Task Manager CPU Usage is Broken in the October 2018 Update

AlphaAtlas

[H]ard|Gawd
Staff member
Joined
Mar 3, 2018
Messages
1,713
According to a Reddit user, the Task Manager is showing incorrect CPU usage in the Windows 10 October 2018 Update. Per application CPU usage appears to be understated. Microsoft acknowledged this bug in a previous Windows build, but apparently it managed to slip into the current release. Thanks to Joe Wood for the tip.

On Patch Tuesday (October 9), Microsoft is expected to ship a new cumulative update for Windows 10 October 2018 Update with a fix for the Task Manager bug and other issues. Microsoft has tried to refine Task Manager in the Windows 10 October 2018 Update (version 1809). The Task Manager now shows you the power usage of each process on your Windows 10 device and there's another column called "Power Usage Trend" that shows you the longer-term trend.
 

Balkroth

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
248
Correct, it's been fixed in the fast ring as of a week or 2 ago though.
 

BloodyIron

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
3,439
Task manager often doesn't show proper CPU usage on servers. I often have no idea why so much CPU is being used due to it sometimes just not showing me enough about what's running. And yes, I'm running it as administrator. It's very frustrating.

Much easier in Linux ;) and reliable.
 

Gweenz

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 18, 2003
Messages
1,216
Task manager often doesn't show proper CPU usage on servers. I often have no idea why so much CPU is being used due to it sometimes just not showing me enough about what's running. And yes, I'm running it as administrator. It's very frustrating.

Much easier in Linux ;) and reliable.
I use it occasionally, but the actual numbers never really seem to correlate. Still, if you're just looking to see "WTF is using all the CPU?" it can be handy for that.
 

THRESHIN

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 29, 2002
Messages
3,037
I find that there's a slew of broken features in win10, or at least things that frequently malfunction. For example, the hibernate function has never worked right for me.

If everything else is broken, might as well break the CPU usage display as well.
 

DNMock

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
399
Task Manager has always been shit about those stats. HWInfo works like a champ though. Havent tried the updated afterburner usage stats but I would wager that's decent too but a lot more of a pain to read than HWInfo imo.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
17,616
This was reported weeks ago, but I think MS was dead set on finalizing the 1809 update for a launch on 10/2.
 

BloodyIron

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
3,439
Well, until it doesn't actually show what's using all the CPU, which happens fairly often for me. It's very frustrating.

I use it occasionally, but the actual numbers never really seem to correlate. Still, if you're just looking to see "WTF is using all the CPU?" it can be handy for that.
 

katanaD

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 15, 2016
Messages
1,987
I'd like to see task manager utilize the dark mode as well. im liking the look of that so far.
 

notarat

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
2,124
Based on that screenshot you can tell there's an open Firefox tab.
 

lostin3d

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 13, 2016
Messages
2,043
TM started having metric issues for me around 1-2 years ago on my 4930k rig so this doesn't surprise me. It doesn't seem to know what my clock speeds are vs. BIOS settings.
 

SvenBent

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
3,166
Windows 10 cpu usage always seemed wrong to me.. it diffred from the details list with show the same as windows 7 process list
 

kju1

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 27, 2002
Messages
3,058
You were already getting inaccurate information before this bug. CPU utilization is poorly calculated and displayed inaccurately. Relying on the task manager to identify load is a bad practice.
 

HoffY

Gawd
Joined
Mar 7, 2005
Messages
938
So does TM still reset its features when the OS shuts down none-gracefully? Is this "feature" still present in 10?
 

M76

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
10,448
Process Explorer is much better than task manager anyways.
99% of the time I just need what taskmanager does, show cpu and memory usage, whether it is safe to run another process. No need for process explorer for that.
 
Top