Windows 8.1 update

Entilza

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
184
Ok so this morning I am looking for the Windows 8.1 update. I am searching the store, nothing,searching updates nothing... Then I check out the store again and I see this:

2ahupzb.png


Lol someone forgot to update the image... After so many months you'd think they'd be ready..
 

PinchedNerve

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
354
Currently updating my twin boys PC's & I didn't get the "Preview" image. I went back to 7 after the preview. I will wait till the 8.1 iso is released before I reinstall.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
17,282
So is that the preview or the real deal?

Yeah I just looked I got the one without the preview button it's 3.6 gigs this time the preview was 2.7 gigs or something.
 

Entilza

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
184
After a few minutes it was off the store then I saw it again with an updated image:

15i9gf9.png
 

ComputerBox34

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 12, 2003
Messages
12,929
ms-windows-store:WindowsUpgrade

Copy and paste that phrase into the browser of your choice^^

No idea why MS does not use Windows Update to distribute this just like they have for the past 15....YEARS.

Even their update process is fragmented now :rolleyes:
 

Entilza

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
184
Almost done updating, many resets and progress % when restarting..

Just when you think it's almost done it resets and says "Setting up a few more things... %"
 

Entilza

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
184
Keep checking the store it was on the left side...Might be where you are located?

The little windows logo on the left kind of shines when you hover over it, did the preview do that?

After I installed it was asking me to sign in with my username/password I forgot my info and it was quite hard to skip this.

Overall it's working, I had to go into Photos to get my pictures showing in the tiles, maybe because of the libraries being removed?

It felt strange when it was updating almost like it was reinstalling from scratch when I saw the "Hi" message but all my apps were still there afterwards :)

EDIT: Also my monitor calibration was off I had to redo that...
 

ZaC851

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
361
I just updated. Before, the bottom left corner brought me to the metro ui.
Now, the bottom left corner(aka the "start button") brings me to the metro ui.

What did that accomplish?
 

tboo

Gawd
Joined
Dec 4, 2003
Messages
569
I just updated. Before, the bottom left corner brought me to the metro ui.
Now, the bottom left corner(aka the "start button") brings me to the metro ui.

What did that accomplish?

It gives you a ton of options if you right-click that button.
 

ComputerBox34

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 12, 2003
Messages
12,929
Nuked the stupid "Folders" icons that showed up unnecessarily whenever I opened Windows (err...File?) explorer with the registry edits.

Using Start8 so not really seeing many changes other than the silly "This PC" rather than the established term of "My Computer."

If I was an IT guy upgrading users from Windows 8, I'd be pulling my hair out. Setup was long and acted as if I was completely upgrading the OS...didn't feel like a Service Pack at all.
 

Entilza

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
184
Nuked the stupid "Folders" icons that showed up unnecessarily whenever I opened Windows (err...File?) explorer with the registry edits.

If you collapse the folders group it seems to remember that setting so it's not in the way, you can still reopen it.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2002
Messages
3,441
After I installed it was asking me to sign in with my username/password I forgot my info and it was quite hard to skip this.

So how did you get past that? I couldn't get past it so I shut off the computer. I don't want to use an online login. When I booted back up it began to restore the old version.
 

SuperSubZero

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 21, 2000
Messages
3,745
I just updated. Before, the bottom left corner brought me to the metro ui.
Now, the bottom left corner(aka the "start button") brings me to the metro ui.

What did that accomplish?

It shows us who's been paying attention over the last several months, and who hasn't.

Doing it's job perfectly.
 

Entilza

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
184
So how did you get past that? I couldn't get past it so I shut off the computer. I don't want to use an online login. When I booted back up it began to restore the old version.

Wow it restored the old? brutal now you have to sit through this like 3 times lol...

Well I typed in my email address but the wrong password, so then it offered to skip, however it still didn't work there were some buttons at the bottom like try again or something then that somehow let me get by it, very annoying. You can get by it though..
 

Entilza

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
184
I still can't understand why this "update" is so large that it's like a re-install of the O/S.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2002
Messages
3,441
Wow it restored the old? brutal now you have to sit through this like 3 times lol...

Well I typed in my email address but the wrong password, so then it offered to skip, however it still didn't work there were some buttons at the bottom like try again or something then that somehow let me get by it, very annoying. You can get by it though..

I should have googled first before asking. A lot of info to skip this step out there.

Here is one link
http://www.infobyte.hr/blog/337/windows-8-1-preview-how-to-install-without-microsoft-account-skip-microsoft-account/

I disconnected the network cable during the first reboot and the prompt to login online never appeared when it got to that point.
 
Last edited:

ZaC851

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
361
So how did you get past that? I couldn't get past it so I shut off the computer. I don't want to use an online login. When I booted back up it began to restore the old version.

put in some random crap, then click "use my old account" or whatever it said, and it should just skip it.
 

Entilza

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
184
It's different now there's clearly a "skip" message there if you do enter the wrong password after entering an email. However like I said it was still difficult. I'm sure this will be further detailed soon. I didn't document the procedure was too happy to get it passed there.
 

Entilza

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
184
Can this even be installed remotely, I have some office PC's I won't even consider doing remotely. It's a shame each now has to download... Maybe there will be a downloadable upgrade option soon?
 

ComputerBox34

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 12, 2003
Messages
12,929
If you collapse the folders group it seems to remember that setting so it's not in the way, you can still reopen it.
The fact that all of those redundant and unnecessary folders were polluting my navigation bar in every program is what bothered me the most. The reg edits removed them
 

Cerulean

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 27, 2006
Messages
9,435
We're not upgrading our VDI environment to 8.1 because there have been many reports about IE11 breaking compatibility / compatibility issues with websites... just like IE10. Wonderful!
 

sportwarrior

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
275
Alright, I give up. Every time I go to the store, it just lists a "Spotlight" section first. Every time I search the store for Windows 8.1, nothing comes up. Every time I click the download link from the Microsoft website, it takes me to Windows store.... and nothing happens. No download, no link, nothing. What the eff?
 

ob1

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 17, 2000
Messages
2,274
Just finished the update on all three 8 PC's here at home and everything seems to have worked fine. Turned on the boot to desktop option and all is well. I just wish they allowed you to download a single copy of the update instead of each rig having to download the update from their slow servers separately. Testing out some games and apps now and haven't found any issues yet.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
769
Alright, I give up. Every time I go to the store, it just lists a "Spotlight" section first. Every time I search the store for Windows 8.1, nothing comes up. Every time I click the download link from the Microsoft website, it takes me to Windows store.... and nothing happens. No download, no link, nothing. What the eff?

Same here. I wonder if they pulled it or it's a regional rollout?
 

sportwarrior

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
275
Same here. I wonder if they pulled it or it's a regional rollout?

I don't think they pulled it, and while it could be regional, I'm in Southern California and have to believe we'd be among the first to get it. No idea what's going on, and the App Store's limited interface means I can't pry into it and figure out why its not working.
 

Superjoe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
1,193
It looks like the "desktop" version of SkyDrive is gone for good, at least for me.

How do you set it to boot to desktop?

My desktop displays the build number in the bottom right and says "SecureBoot isn't configured correctly" (I have it disabled in the BIOS) and there is not a single f'ing instruction on how to set it up or clear the error. Nothing pisses me off more than error messages with zero indication of what to do. Typical MS-BS.

Otherwise it is running fine, lol.
 

Entilza

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
184
It looks like the "desktop" version of SkyDrive is gone for good, at least for me.

How do you set it to boot to desktop?

Otherwise it is running fine, lol.

Skydrive is integrated with it apparently I havent tried it.

Boot to desktop, right click on the taskbar at the bottom (not the new icon) there's a lot of good stuff there. I like keeping the desktop wallpaper for the metro icons as well, looks more integrated.
 

Superjoe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
1,193
Wow, you're right, keeping the desktop wallpaper for Start looks really good!

Thanks for the boot-to-desktop find.

SkyDrive is totally integrated now which is a good move but since the desktop app is completely gone I can't just look down at the taskbar and see my sync status. Not sure what the easiest way is to do that now... the folder icons in explorer also don't show the sync status like they used to.

SkyDrive Pro doesn't make any sense either. When you start it it just says "Which Library do you want to sync?" with a text field to type a library name? I'm confused.
 

Megalith

24-bit/48kHz
Staff member
Joined
Aug 20, 2006
Messages
13,003
I cancelled my install earlier but am wondering if I was panicking over nothing. I read all of these reports about some kind of secure boot fuck-up, even if you aren't using it.
 

Eiolon

Gawd
Joined
Apr 6, 2005
Messages
928
I cannot find 8.1 in VLS. I can see my licensing for it and the keys but no download. I checked both Software assurance and Windows downloads. Are we getting it late?
 
Top