CDW Outlet Finds

Discussion in '[H]ot|DEALS' started by SamirD, Oct 22, 2018.

  1. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    This is quite important. I've tripped breakers pulling too many amps to the point power cord prongs would burn the skin and the breaker panel was hot to the touch--I never want to get in that situation again.

    You can check your breaker to see if it's 20a to begin with, and if there's nothing else on that circuit (I mean NOTHING), you can probably adapt it and use it. But you need to be very careful with things like this and check regularly for oddities like warm power cords, etc.
     
    workshop35 likes this.
  2. elavanis

    elavanis n00b

    Messages:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Well since we are talking about ups I'll ask a question. My understanding is these type ups are meant for rack mounting https://www.cdw.com/product/cyberpower-online-2kva-smart-app-bs/5574617?pfm=srh https://www.cdw.com/search/?key=SMA...hscope=all&sr=1&SortBy=PriceAsc&maxrecords=72 and they have the ability to monitor and turn on off remotely. I've got two computers in a closet on ups like this. https://www.cdw.com/product/apc-back-ups-pro-br-1500va-10out-bs/5645604?pfm=srh Neither is drawing much power and can run for 20- 30 minutes. I just like to have the usp in case the power goes out it will shutdown properly. Can the rackmounted units like I linked to earlier be used for multiple computers or do they just control one. If not is the main advantage the fact they can be rack mounted?

    Thanks
     
  3. /dev/null

    /dev/null [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,043
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    I just picked up this for $105 :)

    There is a 1660Ti available for $185 if anyone is interested..
     
  4. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Any ups can supply power to anything that plugs into its outlet so long as it does not exceed the peak capability of the ups (like a laser printer can). So you can put as many or as little computers or other devices on a single ups, up to its max load capability. But the higher the load, the less the runtime, so that's the tradeoff.

    The main advantage of rack mount units imo, is that they're designed for data centers which don't tolerate consumer crap. So these are built a little better, a little no nonsense, and are built to work. Plus the warranties and support on them are pretty nice too.
     
  5. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Nice score! And that's a solid deal on that card as it usually goes for $300+. (y)

    I picked up a pair of enterprise HGST 6TB drives for $240ish just recently, and each drive usually costs almost this much. Too bad they didn't work for what I wanted (pushing an old ss4200 nas beyond 16tb), so back to the outlet they're going. ;)
     
  6. Ski

    Ski Gawd

    Messages:
    967
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Regarding the gpu, does this come new in a box? or is this some type of used or refurbished item?
     
  7. AnIgnorantPerson

    AnIgnorantPerson Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    120v is 120v. It is 3 prong and any 120v 3 prong outlet will work. It won't pull more than 15amp unless you put a high load plus recharge. You are being paranoid. Also most houses today have 20 amp breakers. At least my house and previous ones all came with 20 amp breaks for standard outlets. If all you are doing is running 500 watts there is no way in hell it will pull over 1875 watts. The batteries aren't big enough and dont charge at that high of a current.

    Obviously, it would be who of you to verify but it isn't that big of a deal as long as you verify and understand what your outlet is and what your use case is.

    Also, there is no wiring...you just buy blank end to blank end and bam you are done. I did that for my old UPS to run off twist 250v and it was designed for 230v worked for years.

    I now run my 250v* line to my eaton 240v and its amazing.

    You can easily run that 120v rig off 15a or 20a standard outlet as long as you don't exceed outlet rating.

    It is link running a 200 watt CPU with a 100w cooler. You just dont allow the CPUY to produce mroe than 100W power sustained.

    Please dont sensationalize needlessly.

    *my house and area is feed 240v which is 120/240v but none load voltage typically where I am at is 125v/250v verse 120/240v. It is essentially the same.

    This also has some more info as well. The plug has the T shaped section but it also accepts all 1-15 and 5-15P plugs. You can use the lower tier plugs in it just fine. As I said before you just need to make sure you don't overload the wiring/breaker. If you are just running a NAS and low power devices you are 100% fine but be self conscious of what you do.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NEMA_connector


    didn't see link but almost all UPSes you buy have USB/PS2(?) cables but those only work for 1 machine. You would need to make sure the model supports a network card and buy a network card so it can send those codes via network for shut down and/or reboot and properly configure the computer BIOS/windows to support it.

    I have no experience on this topic. It is my current understanding. In the future, I want to get my Eaton programmed via network card to do this but its low priority. I can think of only once in 1-3 years power has been out for more than 5 mins for me so I am in no hurry to figure this out.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2019
  8. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Good question. I'd call them and they can tell you the exact details.

    Generally items are open box, but some can be bnib, and others can be new missing everything from the box and sometimes even the box. It varies.

    Oh, but the good thing is that it has standard return policies and full factory warranty, so in that sense it's brand new. (y)
     
    /dev/null and Ski like this.
  9. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    I hate to admit it, but I can vouch for this as we had 6000va of load running off of one 20a circuit at my parents place. :oops: I've since turned off most of the loads since when the power flickered it would trip the breaker when everything wanted to turn back on simultaneously. :eek:
     
  10. AnIgnorantPerson

    AnIgnorantPerson Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    wtf 6000VA...you need to install some low guage wires (thick). I would feel safe using a 2Kva UPS but what was the power draw for a recharge on that 6Kva?? o_O I assume at least 700 or 800 watts if not more! Now that is scary hahaha

    My dream is to get a 5th wheel trailer and travel around the states and as a massive geek I would install like a 6K UPS for the fifth wheel hahaha. I would rewire so that everything minus the large sources fun off online UPS :p
     
  11. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Oh, it wasn't a single 6ka, that would have been totally nuts. But I have 3x 1500va upses, 2x 1000va, 2x 600va, 1x 700va and then all the loads attached to those which gave each one between 7m and 45m of runtime (some things like routers had their own dedicated upses for super-long runtime).

    There was so much heat being produced that air conditioning was the other problem. If the temp ever got above 75, there was a thermal runaway where the hot air in the room got heated even more and the ac couldn't remove it fast enough. We would have to shut things off to get temps down again and then the ac could handle it. Summer was still brutal though with 80 degrees in the room when it was 100+ outside. And unfortunately all this took a turn for the worse when this year the ac portion of the unit wouldn't turn on. :( The heat was too much and one older p4 system popped a cap before I could shut everything down. :cry: Very, very few things stay powered there now short of switches and such as the rest had to be moved to cooler location. Moving things also has reduced the load so that was 1 new problem, but 1 solution too.

    I think I calculated the wattage based on the ratings of each of the power supplies (which is max which I don't think we ever came close to), and it was something like 6000 or 8000w--not what you want on even a 20a 120v circuit (2400w). Luckily I had all sorts of power strips with breakers so if a single load was too much or something got too hot, I'm sure one of those would pop.
     
  12. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
  13. Mav451

    Mav451 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,505
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Oooh apparently these are 1.33TB/platter. https://rml527.blogspot.com/2010/10/hdd-platter-database-hitachi-35.html
    (Scroll down to the "1.33TB/platter Section")
    *
    Not a big deal to most, but the last time I was buying hard drives (e.g. 3TB/4TB), the max per platter was 1TB. But I typically try to minimize the number of platters if I can. My 4TB Black only has 800GB platters, unlike my Red drive, so that means 5 platters - more noise, vibration, more heat.


    1) So what's the deal with these drives - are they like reconditioned?
    2) Any recommended SAS controllers :p
    Guess I'll need cables too.

    I suppose the value proposition is *only* if you're purchasing multiple drives at a time.
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2019
  14. Foxyridge

    Foxyridge n00b

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    So whats does this mean: "Home Do Not Use Z - CDW Internal Use/Service Pts" ???
    It is on almost every deal that you guys have posted. Also are these items brand new or used? Have never bought anything from cdw before
     
  15. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    That 1.33GB platter section doesn't match the specs from the data sheet that indicates that this model is has one of the highest reliability stats of any air-filled drive as well as 2M mtbf with a 24x7 duty cycle and an .44% annual failure rate:
    https://documents.westerndigital.co...6.2096132832.1563772540-1077620297.1563772540

    Less platters is always better, but you have to keep in mind that these are enterprise drives designed for data center conditions, ie close proximity to other drives. As long as you don't overheat them (like any drive), I don't see them having an issue for a long time.

    1. open box, clearance, return, could also be bnib. sold as new with new warranty and full cdw return policy.
    2. check the outlet :D I have no idea if these are the best fit for your scenario--there's a lot of options in the world of sas controllers:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/lsi-9207-8e-sgl-sas-pcie-8pt-hba-bs/5588467?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/hp-h241-smart-hba-bstk/5625654?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/dell-sas-12gbps-hba-ext-controller/5646581?pfm=srh
    3. Yes, and cabling can be quite specific too, so check and double-check that before purchasing.

    That's true, but if you're looking for a smaller drive with the same bang/buck as the 8tb and 10tb externals that are being shucked, that's a tall order for new. 8TB at $130 = $16.25/TB and 10TB at $160 = $16/TB. That's roughly $32 for a 2TB drive, or $64 for a 4TB, which is hard to come by new--although not impossible as you can see. ;)
     
  16. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    I used to wonder that myself.

    CDW has part numbers they assign to all their normal inventory. Each of these part numbers pretty much stay fixed for a particular item and you can order multiple items of a particular part number like anywhere else.

    The outlet deals assign a unique one-time use CDW part number to each item in the outlet, many times just literally a single item that once that item is sold, the item number is never coming back into stock. CDW titles these numbers as 'internal use' since they don't want them spidered or spread around to google shopping etc.

    Outlet items are essentially returns or closeouts, but since CDW sells more to corporate enterprises than anything else, a lot of the returns are just mistakes and can be bnib. But they can also be open box, and possibly missing some manuals or boxes. But they are still considered new by manufacturers and still have CDW's normal return policy. If you're looking for absolutely spic and span brand new, these aren't the deals you're looking for, but if you don't mind taking a gamble and saving a bundle while you're at it, you're at of the best places I've ever found online for deals. :)

    Hope this clears it up. (y)
     
    Foxyridge likes this.
  17. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Been a while since perused the outlet to relax, and I've found some UPS goodies. (y)

    APC 6000VA UPs that's normally $4000+ for $1323. I'm guessing this is the bottom price on it too:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/apc-smart-ups-srt-6kva-208v-bstk/5625445?pfm=srh

    Newer APC Lithium Ion battery technology based UPS units for $988 when the going rate is $1400+:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/apc-smart-ups-li-ion-sd-1500va-240wh/5653179?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/apc-smart-ups-li-ion-sd-1500va-240wh/5651178?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/apc-smart-ups-li-ion-sd-1500va-240wh/5651180?pfm=srh
     
  18. Ski

    Ski Gawd

    Messages:
    967
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    if you had the scratch would you consider flipping the 6000va?
     
  19. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    I've considered doing that on certain products that I'm very knowledgeable about so I can talk to a potential buyer with confidence in what I have at the price I'm selling it. I've also owned a distribution company before and know how when something doesn't sell in the timeframe you want, that's holding cost, potential depreciation you have to eat, and more.

    And at this time, I'm waaaay too busy to do anything about the deals I find other than either use them for myself (if I need the product) or post them somewhere so someone else can take advantage of them. My loss your gain. :D
     
    AnIgnorantPerson and Ski like this.
  20. Ski

    Ski Gawd

    Messages:
    967
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Word. I hear ya.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  21. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    /dev/null likes this.
  22. /dev/null

    /dev/null [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,043
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
  23. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    And there's some deals on 5-packs of the newest wave 2 ap that are usually $1400+ currently sitting at $1135. I think these still have some drops in them and may even break under $1000, which if they do they'll be a steal:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/ubiquiti-wave-2-wifi-access-pt-5pk/5658712?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/ubiquiti-wave-2-wifi-access-pt-5pk/5658746?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/ubiquiti-wave-2-wifi-access-pt-5pk/5658556?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/ubiquiti-wave-2-wifi-access-pt-5pk/5658625?pfm=srh

    There's a second batch too that's currently at $1265, that of course will drop to $1135. But you can watch the other batch for the absolute rock bottom price, unless someone buys them sooner. How do you know it's rock bottom? Because it's gone to liquidation; but it could also be sold. But if all 4 go the same day, either a company bought them all or they went to liquidation.
    https://www.cdw.com/product/ubiquiti-wave-2-wifi-access-pt-5pk/5660235?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/ubiquiti-wave-2-wifi-access-pt-5pk/5660237?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/ubiquiti-wave-2-wifi-access-pt-5pk/5660236?pfm=srh
     
  24. /dev/null

    /dev/null [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,043
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Yep Saw those 5 packs as well...
     
    SamirD likes this.
  25. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Okay, I just got my order in to CDW so now I'm going to share some deals for the rest of you peeps. :D

    Asus i5-8400 computer that's targeted at businesses that's $600+ anywhere else for $435, and it will probably drop at least one more time:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/asus-vc66-i5-8400-1-8-w10-bstk/5644247?pfm=srh

    EVGA SLI bridge for RTX that's usually $80+ for $42, and it's probably got one more drop in it:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/evga-geforce-rtx-nvlink-sli-bridge/5636600?pfm=srh

    Watchguard T35 with one year basic security site for $282, which is probably going to be the lowest price on this otherwise $800+ router. These things are quite robust and are a nice overkill for any home setup. We've got an M200 and it's uptime is over 90 days as of this post. (y)
    https://www.cdw.com/product/watchguard-fb-t35-1y-bsc-sec-us-bst/5627345?pfm=srh

    Brother MFCL2710DW laser multi-function machine for $68 when it's usually at $130+. This is the newer version of the same Brother multi-function machine I have at home. :)
    https://www.cdw.com/product/brother-mfc-l2710dw-mono-laser-p-s-c/5637012?pfm=srh

    Evoluent vertical mouse for $69 when it's usually $100+. There's a second one for a little more at $76. I bet this will drop one more time too:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/evoluent-ergonomic-mouse-bt-bstk/5653063?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/evoluent-ergonomic-mouse-bt-bstk/5665720?pfm=srh

    Ryzen 7 3700x for $315. They're usually more I think even with the microcenter deals:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/amd-ryzen-7-3700x-65-am4-36mb-4400/5678137?pfm=srh

    i3-6100 for $113:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/intel-i3-6100-3.70ghz-processor-bst/5677723?pfm=srh

    i7-7700k for $284:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/intel-i7-7700k-4.2ghz-1151-8c-16t-91/5648931?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/intel-i7-7700k-4.2ghz-1151-8c-16t-91/5651868?pfm=srh

    Xeon Platinum 5122 for $1099:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/intel-xeon-platinum-5122-tray-proc/5673844?pfm=srh

    Shuttle lga1151 barebone (case, mb, power supply) with 3yr warranty for $120 when it's normally $250+. This would make for a pretty sweet htpc system on the cheap. I could see it dropping once more, but this might be the bottom on it:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/shuttle-sh17-r6-i5-128gb-bstk/5635109?pfm=srh

    8TB Seagate SAS 512e enterprise class 7200rpm drives for $176/ea when they're normally $300+. Lots of them too as it looks like someone got the wrong drives for a storage project and had to return them all or they're being closed out. I think these are near the bottom if not the very bottom:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/seagate-8tb-exos-x10-hdd-512e-sas-b/5655236?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/seagate-8tb-exos-x10-hdd-512e-sas-b/5654077?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/seagate-8tb-exos-x10-hdd-512e-sas-b/5654078?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/seagate-8tb-exos-x10-hdd-512e-sas-b/5654080?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/seagate-8tb-exos-x10-hdd-512e-sas-b/5654082?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/seagate-8tb-exos-x10-hdd-512e-sas-b/5655233?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/seagate-8tb-exos-x10-hdd-512e-sas-b/5654041?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/seagate-8tb-exos-x10-hdd-512e-sas-b/5655231?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/seagate-8tb-exos-x10-hdd-512e-sas-b/5655227?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/seagate-8tb-exos-x10-hdd-512e-sas-b/5655234?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/seagate-8tb-exos-x10-hdd-512e-sas-b/5654076?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/seagate-8tb-exos-x10-hdd-512e-sas-b/5652879?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/seagate-8tb-exos-x10-hdd-512e-sas-b/5652837?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/seagate-8tb-exos-x10-hdd-512e-sas-b/5655232?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/seagate-8tb-exos-x10-hdd-512e-sas-b/5655230?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/seagate-8tb-exos-x10-hdd-512e-sas-b/5652774?pfm=srh
     
    Archaea and arnemetis like this.
  26. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,262
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004

    I picked up that little barebones shuttle at $97 + shipping and tax = $117. It'll be a nice little general PC for the kids in the kitchen.

    Should I expect this this is used, open box, new/sealed? I don't see that information on the listing?

    Thanks for the heads up.


    A nice little processor to go with that shuttle:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/intel-pentium-gold-g5400-3.7-ghz-processor/5507611?pfm=srh
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2019 at 2:49 PM
  27. wizzi01

    wizzi01 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,082
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
  28. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Score! Not used for sure, open box possibly missing some stuff or can even be bnib. They usually don't have the details of the condition even if you call and talk to someone, so that part is always a surprise--but the savings aren't. ;)

    I'd be curious as to what condition it comes in, so please let us know!

    That is a nice little processor for the shuttle, and that's the normal CDW price too since it's brand new and not open box. (y)
     
    Archaea likes this.
  29. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    How many ports does yours have? HP called all the different port version of the 1820 the same 1820 name, lol:
    https://www.cdw.com/search/?key=1820&outlet=1&searchscope=all&sr=1&SortBy=PriceAsc

    If you got that 24 port for $166, you can almost bet on it that the one currently in the outlet now will also drop to $166. (y)

    The one currently in the outlet is probably another corporate return, probably like yours was. How was the condition of yours when you opened it up?
     
  30. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,262
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
  31. stiltner

    stiltner [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,623
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    SamirD likes this.
  32. wizzi01

    wizzi01 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,082
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    It's the exact same one. I have 10 cameras on it right now. It looked brand new, but came in a box with bstock on it. I did have to spend $7 on Amazon for a set of rack ears though.

    I was wrong. it was almost $170 shipped.

    cdw.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2019 at 7:22 PM
  33. wizzi01

    wizzi01 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,082
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
  34. jimbob200521

    jimbob200521 Gawd

    Messages:
    533
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Any 10g NIC's or switches that are priced right for a home upgrade?
     
  35. wizzi01

    wizzi01 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,082
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
  36. jimbob200521

    jimbob200521 Gawd

    Messages:
    533
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
  37. wizzi01

    wizzi01 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,082
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Fair enough. I have no idea about 10 gig stuff.
     
  38. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Considering that just the cpu in this is $200, it's definitely approaching an unreal value. (y)
     
  39. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Nice! That's what the 8gb memory I got looked like--box was opened with the b-stock sticker on it, but the static bags inside were still sealed. (y)

    Yep, it's the little missing things like rack ears that sometime make something head into the outlet and get deeply discounted. But paying $100 less over some $7 rack ears is what I call a win. :D
     
    wizzi01 likes this.
  40. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,262
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    I like the shuttle PC deal better. You can throw in a graphics card and CD ROM in the Shuttle.