CDW Outlet Finds

Discussion in '[H]ot|DEALS' started by SamirD, Oct 22, 2018.

  1. Joust

    Joust 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,826
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Ok. More for us.
     
  2. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Curious as to what happened--did it get cancelled or something else?
     
  3. cdoublejj

    cdoublejj Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    277
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    those UPS have to cost an arm to ship
     
  4. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    They do, and there's a risk of shipping damage. But for a $1000 off, it's worth the risk to some.
     
  5. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
  6. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
  7. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Was looking for something else and ran into these deals...

    LandingZone Dock Pro for $29 that's usually $150+ anywhere I look:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/landing-zone-12-macbook-usb-c-dock/5565621?pfm=srh

    Targus 2k universal doc for $36 that's usually $100+:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/targus-2k-univ-docking-station-bstk/5589759?pfm=srh

    Lenovo universal usb 3.0 basic dock for $30 that's usually $100+. Even comes with a 40w power supply:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/lvo-usb-3.0-basic-dock-bstk/5571557?pfm=srh

    They have more of these at $46 that will drop to the $30 price shortly:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/lvo-usb-3.0-basic-dock-bstk/5603239?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/lvo-usb-3.0-basic-dock-bstk/5603216?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/lvo-usb-3.0-basic-dock-bstk/5603233?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/lvo-usb-3.0-basic-dock-bstk/5603261?pfm=srh
     
  8. owkia

    owkia 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,727
    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
  9. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Nice finds!

    I kinda stopped looking for ssd deals in the outlet as retail prices have been cheaper lately. Like the Micron 4tb deal that's still in stock--nothing touches that so far aside from used enterprise sas ssds.
     
    mikeo likes this.
  10. AnIgnorantPerson

    AnIgnorantPerson Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    what? details?
     
  11. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    So even I lose out in the outlet every so often due to mess ups on cdw's side. On a recent order where the shipping just seemed too crazy high, I wanted to use my own UPS account since UPS recently gave me some additional discounts. Well, they had trouble charging my UPS account so the order got cancelled. How did I find out? Because I called the next day wondering where my order confirmation was. And in this time, one of my items was at its cheapest and ended up being liquidated so I lost it. :( I was able to find a replacement, but it was a few dollars more.

    And then when I got that drive, it's the first drive I got in a somewhat 'used' condition as it had a handwritten date on the label of April something 2019 an no static bag. It still passed h2testw wonderfully and the warranty checks out 100%, but it was a little off of what the other drive probably would have been.

    Because the shipping amount was billed to my account, I had no idea how much the shipping was until a few days after I received the order. It definitely was cheaper and I saved about $20, but I was definitely flying blind.

    But the bottom line was solid as I picked up 4x batteries to refurb some UPS units that have had dead batteries for a while for just $55-something each shipped (and they're about 20lbs each), versus the $100+ that these usually are just for the battery itself. Essentially $200 vs $400+. Worth the little hiccups and hassles? For $200 it sure was as I had less than an hour tied up in all that. (y)

    And that doesn't count the Lacie STEV2000400 drives that I picked up without any hassle for about $80/ea shipped that are usually $145+. Almost another $200 in savings right there. (y) Hence why I think the CDW Outlet has some hot deals. :cool:
     
    AnIgnorantPerson likes this.
  12. DeeJayBump

    DeeJayBump Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    262
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Anybody found a decent color laser MFP either CDW outlet or elsewhere for $200 or less preferably with Linkyo [or other] replacement toner compatible? looking for something decent for my mother. Thanks.
     
  13. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    This search:
    https://www.cdw.com/search/?key=laser&outlet=1&searchscope=all&sr=1&SortBy=PriceAsc&maxrecords=72
    yielded the following in your price range:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/hp-color-laserjet-pro-mfp-m180nw-bs/5593950?pfm=srh - $105
    https://www.cdw.com/product/lexmark-cx522ade-color-laser-35ppm/5593972?pfm=srh - $194
    https://www.cdw.com/product/brother-mfcl8610cdw-color-laser-mfp/5618636?pfm=srh - $219

    I would not worry about the price of replacement toner unless your mother is printing more than 10 pages a day. Those of us that own lasers at home can't remember the last time we bought toner. :)
     
    Jim Kim and AnIgnorantPerson like this.
  14. DeeJayBump

    DeeJayBump Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    262
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002

    Awesome, thanks, SamirD. I ordered the Lexmark.
     
  15. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Sweet. Be sure to call them Monday to confirm that the order it placed and it went through. Even if you get a confirmation the order may still get cancelled if the unit wasn't found when they went to 'pick' it (in warehouse speak). Shipping might be a bomb too so make sure you're ready for that. Otherwise, you got it at a steal of a price as even a techforless open box is almost $400 and a new one from B&H is $600. (y)
     
    AnIgnorantPerson likes this.
  16. Joust

    Joust 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,826
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    SamirD A buddy of mine and a (and a silent lurker here) is looking for a UPS, 120v input for his NAS and workstation (or two). Anything come up recently? Kinda looking at non-rackmount solutions.
     
  17. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    What size you looking for? I'll take a look in a sec and see what I find. :)
     
  18. AnIgnorantPerson

    AnIgnorantPerson Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    also important is do you want pure sinewave? interactive or online? The one I just got is awesome.

    I would argue only get pure sinewave unless its something that isn't of any value and can accept dirty power.

    If its of any value I would get online personally. It is more expensive and uses about 10% more electricity but its a real peace of mind and helps keep your PSUs from having to clean up dirty power, which extends their life.

    I got this for 700 and change.
    https://www.cdw.com/product/eaton-2200va-twr-rack-mountable-ups/5571620?pfm=srh
     
    SamirD likes this.
  19. Joust

    Joust 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,826
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Eh. Hard to say. He's running a Synology and he's dealing with only very short outages. Enough to trip everything off, but only a matter of seconds. I'm not good at sizing these things.
     
  20. Joust

    Joust 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,826
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Pure sinwave isn't critical, really.
     
    arnemetis likes this.
  21. AnIgnorantPerson

    AnIgnorantPerson Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    get a kilavolt meter but its only a UPS it should be at most a few 100 watts at peak unless something massive like my set up (norco 4224 full loaded)

    Also the 120v onlines are way way cheaper than what i got. They had some nice ones last couple weeks going for 200!

    EDIT: this should drop in price. They had 1500 watt versions of this going for ~200
    This is if you want to go all out and buy the best but they have higher capacities that go for same price if you wait.
    https://www.cdw.com/product/liebert-gxt4-500va-ups-120v-rck-twr/5580432?pfm=srh

    This is the search I used
    https://www.cdw.com/search/?outlet=...ln=0&sortby=priceasc&maxrecords=72&pcurrent=1


    they have some super cheap ones too
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2019
  22. Joust

    Joust 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,826
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    I mean, I'm running xlm 3000 with four battery extenders, and a smartups-c 1500. I'm good. Even with a 12, 16, and 24 bay supermicro chassis.

    My buddy has..nothing. needs something.​
     
    AnIgnorantPerson likes this.
  23. AnIgnorantPerson

    AnIgnorantPerson Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    yea see my update. I consider this a long term ionvestment and best to buy a sold item iof you cna afford it. I used cheap stuff for ages because i couldnt afford a nice thing and found this thread and snagged an awesome deal :D
     
    SamirD and Joust like this.
  24. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    So in a quick search, these tripplite units seem like they're pretty good for a nas and some workstation, but the price needs to drop a little more for them to a solid deal. There's a bunch of them too:
    https://www.cdw.com/search/?key=SMA...hscope=all&sr=1&SortBy=PriceAsc&maxrecords=72

    I don't know if this would be enough va, but this medical UPS is about as clean as power gets, and it's probably at the bottom at $139 as it's usually $400+ anywhere:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/cyberpower-medical-grade-ups-750va/5583068?pfm=srh

    there's a second and 3rd one too that's a little higher in price right now at $174 and $217 if you want to watch the first one hit rock bottom and drop off and then get the others at the rock bottom price:
    https://www.cdw.com/product/cyberpower-medical-grade-ups-750va/5593571?pfm=srh
    https://www.cdw.com/product/cyberpower-medical-grade-ups-750va/5618886?pfm=srh

    This one would be my solution at $224. It's a 2200va unit that I know can stand up like a tower even though it is rackable. It usually goes for $800+ so it's a solid deal even at the current price, which seems like be the bottom or close to it. The only caveat will be shipping because if they don't pack it right, it will be destroyed by the time you get it. Just be sure to refuse it as damaged if you can at that point because I still haven't gotten a refund on mine that arrived damaged a year ago.
    https://www.cdw.com/product/cyberpower-online-2kva-smart-app-bs/5574617?pfm=srh
     
    AnIgnorantPerson likes this.
  25. AnIgnorantPerson

    AnIgnorantPerson Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    yea that cyberpower is a nice unit and the best deal any of us posted.

    Its similair to the lieberts from a couple weeks ago
     
    SamirD likes this.
  26. mrpickem

    mrpickem n00b

    Messages:
    33
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Waiting to see a fast 1TB m.2 for 150...like an evo plus
     
  27. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,631
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    You're not going to do better than this deal, which looks like it's still available for shipping from their web store for $6 so $106 before any applicable tax - https://www.microcenter.com/product...80-pcie-nvme-30-x4-internal-solid-state-drive For further reading on this drive see https://hardforum.com/threads/i-got...land-1tb-nvme-premium-97-microcenter.1978390/ I have this drive in my file server and I can't do anything that makes use of its speed.
     
  28. mrpickem

    mrpickem n00b

    Messages:
    33
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    I've heard quite a bit about inland drives but have never owned one. I'm gonna use it in a NUC and will have some work related stuff that may only get backed up weekly so dependability is more important to me than speed. The Evos have been the king for awhile, but way overpriced accordingly. Evo Plus 1TB is 209. I may try this inland drive. Do you know how long the company has been around and whats the aprox life cycle on these drives?
     
  29. BlueLineSwinger

    BlueLineSwinger Gawd

    Messages:
    640
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    That last Cyberpower linked uses a NEMA L5-20 plug. It won't work for most people/situations.

    AFAIK, there are no UPS units out there above 1500 VA that use a standard NEMA 5R-15 plug. There may be some that use NEMA 5R-20 (note the prong rotated 90 deg.), but again, those are rare in a home.
     
  30. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,631
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    There are a ton of other companies that use the e12 controller, Inland is the Microcenter house brand. I honestly can't speak in greater detail, that thread is a great resource though.
     
    mrpickem likes this.
  31. mazeroth

    mazeroth Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    249
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Samir, you're the man!

    I have a 4-bay QNAP with 4x4TB, external backup, and my new i3 9100 Plex server that could use a new battery backup. Do you think that medical grade one for $139 is overkill? I'm really liking that beast 2KVA for $224, but that's getting excessive!
     
  32. Joust

    Joust 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,826
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Check the plug discussion, just...in case.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  33. w1retap

    w1retap [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,896
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    A UPS really only needs to provide enough power for safe shutdown of equipment or short duration power interruptions. That said 2KVA will be overkill, but the bigger the better if you want to withstand a longer outage. My ESXi home server has dual 2011v3 processors with 17 hard drives, and it will remain online for about 20min with a 1.5KVA unit. (along with a 24-port HP switch, standalone pfSense itx firewall, a monitor, 5 PoE cameras, cable modem, and two wireless access points)
     
  34. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,157
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007

    If it works for a week then it will work for years. If you are worried, a small copper hestsink on Just the controller would help a lot if you do heavy sustained read/writes (since you mentioned it in a NUC. THIS is true for any SSD not just the INLAND BTW)...

    I have a 960 Evo that is getting moved to just OS duty and the Inland Premium is going to become my app/game drive. I've purchased a lot of Sammy SSDs but this drive seems like a great value, and drive prices are predicted to increase for the next quarter due to WD/Toshiba screw up.
     
    mrpickem likes this.
  35. AnIgnorantPerson

    AnIgnorantPerson Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    its called adapters

    plus its online the other is interactive. also it allows for growth.
     
  36. BlueLineSwinger

    BlueLineSwinger Gawd

    Messages:
    640
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    No, it's not called adapters. Wiring up some kind of adapter to allow that UPS to utilize a standard household power outlet could be trouble.

    There's a real, non-arbitrary reason the engineers specified that particular plug not the normal one when they designed that UPS. They built the unit to pull more current than can safely be provided by the 15 A power outlets used in most homes. Trying to use it in such a manner could, at the least, cause a number of circuit breaker trips, and would easily be a fire hazard.
     
    workshop35 likes this.
  37. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Good catch! These are the type of things that you have to watch for on outlet items! (y)

    So a good deal if you've got the plug that matches or are okay with using an adapter like this one:
    https://www.zoro.com/tripp-lite-pow...MI85a3h_294wIVC18NCh3xLABvEAQYBSABEgIN5vD_BwE
     
  38. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    :D

    I think it would be sized pretty well. Really depends on how much runtime you want. As far as power quality it would be pretty top notch. :)
     
  39. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,488
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    And you can adjust the runtime to whatever you want depending on the load and the capacity. At one of our businesses, we have a 1500va unit on the dvr there as well as 500va on the cameras. It can go several hours without power because of how small the load is in comparison with the capacity. (y)