i looked his WU count would indicate that his farm was mainly shutdown and he was 4p folding - if he still has the mobo's it maybe time for a mk2 version with new gpus - 32 GTX 590's anyone??
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
Don't think so - last time i looked his WU count would indicate that his farm was mainly shutdown and he was 4p folding - if he still has the mobo's it maybe time for a mk2 version with new gpus - 32 GTX 590's anyone??

I would go 670 to "future proof" it.... but anyway he would go, dayum! Look out!
 

wings2004

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
213
Now that we are getting decent points for the power I fired up my 580, but almost wish I didn't get my 4p if the points are going to be this friggen inflated.
 

jebo_4jc

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2011
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
14,562
Now that we are getting decent points for the power I fired up my 580, but almost wish I didn't get my 4p if the points are going to be this friggen inflated.
Based on what we've seen in the past, there is a relatively good chance these early WUs are much smaller than the final WUs will be, which will most likely result in ppd going down. Don't sell off your 4p setups just yet
 

wings2004

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
213
Nah, I'll keep it running, always nice to have some extra processing power lying around in case I wanted to re purpose it.
 

Patriot

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2011/June 2013/De
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
2,502
depends whether the wus released after the beta testing are anything like the teeny tiny lightweight ones we are seeing now.

ik... I am just waiting for those poor GTX580s to get a 2m atom unit and watch them cry at the tpf...
 
D

Deleted member 12106

Guest
Do I need to go to the firebox and activate my 2 cards and make some purchases? :eek:.
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
ik... I am just waiting for those poor GTX580s to get a 2m atom unit and watch them cry at the tpf...

While I agree, The WU will still return more than what they are currently pushing out, probably by a fair margin.
 

Toconator

Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
776
Hmm, have to motivate myself to swap my Q6600 server for my old Ph II 1090T which I recently replaced with a shiny new 3770K. Alot of stuff to redo though, it's gonna be a pain. If I do I'll repurpose the Q6600 and fold headless on it. Don't want us to relinquish #1 after taking so long to get it back.
 

Brother John

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 30, 2012
Messages
283
Hmmm, at midnight I switched 2 of my clients back to 33 and I thought the world was fine.
Checked my stats this morning and what the f@#$!
I found 0 points from one of the clients.
I rechecked the config and somehow during the night little gremlins decided to change the team # back to 32!

Guess I need to hang around the boxen with a shotgun. ;)
Either that or look closer to make sure I input the right #. :rolleyes:

In any case I'm sticking to the gremlin theory. :D

For the [H]orde!

That is all. :p
 

jebo_4jc

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2011
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
14,562
I never trusted those overclockers. I blame them. :)
 

ThreeDee

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 5, 2001
Messages
11,344
[tinfoil-hat]Did eVGA "donate" a large wad of cash to "someone" to get more "oomph" out of their "video cards"?[/tinfoil-hat]
 

jojo69

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
11,122
[tinfoil-hat]Did eVGA "donate" a large wad of cash to "someone" to get more "oomph" out of their "video cards"?[/tinfoil-hat]

you think?

the bias is rather painfully obvious, maybe I should go search for aliens and let them cure cancer
 

colinstu

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 11, 2007
Messages
3,563
I added a 2P 6200 12 core to the effort

Thanks!

I got my roommate's GTX 670 folding while he's gone during the weekend. Have to take advantage of these crazed GPU QRB numbers! Don't give me that "you can't help out the beta team if you do that then" ... yeah evga, think you can hoard all those units to yourself. My reply to the beta forums: yeah they don't crash and give mad points!
 
Top