The [H]ard Forum Storage Showoff Thread - Post your 10TB+ systems

Status
Not open for further replies.

drgnfang

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
1,085
...

Yeah, that's just sick (in a good way though).
Hidden option C: Send the spare drives to me.
 

croakz

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 27, 2008
Messages
102
Ockie reminds me of the the old SR-71 Blackbird, that whenever there was a challenger for speed records, they'd trot out the plane and reclaim the top spot, over and over again :)
 

Haleiwa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
214
Do San's count?:D

SSPX0058.jpg

SSPX0059.jpg

SSPX0060.jpg


Sorry for the crappy images only had my cell phone.
 

Ockie

*** Self Proclaimed Storage King ***
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
17,999
Do San's count?:D

Sorry for the crappy images only had my cell phone.

No, but mine sure as hell does. But I'm not going to count it because then it just skews the entire thing and defeats the purpose.


....besides, I've always been told to hide the biggest fireworks for last ;)

But damn, that's the case I want.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
From the snapshots earlier I was thinking that might be a sun thumper as it has as similar disk layout (48 disks in 4U). 170 pounds and airplane loud goodness. The only difference was that spacer type of thing in the middle and the top of the drive modules looks a bit different.

Anyway my total storage will be going up to just behind ockie and asgards in a couple days (46.2 TB). I technically have all the storage already but not all of it is in use yet. I actually only included raid storage before as my previous systems listed has another 4TB of non raid storage which I will later include.

Right now I am rsyncing the data from my old 8x750 GB raid5 array to my new 8x1.5 TB (raid6 and raid10) array which will hopefully be done tonight and I can swap the drives. This time I wont totally screw my file-system with torrenting and be sure my client pre-allocates the files this time so its not fragmented as hell.

rsync over SSH maxes out at around 600 megabits for me. Can you tell which areas of the drive were badly fragmented? This is almost all large media files:

frag_transfer.png


Sadly there are times where the files were so fragmented it couldn't even sustain 100 megabits. I probably could have had everything transfered under 24 hours had it not been for fragmentation.

Hopefully tonight when the transfer is done and I swap the drives I can also take some pics of my ARC-1231ML jerry-rigged into a 2U chassis designed to take low profile cards with PCI-X dual port intel NIC (1000 MT). Man I am surprised I was able ot get the NIC in there with it =)
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
Welp, got my server upgraded. I will be updating my post sometime later this week. Here are some pics of my jerry rigged ARC-1231ML =)








My dad was with me since we went out to dinner and took a vid from his camera. It wasn't a cam corder so the video quality isn't the best of the world but he walked around the data center a bit:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BAqd5STOeVw&fmt=22
 

cyberjt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
244
Welp, got my server upgraded. I will be updating my post sometime later this week. Here are some pics of my jerry rigged ARC-1231ML =)




My dad was with me since we went out to dinner and took a vid from his camera. It wasn't a cam corder so the video quality isn't the best of the world but he walked around the data center a bit:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BAqd5STOeVw&fmt=22

I hope that you have got some good insulation pad between those solder studs on that RAID card and the server lid!!! - I have never seen that arrangement before - it looks like you are using the LP NIC riser as a secondary support!!!
 

Blue Fox

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
11,813
You need to figure out a way to get the NIC of the RAID card accessible from the outside. :p
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
I hope that you have got some good insulation pad between those solder studs on that RAID card and the server lid!!! - I have never seen that arrangement before - it looks like you are using the LP NIC riser as a secondary support!!!

Thats what that blue tape is fore. It seems to be working pretty good so far.

You need to figure out a way to get the NIC of the RAID card accessible from the outside. :p

Meh, I don't know if I would use it even if it was accessible. For raid health I just have a shell script which will email me if the array becomes degraded.
 

cyberjt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
244
Thats what that blue tape is fore. It seems to be working pretty good so far.



Meh, I don't know if I would use it even if it was accessible. For raid health I just have a shell script which will email me if the array becomes degraded.

So by that I am assuming that the boot drive is not on the RAID controller?
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
No, it is. But the machine shouldn't suddenly go to 'failed' status, and even if it *did* I can access the BIOS remotely via the serial port on the machine including areca's RAID BIOS.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
Well you can tell from his screenshot its in a data center. Pin holled floor panels so raised flooring. The sun thumpers are a very similar setup and they are extremely loud and generate a TON of heat. Its no problem in the DC though!.
 

Ockie

*** Self Proclaimed Storage King ***
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
17,999
DAMN that is crazy. The Norco 20-bay maxed out puts out enough heat already, I could only imagine how you manage on keeping 48 drives cool in a 4U area like that!

You should see when it's 30 SCSI drives in a single 3u chassis :)
 

JonTa

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
Messages
109
Specs;

15TB
Intel Core 2 Duo E7300
Asus P5BV/SAS
1GB Ram
2× Supermicro AOC SAT2-MV8 Pci-X
1× Supermicro AOC SASLP-MV8 Pci-E
Corsair TX850W (single rail ftw)
various drives, from 400GB to 1.5TB (20 installed, still have room & ports for 16 more)





 

Nacho

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 23, 2005
Messages
474
My humble system

Filepile - 13TB

Specs-
Q6600
Gigabyte Ep45-d6q
8GB ram
Areca 1280ML

10x1tb Raid5
6x500gb Raid5
1tb and 500gb singles
Two 120g 2.5in drives raid1 for system

13TB advertised, 12.2 useable after format.

HPIM0989.jpg


HPIM0991.jpg


Waitin for my last 3x5 hotswap unit to come in.. looks a little lopsided with the kingwin in there.
 
Last edited:

Ockie

*** Self Proclaimed Storage King ***
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
17,999
JonTa's server brings back some good memories.
 

JonTa

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
Messages
109
Ay Ockie, it was your galaxy 4.xx that hooked me up with 343 case :)
Was planning to go with Norco, but I couldnt found it in Europe + when I found cheap 5in3 not-swap bays I was set
 

cyberjt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
244
Ay Ockie, it was your galaxy 4.xx that hooked me up with 343 case :)
Was planning to go with Norco, but I couldnt found it in Europe + when I found cheap 5in3 not-swap bays I was set

Cheap 5x3 in Europe? got a link?
 

Ockie

*** Self Proclaimed Storage King ***
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
17,999
Don't get too excited jschuricht and asgards.... I'm coming back for the crown. I just have posted a pile of drives on the f/s thread in anticipation for the 2tb drives.

Quite soon I'll hit 42TB in a single box :)
 

n1ce_hat

Gawd
Joined
May 17, 2006
Messages
697
Don't get too excited jschuricht and asgards.... I'm coming back for the crown. I just have posted a pile of drives on the f/s thread in anticipation for the 2tb drives.

Quite soon I'll hit 42TB in a single box :)

That's insanity. I plan on hitting ~40TB in a year or so, but in 1 box that is going to be quite a horde! Right now in my house I have 33TB but I don't think it would be right to post my roommate's computer as my own, but since his server is now >10TB you will be seeing 'Vader' shortly.
 

asgards

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
204
hihi
going for 100t prize :D

my plan is to hit ~80 by end of 09 ;/
 
Last edited:

Ockie

*** Self Proclaimed Storage King ***
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
17,999
hihi
going for 100t prize :D

my plan is to hit ~80 by end of 09 ;/

Not if I can help it. I would be emotionally destroyed if you guys got to 100t before me. I have slowed down a lot lately, but damn I will be devastated.


I see your 80, I'll up you 20. :D
 

n1ce_hat

Gawd
Joined
May 17, 2006
Messages
697
Not if I can help it. I would be emotionally destroyed if you guys got to 100t before me. I have slowed down a lot lately, but damn I will be devastated.


I see your 80, I'll up you 20. :D

So any hints as to what kind of drives you will be using for your monster? I think we all can't wait for the cheap 2TB Seagate's but I'm curious what your plan is. It bothers me when they tease us with only a couple models from the 7200.12 series, but eventually they will come.

Oh and I think for your next version of Galaxy I think you should fabricate a custom full 42U-height case that is just littered with HDD bays inside. I think with the amount of time it would take to make it would be quite original and still a 'single enclosure' so you could have a >200TB system and rule the storage thread chart forever. Oh, and blinking lights, don't forget the blinking lights. :cool:
 
Last edited:

TrEpIdAtIoN

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 30, 2002
Messages
225
Need to resize sorry....brb

Rather not comment on any specifics, but enjoy some random pics from my phone.

And the FC switches have been moved since then :p
 

Ockie

*** Self Proclaimed Storage King ***
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
17,999
So any hints as to what kind of drives you will be using for your monster? I think we all can't wait for the cheap 2TB Seagate's but I'm curious what your plan is. It bothers me when they tease us with only a couple models from the 7200.12 series, but eventually they will come.

Oh and I think for your next version of Galaxy I think you should fabricate a custom full 42U-height case that is just littered with HDD bays inside. I think with the amount of time it would take to make it would be quite original and still a 'single enclosure' so you could have a >200TB system and rule the storage thread chart forever. Oh, and blinking lights, don't forget the blinking lights. :cool:

lol

I'll be using 2tb western digital green drives. I'm going to stay away from Seagate for the time being but since I have WHS now, the green drives don't matter... so I can use them again :)

The new build is just going to be an updated build using newer parts and the new 2240 norco... except this time with 2tb drives, so I will double my capacity.
 

asgards

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
204
damn
i just beat the 20t mark ... and here i am watching Ockie working on his 40+ .... sad :D
kinda scary too, im using 1.5 seagates all over the place :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top