The Division 2

Mylex

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 30, 2018
Messages
182
Lol, I've been running DX11 since I quit months ago... I guess I'll give DX12 a try.
 
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
736
I haven't played around with the game's photo mode much, I've been using Fraps to take screenshots and videos for so long it's just what I am used to.

As far as DX12, I haven't tried it yet because all of the horror stories I have read, but I should give it a shot now that I'm on Windows 10 and y'all seem to have no problems running the game with it.

Edit: Just tried DX12, made the game run like crap, I was getting very low frame rates, like it was stuttering. I do have the latest Nvidia drivers too_Oh well, I'll figure it out later.
 
Last edited:

Ranulfo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
1,885
Nvidia and DX12 with the Division games seems to be mostly crud. I read of some having no problems but most have been negative.


FYI, if you haven't bought the expansion yet you can get 20% off if you have 100 club points. $6 off the expansion despite being new release, worked for me earlier.
 
Last edited:

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
18,509
For those of you level 40 and working on your SHD levels (the watch), there is an XP Farm that will probably get patched out quick, as it could potentially get you to max level in a little over an hour. I know not everyone is interested in this kind of thing, so I'll tag it. Read on at your own caution.

In DC, set the open world to Heroic. Enable all 5 Directives. Open your map and find a "Target Practice" world event (has a green dog tag looking icon on the map, may have to zoom in slightly). Talk to NPC, complete stage 1, but fail stage 2. Talk to NPC again, complete stage 1 & 2, but fail stage 3. Talk to NPC again, complete all 4 stages. This should reward over 690k XP. Each SHD level is 700k. Open map again and find another Target Practice, repeat as much as you want.

EDIT: After testing this out, I have an additional note: You have to clear some Checkpoints first, because Target Practice will not spawn near enemy controlled CP's. Do this on an easier World Tier setting before switching every thing.

This still works. I can't imagine playing the game with these brutal settings otherwise.
 
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
736
This last SHD tech cache in the Civic Center area is driving me nuts, you have to be there at the right time to catch a roving patrol where an elite cleaner drops a key to open the door where the SHD tech cache is. It's the only SHD cache I need to liberate the CC area. At least, thats what Google has been telling me. :mad:

1584036266241.png

This still works. I can't imagine playing the game with these brutal settings otherwise.

Yep, just tried it. HILARIOUS! But word of warning, switching between normal and heroic causes the season 1 Neptune manhunt to be reset.
 
Last edited:

Denpepe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
1,514
This last SHD tech cache in the Civic Center area is driving me nuts, you have to be there at the right time to catch a roving patrol where an elite cleaner drops a key to open the door where the SHD tech cache is. It's the only SHD cache I need to liberate the CC area. At least, thats what Google has been telling me. :mad:

View attachment 229557



Yep, just tried it. HILARIOUS! But word of warning, switching between normal and heroic results the season 1 Neptune manhunt being reset.
All those SHD caches are lootable without killing anything specific afaik, done em all 2ce so far, you probably overlooking something
 

Frraksurred

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
2,369
All those SHD caches are lootable without killing anything specific afaik, done em all 2ce so far, you probably overlooking something
I do remember a couple that required a key that dropped from a boss, but they were attached to the area, not roaming if I remember correctly.
 
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
736
I mean the regular patrol underground in the sewer. I've tried all the doors and none of them open so I'm pretty sure I don't have the key and I am trying the wrong door(s)

https://segmentnext.com/2020/03/04/...-york-civic-center-shd-cache-locations-guide/

SHD Tech #2
This item will be underground in the sewers. You can access this location from a manhole that can be found northeast from the University. Climb down the manhole, and continue straight past through the broken pipe. Turn left and you will come across a door at the far end.


Enter it and then shoot through the glass window of the other door towards the control panel to unlock it.


Continue and you will find a door with a padlock that you can shoot and open. In this new area, you will come across an enemy that you have to kill and loot a key from him. The key will unlock the door on the right, which will contain the SHD Tech.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Q-BZ
like this

Denpepe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
1,514
I mean the regular patrol underground in the sewer. I've tried all the doors and none of them open so I'm pretty sure I don't have the key and I am trying the wrong door(s)

https://segmentnext.com/2020/03/04/...-york-civic-center-shd-cache-locations-guide/

SHD Tech #2
This item will be underground in the sewers. You can access this location from a manhole that can be found northeast from the University. Climb down the manhole, and continue straight past through the broken pipe. Turn left and you will come across a door at the far end.


Enter it and then shoot through the glass window of the other door towards the control panel to unlock it.


Continue and you will find a door with a padlock that you can shoot and open. In this new area, you will come across an enemy that you have to kill and loot a key from him. The key will unlock the door on the right, which will contain the SHD Tech.
If you want I'll gladly come and give you a hand trying to get to it.
 
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
736
Sure, I appreciate the help, I should be later on this afternoon/evening.

Edit: I'm Agent_BauerCTU in the clan
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Q-BZ
like this

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
18,509
It was roll of the dice. I killed the guys down in the tunnel, loitered for a bit, explored, and on my way back out the "leader/boss" just kind of showed up and I got that key and got it done. It was "almost" glitched. What a PITA that was.
 

Frraksurred

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
2,369
Some of the Sewers have water valves on each side of a flooded area. If you close both valves, the area drains opening up a new room. Don't remember if one of the SHD was in one of those, but I don't recall it being. Either way, usually good for a chest or case.
 

Mylex

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 30, 2018
Messages
182
Changed to DX12 and seems just a smooth as 11 for me, I want to say it adds something visual to it but its nearly unnoticeable. I will say that its using more threads vs 11.
 

IdiotInCharge

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
13,843
DX12 should be smoother, on occasion that the implementation isn't halfassed...

Now I wonder if my GTX970 will be able to handle this at all!
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
6,531
DX12 should be smoother, on occasion that the implementation isn't halfassed...

Now I wonder if my GTX970 will be able to handle this at all!
it would have pretty bad vram stutters unless it somehow tries to use only half as much with that particular card :)
TheDivision2_2020_03_13_05_24_37_470.png

1440p Max settings...You can always try it but i dont think it would do super well. This game is designed to really utilize lots of memory
 

MavericK

Zero Cool
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
29,399
My 1080 has issues running this at 1440 with high/max detail. It's usually playable but I can feel the slowdown a lot of the time.

It's not hitching, either, just low framerate. I don't think I've tried DX12 yet.
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
6,531
My 1080 has issues running this at 1440 with high/max detail. It's usually playable but I can feel the slowdown a lot of the time.

It's not hitching, either, just low framerate. I don't think I've tried DX12 yet.
Capture.PNG

Mine drops into the 40s sometimes but it doesn't lag enough to really bother me...I love how we can check frame time with the driver itself now. In truth it just depends on location in city, time of day, and all the random AI stuff going on...Its not gonna be a steady frame rate all the time unless i drop it to 1080p
 

SereLaw

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2004
Messages
443
Ok, I broke down 15 exotics for parts today and got one gem.
I forgot to check how many out of the 20 stash allotment I had already.
I had 19. so I wasted a bunch of level 30 exotic for parts.
Don't be like me. Check your amount before you destroy.
 

SereLaw

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2004
Messages
443
Iv'e had my game on "Heroic" for 9 or 10 days. Today I switched to challenging. Fuck n A. For one thing I can now at least travel around without looking under and around and on top of every little god damned thing for bad guys. My QOL is much more enjoyable now. I am not engaging one group to get raped by one or 2 more. For instance I could do a lot of things heroic like C-P 4 and some bounty's. Every thing is a "4" in heroic. But just everyday walking around and getting to objectives was a fucking nightmare. Some Missions were impossible with my gear. Some Bounty's are impossible at this time with my load out. Jesus.
TLDR: Less boots on the ground in challenging. Easier to get around unmolested.
When you go back from heroic, you can melt C-P 3-4.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
736
Can any of you post your builds? I already showed mine, Strikers with Savage Wolverwine AR. Thank god for the perfect Unbreakable chest piece because without it, I'd be in hurting, it has saved my ass lots of times. I don't like skills much except for the turret. I can't do anything other than Normal difficulty. I suck lol, which is why I play solo.

1584225562319.png


Edit: I live in Seattle which is the epicenter of this COIVD-19 thing, not sick, but I have nothing but time on my hands now.
 
Last edited:

Porter_

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
7,988
Twice now I’ve gotten just past the Razorback portion of the Keener mission and it has hard locked my computer....grrrr
 

Porter_

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
7,988
Twice now I’ve gotten just past the Razorback portion of the Keener mission and it has hard locked my computer....grrrr
updating nvidia drivers (I was only one revision back) and removing my laughably tiny overclock on my 2080Ti (+55 MHz on the core) got me there. Now to run though NYC on my alts.
 

SereLaw

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2004
Messages
443
Can any of you post your builds? I already showed mine, Strikers with Savage Wolverwine AR. Thank god for the perfect Unbreakable chest piece because without it, I'd be in hurting, it has saved my ass lots of times. I don't like skills much except for the turret. I can't do anything other than Normal difficulty. I suck lol, which is why I play solo.

View attachment 230087

Edit: I live in Seattle which is the epicenter of this COIVD-19 thing, not sick, but I have nothing but time on my hands now.
Lets play sometime and get you some better gear. Won't take long at all.
 

supastar1568

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
395
Can any of you post your builds? I already showed mine, Strikers with Savage Wolverwine AR. Thank god for the perfect Unbreakable chest piece because without it, I'd be in hurting, it has saved my ass lots of times. I don't like skills much except for the turret. I can't do anything other than Normal difficulty. I suck lol, which is why I play solo.



Edit: I live in Seattle which is the epicenter of this COIVD-19 thing, not sick, but I have nothing but time on my hands now.
I've been running a Striker build as well and I like your idea of using the Unbreakable chest piece. I may do the same now since I just unlocked my 5th piece, so I can move over to the Unbreakable chest piece and still keep all of the Striker perks.

It is a squishy build for sure, so I've been using the armor repair drone with Striker to at least stay alive a bit more. However, with a LMG, it can tear thru the heavies once those hits start stacking up.

Please stay safe and sane out there!
 

dvsman

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
3,127
My buddies and I all run Unbreakable or some form of it in our general "Running around" builds. Perfect UB is only on Badger Tough IIRC but I found a Sokolev with (regular) unbreakable for my crit SMG build. At Challenging and Heroic - the Sniper doggos / sniper baddies in general - always one shot, so Unbreakable gives you that split second of survival that non-unbreakable builds just don't have. While I do have ideas for other (chest piece) builds I want to try out, until they fix the grouping / mob difficulty scaling (if more than 2 people on team) - I'm running a more sturdy build. Or maybe running double heals (revive hive + healing drone, for example).
 

brennok

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
1,254
I have found I really have a love/hate relationship with this game. Everytime I find a setup I start to enjoy I advance the world putting me at square one. Now at WT2 and my WT1 guns do little damage . Once again dropping are only shotguns. I did score an exotic off a bounty, Chameleon I believe, but not really my playstyle.
speaking of bounties do they serve any true purposee other than loot and keys? I do so many of them due to side events, but didn’t know if they actually affected the world any.
 

Denpepe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
1,514
I have found I really have a love/hate relationship with this game. Everytime I find a setup I start to enjoy I advance the world putting me at square one. Now at WT2 and my WT1 guns do little damage . Once again dropping are only shotguns. I did score an exotic off a bounty, Chameleon I believe, but not really my playstyle.
speaking of bounties do they serve any true purposee other than loot and keys? I do so many of them due to side events, but didn’t know if they actually affected the world any.
I found a chameleon and as an AR user I was happy for 10 seconds untill I saw the stats on it, making it imo basically useless, I am not a fan of ultra rare weapons with randomised stats.
 

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
18,509
The game is really in a fucky state right now with damage/armor scaling, the extreme bull rush NPC nonsense, etc.
I noticed. I have some pretty nice gear for the most part and I am getting killed super right quick even on normal settings.
 

EJR357

Weaksauce
Joined
Aug 27, 2012
Messages
65
New patch has the graphics glitching out. Buildings flickering in/out, then complete black slanted planes from ground to sky. Sometimes its fine then I got into a firefight and everything goes crazy and cannot see targets.
Everything was tip-top prior to this new patch. 👎

Searched to see if others were experiencing similar graphics issues, since patch: https://www.reddit.com/r/Division2/comments/fk77rc
Recommended verifying files (right click on Division 2 in UPlay GUI), which found some corrupted files, and corrected them. Games is back to normal graphically. (y)
 
Last edited:

Frraksurred

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
2,369
I'm watching this game from the side lines for now. Ran an Unbreakable build like many of you, just to survive. Bailed about a dozen hours after the final mission until Massive gets things sorted. Game feels like a buggier version of D1 1.3, which I've no interest in. Too many games dropping this month for me to waste time in something that simply isn't fun for me. I'm sure they will get things lined out in time, and I'll be back then (in and out until then).
 

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
18,509
I'm watching this game from the side lines for now. Ran an Unbreakable build like many of you, just to survive. Bailed about a dozen hours after the final mission until Massive gets things sorted. Game feels like a buggier version of D1 1.3, which I've no interest in. Too many games dropping this month for me to waste time in something that simply isn't fun for me. I'm sure they will get things lined out in time, and I'll be back then (in and out until then).
Agreed. I'm getting ready to put it back on the shelf. I enjoyed the Warlords content and I think that's enough for now.
 

Porter_

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
7,988
Normal, I'm terrible at this game lol
Same here. I’m seeing a lot of posts about how difficult the game has become, I’m wondering if I have my world set differently or if I’m just not participating in challenging events. It doesn’t feel all that different to me.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Q-BZ
like this

Denpepe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
1,514
I did not change anything so I'm assuming I'm on normal, but I have been mostly trying to get some parts to make an lvl 40 chatterbox (very unsuccesfull so far) and leveling up my alts.

What I usually don't do is look up random fotm builds on the internet and trying to copy some other dudes build and playstyle and try to find my own way trough the game, not Always with good results but so far 4Im nearing 700 hours of playtime and had fun for most of it.

Will see what harder difficulties bring once I get around to it
 
Top