SteamVR Performance Test

Discussion in 'VR & Head-Mounted Displays' started by cageymaru, Feb 22, 2016.

  1. cageymaru

    cageymaru [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    19,814
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    SteamVR Performance Test is free and on Steam of course. It seems to be GPU bound also. Give it a go and see how you do. ;) I didn't use the new Vulkan driver if that matters.

    SteamVR_Corrected.png
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2016
  2. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,378
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    980TI Classy stock .ROM
    6700K 4.6ghz

    steamvr.jpg
     
  3. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,378
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Made a run with my old system.
    Gigabyte 280X stock clocks
    i7 3770K 4.5ghz


    vr280x.png
     
  4. KazeoHin

    KazeoHin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,858
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    oooh, I'll try this when I get home
     
  5. Darkswordz

    Darkswordz Gawd

    Messages:
    563
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    5820K @ 4.4GHz
    980Ti @ 1270/1925
    PC2800 DDR4


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2016
  6. Slava

    Slava 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,316
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    CPU Overclocked to 4.2 ghz. Everything else at stock speed.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  7. 0neTwo

    0neTwo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    347
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    but but but I thought you needed a Nasa supercomputer with sli 1280ti's to be able to run vr. :)
     
  8. Daniel_Chang

    Daniel_Chang [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Well, here's a GTX 970 result. My system is technically just beneath the requirements for Occulus Rift.

    SteamVR.jpg
     
  9. USMCGrunt

    USMCGrunt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,113
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    err.....hmm....wtf. This is mine....and I have a 290X....



    VRReady.JPG
     
  10. DF-1

    DF-1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,567
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    so much for windows 10 being scary, 100% of you are using it.
     
    cageymaru likes this.
  11. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,378
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    What drivers are you running, try running the test again with the least amount of background task. but for sure is a bug, just compare your result with the OP result which is a 290, you should at least be in that same range as he is OC'd.
     
  12. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,378
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    of course, everything it's just better in W10 when talking about gaming. Games run better, faster, smoother..
     
    cageymaru likes this.
  13. 0neTwo

    0neTwo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    347
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    slight oc on cpu/gpu.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Sprayingmango

    Sprayingmango [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,259
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    I'm not sure my system can handle it.... (SLI 980Ti / 32GB DDR4 3000)

    [​IMG]
     
  15. USMCGrunt

    USMCGrunt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,113
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Running Crimson 16.1.1 hotfix, multiple passes done with and without CF enabled (I know it's not being used even enabled), and nothing going on in the background.


    Good for you...VR doesn't use/recommend SLI/CF (yet) due to added latency and unless you're running VMs or media editing, about half of your RAM never gets utilized.
     
  16. Sprayingmango

    Sprayingmango [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,259
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    You haven't a clue what I use my system for...and oh I thought this was the [H]ardForums not the SoftForums....this is an enthusiast site right?!? There is little room for petty jealousy here kiddo.
     
  17. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    18,526
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Looks like someone's jelly.
    NVIDIA is working on a solution called VR SLI and has beta support for it in the current drivers. It assigns one GPU to each eye, basically.
     
  18. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,821
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Intel i7-980X
    Windows 7 64-bit
    12Gb RAM
    Nvidia GTX 970

    [​IMG]
     
  19. cageymaru

    cageymaru [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    19,814
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Think your motherboard is running your cards at a lower PCIE speed? I am stuck at 8x PCIE speeds due to a bug with my first generation 990FX motherboard. Too scared of Asus RMA to send it in for service. :)

    Do you have MSI Afterburner to see what core speeds that your cards are running at and the temps? If they are running hot and throttling, then your core speeds would drop a ton. Which would severely limit your performance. I bet when you figure out what the issue is your overall gaming experience will increase due to having much better frame rates.

    If I had an Intel chip I would gain 10% - 15% higher frame rates which would allow me to maintain 120fps and a Very High rating. That's where you should be easily.
     
  20. BETA.

    BETA. 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,906
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Of course my PC is ready for VR, just don't know if I am ready for it yet, especially with dat price tag

    [​IMG]
     
  21. USMCGrunt

    USMCGrunt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,113
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    You're right I don't but there are very few use cases (as I pointed out) that actually benefit from that amount of RAM, it's like bragging about getting to drive a Ferrari in a parking lot. Also as I stated VR doesn't support SLI/CF (yet) so there is zero advantage, and I find it petty, immature, and annoying of people who feel the need to brag about their computers when doing so contributes zero to the conversation. Congrats on the girthiness of your e-penis

    I'm actually running a pair of 290Xs but I didn't mention that outside the context of troubleshooting. Why, because it doesn't serve any useful purpose here.
     
  22. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,192
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    My system uses 17GB+ editing small videos. It's not a stretch others might do the same. Personally, I think a little extra memory makes your system more stable.

    A bit more on topic I think we've seen enough 980ti benches. :)

    I still need to see a VR compatible game that I actually care about and some reviews of the actual equipment. Wouldn't mind 1440 screens either. People talk about how you can see the space between pixels.
     
  23. n=1

    n=1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,388
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    I think what set him off was the beginning of the post:

    Could've been sarcasm I guess, but given the results we've seen in here before that post, it just came off as snarky.
     
  24. Slava

    Slava 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,316
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Is your CPU at stock speed? and 2x 980ti's should have higher score.
     
  25. n=1

    n=1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,388
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Multi-GPU isn't supported atm so 0% scaling. And from the looks of it the 980 Ti was left at stock.

    Here's my run for reference:
    4930K @ 4.5GHz
    980 Ti @ 1530/7800

    [​IMG]

    And just for shits, tested again at 1580/7800 and performance improved by a whooping 1.64% lol

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2016
  26. USMCGrunt

    USMCGrunt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,113
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Was there some weird phrasing in my post, I specifically mentioned media editing as an exception. I'd agree that RAM helps with system stability but there is a point of no return. I've got 16GB in my system for the occasional VM or two but I know if I'm not running a VM, the majority of it goes unused. Right now I have a little more than 13GB completely free, I'd be surprised if anything other than those specific use cases warrants more than 8GB, even for the hardcore gamer. Though that may change once KSP properly runs in x64 with mods...

    What kind of games are you interested in playing? The space between the pixels, referred to as the Screen Door Effect (SDE), is supposed to be nearly eliminated in the consumer Rift/Vive, though I haven't personally been able to demo one of them. I have a DK2 and it's pretty noticeable for me in racing games or anything that requires focusing on "distant" objects. I'm optimistic as I have the Gear VR with a Galaxy S6 Edge+ and, while the SDE is noticeable, its definitely a lot less and if I'm watching a movie or something with movement, it's hard to pick up. I'm confident that, if the initial releases are well received and we see a second generation of VR devices in 2-3 years, they will have the issue completely resolved.
     
  27. KazeoHin

    KazeoHin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,858
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Runs a $650 GPU with a $1000 CPU on a mainboard/RAM platforms that STARTS at $500.

    "Occulus is to 'spensive!!!"
     
    USMCGrunt likes this.
  28. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,192
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    That's the tough part - I think a Doom compatible with VR would be awesome.

    Actually I didn't realize there were so many:
    List of games with Oculus Rift support - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    I am thinking with the next gen and SDE resolved is when I might bite.
     
  29. KazeoHin

    KazeoHin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,858
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    I think 16 GB is the sweet spot at the moment for Gaming. its just one hair past 'too much'. I could imagine 8GB being a BIT limited in 1 out of 50 gaming scenarios. 16 eliminates that to 0.

    Me? I run 32, and go over 16 on a daily basis.

    [​IMG]
     
  30. USMCGrunt

    USMCGrunt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,113
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    There's also a more recent list here. VorpX adds support to a lot of games as well...I believe there's a doom port out there too.


    Doing what?
     
  31. Supercharged_Z06

    Supercharged_Z06 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,519
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Ok, I knew I was ready, but the wait for the VR hardware is killing me...

    [​IMG]
     
  32. KazeoHin

    KazeoHin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,858
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    3D artwork. Not gaming.

    In short: I agree with you. Gaming = 16GB sweet spot.
     
  33. RamonGTP

    RamonGTP [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,755
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
  34. USMCGrunt

    USMCGrunt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,113
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Again, media editing...I said that twice before now, lol.
     
  35. RamonGTP

    RamonGTP [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,755
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
  36. KazeoHin

    KazeoHin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,858
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    What is going on with the 290s in this thread!? They should be AT LEAST faster than a 960?
     
  37. Track Drew

    Track Drew Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    511
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    There's something buggy with the test, or a requirement we don't know about.

    Post #1 shows an "R9 290" that is "Ready", post #9 shows an "R9 290x" that is "Capable", and post #35 shows a "R9 200 / HD 7900 Series" which is "Not Ready".

    That or something with drivers.

    Here's a HD 7850, which is completely "Not capable" but a Phenom II X4 830 is good to go?
    SteamVR.png
     
  38. RamonGTP

    RamonGTP [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,755
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Just to clear up my post (35) it is running a 7970 (non ghz)
     
  39. KazeoHin

    KazeoHin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,858
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    a 7970 should at LEAST be medium. its still a pretty capable GPU.
     
  40. Cyberbeing

    Cyberbeing Gawd

    Messages:
    566
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    i5-3570K (4.4Ghz)
    GTX770 2GB (stock)

    [​IMG]